Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Shot by Gardai in Clonee

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Tzardine wrote: »
    Eh have you seen the video of the shooting?

No because people who look up and view these videos are scum in my eyes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭Allinall

like i said earlier, that garda would want to have a watertight reason for frankly murdering a man in his own garden.

How could he have a watertight reason for murdering someone?

That doesn't make any sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Where is the video? Could not find it anywhere.

Was sent to me by WhatsApp.

so 12 gardai possibly all with batons and stab vests couldn't take one man down without lethal force,
    Really

No because people who look up and view these videos are scum in my eyes.

How can you pass judgement, if you haven't seen the video? I haven't either, before you ask. The police tried every form of non-lethal force and this man refused to co-operate. What should/could they do?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

so 12 gardai possibly all with batons and stab vests couldn't take one man down without lethal force,
    Really

Throw a vest on you there and send you in first.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Feisar

Really

Why take the chance? The onus was on yer man to comply, not on the Gardaí to risk their lives.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Really

Stab vest no use when some **** takes a swing at your throat.

I haven’t seen the video so not going to give a strong opinion either way but this will be investigated and rightly so. You on the other hand seem to be of the opinion (with as much knowledge as me) that this was an assassination of some sort.

I’m not celebrating a fatal shooting by the Guards either but let’s wait and see.

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Get Real

i hear you honestly i just find it weird, the garda could have been 100% right for all i know, but it just feels excessive until we hear all the details, i haven't seen anything about him stabbing anyone just threatening and then walking home and getting tasered and then shot 5 times in his front garden

Were you there? Not that long ago, Garda Colm Horkan didn't use his gun, and ended up dead himself (rip)

We've a man with a knife, who was shot already, and kept going, and yet, the hindsight brigade come out.

It's not particularly hard to see, that there was a real threat to life. Why did he keep going? How many times do Gardaí shoot people per decade?

The people with hindsight, and also people trying to import an American type slant to this, are an absolute joke to our general society imo.

Don't use a gun a few months ago and a garda dies "what a pity"

Use one on a man who continues his behaviour after numerous force attempts and its "tut tut" or "seems excessive"

There's a video. He swung with a knife at Gardaí, and less lethal force was used first. Then he was shot, not lethally, and still continued to attempt to stab Gardaí.

With or without seeing the video, you seem to throw doubt into it automatically. You put it perfectly yourself "until we get all the details"

Then afterwards you make it sound like the lad was on a stroll home, walked into his garden and bam bam bam.

You also have another post where you imply a man was murdered in his front garden. And another where you imply no non lethal force was used-it was. Your wording evokes imagery of a fella planting a few tulips, and the evil, USA style, blood thirsty cops jump out and start firing with machine guns. Pathetic.

Feisar wrote: »
    Why take the chance? The onus was on yer man to comply, not on the Gardaí to risk their lives.

what if that was your son, or my son or anyones son and he was having a breakdown, these things do happen.
    You can't just shoot first come on be reasonable.

tara2k wrote: »
    How can you pass judgement, if you haven't seen the video? I haven't either, before you ask. The police tried every form of non-lethal force and this man refused to co-operate. What should/could they do?

and i won't out of respect for that mans family, like everyone should do.
    I've read the irish times and it has only happened today so i know as much as anyone at present

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It will be very interesting to see how the media cover this in the next few days

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

The way he's swinging at them wildly in the videos is absolutely terrifying. When I read the article I thought it was a senseless killing but having seen the footage, this situation was never going to end any other way. It's lucky nobody else was injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,135 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Armed response unit and over a dozen garda for a 20 something year old with a knife scary amount wouldn't see that for a feud situation although those have fizzled out

• Registered Users Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Feisar

what if that was your son, or my son or anyones son and he was having a breakdown, these things do happen.

They didn’t shoot first though. It’s a crappy situation but unfortunately these things happen. I doubt it was high fives all round down the cop shop either. A man now has to live with taking a life.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Captain Lugger

"These things do happen" isn't a defence. It's up there with "Sure we were only messin'"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

If a person is a danger to those around him he needs to be stopped. This guy was waving a knife. He was swinging at the arresting Gardaí when he was shot. 100% justified.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,410 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Really

Not without a serious risk to themselves.

The guy was swinging and wielding the knife like a lunatic.

He plunges that knife into the carotid artery of the Garda it’s goodnight. Just because they have stab vests to protect their toros doesn’t mean they are invincible, they aren’t.

12 Gardai or whatever would apprehend him but at a serious risk to themselves.

The man made a choice, a bad one, it cost him his life. That is on him.

He wanted to stay alive, all he needed to do was leave the knife in the drawer.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,250 ✭✭✭ongarite

Eh have you seen the video of the shooting?
    Guy tried to rob CircleK in Hartstown, left after getting nothing there.
    Heads to EuroSpar around corner, severely beats up manager & then pulls knife when confronted by staff in shop.

Gardaí called, follow him back to his home.
    Gardaí attempt to resolve situation with non-lethal force.
    After this, the guy swings knife at Gardaí & is shot.

I can't see what they did wrong here.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,349 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

But they didn't just shoot first, did they?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭chicorytip

From what I understand, gardai tried several non-lethal tactics, including tasers. He then tried to attack them with the knife and was shot once.

Seems totally above board to me.

Not saying he deserved a death sentence, but hard to find fault with the cops if that is true.
    ... but these particular Gardai are highly trained marksmen. It beggars belief that they could not have shot to merely wound and disable this man. There were fifteen Gardai at the scene, it is reported. He was an individual armed with a knife who may have been suffering from mental illness. John Carthy up in Longford years ago and the guy (Mark??) who abducted the Filipino girl in Bray. Both shot dead in questionable fashion by Garda marksmen. The Ombudsman ought to be asking some very searching questions about this particular incident today.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭boardz

Just saw the video on Twitter (seems to have been removed) hard to argue with the justification - clear and present danger as they say.

chicorytip wrote: »
    ... but these particular Gardai are highly trained marksmen. It beggars belief that they could not have shot to merely wound and disable this man. There were fifteen Gardai at the scene, it is reported. He was an individual armed with a knife who may have been suffering from mental illness. John Carthy up in Longford years ago and the guy (Mark??) who abducted the Filipino girl in Bray. Both shot dead in questionable fashion by Garda marksmen. The Ombudsman ought to be asking some very searching questions about this particular incident today.

No police force, anywhere, shoots people in the leg or the arm or the weapon itself. That's a fantasy and the Ombudsman won't be asking any 'very searching questions' in this case or the others listed because all three were justified.

Strumms wrote: »

He wanted to stay alive, all he needed to do was leave the knife in the drawer.

100% agree on this part obviously but was he in the right frame of mind is what i'm saying, and how many people have the gardai killed over the years, not many i would imagine, and now 12 have shot dead a single black man in his garden.
    Anyway who knows the investigation will answer all, provided it's done independently of course.

chicorytip wrote: »

They shot him four times in the torso and he was still swinging the knife with massive force. The 5th shot took him down.

This nonsense of shoot in the legs to incapacitate has no place in reality and should be left to the movies.

Look at the video and then tell me he should have been shot in the legs.

100% agree on this part obviously but was he in the right frame of mind is what i'm saying, and how many people have the gardai killed over the years, not many i would imagine, and now 12 have shot dead a single black man in his garden.
    Anyway who knows the investigation will answer all, provided it's done independently of course.

Why do you mention his colour?

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    But they didn't just shoot first, did they?

yes they did, who else shot ?

MayoForSam wrote: »
    I very much doubt he was in control of his faculties at the time, numerous dubious substances consumed at that stage I should think.

Or......he might have just been a scumbag on an armed robbery mission.

We don't know.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭French Toast

The fact that he is black has absolutely nothing to do with what happened. Nothing whatsoever.

Anyone using it to further a point or arguement is being sensationalist.

🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 11,400 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

give over they are trained

Exactly, trained not to shoot for the legs. Armchair detective :rolleyes: