Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Shot by Gardai in Clonee

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

The fact that he is black has absolutely nothing to do with what happened. Nothing whatsoever.

Anyone using it to further a point or arguement is being sensationalist.

You are right.

But to be fair I dont think anybody is.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,349 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

yes they did, who else shot ?

What??

What did they do before they shot?

It's about the only fact about the whole thing that you "know", yet you deliberately ignore it.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,360 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Just saw that far away video

Jesus, he was some eejit to be taking swings at the guards with the knife. He wanted to die and I'm glad the gardaí obliged. One less nutjob out there making the world a less safe place to live

The fact that he is black has absolutely nothing to do with what happened. Nothing whatsoever.

It will be made the most important part of what happened though, that much is obvious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    What??

What did they do before they shot?

It's about the only fact about the whole thing that you "know", yet you deliberately ignore it.

I think you might be confused perhaps re read what you wrote.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭Damien360

His race is irrelevant. Isn't it?

Should be but it appears Twitter users are trying to turn it into a BLM thing. 2 videos I watched. One was some kids recording him walking across a field with 2 marked squad cars behind, no lights flashing. The second video is the home from a distance and you hear 5 shots. Can’t see any details.

So, a man with a knife is seen, unknown mental stability and gardai won’t know that either, and they didn’t race in to attack him, allegedly comes at a armed garda with the knife and is shot. This is not a random US style point fingers and shoot a person. He was shot for good reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,349 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I think you might be confused perhaps re read what you wrote.

I'm not the one confused here....

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭French Toast

Tzardine wrote: »
    You are right.

But to be fair I dont think anybody is.

There's a poster or two back through the thread that seem tempted to throw fuel on that fire, WUMs is all.

But you're right, it probably won't become the main point of all this, thankfully.

🇵🇸

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

chicorytip wrote: »
    ... but these particular Gardai are highly trained marksmen. It beggars belief that they could not have shot to merely wound and disable this man. There were fifteen Gardai at the scene, it is reported. He was an individual armed with a knife who may have been suffering from mental illness. John Carthy up in Longford years ago and the guy (Mark??) who abducted the Filipino girl in Bray. Both shot dead in questionable fashion by Garda marksmen. The Ombudsman ought to be asking some very searching questions about this particular incident today.

All police and military forces that have SWAT style armed units like the GARDA ERU train on ranges and in real life simulated scenarios.
    They train to shoot into the centre mass - chest and abdomen.
    They do not train to shoot suspects in the leg or arm or shoot weapons out of hands.

I watched the video, he came at the Gardai swinging what looked like a machete?

The Gardai have a right to defend themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭no.8

do you need to shoot five times, once in the leg would put anyone down

Do some research on the reality of such a situation and apprehension of dangerous criminals

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Get Real

If anyone is bringing race into it, it's those that want it brought in. People complaining on twitter rte are saying "man shot in clonee" and not "black man shot in clonee". I would have thought what he did matters, not the colour of his skin?

They're pushing their own agendas using a tragic incident for all, including the family of the deceased.

The fact is, race has nothing to with it, ironically those who are anti racism, are bringing race into it.

In 30 years, less than 15 people have been shot by Gardaí. When they were shot, I don't recall analysis or relevance on them being white.

Just to add, I am absolutely pro immigration, pro sharing cultures, have lots of diverse friends. But some people on twitter are absolutely disgusting pushing a certain narritive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

Anyone in anyway attempting to blame the Gardai for the man's death is clearly looking to incite trouble. This is the kind of situation certain left leaning politicans will look to take advantage of.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Good luck finding a job after a prison sentence for attempted murder of Gardai.

I know people who have convictions for murder, being involved in an incident in which the Guards shot a man dead.

All are employed, one in legal services, he served 9 years off the top of my head.

You need to expand your horizons.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Tpcl20 wrote: »
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/man-dies-after-being-shot-by-garda%C3%AD-following-standoff-in-co-dublin-1.4447470

He was wielding a knife in his garden and the gardaí tried to subdue him with non-lethal force before they shot at him five times, hitting him three times and killing him.

His family were in the house at the time but have been brought elsewhere.

A crazy situation with a very unfortunate outcome. Stuff like this happens here rarely enough that it's still shocking to me. I hope this isn't a precedent, especially after seeing the force with which the stupid gurriers on the Luas throwing bottles were manhandled off it.

I know the Gardaí like everyone else are at the end of their tether at the moment, but there's a worrying increase in violent apprehensions of offenders. Fair enough if it's warranted, but that guy literally brought a knife to a gun fight.

We could do with a bit more force to be honest.
    Too many criminals and scumbags in this country getting away with whatever they like.

If you are nice, peaceful law abiding citizen you have nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

do you need to shoot five times,
    once in the leg would put anyone down

Trying to shot a moving target in the leg is very difficult and also leaves your colleagues at risk to being injured. If you have a knife and people are pointing guns. You should be considering surrender

• Registered Users Posts: 11,400 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Witcher wrote: »
    Twitter is already afire with it.

'Black man shot by Gardai...' Christ

Yep, it’s as bad as America here now apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dinnybyrne

Tpcl20 wrote:
    If he stabbed somebody then he broke the law and deserves to be arrested and tried for violent assault. Are we America now where we shoot people and then decide what they're guilty of?!

Maybe you should stop drawing lines with America?
    Stop looking for outrage?
    Maybe you shouldn't assume that it was police violence because it isn't a thing, whereas violent thugs are a thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Just look at social media, it's very, very clear what people think.
    Turns out 15 gardai now against one man.
    It sounds more and more like an execution to me.

I just saw a video on twitter. It's recorded from a far then it zooms it pretty sharpish.

You can see him get shot once then he tries to stab one of the guards. Then gets shot some more times.

You don't go welding a knife in front of armed guards and you certainly don't try to attack one of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

XsApollo wrote: »
    We could do with a bit more force to be honest.
    Too many criminals and scumbags in this country getting away with whatever they like.

If you are nice, peaceful law abiding citizen you have nothing to worry about.
    The few lads messing on the Luas that I mentioned don't deserve to be brute-forced and pinned to the ground.

Tbf they seemed like absolute assholes. I enjoy unsavoury people getting comeuppance as much as the next person but I don't like to think me, my family or friends could be manhandled like that.

This is a very different situation though, given the level of violence and intensity of the attack, so I shouldn't have conflated the two situations at the start. This outcome had an appropriate level of response to the threat gardaí faced and I don't think anyone would argue otherwise.

I just saw a video on twitter. It's recorded from a far then it zooms it pretty sharpish.

You can see him get shot once then he tries to stab one of the guards. Then gets shot some more times.

You don't go welding a knife in front of armed guards and you certainly don't try to attack one of them.

i agree with you, but could 15 armed men not take one man down without killing him,if the answer is no why hasn't there been deaths like this since the gardai were formed ?
    They are faced with far worse than this on a weekly basis, no it's obvious what the elephant in the room is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 192 ✭✭Deshawn

Saw the video. He lunged at the gardai with a large knife over his shoulder ready to swing.

No loss. Well done gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

i agree with you, but could 15 armed men not take one man down without killing him,if the answer is no why hasn't there been deaths like this since the gardai were formed ?

The Gardai have shot dead lots of other people who had already caused serious harm/death to others and were at risk of doing so again.
    They are faced with far worse than this on a weekly basis, no it's obvious what the elephant in the room is.

How do you know this when you are here posting on Boards and not out with every Guard nationwide all of the time?

No i would have used the term slaughter if i was trying to do that.

Either way, you’re desperate to turn this into a US type thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Feisar

I don't think job opportunities are a major concern for people who rob shops at knifepoint.

Not really a CV builder is it...

First they came for the socialists...

Either way, you’re desperate to turn this into a US type thing.

Not either way Reginald, just taking part in a discussion.
    In fact i haven't mentioned the states once.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

donvito99 wrote: »
    The Gardai have shot dead lots of other people who had already caused serious harm/death to others and were at risk of doing so again.

How many exactly ?

As many as has been appropriate.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

it's obvious what the elephant in the room is.

He wasn't killed because of his weight.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Just watch the video mate.
    As he is getting shot he swings overhand to stab one of the guards.

Doesn't matter if it was 1 guard or 100 guards. He attempted to stab a member of the police force who had guns pointed at him. He got shot. He died. Garda did their job. Case closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Just look at social media, it's very, very clear what people think.
    Turns out 15 gardai now against one man.
    It sounds more and more like an execution to me.

Believe or not social media isn't great for assessing the general mood. I'd be happy to bet that a good portion who express their opinions on there don't even vote.