Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Shot by Gardai in Clonee

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Collie D wrote: »
    Believe or not social media isn't great for assessing the general mood. I'd be happy to bet that a good portion who express their opinions on there don't even vote.

i don't know it's mostly young people on it, and they are the ones who are actually making change in the world by voting these days

Odelay wrote: »
    They didnt shoot first and well you know it, They tried other tactics as well as a taser.

I know what youre doing

they shot a gun first, that's fact sir.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

they shot a gun first, that's fact sir.

No they didn't and you know that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Wailin

Tpcl20 wrote: »
    The few lads messing on the Luas that I mentioned don't deserve to be brute-forced and pinned to the ground.

Yeah, that right? Would you have a different view if they were terrorising you and your family? It's people like you that are part of the reason this country is awash with little scumbags walking around with hundreds of convictions instead of being locked up were they belong.

Witcher wrote: »

Who else shot a gun ?

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,305 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Who else shot a gun ?

Stop acting the dick. Obviously only they fired a gun, but it was in response to a very real threat, and you know it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 192 ✭✭Deshawn

Who else shot a gun ?

They fired tasers first. The man had the knife over his shoulder to swing and lunged at Garda. You are race baiting . Cop onto yourself. Maybe take it to twitter instead

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Who else shot a gun ?

Less lethal methods were used first and were ineffective and you know that.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,349 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I tried, and gave up.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Feisar

It’s a fact but doesn’t tell the story

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭redzerredzer

Who else shot a gun ?

Who else tried to stab multiple people?

So they shot first, happy we finally got there.

Feisar wrote: »
    It’s a fact but doesn’t tell the story

I don't think they understand what i'm saying.
    A bit like the fish sticks joke in southpark.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,400 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

100% agree on this part obviously but was he in the right frame of mind is what i'm saying, and how many people have the gardai killed over the years, not many i would imagine, and now 12 have shot dead a single black man in his garden.
    Anyway who knows the investigation will answer all, provided it's done independently of course.

Who gives a flying **** if he’s in the right frame of mind when it comes to the actions of the gardai in this one, frankly. He came running out of the doorway swinging a big knife at the head of a guard. Do you want them to wait and call in someone with a tranquilizer gun ffs?
    If he was having an ‘episode’ it is indeed tragic, but it’s a lot better ending than him murdering a Garda first, and inevitably getting shot anyway.

fullstop wrote: »
    Who gives a flying **** if he’s in the right frame of mind when it comes to the actions of the gardai in this one, frankly. He came running out of the doorway swinging a big knife at the head of a guard. Do you want them to wait and call in someone with a tranquilizer gun ffs?
    If he was having an ‘episode’ it is indeed tragic, but it’s a lot better ending than him murdering a Garda first, and inevitably getting shot anyway.

15 armed, trained men against one man in his garden with a knife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Everyone who's trying to make it into a George Floyd situation should watch the video with him swinging the knife at the Gardai in close contact even as the shots ring out... It's plain to see that they genuinely tried to overpower him but he was on a rampage at that point in time.
    With the robbery and assault he committed prior to that how long did it unfold for, clearly the armed unit was called in so it must have been developing for a while?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭Allinall

Was there 15 armed men?

Before it came to that it was one man armed with a knife against some garage and shop workers. Was that a fair match-up?

Yeah was just thinking he’s taking the piss. Nobody can be this mental. And if they were they’d probably end up getting shot by the guards.

it's not just me, there is a protest at the garda station now.
    It's all over twitter and will be on the news.
    This won't go away quietly that's for sure

• Registered Users Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭Damien360

15 trained armed men, Gardai doing their job, all still alive. The man was given ample time and reasons (taser etc) to give up and look forward to a short sentence all courtesy of the state and chose otherwise.

Zaph wrote: »
    Before it came to that it was one man armed with a knife against some garage and shop workers. Was that a fair match-up?

was anyone hurt ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dressoutlet

was anyone hurt ?

Yes a shop assistant was assaulted

• Registered Users Posts: 25,410 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

So they shot first, happy we finally got there.

There sure did, and well done to them, great job... they can be proud of their days work. They kept themselves and the public safe from a very real and dangerous situation and individual.

You don’t want to get shot by Gardai ? Then don’t go around presenting yourself as a danger to the general public and threatening that you will kill Gardai..

was anyone hurt ?

Yes, the shop manager in Eurospar Hartstown was beaten quite badly by the guy. There are also reports that he was stabbed, but I don't know if that's true or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Allinall wrote: »
    Was there 15 armed men?

He likes to be pedantic, and to be fair, they did all appear to have both arms.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

it's not just me, there is a protest at the garda station now.
    It's all over twitter and will be on the news.
    This won't go away quietly that's for sure

It's cold outside and they'll want to head home and talk about the injustice of it all while drinking cocktails.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Well he should have put the knife down and complied to whatever lawful orders he was being given...shouldn't he.

You don't lunge with a knife at guys that are holding firearms.

• Registered Users Posts: 637 ✭✭✭gary550

Man robs shop with large knife & hurts someone really badly in the process

Gardai show up with greater force (shock and awe)

Man ignores gardai, continues to be violent

Man gets shot

What a terrible injustice, if only there was a social worker around to deescalate the situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,400 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Now he’s dead. The biggest loser is...

Were there definitely 15 gardai there? Were they all armed? Do you have proof?

gary550 wrote: »
    Man robs shop with large knife & hurts someone really badly in the process

Gardai show up with greater force (shock and awe)

Man lunges at Gardai with machete

Man gets shot

What a terrible injustice, if only there was a social worker around to deescalate the situation.

I made an amendment there.