Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 12,598 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Please tell me this is a joke???

I have no words.....

Neither do the organisers apparently, so they resorted to borrowing them from elsewhere. Even at that, they've none that they can spell.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

There an awful lot of profound, self-appointed fisher price psychologists floating about. People seeming to think his behaviour was excusable due to mental health.This is a cop-out. No doubt his medical records have already viewed, they'll be looking at if he presented to his GP with concerns, weather he was referred and attended his local mental health clinic for treatment, did he continue to attend appointments, was he put on medication and was he compliment and if he was medicated at the time, they will be investigated to prove said medication would not effect his mental function etc etc Everything will be examined right up to his final act and if he was fully cognizant and conscious of surroundings.

While everyone experiences mental illness differently, there seems to be the massive misconception that all people experiencing psychosis or people who are mentally ill are violent. It is explained to those who are mentally ill that they are responsible for their actions just like everybody else and the consequences that follow be no different. Im speaking from personal experience of course and from what I have gathered from specialists throughout my life.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

humberklog wrote: »
    Nor do they apparently.

Touché

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

THE_SHEEP wrote: »
    My earlier post / point , about this BLM / Lefties being a " money making scheme " , still stands .

Nearly € 15'000 raised so far on GoFundMe .

Wow, they're nearly at 15 Canada Goose jackets.

Yuppa.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,461 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

What planet do these degenerates think they live on? I work with a lot of black doctors, nurses, security guards, general attendants and they don't feel oppressed, they have trained to get jobs useful to society and are flourishing in a different country. Why does Ireland then insist on getting in people from third world countries with absolutely no skills and clearly think the whole country is racist while robbing the tax payer and being a general nuisance to society. Why can't we say no, we're full up. We have enough of our own wasters without importing more. Colour of skin doesn't even come into it, stop letting in anyone who wants to come here. I can't just decide in the morning to up sticks and live in the USA, Canada, NZ, Australia without having skills they need. I can't go to these places and sit on my arse and get everything handed to me. I'd be sent home.

Wake up Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

Please tell me this is a joke???

I have no words.....

Why should it be a suprise, Human Stupidity IS the cancer of this existence after all. Nothing like a few shítstirrers using cancer media once again to rile up a bunch of disposable idiots into doing their bidding.

BLM is a US issue, It's not an issue here and certainly not in this case.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭jrosen

The screen shots are doing the rounds
    He was not a thug!

I respectfully disagree, I don’t know any law abiding person strolling around with a knife and threatening staff doing an honest days work

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭eurokev

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Sarcozies

Can anyone answer if we have ever seen large gangs of Asian Irish on the streets causing anything near to what was seen yesterday?

If not, why is that since they have been on the island longer in larger numbers than other demographics?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,206 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Jesus wept.

This is nothing more than organised anti-social behaviour. Those that join it have no knowledge of the family, nor any of the actual social problems in our World today about which they chant, they just wish to cause hassle, intimidate other people, post themselves on social media being billy big bollox and so on.

It took the Gardaí some months to crack down on right wing anti-lockdown protests, by the usual suspects in the latter half of 2020, but when the cornered them in Grafton Street that fateful afternoon, it ended them at a stroke.

If the Gardaí are to maintain widespread support, show consistency and professionalism as well as clear and unambiguous leadership by their senior officers, these protests now being organised must be blocked from assembling and smashed and scattered if they do.

We are in a Level 5 lockdown heading for 2,500 Covid cases per day. That lockdown does not apply with an asterisk for political or anti social protesting, for ANY reason. All that matters now, is protecting the hospitals, the nursing homes, the healthcare staff and for the following week, the schools. If that takes aggressive intervention by the security services, fine.

If these protests are let proceed, I'll be the one protesting to Helen McEntee and Drew Harris on Monday morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭qm1bv4p8i92aoj

Do you get the feeling that in a few years time we will be saying to each other I remember when this use to be a good country to bring up children in.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,206 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Sarcozies wrote: »
    Can anyone answer if we have ever seen large gangs of Asian Irish on the streets causing anything near to what was seen yesterday?

If not, why is that since they have been on the island longer in larger numbers than other demographics?

They aren't uppity.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

eurokev wrote: »

Is this Chicago or Ireland? I can't tell anymore

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

It would appear many support this George

https://www.gofundme.com/f/72z2pw-funeral-costs-for-george-nkencho

I wouldn't give him a cent personally. But it should be noted the goal was 5,000 yesterday. Now it's 15,000. Am sure it will go up again.

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭eurokev

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,555 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

So if someone gets an email from a Nigerian prince saying "dear friend we've recently received more money than they can possibly spend on a dearly departed's funeral arising from a very unfortunate incident involving the Irish Gardai in Ireland and we wish simply to reimburse you of your generous gift, all we need is your bank account details" they may well be in for a surprise refund.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭tara73

so if the shots were no warning shots, it's safe to say that there are in general several shots (like 5 here) from a professional gun and a professionally trained person necessary to bring a human being down, from a very short distance, which has a knife in his hands like here (not a gun themselvves), that it's no danger anymore?

Sorry, but I still can't bring myself to believe this. somethings not right with this.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Do you get the feeling that in a few years time we will be saying to each other I remember when this use to be a good country to bring up children in.

We've been saying it for several years by now. FG/FF have no credibility on law and order given the last two decades, and the 'choice' presented on the other side was Sinn Fein.....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Beltby

tara73 wrote: »
    so if the shots were no warning shots, it's safe to say that there are in general several shots (like 5 here) from a professional gun and a professionally trained person necessary to bring a human being down, which has a knife in his hands like here, that it's no danger anymore?

Sorry, but I still can't bring myself to believe this. somethings not right with this.

Wait for the official inquiry before jumping the gun.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

so if the shots were no warning shots, it's safe to say that there are in general several shots (like 5 here) from a professional gun and a professionally trained person necessary to bring a human being down, which has a knife in his hands like here, that it's no danger anymore?

Erm, sorry I stopped reading at "professional gun" lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,857 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

It would appear many support this George

https://www.gofundme.com/f/72z2pw-funeral-costs-for-george-nkencho

I wouldn't give him a cent personally. But it should be noted the goal was 5,000 yesterday. Now it's 15,000. Am sure it will go up again.

They should remember though that they aren't entitled to an opinion according to these people

https://twitter.com/merj_ireland/status/1344986973690355712

They'll gladly take your money if you are white, but other than that you can fuck off

Divisive cunts

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

eurokev wrote: »

What. A. Fúcking. Gobshíte.

Seriously is this lad not even remotely aware that he can be in serious trouble with the guards for this kind of carryon?
    They should remember though that they aren't entitled to an opinion according to these people

https://twitter.com/merj_ireland/status/1344986973690355712

They'll gladly take your money if you are white, but other than that you can fuck off

Divisive cunts

[sarcasm]

"Enter the black racists. Can't let the whites have a monopoly on this now can't we we GOT to get in on this too!"

[/sarcasm]

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭touts

gozunda wrote: »
    Social media organisers organised a vigil / protest re George Nkencho at the Spire and in Eyre Square today (that despite the nationwide lockdown)
    https://twitter.com/merj_ireland/status/1344986961002508288?s=20

https://i.imgflip.com/4s8plp.jpg

They advised ...

Ironically they then post this - detailing the chant for this 'respectful' 'vigil' calling out all those racist "cops" / "gardai" / "army" killing black people

4s8po3.jpg

How exactly is any of that blatant hate speech 'respectful' or even based on a fact?

This is the type of disgusting organised baiting that does no one any favours.

Reading their website they are against any form of punishment or imprisonment for crime. Yet they want "A world that grants true freedom, i.e. freedom from fear".

I'd say the shop assistant who was slashed with a machete felt some fear as George stood over him.

What exactly isn't right?

• Registered Users Posts: 83,514 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

What planet do these degenerates think they live on? I work with a lot of black doctors, nurses, security guards, general attendants and they don't feel oppressed, they have trained to get jobs useful to society and are flourishing in a different country. Why does Ireland then insist on getting in people from third world countries with absolutely no skills and clearly think the whole country is racist while robbing the tax payer and being a general nuisance to society. Why can't we say no, we're full up. We have enough of our own wasters without importing more. Colour of skin doesn't even come into it, stop letting in anyone who wants to come here. I can't just decide in the morning to up sticks and live in the USA, Canada, NZ, Australia without having skills they need. I can't go to these places and sit on my arse and get everything handed to me. I'd be sent home.

Wake up Ireland.

Do you often just walk up to black coworkers because they are black and ask about whether they feel oppressed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

So what do you think is not right here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

When the Gardai shot Mark Hennessy a few years back, they did so because they believed Jastine Valdez was trapped in the car with him.

There was a clear motive, to protect life - the life of Jastine Valdez - and there was sufficient evidence that the man involved had abducted her or worse.

The Gardai will act to protect life - their own or other citizens, and in the case of George Nkencho, he could have harmed his family, other people, or the Gardai.

What pisses me off most is, this really seems to be an issue around mental health. Did George have adequate access to proper mental health treatment? I don't know all the facts honestly but it sounds like he really needed help and treatment. And instead it's turned into an oppression of black people narrative.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,467 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

what is not right? not all shots are guaranteed to hit. it can take multiple shots to bring somebody down. the guy had already been tasered and pepper sprayed and that didnt deter him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭touts

Infini wrote: »
    What. A. Fúcking. Gobshíte.

Seriously is this lad not even remotely aware that he can be in serious trouble with the guards for this kind of carryon?

He just threatened to execute a Garda???? And was cheered by the mob??????

How the **** can RTE continue to ignore this?

Overheal wrote: »
    Do you often just walk up to black coworkers because they are black and ask about whether they feel oppressed?

Do you often assume you have it better in life because of your skin colour?