Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

Steve012 wrote: »
    E.G
    I was 16 , about 20 of us used to hang around shops as kids do, shop owner complains, Garda come and moved us on.. That happened a good few times when I was younger.

That is not a link to an offence of loitering.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I'm fairly certain that if I was captured on camera asking for an assassination contract to be put on the head of a garda, I would be getting a knock on my door pretty sharpish.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,106 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Mr.burgess wrote: »
    Yes they can its the public order act i was arrested a few times over it a long time ago now

You can be directed to leave an area, you can't be directed to go home.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Gothic Insanity

Witcher wrote: »
    Yes I am sure of that. Gardai cannot order someone to go home.

I was ordered to go home.... I was drunk and had tripped over my own feet on a public pavement and face planted as a Garda was passing by.

He was very stern about me heading home or else as I was in tears laughing as that was the direction I was heading........ Just not successfully it seemed. 😳😳😄

• Registered Users Posts: 56,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The Criminal Justice (Pubic Order) Act, 2003 covers closure orders against premises.

Try again.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2003/act/16/enacted/en/html

Ok, so there is no act/legislation in Ireland that deals with public order issues/offences?

Are you saying that there are no laws in Ireland to deal with public order offences?

Maybe I quoted the wrong act..?

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/criminal_law/criminal_offences/public_order_offenses_in_ireland.html

Steve012 wrote: »
    E.G
    I was 16 , about 20 of us used to hang around shops as kids do, shop owner complains, Garda come and moved us on.. That happened a good few times when I was younger.

Blubblypop asked you for the relevant act.

Your anecdotal evidence has zero relevance.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,106 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

I was ordered to go home.... I was drunk and had tripped over my own feet on a public pavement and face planted as a Garda was passing by.

He was very stern about me heading home or else as I was in tears laughing as that was the direction I was heading........ Just not successfully it seemed. ������

You were directed to leave an area, you didn't need to go home specifically.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Mr.burgess

You can be directed to leave an area, you can't be directed to go home.

you clearly haven't been in the situation your ordered to go home or be arrested as i was a few times

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Just watched latest vid on " news alert eire " fb page - his brother calling for death of the guard who shot him? How is that condoned? Things are going downhill fast

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

DrumSteve wrote: »
    I'm fairly certain that if I was captured on camera asking for an assassination contract to be put on the head of a garda, I would be getting a knock on my door pretty sharpish.

Not really. Apparently it all depends on your colour.
    If you're white you're screwed

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭maneno

Calhoun wrote: »
    Not looking good all around being used to cause tension on both sides, the longer it goes on though the more the absurdity of certain groups are trying to import American politics is exposed.

When George Floyd happened there was solidarity everywhere with this it's different seems like a shift from the Irish people based on the evidence so far.

The family themselves really misunderstand the country they are in, George's brother caught calling for the death of the guard. I expect he will be served with a warrant at some point.

**** situation but it's blowing up in the wrong direction than those instigating it want it to. Which is not good as it means the folk on the right leaning side make gains.

I hope they serve arrest him on that speech he made, very careless, snd to seek audience with the garda after that, the mind boggles

• Registered Users Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Dozens protest in Dublin after shooting of George Nkencho https://jrnl.ie/5314337

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Gothic Insanity

You were directed to leave an area, you didn't need to go home specifically.

Tell that to the angry guard telling me to go home or else. Not picking on the guard at all by the way. Just trying to lighten the conversation in general. Those emojis should have been laughing faces.... Epic fail on my part

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

Blubblypop asked you for the relevant act.

Your anecdotal evidence has zero relevance.

So what?!?

No, I've just done the directing and the arresting.

well then you should no what were talking about , one garda could say go home or ya be arrested you say leave the area or be arrested both are kinda the same move the fack on basically

• Registered Users Posts: 56,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 2003 covers closure orders against premises.

Try again.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2003/act/16/enacted/en/html

I got the year wrong.

1994 is the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Just watched latest vid on " news alert eire " fb page - his brother calling for death of the guard who shot him? How is that condoned? Things are going downhill fast

I seen it on the child protection awareness page, i don't follow them myself but someone i do does.

I don't necessarily agree with everything they do as an organization but when even they look at a video of a guards life being threatened and are outraged i think you have lost the little fight you were going for. The amount of people pushing against them now is a hell of allot higher than the small group of champagne socialists.

I would expect there will be a follow-on from the Guards and possible arrests.

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭maneno

DrumSteve wrote: »

If the Garda ignore this, then they will think it’s ok to get away with anything. I understand he’s lost a brother, but that’s not the way to act, pretty “thuggish” as was his brother

Dozens protest in Dublin after shooting of George Nkencho https://jrnl.ie/5314337

yeah and calling for the death of a garda in some videos

• Registered Users Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭hynesie08

150? There was 50 max.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

hynesie08 wrote: »
    150? There was 50 max.

I’d say 50 is generous judging by the photos

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭afro man

• Registered Users Posts: 40,467 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Agreed.

So you would agree with strict immigration laws

I'm not sure how immigration laws are relevant. this isn't a race issue.
    and use of lethal force to violent thugs who are welding weapons and are a threat as a deterrent to stop repeat offenses?

I have said all through this thread that I thought the actions of the gardai were justified. though I'm not sure how it is a deterrent to stop repeat offences. The use of lethal force tends to make that moot.
    Good stuff
    Indeed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Genuine question.

Nigeria isn't in the European Union and there is no right to freedom of movement.

Neither is there a state of war in Nigeria.

On what grounds are there some many West Africans in Ireland, especially North and West Dublin?

Is it from British citizenship or similar?

It's because of a technicality that arose out of the good Friday agreement.

https://www.persee.fr/doc/irlan_0183-973x_2007_num_32_2_1798#:~:text=Jus%20soli%20remained%20a%20matter,Good%20Friday%20Agreement%20in%201998.&text=Thus%20for%20the%20first%20time,could%20not%20acquire%20Irish%20citizenship.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Heckler

Again European police would hammer protests especially during lockdown.

Our PC wisheywashy politicians have castrated the Gardai.

My thoughts tonight are for the unfortunate member who had to make that decision and not the person who forced him to it.

Whoever you are you have a lot of support for doing your job and doing it well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

No, I've just done the directing and the arresting.

Touché. ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Doctor Roast

Comments turned off...

ah lads, if you are gonna argue the law that Gardai use with actual Gardai you need to actually know the law you are refering to at least

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Appalling, truly despicable, racist and historically inaccurate article from the Irish Times.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/ireland-has-yet-to-come-to-terms-with-its-imperial-past-1.4444146

It's scary that people who hold such views are now leading opinion formers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

One would need to question what do people actually want out of this as if we follow the USA then more black people kill black people then white people and it's a huge huge number in the difference.

Do we want this here.....

Statistically more unarmed white people are killed by police in the USA than unarmed black people yet the media would have you believe cops are trigger happy idiots over there.
    In these incidents a typically mentally ill drug addicted violent suspect resists arrest and endangers the officers involved or innocent people and is killed.
    The majority of shootings are of armed criminals by police. It is simply a statistical fact that blacks who are a minority commit the majority of crime in the US and therefore make up the majority of prisoners.
    Blacks in black neighbourhoods are more likely to be victims of crime and they are the people who call the cops and testify in the court against black troublemakers.
    The whole of the black lives matter narrative is BS.

As far as I am aware this is the first black person shot by the Gardaí who rarely shoot suspects because they are a still with exceptions an unarmed force.

We are a very peaceful country still very Christian despite the decline in church going. People are kind and polite and decent.
    We are militarily neutral and we are horrified by violence while at the same time Irish people are charitable and care for the unfortunate around world. People from around the world have made their home here. Africans I have met are integrating work hard putting their kids through school and are liked because they are warm hearted people like the Irish.

This is why this black lives matter and social justice warrior crap and the eagerness of activitsts and politicians to slander this country is sinister.

A complete lie and decent people need to stand up to this intimidation and quite frankly pure evil.