Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 16,357 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I don't understand how BLM is now a movement in Ireland

America yes, there have been countless incidents where black men were killed unlawfully by the cops - while the likes of George Floyd may not have been the Sunday school angels they were made out to be at the same time they did not deserve to die the way they did and while the movement didn't change my life one way or another I was generally supportive of an end to the systemic racism that exists in America

But here's the thing, Ireland is not a racist country - yes there'll be people who tell black jokes and share racist memes on WhatsApp, I'm not saying that no one in Ireland is a racist - but as a nation, as a state, we are bending over backwards to accommodate ethnic minorities - sometimes too much in my honest opinion.

There is no need for a BLM movement here, we are not America - but if this nonsense continues - if people George Nkencho are held up as examples of police brutality, racial bias then quite simply we are fùcked

There are a cohort, at both extreme ends of the spectrum who would dearly love this country to disappear down the sh1tter into a US style dystopia as it would give their lives some meaning.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Gothic Insanity

I think you have picked me up wrong.

I'm trying to point out that his injuries could be much further reaching and the effects of his injuries much longer lasting than a broken nose and jaw.

Aye sorry about that. I just feel he's not getting the support he deserves. If you ever had a bone broken by force it doesn't always heal right. Years after you can feel pain. I'm 16 years down the line from a hit and run, still have a bad shoulder and knee. It sucks!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,856 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Klonker wrote: »
    I bet a lot of the people who supported the BLM protests here in Ireland in the summer are feeling very silly and embarrassed now. They've found out how much of a sham this whole systematic racism thing is.

Black people in America do have plausible historical grievances. I am not saying right or wrong I merely use plausible in the sense that you cannot definitively prove an individual is correct or incorrect. If you are a black person in America and not recently off the boat then there is a good chance that one of your ancestors was enslaved by a citizen of a Western nation.

If you are a black person in Ireland, it is likely that you or your family arrived here within the last 25 years from Africa. Due to the fact that slaves were generally not allowed to retire to their homelands, it follows that the chances of one of your ancestors being enslaved in the West is virtually nil.

If you are an Irish person as far back as you can trace, then the chances that any your direct ancestors had anything to do with owning or trading slaves in the last 500 years is virtually nil.

If you are an African, the chances that your ancestors had slaves or traded slaves is not nil. For example, the practice was officially outlawed in Nigeria by the British but a blind eye was turned in certain states and it persisted up to the 1950's.

Load of bollix this "oppressed by whitey" narrative. I think it is despicable that these ghouls jump on this mans death as an opportunity for their own gain.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

walshb wrote: »
    Absolute nonsense. George wouldn’t hurt a fly!!

Always laughing and joking so he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭NewMan1982

There are a cohort, at both extreme ends of the spectrum who would dearly love this country to disappear down the sh1tter into a US style dystopia as it would give their lives some meaning.

Great point. They both gain prominence the more unrest there is.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

When I was a silly twenty year old and my sister had just killed I would said the same stupid things. Even if it was her fault.

His brother is just a kid and shouldn't be used like this. I think you all need to lay off him.

Yes he's telling lies. Or involved in a go fund me. But still he's just lost his brother. It's fairly normal to act in an emotional way. Especially at that age.

Even if the brother was a scumbag there are some pretty dark comments and attitudes towards a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

tara73 wrote: »
    so you're the expert here? If guns are that useless, why are they the last resort and not teasers as they are so much better as you describe? And they used teasers here, didn't you read it? And you actually tell the opposite from some with real knowledge here which was several times said: people on drugs apparently often don't react to teasers as was most probably the case with this guy.

God, I'm out, no gain in this one.

I actually feel dumber after reading that.

When I was a silly twenty year old and my sister had just killed I would said the same stupid things. Even if it was her fault.

His brother is just a kid and shouldn't be used like this. I think you all need to lay off him.

Yes he's telling lies. Or involved in a go fund me. But still he's just lost his brother. It's fairly normal to act in an emotional way. Especially at that age.

Even if the brother was a scumbag there are some pretty dark comments and attitudes towards a kid.

I actually agree, but the reaction of his audience is what was chilling.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

NewMan1982 wrote: »
    Take it to PM lads. It’s a petty side argument

No Its not. Try reading the comments fully.

The issue is central to the current allegations of hate speech and racism. Currently we have a group who are actively protected from hate speech by the garda being encouraged by another group to use hate speech describing all gardai as 'racists' and the 'killers' of all black people in order to promote deliberate incitement to discrimination, hostility and violence.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

What kid?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

RWCNT wrote: »
    I can't refer back to the original video as it's been taken down, but I believe he said "I want him finished" after saying "I want his contract terminated", so I took it in that sense. I admit the "When we find him" doesn't sound great, but it's in the context of a speech where he says he wants justice for his brother and the termination of the guard's employment. You can choose to take it a number of ways, it's nowhere near the level of the statement "I want him dead" which was falsely attributed to him in the video.

He says

"I want him finished"

"When we find him .... yeah" he is also laughing as he says it. Are they going to find him and ask him to resign?

Thats a threat. Period.

You can try and manipulate this anyway you want but its a clear as day threat to a Garda's life.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Assuming the tazer didn't work because it's winter and he prob had a load of layers on so it didn't make proper contact

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I actually think it's a very poor show that the Gardai leave while been ambushed with items thrown, the phones on all in the mobs could be confiscated for evidence.

Crazy what's allowed go on.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

JJayoo wrote: »
    Assuming the tazer didn't work because it's winter and he prob had a load of layers on so it didn't make proper contact

Even if it did contact it actually doesn't work as often as people seem to think....

Sure look.up at the times where people have died due to shock then they say they should have used pepper spray etc, sure that doesn't always work either.

Drugs or adrenaline can cause super strength.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

ElJeffe wrote: »
    The yoke in UCD is a particular worry. I'd be nervous she is brainwashing a lot of young impressionable minds akin to what ISIS or any other terrorist organisation engages in.

I'm afraid I missed her comment/tweet whatever

• Registered Users Posts: 16,357 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I actually think it's a very poor show that the Gardai leave while been ambushed with items thrown, the phones on all in the mobs could be confiscated for evidence.

I think there's little that they could do that wouldn't make things ten times worse.

The crowd were set on guard baiting.

Aye sorry about that. I just feel he's not getting the support he deserves. If you ever had a bone broken by force it doesn't always heal right. Years after you can feel pain. I'm 16 years down the line from a hit and run, still have a bad shoulder and knee. It sucks!!!

Thats the point i was trying to make, but from a more cosmetic point of view. He's lucky to be alive of course but he could be visibly scarred for the rest of his life.

People with visible scarring don't generally get front of house jobs, like security guard, so it could affect his career, his love life, his relationships, and obviously his self image.

Just so I'm clear, I agree with the Gardai's course of action. They did what had to be done.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

I’m all for cracking skulls and dolling out timber however it can be better to withdraw to deescalate a situation. You see the PSNI doing similar in Northern Ireland.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I'm afraid I missed her comment/tweet whatever

She gave a lecture today to internet influencers on how to steer the narrative to black people being the victim. And how to deflect and deny any of the wrongdoing. She said answering people who say he is a criminal steers the narrative in that direction so instead to ignore criticism and only post positive things about him. She also scheduled times when they should put particular pressure on with bursts of posts.

She has in the past advised the government on race issues in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭kirving

There's a very fine line for the Gardai to tread between needlessly enflaming an otherwise reasonably peaceful mob (they weren't looting and burning buildings), and establishing themselves as a Police force to be respected.

In my opinion though, firing rocks at the Garda van has crossed that line. I can't see the German police tolerating that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    He says

"I want him finished"

"When we find him .... yeah" he is also laughing as he says it. Are they going to find him and ask him to resign?

Thats a threat. Period.

You can try and manipulate this anyway you want but its a clear as day threat to a Garda's life.

You should ring Harcourt St. Leave your contact details. They'll surely use your nó nonsense insights going forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ForestFire

walshb wrote: »
    Absolute nonsense. George wouldn’t hurt a fly!!

George McFly maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭irishproduce

piplip87 wrote: »
    Credit must go to the employers around Blanchardstown area. Letting all the protesters take two hours off everyday to protest outside the Garda Station..

Not from Dublin. So honest question. Is Blanchardstown a known ****hole?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

munster87 wrote: »
    Gardai are always going around shooting people and things? Haven’t been following the thread so just wondering is this sarcasm or is there something amiss?
    Pure sarcasm, stemming from how absurd, ridiculous, preposterous the idea is.
    Pretty much everything in these posters or whatever they are. I would love to see some clarification or proof of what is mentioned in them, but tbh, I don't think these should be given oxegen. I'm annoyed with myself.

https://twitter.com/nildacristinaa/status/1345116221323300865

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

He's not a kid. He's an adult. And he's not just telling lies though he's lying about events to incite violence and threaten the lives of gardai to rile up a crowd of angry people. That's not acceptable or normal behaviour.

If my brother attacked the Gards with a knife and got shot when I was 20 I wouldn't be up on a trailer with a megaphone calling for the murder of Gards. I'd be grieving with my family trying to figure out what happened. Because I'm not a scumbag.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

Crazy but I think the Gardaí are quite sensibly limiting their engagement with some of the people reacting to this incident - anything they do or don't do for the next few days is going to be portrayed as serving a particular motive. Also I don't know but I don't think they can confiscate phones and stuff just like that either.

If they ask a protest to disband, for example, there are people who will say that the Gardaí are "silencing" them. The Gardaí can't win here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

An Ri rua wrote: »
    Look, we're all victims of cameras, recordings, instant tweets, texts, posts we regret etc.
    Give his brother the benefit of the doubt tonight. If my brother was shot dead, by anyone, for any reason, I might be expressing similar anger. As would many men. They are in shock and hurting. Their brother met the business end of the ERU. Boots should not be wiped on him now, nor his family.
    I am sure senior Gardaí are monitoring such chatter and well aware that it's best to let such anger rún its course, within reason. He's grieving, wants revenge. He's bound to say stupid things, even though frightening and worrying to the Garda's family (and Garda family).
    The Guards de-escalate and turn a blind eye regularly. If they didn't, we'd have street battles and quasi internment. They let some threats slide.

It's a ridiculous and unusual manner of dealing with a tragic death. Whatever he meant. Personally my interpretation is he meant something sinister. Whether he really means it or its just a heat of the moment kinda thing I don't know, but I'd give the benefit of the doubt. The problem here is the very public nature of it and the rests of the spas in the gathering or watching on twitter might not take it so innocently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 382 ✭✭oldtimeyfella

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    My father is a retired Garda. My earliest childhood memories are listening to my mother on the phone at 1 or 2am and trying to determine from her reaction how serious it was.

Some times it was just a fractured finger or something minor but other times it was a broken arm or ribs. He retired when his 30 years was done because my mother couldn't take it any more. He has been to dozens of funerals of colleagues who retired in their 60s and never made 70. My father was 70 last year. I'm convinced if he had done his 40 years he would be living in glasnevin cemetery now

I have a friend i've known since childhood who is currently a member. As far as i know i'm the only person other than her husband she talks to about the day to day of her job because i have a job where i have to see maybe 10% of similar **** she deals with every day.

I couldn't do what she does in a million ****ing years for any amount of money. The highlight of her first proper week on the job was some scobe twice her size breaking her nose when he was apprehended for shoplifting. He got off with zero punishment when it went to court a few months later.

She has talked out some truly horrific **** with me because i can appreciate the sort of gallows humour that people in her job have to practice to have some kind of normal life whilst i have the good fortune to only have to experience a fraction of the ****e she has to face on a daily basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Not from Dublin. So honest question. Is Blanchardstown a known ****hole?

Yes parts of it are. Like most towns/areas

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It seems to be orchestrated. Just waiting for the trigger, and now they have it. Dead man was a criminal and bad boy though.

Unfortunate for attracting new woke members to the cause..But the money keeps rolling in. Follow it.