Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

pmrozik wrote: »
    Don't put entire nations into one bag, generalizations lead to nowhere.

I realize that moderator has asked for posts that are not off topic, so I'll add my own opinion on the topic as well, but I need to counter your statement.

So, since when are gay people banned in Poland as this is news to me? Abortion has unfortunately been banned, just the way it was in Ireland until 2018. Did that make Ireland far-right? When is a bid to protect the fabric of society deemed as far-right?

It is not okay to bash gay people, but it is also not okay to go spray paint Catholic churches. By the way, I am not Catholic and I oppose the Catholic church, but give people respect where it's due.

There are people in Poland who oppose the current abortion law, just as there are people in Ireland who oppose the current, more liberal, abortion law.

And what does integrated mean? About 50% of the people I interact with are Polish, am I integrated? I prefer basketball to hurling but unfortunately I'm vertically challenged and if this lockdown continues I'll be even more horizontally challenged. Thank God for New Year's Resolutions. Why would you care how much I integrate? I work, pay taxes, and go about my business. I love the city I live in.

As far as George goes, a criminal was shot by the people whose job it is to protect society. If it had been a gun instead of a knife, would we then try and figure out why 100 Gardai didn't find a better way to stop the man? And why is this even an issue of skin color? Are weapons less lethal depending on your skin color or is should the guy with the broken nose go and apologize to the family?

I'm an immigrant myself, but I suppose I do have a far-right view of immigration policy. If you commit a crime, you get sent back and get banned from coming in. Every country has enough of their own to deal with. This would need to be well thought out so that people don't get sent back for a minor traffic violation, but look at it this way: A guest comes to stay with your family and starts threatening to kill one of your family members. What would you do?

As far as where someone comes from or what religion they are, I don't care. There are all kinds of amazing people from all walks of life, but a criminal is a criminal no matter what their skin color. The protests are an insult to the Black Lives Matter movement. As someone here said, Ireland is not the US and does not have a history of police brutality, and also just as important, does not have a history of police officers being shot at traffic stops. I grew up in Canada and the US, and I am not surprised that cops shoot people as they are under constant threat - in the US that is.

So to sum up, huge respect for the Gardai men and women who protect us. They gave the man ample opportunity to save himself, but he chose otherwise.
    Anyone else think that this could have been suicide by cop? Something triggered him and he went off on a rampage.

I posted 4 links (from rte, CNN, the UK independent, and a gay rights based new outlet) stating where gay people are banned in Poland. 100 local governments have banned gay people apparently. I haven't been there to check myself.

I care about whether people integrate because I like Ireland as it is, apparently were the second best place in the world to live. I want to promote and preserve Irish culture. And integration leads to less crime and tensions like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭corks finest

amacca wrote: »
    How long are they going to wait to report on the incidents that happened after George Nchenko in Blanchardstown?

Im sure they will be along any minute now to tell us about the gang of black youths shouting they hoped white bastards would die? or the gang that went through the shopping centre etc

Then again I'm sure they wouldn't tell us about it if roles were reversed right?

We need gardai supported here up front from our lackeys in Leinster House, instead of the usual ostrich head in the ground attitude

Posting videos online do not assist gardai or any investigation.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,481 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Damn, this thread is long. How many times have people suggested they should have shot the knife out of his hand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

I have zero time for Sinn Fein in fact I strongly dislike them. I've just seen the local TD Paul Donnelly has a pretty lengthy statement on SF website which seems decent enough as he appeals for calm and calls out the disgraceful scenes in Hartstown/Blanch "protests"

sinnfein.ie/contents/59305

I can't post links but if you put www. before above

Teachta Donnelly said: "I want to extend my condolences to the family of George Nkencho. This is a desperately sad time for his family, friends and community.

“My thoughts are also with the workers in SuperValu, including an employee who was hospitalised following the incident, as well as emergency services at the scene who have also had a very traumatic experience.

“I am calling on all community leaders in Dublin West to appeal for calm and to allow the GSOC to establish the facts in relation to the entire incident.

“While I understand that emotions are high, there is no excuse for some of the scenes that we witnessed in the Blanchardstown shopping centre and Hatstown shopping centre where people were verbally abused, physically assaulted and threatened by sections of the protestors.

“There are also videos of individuals at a public protest openly threatening Gardaí and in particular the Gardaí involved in the incident. These threats are to be utterly condemned. People are entitled to protest but where protests become intimidating or contain threatening behaviour that is inexcusable.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Kimbot wrote: »
    Well in fairness the facts are there for everyone to see

1: this man robbed a shop and attacked a man with a machete.
    Those are the facts of the situation and our national broadcaster are a shambles at reporting it as what it is and that is blatant thuggery.

Have you an official source for this bit? When you're talking in facts it's good to be able to back them up with evidence.

Edit: also for the robbing bit, was anything taken or did he attempt to take anything? Haven't heard anything official apart from the assault and threats.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭corks finest

bubblypop wrote: »

Yes but too late now as usual as what's app videos etc won't stop anytime soon, ppl are gone loopy videoing every drama, case in Cork City before Christmas of a young woman struggling to survive in the Lee after jumping, and instead of helping over a dozen muppets just stood watching the drama unfolding and and videoing it

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

bubblypop wrote: »

Maybe not, but they bring oublic attention to stories which the media have abdicated their responsibility in reporting. See my previous post.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,603 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

TheChizler wrote: »
    Have you an official source for this bit? When you're talking in facts it's good to be able to back them up with evidence.

Edit: also for the robbing bit, was anything taken or did he attempt to take anything? Haven't heard anything official apart from the assault and threats.

Will you go away out of that, are you now trying to say that a man didn't get his face slashed by the little runt...... Its all over all the reports the man was hospitalised with a slashed face and I have seen the photos of the damage. George hardly went to the spar armed with a weapon just for a laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Well in fairness the facts are there for everyone to see

1: this man robbed a shop and attacked a man with a machete.
    2: guards were called and tried to settle the situation
    3: when the guards couldn't resolve it they called a specialist team who escalated up to lethal force
    4: the man who had the machete is dead and now not so peaceful protests are been conducted in the local area intimidating and attacking innocent bystanders.

Those are the facts of the situation and our national broadcaster are a shambles at reporting it as what it is and that is blatant thuggery.

You need to get your story straight.

Are you accepting that the store manager was assaulted with a weapon and ended up in hospital?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭MontgomeryClift

A Jamaican living in Dublin speaks out:

Will you go away out of that, are you now trying to say that a man didn't get his face slashed by the little runt...... Its all over all the reports the man was hospitalised with a slashed face and I have seen the photos of the damage. George hardly went to the spar armed with a weapon just for a laugh.

No, you haven't.

kowloon wrote: »
    Damn, this thread is long. How many times have people suggested they should have shot the knife out of his hand?

Once I think.

Promoting crime and disorder.
    A real addition

• Registered Users Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭phonypony

It doesn't help that the thread title after three days still reads "shop thief..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

No he didn't get his face slashed, what you saw was social media fakes.
    He was punched to the ground and beaten with fists, and then had a large knife pulled on him. He has broken bones in his face as a result.
    This is bad enough, without making stuff up.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,603 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

strandroad wrote: »
    No he wasn't, what you saw was social media fakes.
    He was punched to the ground and beaten with fists, and then had a large knife pulled on him. He has broken bones in his face as a result.
    This is bad enough, without making stuff up.

Well what I seen wasn't on social media, to me it looked like a slash to the side of the man's mouth but with so much blood around it then it's possible he was only beaten and not slashed. Regardless the little runt went to the shop and attacked someone while in possession of a dangerous weapon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Paul Donnelly TD calls for calm following protests in Dublin West
    1 January, 2021 - by Paul Donnelly TD

“Finally, I am asking the community not to share any videos or websites that are attempting to increase tensions in our community. They must not succeed with their racist agenda.”

Decent until the last paragraph, what racist websites? Why not share the video, because it absolves Gardai of anything wrong?

If there was anything in this the same types would be posting the video everywhere. He had a machete and attacked armed Gardai FFS

He's obviously pointing out the very apparent stoking of racial tensions by actual far-right and racist groups but he has yet again, unfortunately shown the total turgidness of politicians and media in absolutely not calling out what happened across Blanch in the aftermath of a criminal being shot and killed truthfully as what it was and is - racism.
    I doubt very much he is calling out the respectable modern 'left' & academic racists (white and non-white) who hold influence and are showing their blind support for the 'right kind of racism' quite publically.
    It's the old untruth that non-white people cannot possibly be racist which is the lynchpin of a very foolish ideology.
    So, Paul fails the truthful test.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Imagine going to that EuroSpar every other day for years , or SuperValu as it was before, for things like milk, bread, meats or whatever and having the chats with Mary on the tills or Shane on the butcher counter or your neighbour Rita doing her bits n bobs and just generally immersing yourself in your local community. Perhaps sticking up or responding to those little ads about guitar lessons or GAA raffles they have at the entrance.

Now imagine going and finding yourself barricaded in this shop you’ve visited for years because a group of marauding dirtbags decide you deserve to die because of your skin colour.

Then not one media outlet covers it.

It’s absolutely shocking.

Clown. Priveleged, oppressed yada yada. All the buzz words and excuses. Couldn't watch anymore than 2 minutes.

This guy has a real hatred of the country. A lot of anger in his comments and voice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

kowloon wrote: »

fiddy hundred

• Registered Users Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Youtube seems to be the modern equivalent of "paper never refused ink".

Teachta Donnelly said: "I want to extend my condolences to the family of George Nkencho. This is a desperately sad time for his family, friends and community.

“My thoughts are also with the workers in SuperValu, including an employee who was hospitalised following the incident, as well as emergency services at the scene who have also had a very traumatic experience.

“I am calling on all community leaders in Dublin West to appeal for calm and to allow the GSOC to establish the facts in relation to the entire incident.

“While I understand that emotions are high, there is no excuse for some of the scenes that we witnessed in the Blanchardstown shopping centre and Hatstown shopping centre where people were verbally abused, physically assaulted and threatened by sections of the protestors.

“There are also videos of individuals at a public protest openly threatening Gardaí and in particular the Gardaí involved in the incident. These threats are to be utterly condemned. People are entitled to protest but where protests become intimidating or contain threatening behaviour that is inexcusable.

You left off the bit where he called anyone sharing the video or reporting on the actions of his brother racist.

"Finally, I am asking the community not to share any videos or websites that are attempting to increase tensions in our community. They must not succeed with their racist agenda."

• Registered Users Posts: 56,343 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Omackeral wrote: »
    Imagine going to that EuroSpar every other day for years , or SuperValu as it was before, for things like milk, bread, meats or whatever and having the chats with Mary on the tills or Shane on the butcher counter or your neighbour Rita Doug her bits n bobs and just generally immersing yourself in your local community. Perhaps sticking up or responding to those little ads about guitar lessons or GAA raffles they have at the entrance.

Now imagine going and finding yourself barricaded in this shop you’ve visited for years because a group of marauding dirtbags decide you deserve to die because of your skin colour.

Then not one media outlet covers it.

It’s absolutely shocking.

Yes, and it appears this mob went about their business unchallenged by law and order..

And some people are ok with this..

Lame and pathetic excuses like “don’t give the mob attention.”

This, while ordinary members of the public (men, women and children) are smack bang in the middle of an unruly mob...

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

I've been impressed by the reaction from fine fail representatives and pleasantly surprised by the reaction from sinn fein representatives. Some fine fail councillors have openly described the protests as intimidation. I suppose fine fail aren't exactly known for wokeness :D

GarIT wrote: »
    You left off the bit where he called anyone sharing the video or reporting on the actions of his brother racist.

Didn't see that bit. If he did say it then his whole post is more of the same capitulation esqe rubbish

I edited to add it in, the last paragraph, I think you stopped 2 or 3 short. There was another calling for calm and then what I quoted above.

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

This guy is aware that the majority of the media are framing it in his favour yeah?

That an attack by a black kid on a white kid was shouted down as simple “assault” rather than racially motivated, but now is claims a case of assault that subsequently led to a death of a poc is now racially motivated rather than a last case scenario.

Fan the flames all you want homeboy, you’re about forty and probably still session with and dress like people half your age.

blanch152 wrote: »
    You need to get your story straight.

Are you accepting that the store manager was assaulted with a weapon and ended up in hospital?

Plenty of reports saying he was assaulted without a weapon and the store manager managed to run away while George was pulling out the weapon.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Initial reports said the knife was produced from a pocket after the assault, someone on Facebook who works in the shop and claims to have witnessed it said he was punched and the knife appeared after. I'm not taking that claim as 100% true yet but there's more going for that course of events than the "slashed with a machete" version. At best all we can say is we don't know, anyone not involved who claims to know better with no evidence is BSing IMO.

BTW that picture you claim is the guy in Dublin has been widely debunked as someone in the UK after a football related incident. The Dublin guy is (wisely IMO) not publishing his injuries online.

I'm automatically suspicious of the intentions of people adding embellishments without evidence, especially when attempting to paint the narrative in one direction. That goes for the extremes on both "sides". It's bad enough without having to exaggerate.