Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭corks finest

That hasn't been what "working class" has meant for the past 2 decades or so.

"Working class" means 3rd or 4th generation welfare dependant troublemaker.
    No working class means exactly what it say on the tin, those who work for a living with their hands, come from an ordinary background and behave in general

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

So you’re more concerned about the far right making twitter accounts, than the literal mob of black lads going around blanchardstown terrorising and assaulting people for being white.

Are you serious?

The same poster was more worried about "racism" on a thread about child rapists recently.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 382 ✭✭oldtimeyfella

No working class means exactly what it say on the tin, those who work for a living with their hands, come from an ordinary background and behave in general

They'd be considered middle class now for tax purposes/standard of living.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Acosta

So you’re more concerned about the far right making twitter accounts, than the literal mob of black lads going around blanchardstown terrorising and assaulting people for being white.

Are you serious?

I never said I wasn't concerned about that. In fact I think the actions of some of those protesters, especially outside the Spar shop the other day will have turned many away from supporting them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

bubblypop wrote: »
    The general public are very fickle, in this very thread we have people saying they back the gardai completely and then posts complaining how gardai are doing nothing and allowing massive gangs of rioters to destroy half the city.
    Fickle.

The two things aren't really a paradox tho Bubbly. I back the AGS completely in this case based on the videos and what I've read. Until I have it otherwise they did absolutely nothing wrong.

On the other hand I feel the 'protests' could have been policed differently but I also do not necessarily blame AGS for that. Policing by consent is something I'm quite proud of but it should also considered what consent means. Whose consent? The majority? Or something else?

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Bríd Smith is some piece of work

"On the Tragic death of George Nkencho
    The killing of George Nkencho by armed gardai on Wednesday 30 December in Blanchardstown has, inevitably, generated a lot of debate, some of it very angry, on social media. This is my response.
    After offering our condolences to all the family who have lost a loved one and our sympathy to the shop worker who was injured in this tragic series of events, there are certain questions that need to be asked.
    Why was it necessary for the gardai to shoot and kill George Nkencho? There were at least 12 trained gardai on the scene. Why could they not disarm and detain him, as they have done with numerous other suspects – men with swords, members of the Kinnehan and Hutch gangs and so on – without shooting him? Second, if shooting was essential, and we do not accept that it was, why was he not shot in the legs to bring him down? Why was he shot at least 3 times (apparently 5 shots were fired)? George Nkencho was evidently mentally disturbed so why was no psychiatric social worker brought to the scene to de-escalate the situation? All these questions need to be asked and seriously investigated.
    One point that needs to be clarified straight away is that raising these questions is not ‘supporting’ George Nkencho or his wielding a knife or attacking a shop worker. Widely differing claims are being made about George , such as that he had 32 criminal convictions but these are not reported in the media and are contradicted by friends and neighbours, plus while there was an altercation in the EuroSpar shop and the shop worker was injured he was NOT slashed in the face. But these are not the issue. Whatever George Nkencho may have done or not done in the past does not justify his killing.
    Was race or rather racism a factor? Some people on social media are confidently asserting that racism has nothing to do with it. What makes them so sure? Institutional racism does not openly declare itself but it shows up in different practice and different responses and this killing is an example of such a different response and that too needs to be investigated. We know from a huge amount of experience, not just in the US but in Britain, France and round the world that racist attitudes can be embedded in police forces as in the wider society. Why should it be different in Ireland given, for example, the record of anti-Traveller racism in the gardai. Reports from the local Black Community suggest they do have experience of racist attitudes from the police and have been subject to racism in school.
    Lastly, regardless of whatever racism there may have been from the gardai, there is no disputing the blatant racism in some of the social media commentary. The far right, anti-migrant Irish Freedom Party, posted video footage of the protest march through Blanchardstown on Thursday and called it ‘unacceptable’. The match was peaceful protest. For the Irish Freedom Party, who themselves have held rallies and marches against mask wearing and the Covid restrictions, what was unacceptable was that these were Black people marching and they called for them to be deported. To the Irish so-called Freedom Party I say what I find unacceptable is your racism and the same applies to any comments on social media which suggest it is alright for George Nkencho to be killed because we should ’look after our own’ and such like.
    I, and People Before Profit, will always oppose such racism and argue for a united response of all working people to injustice whether it is about housing, access to health and education, women’s rights, workers’ rights such as Debenhams, student nurses, or police brutality.
    #JusticeForGeorgeNkencho
    #BlackLivesMatter

From her Facebook page

Racism from the Gardai in this instance apparently

What a joke she is

And with that, more people swing to the right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

Are you serious?

You're falling into his trap. He wants to deflect away as much as possible from a racist black man commiting a racially motivated attack in Spar and then trying to attack Gardai with a large knife. Why? Because it doesn't suit the woke narrative.

These people have been indoctrinated into thinking that insane levels of alturism, based on privilege, will give them some disturbing social reward. Don't expect logic or reason from people that don't have any.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The general public are very fickle, in this very thread we have people saying they back the gardai completely and then posts complaining how gardai are doing nothing and allowing massive gangs of rioters to destroy half the city.
    Fickle.

Don't you realise that this is the same sentiment and not contradictory? They support the Gardaí in doing what they did the other day and they lament the fact that they don't do it more often when groups of violent scumbags are terrorising ordinary people.

Let's leave race out of it for a second. There was an incident near Sheriff Street several months ago in which a man holding a gun was standing on top of a building while people around him lit fireworks and aimed them at him in an attempt to hit him. I have absolutely no idea what the backstory behind this particular fight or feud was, but the video was widely circulated at the time.

If you had to live with this every day and be frightened to walk around your own neighbourhood because of it, and if there seemed to be very little by way of policing, and even if there was policing, you frequently heard of these w@nkers finally being brought to court only to be given a suspended sentence - then can you not see how you might simultaneously (a) criticise the Gardaí for not doing enough, while also (b) cheering them and celebrating for taking action against one particular scumbag which you, through years of such frustration and misery on a daily basis, had come to support on a widespread basis?

That you might simultaneously think "great, they shot a scumbag so there's one less scumbag I have to put up with every day" and also "why don't they also do something about all the other scumbags who terrorise my street every day"?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Poor Brid is getting some abuse for that post and rightly so.

F*ck sake "shoot him in the legs" have you ever heard such nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Acosta

TomTomTim wrote: »
    The same poster was more worried about "racism" on a thread about child rapists recently.

There was a lot of racist posts on that thread. Clearly the mods also thought as much, as they deleted plenty of posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Some interesting reading there.

Did they not go around a year or so ago? Looks like the subjects just been changed. I’m fairly sure they’re fake.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,963 ✭✭✭amacca

Don't you realise that this is the same sentiment and not contradictory? They support the Gardaí in doing what they did the other day and they lament the fact that they don't do it more often when groups of violent scumbags are terrorising ordinary people.

Let's leave race out of it for a second. There was an incident near Sheriff Street several months ago in which a man holding a gun was standing on top of a building while people around him lit fireworks and aimed them at him in an attempt to hit him. I have absolutely no idea what the backstory behind this particular fight or feud was, but the video was widely circulated at the time.

If you had to live with this every day and be frightened to walk around your own neighbourhood because of it, and if there seemed to be very little by way of policing, and even if there was policing, you frequently heard of these w@nkers finally being brought to court only to be given a suspended sentence - then can you not see how you might simultaneously (a) criticise the Gardaí for not doing enough, while also (b) cheering them and celebrating for taking action against one particular scumbag which you, through years of such frustration and misery on a daily basis, had come to support on a widespread basis?

That you might simultaneously think "great, they shot a scumbag so there's one less scumbag I have to put up with every day" and also "why don't they also do something about all the other scumbags who terrorise my street every day"?

I personally don't blame the gards it's the politicians and judiciary that have them hamstrung are the bigger issue.

Fickle.

How is that fickle? They're not opposing views? I support AGS, but I think they're doing very little at the moment, of worth, in relation to this.

Am I fickle? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

We do not have the death penalty in this country, this was unfortunately an outcome that could have been prevented.

Gardai are attacked everyday of the week, don't see pages of posts here worrying about them.

The only person who could have prevented it was George

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

When is the funeral ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

How is that fickle? They're not opposing views? I support AGS, but I think they're doing very little at the moment, of worth, in relation to this.

Am I fickle? :confused:

Explain how the position of 'backing the Gardai completely' can be married with the position of 'Not trusting the Gardai to handle the situation correctly'.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Akesh wrote: »
    You're falling into his trap. He wants to deflect away as much as possible from a racist black man commiting a racially motivated attack in Spar and then trying to attack Gardai with a large knife. Why? Because it doesn't suit the woke narrative.

These people have been indoctrinated into thinking that insane levels of alturism, based on privilege, will give them some disturbing social reward. Don't expect logic or reason from people that don't have any.

Or maybe people just want to discuss different aspects of the event and reactions to it?

This thread is very frustrating to read. Can't ask questions or try to inject some nuance without people angrily leaping down your throat implying you're up to some form of tactics.

statesaver wrote: »
    When is the funeral ?

Given the amount of money raised, it'll be on par with the Pope's funeral.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

There is nothing more I hate than the categorisation of us into working, middle and upper class.

Those are categories that were no longer appropriate 100 years ago not to mind now.

Not having a go at all at you Cork but realistically how on earth do those categories describe us now? They were designed for an upstairs/downstairs world by people who would utterly confounded by the way we live now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

God only knows why? Taking up a polar opposite position to someone else just because, is weak minded idiocy. I'm a leftie and I always have been and I've always known that Trotskyites are toxic. You can tell why Boyd Barrett and his crowd won't run under their actual party name, the Socialist Worker's Party, nobody would vote for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Guerillabear

Acosta wrote: »
    There was a lot of racist posts on that thread. Clearly the mods also thought as much, as they deleted plenty of posts.

I am genuinely curious, why are you so concerned with race? Assuming you are white, the people you are championing wouldn’t give your welfare a second thought. In fact, if you were unfortunate enough to stray into their path of destruction the other day, they would have bet the shtie out of you just for having a native Irish skin tone.

Why are you siding with them? Meu deus

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Bríd Smith is some piece of work

"On the Tragic death of George Nkencho
    The killing of George Nkencho by armed gardai on Wednesday 30 December in Blanchardstown has, inevitably, generated a lot of debate, some of it very angry, on social media. This is my response.
    After offering our condolences to all the family who have lost a loved one and our sympathy to the shop worker who was injured in this tragic series of events, there are certain questions that need to be asked.
    Why was it necessary for the gardai to shoot and kill George Nkencho? There were at least 12 trained gardai on the scene. Why could they not disarm and detain him, as they have done with numerous other suspects – men with swords, members of the Kinnehan and Hutch gangs and so on – without shooting him? Second, if shooting was essential, and we do not accept that it was, why was he not shot in the legs to bring him down? Why was he shot at least 3 times (apparently 5 shots were fired)? George Nkencho was evidently mentally disturbed so why was no psychiatric social worker brought to the scene to de-escalate the situation? All these questions need to be asked and seriously investigated.
    One point that needs to be clarified straight away is that raising these questions is not ‘supporting’ George Nkencho or his wielding a knife or attacking a shop worker. Widely differing claims are being made about George , such as that he had 32 criminal convictions but these are not reported in the media and are contradicted by friends and neighbours, plus while there was an altercation in the EuroSpar shop and the shop worker was injured he was NOT slashed in the face. But these are not the issue. Whatever George Nkencho may have done or not done in the past does not justify his killing.
    Was race or rather racism a factor? Some people on social media are confidently asserting that racism has nothing to do with it. What makes them so sure? Institutional racism does not openly declare itself but it shows up in different practice and different responses and this killing is an example of such a different response and that too needs to be investigated. We know from a huge amount of experience, not just in the US but in Britain, France and round the world that racist attitudes can be embedded in police forces as in the wider society. Why should it be different in Ireland given, for example, the record of anti-Traveller racism in the gardai. Reports from the local Black Community suggest they do have experience of racist attitudes from the police and have been subject to racism in school.
    Lastly, regardless of whatever racism there may have been from the gardai, there is no disputing the blatant racism in some of the social media commentary. The far right, anti-migrant Irish Freedom Party, posted video footage of the protest march through Blanchardstown on Thursday and called it ‘unacceptable’. The match was peaceful protest. For the Irish Freedom Party, who themselves have held rallies and marches against mask wearing and the Covid restrictions, what was unacceptable was that these were Black people marching and they called for them to be deported. To the Irish so-called Freedom Party I say what I find unacceptable is your racism and the same applies to any comments on social media which suggest it is alright for George Nkencho to be killed because we should ’look after our own’ and such like.
    I, and People Before Profit, will always oppose such racism and argue for a united response of all working people to injustice whether it is about housing, access to health and education, women’s rights, workers’ rights such as Debenhams, student nurses, or police brutality.
    #JusticeForGeorgeNkencho
    #BlackLivesMatter

From her Facebook page

Racism from the Gardai in this instance apparently

What a joke she is

And some people on here still think the authorities are going to sort this and everything will be fine and dandy.
    This statement from this cretin will just show you that there is going to be alot of hands tied when trying to do anything.
    I'm more embarrassed reading this sh##e than angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Lumen wrote: »
    That kind of sentiment just plays into the hands of people who want to portray this as an execution.

Nobody deserves to be shot dead, otherwise we'd have capital punishment. The shooting is the last emergency resort to protect lives of the public and Gardai, when all else has failed.

Which is what happened. He deserved it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,760 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

What does Brid Smith mean by "working people"? Is she suggesting those who have more money don't work?

I hate this divisive attitude of the left in Ireland.

Also if she wants to be consistent about representing "workers" I take it the exclusion applies to the long term unemployed too and not just "the rich"?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Brid, Coppinger and Paul Murphy etc I feel have badly misjudged this. Yes, ordinarily their electorate love nothing more than a pop at the government and police when it comes to protecting benefits but won't be happy with gangs of Africans roaming neighborhoods attacking local shops with knives and terrorising through protests. I don't think their electorate are part of the woke movement for the most part.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

What does Brid Smith mean by "working people"? Is she suggesting those who have more money don't work?

I hate this divisive attitude of the left in Ireland.

Also if she wants to be consistent about representing "workers" I take it the exclusion applies to the long term unemployed too and not just "the rich"?

She hasn't a clue what's going on because her head is shoved way up her own hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,998 ✭✭✭conorhal

I think it's from the US mostly peaceful protests, the idea there was that Police should be defunded and social workers used instead. Fairly thick to cut and paste the US "solutions" to good old Eire. The old adage about empty vessels is being proven in spades now.

That is literal child-like thinking. It's the solution to a complex problem that I would expect a 6yr old to give me. That's these peoples level of intellect.

It's actually shocking to me that a generation of arrested development adults on twitter with child like minds, who's politics and experience of the world is also predictably juvenile, are so culturally relevant today.
    They are a product of a culture that tells them, 'right is what you feel, and nothing, not even facts or reality, are more important then your feelings'.
    Thus...'He wasn't a thug or a criminal because I feel bad for him so it isn't true because I'd feel bad if it was'.
    'Reality did not play out like the movie that I star in, in my head, so what happened must be wrong.'

Combine that with their narcissistic desire to gather likes and re-tweets for affirmation and you have an entire generation so stupid that I feel like the voting age needs to be raised to 50.

God only knows why.

Some people are scared of what they've witnessed the past few days. The left has been fairly unanimous in their unwavering support for African communities, whilst labeling AGS and anyone who opposes their views as racists.

Oddly enough, this alienates people away from the left and into the hands of the right, who claim to have all the easy answers.

Simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

statesaver wrote: »
    When is the funeral ?

When the money stops rolling in

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭bloopy

Akesh wrote: »

Maybe I am out of the loop here, but I did not hear anything about the Spar assault being racially motivated. I thought it was a robbery, no?