Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

No it won't.
    The video of the shooting clearly shows him lashing out with a long bladed weapon.
    The lives of the Gardaí were in immediate danger and at least one of the Gardaí opened fire to protect himself and others and the public from danger.
    It took 5 shots to take him down because after being hit he continued to lash out with the weapon and the Garda or Gardaí firing continued to do so until he was no longer a threat.
    That is obvious to any sensible person.
    It is amazing that commentators on this thread refuse to accept this.
    It couldn't be more crystal clear.
    The majority on this thread while horrified at the loss of a life accept that the Gardaí had no option but to use lethal force.

I bet they never offered him a safe space, a stuffed unicorn, some crayons and maybe even tried to hug him, this was entirely avoidable. /sarcasm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

kravmaga wrote: »
    We don't know that & you don't know that either. Your just making assumptions without facts.

Lets wait for the official investigation before we start making up assumptions or jumping to conclusions.

Im sure the CCTV and witness statements will be seized and gathered into evidence.

Im sure the victim will give his statement on how he was assaulted and how he received his many serious injuries.

Whether he attacked anyone in the shop is irrelevant. He was lunging at Gardai who had used up all other options to make him stop. His previous actions are irrelevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,492 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I should correct one of your assertations though. I think it is established that he did not actually attack anyone with the knife in the shopping centre. It has being alleged that he did assault but not using the knife, its reported that he threatened with the knife.

Ok. As per your version...He physically attacked somebody while he was in possession of a knife. He threatened civilians and Gardai, with the knife. You threatened somebody with a knife, you might have to pay the consequences, mental illness or otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭AngeloArgue

The video of the shooting clearly shows him lashing out with a long bladed weapon.
    After the first shot?
    The lives of the Gardaí were in immediate danger and at least one of the Gardaí opened fire to protect himself and others and the public from danger.
    Presumably the Gardaí put themselves in that position in order to prevent him from entering the dwelling? Again it boils down to the decision to stop him entering the property
    It took 5 shots to take him down because after being hit he continued to lash out with the weapon and the Garda or Gardaí firing continued to do so until he was no longer a threat.
    Yeah, it appears that he posed a serious risk to the life of the Gardaí. But the first shot looks like it was to prevent him entering the property and presumably the reason the Guards were in close proximity to him was to prevent him from entering the property.

it boils down to the decision to stop him entering the property.

It boils down to the decision to **** around with a knife around civilians and the armed cops

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

This post sums up why being a politician must be a hugely frustrating job. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

But then don't go on the ticket for the election. Sorted.

I think Chambers did good. He is looking after his own. The Igbo can go ta fk. Well I guess that is what the law abiding people in Clonee think now. And he is following them. Good for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Re Jack Chambers, I have nothing against him.

He stood back and waited to see how the wind was blowing, and is looking after his non Igbo constituents now at the end of the day.

I'm not a fan of JC in the slightest, but I remember him being quite vocal about his (unpopular) pro life stance during the 8th amendment referendum. He was also quite outspoken on a Claire Byrne debate where he was described as "losing the plot"- cannot for the life of me remember what it was about.... think it was about protecting kids from porn online in a discussion about climate change- so yeah, of all things i could say about Jack chambers, swaying to whatever way the wind is blowing is not really one of them tbh. Like I said, I'm not a fan of his, so not saying it in defense of him.

kravmaga wrote: »
    The suspect who was shot dead was known to the Gardai and had many previous convictions, it was not his 1st Rodeo.

Making assumptions and jumping to conclusions:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

The plot thickens...

50792275558_623c4a2f2a.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

neonsofa wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of JC in the slightest, but I remember him being quite vocal about his (unpopular) pro life stance during the 8th amendment referendum. He was also quite outspoken on a Claire Byrne debate where he was described as "losing the plot"- cannot for the life of me remember what it was about.... think it was about protecting kids from porn online in a discussion about climate change- so yeah, of all things i could say about Jack chambers, swaying to whatever way the wind is blowing is not really one of them tbh. Like I said, I'm not a fan of his, so not saying it in defense of him.

Fair enough. But politicians in the main follow their constituents needs and wants. That's what gets them elected.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

humberklog wrote: »
    The plot thickens...

Explain plz

• Registered Users Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭monty_python

The plot thickens...

What does nf stand for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Valresnick

What we are witnessing here is the total breakdown of authority, accountability and justice. Let’s not lose sight of the fact that anti social behavior and drug dealing are ruining most Dublin communities now. The law cannot help anyone anymore. In Dublin 5 we’ve had gangs running rampant and the Gardai have said the classic “there is not much more we can do “. It’s time for a serious look at how we deal with crime and if our revolving door justice system is now a failure. There is no accountability for anything anymore, the gangs of young thugs are well aware of this and it’s coming home to roost !

• Registered Users Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Fair enough. But politicians in the main follow their constituents needs and wants. That's what gets them elected.

Sure, in which case I'm not really seeing the issue with him stepping back and waiting to speak with and listen to his constituents before advocating for them publicly. Its essentially what he was elected to do. (Again, never thought I'd see the day when I'm "defending" Jack Chambers :pac: )

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Making assumptions and jumping to conclusions:rolleyes:

No that has been stated in the press, he had previous convictions

• What does nf stand for?

North Face?

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭maneno

There's obviously some social class differences within the black community in the area if one video I saw was anything to go by. A particularly
    well dressed black man was on the escalator in Blanch shopping centre looking absolutely stunned by the goings-on around him, obviously having little in common with the other people who happen to share his skin colour.

Maybe castigated for this but most of these “youths” are Nigerians and most blacks/africans have little in common with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What does nf stand for?

November Foxtrot

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

What does nf stand for?

National Front.

Might be showing my age here.

What does nf stand for?

File:British_National_Front_logo.png
    National Front:eek:

What does nf stand for?

All cars/vans have a roof ID for the helicopter to communicate with them

• Registered Users Posts: 22,312 ✭✭✭✭endacl

What does nf stand for?

November Foxtrot.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭titan18

File:British_National_Front_logo.png
    National Front:eek:

I fair doubt it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

Level 5 lockdown. Numbers through the roof. Mayor of Dublin thinks its acceptable to go protest.

https://twitter.com/hazechu/status/1345484856239779847?s=20

What does nf stand for?

Nkencho Forever

• Jokes aside; the squad cars letters are just that cars call sign. That one being November Foxtrot as has been stated, which just makes it harder to understand what the post meant!! :pac:

Kraftwerk wrote: »
    Level 5 lockdown. Numbers through the roof. Mayor of Dublin thinks its acceptable to go protest.

Has she not already kinda called the Gardai incompetent and sided with the protestors? Perhaps I'm mixing her up with someone else..?

• Kraftwerk wrote: »

https://twitter.com/hazechu/status/1345484856239779847?s=20

In fairness who cares what she thinks?

Valresnick wrote: »
    What we are witnessing here is the total breakdown of authority, accountability and justice. Let’s not lose sight of the fact that anti social behavior and drug dealing are ruining most Dublin communities now. The law cannot help anyone anymore. In Dublin 5 we’ve had gangs running rampant and the Gardai have said the classic “there is not much more we can do “. It’s time for a serious look at how we deal with crime and if our revolving door justice system is now a failure. There is no accountability for anything anymore, the gangs of young thugs are well aware of this and it’s coming home to roost !

Problem is the court system. Where i live there are groups of kids who do the usual petty stuff. Light bins on fire, kick over wheelie bins, break windscreen wipers or wing mirros etc. Annoying stuff but the Gardai get nowhere with it

The court/DPP won't impose a criminal record because they are 17 18 19 etc. It ruins their prospects. The parents don't give a sh1t. So they have free reign basically.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 382 ✭✭oldtimeyfella

The plot thickens...

No Foreigners!

Twitter was right all along!