Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• sounds like the fella that'd be in the station daily. Open to correction though.

I believe that’s correct, the other one oversees a few stations iirc.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭Polar101

I'm surprised there hasn't been any major violence or attacks against the Gardai with all the whinging and moaning. Guess the protesters are just fcuking lazy layabouts, all bark and no bite.

Most of us locals just want to move on. What you see on social media is just some extremists making noise.

I went out for a long walk today (around Hartstown), and didn't get attacked by violent mobs.

Seen as I had the window open, with the address and contact details, I figured I'd write up a quick letter myself, and pop it in the post. Will do no harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,849 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Weepsie wrote: »
    Chambers doesn't do his own thinking in fairness.

I know nothing of him other than the fact that someone posted that he was only a member of FF because of his connections.

Have other FF politicians put out similar statements? Because if someone is writing them for him, then surely they would all be putting out similar?

People bitch and moan about politicians not say X or Y and sure then if the Politician says it, it is still dismissed.

I've seen his, Varadkar and then some other county councillor. Purely based on this thread. All other politicians posted here have been all for poor George and very little about the other people

• Registered Users Posts: 6,814 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

Kraftwerk wrote: »
    Level 5 lockdown. Numbers through the roof. Mayor of Dublin thinks its acceptable to go protest.

https://twitter.com/hazechu/status/1345484856239779847?s=20

Just for balance she goes on to say...

Folks just to be clear (since I know some have a tendency to twist my words here), I can't stop anyone from going out to protest, I would rather everyone stays at home since we're back in level 5 but if you are to do it please do so safely and peacefully.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭BuzzMcdonnell

Seen as I had the window open, with the address and contact details, I figured I'd write up a quick letter myself, and pop it in the post. Will do no harm.

That was my exact thought. It certainly won’t do any harm, and if there’s even a small chance of it helping those Gardai feel supported then it’s worth it

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I'm surprised there hasn't been any major violence or attacks against the Gardai with all the whinging and moaning. Guess the protesters are just fcuking lazy layabouts, all bark and no bite.

As an old lad my parents knew used to say about wasters - if there was work in the bed they would sleep on the floor

I would also guess some of the online protestors may have just had a knee-jerk reaction (as I typed it I realised how it sounds and that is pretty much twitter in a nutshell :D )

and then realised that they were wrong.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Hamachi wrote: »
    I’m sure Chu’s future political aspirations are to become a TD. When she comes cap in hand to the electorate, she needs to be reminded forcefully and repeatedly of her self-serving and reckless intervention here.

That also applies to ‘Senator’ Lynn Ruane, Coppinger, Murphy, and Roderic O’Gorman, whose constituency is Dublin 15. As for Helen McEntee, I can’t see her lasting long as minister for justice. She’s clearly been promoted beyond her abilities.

That was my opinion on her appointment, day one.

In this instance, as Minister for Justice, her response was a disgrace, in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

I believe that’s correct, the other one oversees a few stations iirc.

The Superintendent would be over the district and the Chief Superintendent would be over the division.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Hamachi wrote: »
    I’m sure Chu’s future political aspirations are to become a TD. When she comes cap in hand to the electorate, she needs to be reminded forcefully and repeatedly of her self-serving and reckless intervention here.

Fairly sure she would be running in one of the posh South Dublin constituencies. Nobody there could give a shiet about what happened to the working class Dubs of Blanch.

As an aside, it must be said- while she went to war with that clown O'Doherty who questioned her nationality, it can't be denied. Hearing Chu speak, you would not for a second think she had grown up in, let alone been born, in Ireland.

Not saying she wasn't but, but you could have fooled me.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Could it then be construed that there could of been a breakdown in communication and that more intelligence giving to the ARU could of effected a different decision to engage?
    I don't know. But could some of the Garda present let it be known that it was his own house that he was entering and that he had been involved in prior incidents at the family home that did not result in fatalities or serious harm?
    Maybe such information could of informed the decision of the ARU in stopping him from entering the property?

Could it be construed that's simply stirring more of the pot?

None of us have fek all actual information or professional knowledge of the gardai and the ARU response on the day.

Best wait for the result of the investigation before jumping forward to personal speculation of what anyone person thinks could have / should have / might have ...

What we do have is the garda statement of what happened the day in question

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EqflBRfW8AEcVk1?format=jpg&name=large

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

Meeoow wrote: »
    I see Wayne's go fund me is over 10 grand now. I donated, but I am a bit dubious now. I am concerned over the wording in the fundraiser. It says it is to support Wayne in his recovery, but she doesn't state that all monies will be donated to him, or that he is aware of the fundraiser.
    I contacted the organiser to ask her about it, but she hasn't replied yet.

Take online fundmes with grain of salt.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Meeoow wrote: »
    I see Wayne's go fund me is over 10 grand now. I donated, but I am a bit dubious now. I am concerned over the wording in the fundraiser. It says it is to support Wayne in his recovery, but she doesn't state that all monies will be donated to him, or that he is aware of the fundraiser.
    I contacted the organiser to ask her about it, but she hasn't replied yet.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/20000-for-boy-who-cut-eyebrow-on-bollard-37912107.html

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭AngeloArgue

gozunda wrote: »
    None of us have fek all actual information or professional knowledge of the gardai and the ARU response on the day.
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EqflBRfW8AEcVk1?format=jpg&name=large
    Somebody said that it is standard operational procedure for the ARU not to allow an armed suspect to come within reach of a third party?
    Is that accurate?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Renjit wrote: »
    Take online fundmes with grain of salt.

According to comments here parent company have donated as well.

Report on the gofundme

https://www.buzz.ie/news/over-10k-raised-for-man-attacked-before-george-nkencho-death-409904

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭SaltSweatSugar

I’ve kept relatively quiet about this incident on my own social media, but I’ve gotten into arguments with two friends about it. I feel both would be happier if we were burying Gardaí or reading about injured Gardai as a result of this incident. One even asked, in all seriousness, why the Gardaí didn’t just jump on the culprit. She never gave any thought as to how that was a seriously stupid idea, and how it could end in a number of Gardaí or members of the public getting seriously injured, if not killed. Both indignantly asked why non-lethal options were not used, and when it was pointed out to them that they were reportedly used but did not work, doubled down on their view points that something else should have been done. Neither could elaborate as to what they believe should have been done of course, only that the Gardaí were wrong.
    I’ve given up trying to educate them on this. No matter what I say, nothing will change their minds that the Gardaí are racist, trigger happy white supremacists. I knew Colm Horkan, it broke my heart when he was murdered. I don’t want to see any other Gardaí killed. Neither of these people acknowledged what happened to Colm or reached out after he was murdered. They did not care. He was expendable to them.
    I have been pleasantly surprised that the vast majority of people I know are waiting for the investigation into this incident to pass judgement. I’ve tried to avoid Twitter as I feel it is extremely toxic. I’m thankful that there will be an investigation into what happened but I also accept that there are people that will not accept the outcome of this investigation.
    I don’t care what colour skin the culprit had. I would be saying the exact same thing if it was a white man that had been shot

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

I’ve kept relatively quiet about this incident on my own social media, but I’ve gotten into arguments with two friends about it. I feel both would be happier if we were burying Gardaí or reading about injured Gardai as a result of this incident. One even asked, in all seriousness, why the Gardaí didn’t just jump on the culprit. She never gave any thought as to how that was a seriously stupid idea, and how it could end in a number of Gardaí or members of the public getting seriously injured, if not killed. Both indignantly asked why non-lethal options were not used, and when it was pointed out to them that they were reportedly used but did not work, doubled down on their view points that something else should have been done. Neither could elaborate as to what they believe should have been done of course, only that the Gardaí were wrong.
    I’ve given up trying to educate them on this. No matter what I say, nothing will change their minds that the Gardaí are racist, trigger happy white supremacists. I knew Colm Horkan, it broke my heart when he was murdered. I don’t want to see any other Gardaí killed. Neither of these people acknowledged what happened to Colm or reached out after he was murdered. They did not care. He was expendable to them.
    I have been pleasantly surprised that the vast majority of people I know are waiting for the investigation into this incident to pass judgement. I’ve tried to avoid Twitter as I feel it is extremely toxic. I’m thankful that there will be an investigation into what happened but I also accept that there are people that will not accept the outcome of this investigation.
    I don’t care what colour skin the culprit had. I would be saying the exact same thing if it was a white man that had been shot

This is going to sound really sexist and I apologise. But I notice Irish people sticking up for the thug in this case seem to be predominantly women. Are both your friend women who argued this?

I feel like there’s literally no Irish men standing up for the thug. Even on the thugs go fund me all the donations where either African names or Irish females... what’s the deal here?

If this is not an acceptable post mods please delete.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

This is going to sound really sexist and I apologise. But I notice Irish people sticking up for the thug in this case seem to be predominantly women. Are both your friend women who argued this?

I feel like there’s literally no Irish men standing up for the thug. Even on the thugs go fund me all the donations where either African names or Irish females... what’s the deal here?

I have noticed this... Seems to be a woman thing....

That said it's my opinion.
    Can't be 100% of course

From what I've witnessed the girls are egging on the boys.
    I'm actually not really sure why

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭SaltSweatSugar

I didn’t find your question sexist so no offence taken here. One of them was a woman, the other was a man. Im a woman.

Can't be 100% of course

I didn’t want to say it. I’m not a sexist person in any shape or form but it’s just something I’ve noticed. Although I can say it’s not relevant, it kind of is in a sense as the egging on is the danger.

My partners younger sister was all for George and so were all her friends at the beginning, they all immediately done a u-turn and removed their Instagram stories when they realised the majority are for the Garda doing the right thing.
    We need the egging on to stop and this needs to be forgotten about ASAP.

I didn’t find your question sexist so no offence taken here. One of them was a woman, the other was a man. Im a woman.

Ok glad I didn’t offend.
    But how anyone can side with clearly what was a criminal in this case is beyond me.
    Nobody I know is against the Garda but if my friends or family did I would immediately argue it.
    The nonsense has to be stomped out.

It’s nothing to do with race. It’s a simple case of right or wrong. The perpetrator was in the wrong and I do feel sorry for his family but they have gone about this situation in the wrong way, supporting the protests.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭h2005

World is gone mad. Anyone that watches the video can see the guards did the right thing. People looking for racism in everything takes away from genuine racism which there is plenty of.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,757 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

That was my opinion on her appointment, day one.

In this instance, as Minister for Justice, her response was a disgrace, in my opinion.

What she say, her response?

Ok glad I didn’t offend.
    But how anyone can side with clearly what was a criminal in this case is beyond me.
    Nobody I know is against the Garda but if my friends or family did I would immediately argue it.
    The nonsense has to be stomped out.

It’s nothing to do with race. It’s a simple case of right or wrong. The perpetrator was in the wrong and I do feel sorry for his family but they have gone about this situation in the wrong way, supporting the protests.

Sure I thought it was just a somebody, nothing to do with religious beliefs, colour, country etc.... Just expected it to be a typical scum bag.....

BLM and antifa are dangerous and have a lot to answer for.

We aren't America so I wish they would stop going on like we are in the ghetto

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Minnie Snuggles

The world and it's mother can see that this is not a race issue. The real issue is the lack of prison space. If we had adequate prison space this man would not have been out on bail.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,963 ✭✭✭amacca

My partners younger sister was all for George and so were all her friends at the beginning, they all immediately done a u-turn and removed their Instagram stories when they realised the majority are for the Garda doing the right thing.

Isn't that just pathetic......id nearly have more respect for a person like that if they stuck to their guns

Even more if they posted saying they were mistaken

But jumping on a bandwagon and then backtracking when it's not the bandwagon they thought it was.....just more utter vacuous spinelessness promoted by echo chamber social media.

The world and it's mother can see that this is not a race issue. The real issue is the lack of prison space. If we had adequate prison space this man would not have been out on bail.

Along with half the people protesting.

McDowell had the right idea... Think I got that right.

Pity the super prison never got off the ground only the super dooper over priced land we are still paying for and security to mind the protected structure on the grounds....

I honestly wouldn't mind at all if they said right the land is there, crazy money spent, it's not going anywhere and let's get it done.

This or turn it into a mental hospital and treat the people that need help, this isn't an insult by the way. There are many out there that need specialist help.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Can't be 100% of course

I noticed that too from the videos. While most are black (and young) you do see a few Irish young ones joining in.

Like all that banging on the shutters outside eurospar, the shopping center and topaz incidents are racially motivated attacks. Young black people causing shi*e against whites. So then you have these young Irish ones joining in. No cop on what so ever.

No loss tho. To be brutally honest a good few of them will probably be polled before they finish secondary school. Sort we're dealing with imo.

amacca wrote: »
    Isn't that just pathetic......id nearly have more respect for a person like that if they stuck to their guns

Even more if they posted saying they were mistaken

But jumping on a bandwagon and then backtracking when it's not the bandwagon they thought it was.....just more utter vacuous spinelessness promoted by echo chamber social media.

I wanted to send her a message for her friends but my partner stopped me.I was more going to slag them to make them feel awkward. I wasn’t going to say anything too vicious.

I know these girls they are all decent people but it shows the stupidity and internet culture we face.

When it was clear the Garda was in the right I asked my partner to check her sisters friends instagrams and every single one had taken their story down. “Garda brutality”and the BLM etc had been removed.

IDIOTS