Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I don't think it matters that the person was mentally ill. He violently assaulted the Eurospar employee and threatened others with a knife. He also threatened the Gardai with a knife. The fact that he may have been mentally ill is neither here nor there. A mentally ill person who is violent and armed with a knife poses a threat to others and has to be dealth with the same as any other non-mentally ill person armed with a knife and threatening people.
    It has a bearing on how someone might respond. It should also affect how it's dealt with. Anyway I'll wait to see what GSOC say about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

After a few days of all this mess, I'm more calm now, I've had a few twitter spats with peolpe and the one thing that comes for all of this is I'm a white privileged racists.
    I don't know what way the country is gonna go in the next 10 years but it's all well and fine to sit here and bitch and give out about our representatives, who's been let in to the country, deportations that are never in acted, the gimme gimme gimme more crowd and lots more failings in the country against the hard working tax abiding citizens.
    I suppose my point is when the next election comes around a fair share of people will just go back and vote who they normally vote for, the young and collage going (woke) will push for more multiculturalism(which isn't bad but not open doors) and the likes of us on here will be still given out, we're to meek and our political class know this, that's why they can say what they want without question .... I'm off social media for awhile it's really turned into them against us attitude, I tried to have a debate on Twitter with a girl yesterday and it was an echo chamber your racist your racist, asked her what was racist I said .... bam! Blocked.... it's very disheartening the way ireland is speeding down the tracks to shut up and know your place you privileged white person and pay for everyone else, I've 21( hopefully)years left before I retire... I just hope all these kids will know how to work when collage life ends and aren't work shy, they'll learn fast enough where Thier taxes are going and how life can be sh*t, mammys house isn't always gonna be there.back to work for me.

Rant over

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

What special branch carries guns, bean bag guns and rubber bullets all at the same time?

I’d hazard a guess at the ARU, with the clue being in the title.
    They already carry the equipment FFS :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

Effects wrote: »
    The only experts here are people like you, claiming to know everything.
    You don’t even know the difference between how a taser gun and bean bag rounds work. :rolleyes:

Thanks for your concern but your completely wrong 😂
    I've spent more time handling firearms than you have outside your bedroom I bet
    Also I've actually had some first hand experience with every thing you've mentioned above. Including actual violence. Part of being involved in self defense courses and martial arts since I has 10. Check my forum history haha.

Try again

• Registered Users Posts: 8,538 ✭✭✭jmreire

The gardai will also realise they need more avenues. Weak cs spray to a gun leaves a gap in middle that would have meant a different outcome probably.

Pepper spray only works if you can get near enough to the person...and if that person happens to be swinging a machete, keeping out a safe distance would mean not getting anywhere near close enough for it to work. The tazer is a different kettle of fish though, its not unknow for enraged farm animals to charge through an electric fence either. A net at the end of some poles might have made a difference, but under the circumstances, even that might not work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭arccosh

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    He was shadowed from the shop back to the house by gardai in an effort to prevent any other member of the public from being caught up in this.

The family have protection orders against him for their own safety so allowing him enter the house was a no go. It either become impossible to counter act his violence if he attacks his family members or else a hostage situation.

Tasered twice and asked multiple times to put the knife down. He was wearing heavy looking clothing and was moving about which makes tasers very difficult to deploy effectively as they need to hit skin with two probes. There is no gap between CS Spray and Guns.

Gardai only fired a gun when the man became violent towards them with intent to harm or kill.

If he had put the knife down on any one of the numerous times he was afforded that opportunity he would be alive today. He chose a different path. He got shot.

how dare you bring logic and reason to this discussion

Davaeo09 wrote: »
    We need to start demanding proof of any thing used in his defense.
    The same way the snowflakes on here didn't like the so called false alagations around his convictions without proof.

You just need to let the investigation run it’s course, instead of throwing your woke bro two cents around. :rolleyes:

Nah I just hate seeing people jumping to his defense for what ever reason.
    And I am speaking about on here on this forum.
    The double standards are sickening.

Everyone thing negative is seen as an attack a deliberate attempt to make him look worse

But if I was to say he was a Saint and a scholar it should be taken as gospel?

And woke? What part of any of my previous posts would make you say that.
    Genuinely Confused about that

Also imagine not wanting to read other people's opinions on a forum
    Yikes

Davaeo09 wrote: »
    Part of being involved in self defense courses and martial arts since I has 10. Check my forum history haha.

Try again

Like I said, you’re the only one claiming to be the expert.

Yes because your iditioc claim that bean bag rounds should have been used belongs in a cartoon not the real world.
    If you don't want to be corrected stop making stupid statements.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

There was an incident last year of a black fella beating, and then stabbing his white victom as he lay motionless on the ground. He also came back the second time and lifted his top to stab him some more. Other footage was circulated of the same fella attacking other white young lads. The perpetrator recently got 18 months sentence for it.

Do you think that was racial? (or racist)

I'm just trying to get a better picture of your logic which is applied to this more recent incident

The same WOKE activist class who are jumping up and down now about how the guards were " motivated by racism "

Were claiming that only the " far right " believed that stabbing in carrigaline Cork was racially motivated

Go figure

• Registered Users Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭piplip87

jmreire wrote: »
    A net at the end of some poles might have made a difference, but under the circumstances, even that might not work.

Yes and when they are taking him away in the net he turns to the Gardai and says

"I would've got away with it, only for you pesky Gardai."

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Heart Break Kid

I thought they had used the tazer before the spray.

There’s obviously a case for use of rubber bullets or bean bag rounds, before escalating to traditional rounds.

Spray is probably a lot more effective however if he was wearing a mask and all raged up, it might not even have an effect.

Wearing a thick hoodie or a parka jacket could definitely negate a tazer. Generally have pins that are meant to stick into you and range is only a couple of meters.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I'd a conversation a few minutes ago with a work colleague who is black.

She believed that the 14 Gardai should have overpowered him and taken the knife off him.

When I explained that he would have more than likely stabbed two or three Gardai before they managed to overpower him, she wasn't really that interested. I think she thought that was part of the job.

I asked her that if she was one of the Gardai, would she rush to take on someone with a knife and possibly leave her kids without a mother? She wouldn't answer.

Spray is probably a lot more effective however if he was wearing a mask and all raged up, it might not even have an effect.

Wearing a thick hoodie or a parka jacket could definitely negate a tazer. Generally have pins that are meant to stick into you and range is only a couple of meters.

He's offering his expert opinion and then calls any one out for disagreeing when it's plain as ****ing day the guards exhausted all other options.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭Acosta

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    The same WOKE activist class who are jumping up and down now about how the guards were " motivated by racism "

Were claiming that only the " far right " believed that stabbing in carrigaline Cork was racially motivated

Go figure

I haven't seen any evidence that either of the incidents were racially motivated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

is_that_so wrote: »
    It has a bearing on how someone might respond. It should also affect how it's dealt with. Anyway I'll wait to see what GSOC say about it.

We have zero evidence that he had mental health issues, bar from his family. Who also claimed he had a butter knife, and he was lying down when the police shot him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I dont know if it was racist or not but the reaction has definitely been hugely racist and its very clear that lies about him having a machete and slashing someone and having 32 previous convictions were started by people with racist motivations.

The reaction?
    You have not once described the actions of the mob in Blanch as racist, AFAICS.
    Is there a reason for this, poster?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

After a few days of all this mess, I'm more calm now, I've had a few twitter spats with peolpe and the one thing that comes for all of this is I'm a white privileged racists.
    I don't know what way the country is gonna go in the next 10 years but it's all well and fine to sit here and bitch and give out about our representatives, who's been let in to the country, deportations that are never in acted, the gimme gimme gimme more crowd and lots more failings in the country against the hard working tax abiding citizens.
    I suppose my point is when the next election comes around a fair share of people will just go back and vote who they normally vote for, the young and collage going (woke) will push for more multiculturalism(which isn't bad but not open doors) and the likes of us on here will be still given out, we're to meek and our political class know this, that's why they can say what they want without question .... I'm off social media for awhile it's really turned into them against us attitude, I tried to have a debate on Twitter with a girl yesterday and it was an echo chamber your racist your racist, asked her what was racist I said .... bam! Blocked.... it's very disheartening the way ireland is speeding down the tracks to shut up and know your place you privileged white person and pay for everyone else, I've 21( hopefully)years left before I retire... I just hope all these kids will know how to work when collage life ends and aren't work shy, they'll learn fast enough where Thier taxes are going and how life can be sh*t, mammys house isn't always gonna be there.back to work for me.

Rant over

Use paragraphs, your rant is unreadable ;)

Mimon wrote: »
    Use paragraphs, your rant is unreadable ;)

This isn't an honors English class and nice contribution

Pot, kettle, black.

And yet more references to the US. Well there was no major trouble today as far as I know so that's the end of this mess hopefully.

https://twitter.com/hazechu/status/1345823878585737217

She jumped in with both feet to promote the absolutely non-evidenced assertion that this may have been racist. She won't take responsibility for her part in stoking divisions within our community.
    The Mayor of our capital.
    She's an extreme activist posing as a serious politician.
    She was also one of the first amongst the usual clatter of suspects who promoted the absolutely disgraceful 'Carlow male teachers are paedos' 'story' a few months back and here she is calling for Twitter to flag false stories.

Massive hypocrite alert.

• Registered Users Posts: 637 ✭✭✭gary550

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    He was shadowed from the shop back to the house by gardai in an effort to prevent any other member of the public from being caught up in this.

The family have protection orders against him for their own safety so allowing him enter the house was a no go. It either become impossible to counter act his violence if he attacks his family members or else a hostage situation.

Tasered twice and asked multiple times to put the knife down. He was wearing heavy looking clothing and was moving about which makes tasers very difficult to deploy effectively as they need to hit skin with two probes. There is no gap between CS Spray and Guns.

Gardai only fired a gun when the man became violent towards them with intent to harm or kill.

If he had put the knife down on any one of the numerous times he was afforded that opportunity he would be alive today. He chose a different path. He got shot.

I understand your well constructed and extremely logical point of view but....

There was 15 of them there like so let talk alternate peaceful tactics...

why didn't they try to tickle him and disarm while he was distracted giggling?

why didn't they call in randy orton to perform an RKO from the front garden wall?

why wasnt there a psychiatric social care nurse called in to work out unresolved childhood trauma?

why couldn't a martial artist trained in the specialist discipline of knife disarmament be deployed?

why couldn't one of the guards been sacrificed as an offering of peace & unity?

There is really no excuse to shoot an extremely violent and erratic man who only had a 1 large butter knife and was otherwise unarmed :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 40,458 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

People really need to start using sarcasm tags on their posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

gary550 wrote: »
    why couldn't a martial artist trained in the specialist discipline of knife disarmament be deployed?

Sensei Seagal was otherwise engaged, unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The gardai will also realise they need more avenues. Weak cs spray to a gun leaves a gap in middle that would have meant a different outcome probably.

I'd say you're missing a lot in that "gap" tbf

Garda had already attended the scene of the individual attacking and threatening staff and others. From the reports they spent a considerable period attempting to diffuse the situation and move him away from the public...

From what has already been reported
    Uniformed, unarmed gardaí responded to the scene and observed a male in possession of a knife. The male continued to threaten members of the public and unarmed gardaí with the knife,” said a statement from the Garda press office...

He had been pepper sprayed and tasered but when this did not work, the use of lethal force became necessary. There were concerns that he could kill someone,” a senior source said...

Senior sources said the decision by an officer from the Armed Support Unit (ASU) to fire shots was because the highly trained garda believed there was an “imminent threat to life”.“He had been pepper sprayed and tasered but when this did not work, the use of lethal force became necessary. There were concerns that he could kill someone,” ...

Further details.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/major-tension-in-community-as-family-calls-for-answers-after-man-with-knife-shot-by-gardai-39916358.html

• Registered Users Posts: 8,553 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

grassylawn wrote: »
    There is a tazer in that gap in the middle. Which they used and it didn't work. I looked it up and tazers aren't particularly reliable when it comes to stopping someone, especially the newer lower voltage ones.
    so, the ARU are using weak pepper spray and low voltage tazers...? Maybe time for a rethink on that

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭titan18

so, the ARU are using weak pepper spray and low voltage tazers...? Maybe time for a rethink on that

Then they'll complain about inhumane treatment, same as if rubber bullets are used.

Hijpo wrote: »
    What does a business owner do if they employ a white person and a black person.
    The white person books time off, then the black person comes looking for the same time off and doesn't get it.

Racism card.

Then you get the likes of that speaker and other SJW coming out of the wood work in support of the black person because they are not being allowed take holidays but the white person is.

No amount of logic and explanation trumps the racism card.
    If you want to find racism in somehing you will and it will never go away.

This is exactly what 'anti-racism' is.
    It's a linguistic deception to advance an illogical, dangerous theoretical ideology.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Hindsight is 20/20 but anyway, the unarmed Gardai folowing him down the road while he was waving a blade around should have ( be allowed to ?) put Hyundai i30 to good use before he fot near any more people

Works well it seems :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGmbYvYrsCU

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭Burty330

Look at the Sheeple out protesting. Wannabe activits mimmicking what they see on their twitter feeds. A criminal got dealt with, so what?
    None of them would have a rats ass if that perp got snuffed out back in his motherland