Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭Howard Beale

No end to these have-go-at-activism types is there?

Activism types? For what exactly? What is she an 'activist' for?

See she has you eating out of her hand using the leftie loola lingo.

Activist LOL. Bet she has never had to struggle a single day in her life, suddenly she's an 'activist' now?

Again for what?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭Acosta

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    What reaction do you think she would have with anyone countering her arguments/statements in a non-bile way?
    Do you think she would engage honestly and truthfully or block immediately with/without labelling someone 'racist' for countering her statement?
    I suppose it depends on her definition of abuse.

I don't know her but I recognise the mindset.
    For any actual abusive reactions to her, the report button, the block button and the mute button are available to her and everyone else.

I couldn't tell ya, I don't know her or follow her. She definitely has a point regarding the spreading of misinformation and the damage it does. Some on this thread will undoubtedly disagree because they were part of it. There's over 5 thousand posts on this now since last Wednesday(not including the mountain of posts that were deleted) and plenty of it was either intentionally or otherwise spreading false information.

But back to her tweet. Most people could do without the type of person that would post a monkey gif when discussing Ebon Joseph.

Most of the people I have come across on Twitter interested in this incident and previous ones involving a black person, have no more interest in the welfare of a Guard, or a lad from Carrigaline. All they want is to divide and race bait.
    At the same time people on the left would do well to cool their jets and also not speculate and leave it to the the people charged with investigating it to do their job.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Activist LOL. Bet she has never had to struggle a single day in her life, suddenly she's an 'activist' now?

Again for what?

I think he's agreeing with you lad.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭titan18

piplip87 wrote: »
    I've seen a few posts today along the lines of "If you turned your Instagram black in the summer and haven't joined a protest this week, then you are apart of the problem".

Fairly obvious the protests didnt attract the same numbers as the ones for George Flyod did in the summer.

I'd reckon alot of those who protested in the summer have seen the video and made up their own minds about this.

I'd say we are finished with this now apart from online outrage until the Ombudsman releases his findings.

Taken all into consideration I'd say the times article yesterday, if all true will certainly exonerate the Gardai. The fella had a weapon, going to a house in which the family in that house had a protection order taken against him, and then going for the Gardai with a knife.

I'd say Murphy and Co will have a few days of grandstanding the Dail and try to get some form of protest up and running again.

Nah they're still going after it in the papers anyway.

Like this idiot, https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/commentanalysis/arid-40200258.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Any word when the poor sods funeral will be? I'd imagine that will attract a lot of the looney left.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Any word when the poor sods funeral will be? I'd imagine that will attract a lot of the looney left.

There are votes to be got.

titan18 wrote: »
    Nah they're still going after it in the papers anyway.

Like this idiot, https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/commentanalysis/arid-40200258.html

Dr Lucy Michael is a sociologist in practice and consultant on equality and integration issues. Her work particularly addresses racist discrimination and violence, experiences of victims, and the roles of statutory institutions and civil society in combating hate crime and exclusion. She is author (with Bryan Fanning) of Immigrants as Outsiders in the Two Irelands (MUP, 2019), and (with Samantha Schulz) of Unsettling Whiteness

She is also a Commission Member on the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission.

There's little hope for this country when people like this have power

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Hopefully the electorate remember these public "leaders" , those who might have heretofore seen the SF/PBP/socialists types as champions, will have hopefully seen who gets to eat first from the trough of resources and realise where they are on their hierarchy of disenfranchised.

Coppinger got her arse handed to her in the last election, I think a few more will follow in the next election.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭titan18

It will show exactly what they think of covid restrictions if they turn out for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Morathi

TomTomTim wrote: »

My favourite thing from the piece was the reference to the "right to life" article in the constitution. It's an argument I've seen a good bit over George's death, and it always ignores the rights of the Gardai and innocents not to be stabbed by a man that refuses to disarm.

titan18 wrote: »
    It will show exactly what they think of covid restrictions if they turn out for that

They will be magically immune just like the BLM protests here during the summer and the SF funeral in NI.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,337 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Again for what?

Calm down. I was in agreement.

Not everything is a go at you, you know?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

statesaver wrote: »
    They will be magically immune just like the BLM protests here during the summer and the SF funeral in NI.

And the large state funeral down here also.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Fann Linn wrote: »
    And the large state funeral down here also.

shinnerbots always have to get a dig in don't they

the only funerals they are happy to talk about are garda ones

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

what a sad situation. made all the worse by lies and misinformation floating around. also not helped by public representatives jumping to conclusions while the GSOC investigation is running.

it's tempting to link to some of the loonie tweets here but I think that just makes things worse and gives oxygen to extreme views on either side.

it'll be interesting to see if there are any lessons to be learned by the Gardai and how they handle the comms around it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

mynamejeff wrote: »
    shinnerbots always have to get a dig in don't they

the only funerals they are happy to talk about are garda ones
    Just reminding the poster that he missed one. That's all.
    Seems to have irked you all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,240 ✭✭✭✭walshb

what a sad situation. made all the worse by lies and misinformation floating around. also not helped by public representatives jumping to conclusions while the GSOC investigation is running.

Not even jumping to conclusions....deliberately anti people/establishment....

You can bet that even after GSOC is completed, and if it reports on justified shooting, they will not accept this,m and will continue to stoke hate and division

walshb wrote: »

You can bet that even after GSOC is completed, and if it reports on justified shooting, they will not accept this,m and will continue to stoke hate and division

Just like a certain rape case from a few years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Rezident

The most frustrating thing of all is that any critical query on the race angle is either shouted down or ignored and you are labelled as a racist.

I think whats winding people up the most is that theres no reasonable debate about this, *somehow* its a clear cut racial issue.

The only definitive unquestionable racism I have seen with this situation has been from the black community.

Turn this on its head and question if the perpetrators actions were racially motivated? Did he go to Eurospar with the intent to assault a white guy? There is zero evidence of that motivation....but does it matter? It works from the other way around.

People here are giving far more weight to the colour of the perpatrators skin rather than his actions. Its quite laughable and equally as tragic that some here cannot accept that he was a violent individual, with historical issues with AGS, a barring order from his own family and had just commited a crime...

...yet he was shot because he was black.

There is absolutely no way that a rational person can take that stance. What type of person believes thats what happened here?

A racist person. A lot of these BLM agitators protesting outside a Garda Station making false accusations of racism, clearly appear to be racist against white people themselves.

It was not just white people living in Mississippi hundreds of years ago that were racist, there are clearly a lot of racist black people today, brainwashed by BLM to believe that all white people hate them for some unknown reason.

But it is socially acceptable to be racist against white people so they can get away with it. Pure racism. He was shot because he had a lethal weapon, and rightly so. I feel bad for the Guards, risking their lives to protect a community that does not even appreciate them.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

walshb wrote: »

One particular cllr openly addressing the community saying the killing was not justified. we could debate his motivation, but what he is saying is clearly premature and playing to one particular gallery. cheap and easy, but will come back to haunt him in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

TomTomTim wrote: »

Ebun Joseph is the same. Wrote a paper on "whiteness in the Irish Labour Market" thats full of ridiculous arguments like the below claiming that the 10k strong Gardai not having African recruits is evidence of racism in the Labour market and references herself to back it up. And she's a lecturer in social policy and race studies in UCD.

"While unemployment today is at its lowest in the last ten years, this positive turn in the economy only applies to Ireland’s white population. In 2017 the Garda Representative Association (GRA), which has around 10,500 members, reported there was not a single person of African or Caribbean origin in the force. This level of whiteness in the Irish labour market is not unique to the Garda. Rather what is evident is that being Black in the Irish labour market is a strong indicator of un[under]employment and marginalisation (Joseph, 2017"

The same thing that is happening in the US is happening here. Agenda driven idiots in academia and media accepting and validating ****e because it suits their agenda and then giving the authors of that ****e positions to teach and promote their ****e as fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭corks finest

Acosta wrote: »
    I couldn't tell ya, I don't know her or follow her. She definitely has a point regarding the spreading of misinformation and the damage it does. Some on this thread will undoubtedly disagree because they were part of it. There's over 5 thousand posts on this now since last Wednesday(not including the mountain of posts that were deleted) and plenty of it was either intentionally or otherwise spreading false information.

But back to her tweet. Most people could do without the type of person that would post a monkey gif when discussing Ebon Joseph.

Most of the people I have come across on Twitter interested in this incident and previous ones involving a black person, have no more interest in the welfare of a Guard, or a lad from Carrigaline. All they want is to divide and race bait.
    At the same time people on the left would do well to cool their jets and also not speculate and leave it to the the people charged with investigating it to do their job.

Think you're clearly incorrect ref average persons opinion on the welfare of our gardai and that poor kid in Carrigaline, ( Co incidentally he's known to me through the GAA and my kids team and a close family friend, so anything I wrote was directly linked, not something I thought up)
    Ordinary Joe soap does care

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

I think the overwhelming consensus is that he was no loss.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭corks finest

Acosta wrote: »
    I can't say I blame her. Unlike this place, Twitter does little or nothing to deal with the many faceless, nameless far right accounts who will pile into her replies spouting bile.

I'm not faceless on Twitter, neither am I far right or left, but won't be quiet because ppl of a different ethnic minority choose to class all Irish as racist because of a black criminal who was shot legally by our police force,
    He got every chance to stop, and the rent a mob who stopped traffic, rampaged through a shopping centre cannot be allowed to rule, end of, as a guest or citizen of this nation law is for everyone equally to obey and if not the consquences are equally there for everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

I see certain left leaning facebook groups are on the hunt now to start off the cancel culture effort.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭Acosta

Think you're clearly incorrect ref average persons opinion on the welfare of our gardai and that poor kid in Carrigaline, ( Co incidentally he's known to me through the GAA and my kids team and a close family friend, so anything I wrote was directly linked, not something I thought up)
    Ordinary Joe soap does care

Perhaps I wasn't being clear enough, but I was on about a certain group of far right accounts on social media, specifically Twitter.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Just reminding the poster that he missed one. That's all.
    Seems to have irked you all the same.

Correct, I did forget that funeral.

Coppinger got her arse handed to her in the last election, I think a few more will follow in the next election.

I agree with you, in that most reasonable people will gladly tell her and her ilk to kindly fcuk right off.
    However, the scary thing is, is that these youngsters at the protests and the ones racially abusing the people in Hartstown, will be of voting age in a few years time.

These politicians dont give two ****s about us or our vote, but they are grooming the next generation and any incoming immigrants to vote for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,009 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I don't care if he was the Dalai Lama - he was a threat to Garda and public safety - he had ample opportunity to obey instructions from the Gardai. He chose not to. His own choices caused his death. It is sad that someone died, but it is better outcome than if he had killed a Garda or a member of the public first.

If he had killed or seriously injured a Garda can you imagine the posts on here and other sites about how he should have been shot before he stabbed someone and that the armed Garda messed it up.
    I’m just waiting on some loon to come out and say that poor George was blind, deaf and dumb and didn’t know what was going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

neonsofa wrote: »
    A close friend of mine, who is a dub through and through (parents of African descent, but she was born and raised here, speaks Irish better than most), was getting messages from people she had barely spoken to in years during the BLM protests in the US. Around the day of the black squares on instagram. Messages about wanting to learn and understand, checking how she was. She didnt say it to them, but she was saying to me venting, like "I'm fine, as I've always been, but if I wasn't, you clearly didn't care up til now so why would I discuss it with you!?! Why would I put time aside out of my day to teach a randomer about racism when they have Google?!" She found it incredibly frustrating. She also felt like she was becoming the token black friend when people were reaching out to her out of the blue. Like they wanted to reconnect just because it was the in thing. It was a very strange time! I dont know if it will start up again now with all this. I hope not.

I find the whole "check in on black people" thing strange. Sure if they're your friend and you think it may be affecting them negatively, but inserting yourself into the lives of black people that you don't speak to any other time of the year... let's not.

sounds like your friend had the good sense not to indulge those narcissists