Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

"But we're different in this country. In America they just shoot black people for no reason. Here our police only shoot in self defence"

Almost all of the killings BLM protest is of criminals resisting arrest, including George Floyd. Gonna be class seeing the same social media gob****es out protesting, when they were the ones telling us to stay at home.

It didn't stop them before, so it won't stop them now. Their cause it's more important than covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,457 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Was it a knife or a machete he had?

A knife could be a butter knife.

One of those plastic knives you get at christenings.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭Be right back

I would have thought tomorrow's public march down O Connell street wouldnt be allowed under restrictions?

What march?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭Feisar

Telly wrote: »
    He stabbed the manager of the shop then tried to stab the cops. I’ve seen the videos. He was a danger and needed to be stopped. He should have dropped the knife. But he didn’t and now he’s dead. One less robbing scumbag on the streets!

Currently 214 thanks for the above. And rightfully so. RTE taking the woke stance though, interviewed a mother of a friend of the criminal.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭Eivor

Yeah what's with the hostility? I asked if anyone else thought it was unusual for a man with a knife to be shot. No one ever gets shot here so it sounded harsh. I didn't know he was even black at this time.
    I'm not a trained Garda to deal with these situations!

What would you have done? If one guard gets too close, they get stabbed. They might be lucky and get a cut on the arm or very unlucky and get their throat slit. Not worth the risk.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Bohemians are going to rename Dalymount George Nkencho Park.

• How do they know whether or not his family cannot afford a funeral or even want this fundraiser?

Oh I’m sure they’ll apply for exceptional needs too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Bambi wrote: »
    it could be, how would you suggest the Gardai check?

What I meant is that people on twitter keep saying it was a knife, trying to downplay what he was armed with.

Sure, as Coppinger said...a knife doesn’t even count as being armed these days.

That's not a real thing, is it? There aren't honestly people that stupid, that they'd march in honour of a scumbag who was shot whilst threatening the public, and Gardai, with a knife?

How fcuking dense are some of the people we share this island with.

Dense and getting denser with every generation it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Oh I’m sure they’ll apply for exceptional needs too.

To be fair to them, I'd say they'd rather not have to.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,936 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Was it a knife or a machete he had?

A knife could be a butter knife.

Does buttering your bread with a machete make it any less dangerous

• Registered Users Posts: 23,771 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

https://twitter.com/ENkencho/status/1344403452223516673

He lunged at gardai with a machete just to state the fact

• PsychoPete wrote: »
    Does buttering your bread with a machete make it any less dangerous

As if the guards would do anything but laugh at and/or batter ye for swinging a butter knife at them. You know our murderous gardai shooting people dead left and right daily.

These clowns perpetuating this shiíte about gardai mad for murdering people have no grasp on fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,850 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Telly wrote: »
    He stabbed the manager of the shop then tried to stab the cops. I’ve seen the videos. He was a danger and needed to be stopped. He should have dropped the knife. But he didn’t and now he’s dead. One less robbing scumbag on the streets!

What shop was it not that it matters I am just curious

Is the manager ok?

Scumbags still doing bad things even during a pandemic

You’re specifically taught to shoot at mass, not the head, arms or legs because bullets can miss very easily and hit someone else. You aim for the biggest target, not the smallest.

Guns are not meant to injure, they’re designed to kill. Shooting limbs is something you see in movies and on TV.

No fault with your post for the most part however in terms of guns being designed to kill wasn't part of the argument to drop down to 5.56 from the 7.62 was the wounding factor? It takes more of the enemies resources to look after a wounded soldier than a dead one. Maybe that was an argument after the fact, not sure.

Is the Katie B organising the go fund me?

• Registered Users Posts: 56,486 ✭✭✭✭walshb

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Is the manager ok?

I heard he really laid into the manager. Beat him badly..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

That's not a real thing, is it? There aren't honestly people that stupid, that they'd march in honour of a scumbag who was shot whilst threatening the public, and Gardai, with a knife?

How fcuking dense are some of the people we share this island with.

Well there's a large crowd at the scene shouting "racists" and shooting fireworks at the Gards that are there. There will no doubt be more of it.

Hazel Chu, Ebun Joseph, Paul Murphy, Ruth Coppinger etc are all responsible for stoking the hatred by implying he was a victim of racist gardai using excessive force.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,044 ✭✭✭✭briany

I don't think that right-on Twitterites are doing their case any good by posting things such as "Rest in power, George Nkencho" when there are reports and videos of him lunging at the Gards with a knife (the knife part being from the reports rather than the videos I saw, because the videos are too far away). That just makes them look totally out of touch with reality.

But, to give balance on this, to say it was a totally justified killing, I don't know if that's clear yet. It's hard to tell, looking at portrait-aspect shaky Twitter videos filmed from across a green. Could they have shot to disable rather than shot to kill, for example? Or were they trying to shoot to disable, but missed?

I'm interested in how the facts of the case develop. I'm sure the usual suspects will be seeking to use the incident for radicalisation purposes, but then they always do.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,486 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Kraftwerk wrote: »
    Well there's a large crowd at the scene shouting "racists" and shooting fireworks at the Gards that are there. There will no doubt be more of it.

Hazel Chu, Ebun Joseph, Paul Murphy, Ruth Coppinger etc are all responsible for stoking the hatred by implying he was a victim of racist gardai using excessive force.

They’re worse than any racists!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,972 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Will all blow over tomorrow. All that will be left are the usual rent a crowd on Twitter etc.

The majority in Dublin/Clonee will forget about it. Fair play to the Gardai I say anyway.

https://twitter.com/ENkencho/status/1344403452223516673

He lunged at gardai with a machete just to state the fact

And apparently they had tried to stop him several times before the shooting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Is the manager ok?

Going by Twitter, Eurospar Hartstown. Staff member has a broken nose and damage to his teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

theyre all gathering around the house in clonee chanting something about racism, despite there not being a shred of evidence it was a racially motivated shooting by the garda

https://twitter.com/cath_h2/status/1344396532146204672?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1344396532146204672%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

I have reported that

As did i

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

The AGS have a number of new Irish in the ranks, I would like see the online reaction if one of them shot poor George

Will all blow over tomorrow. All that will be left are the usual rent a crowd on Twitter etc.

The majority in Dublin/Clonee will forget about it. Fair play to the Gardai I say anyway.

Some poor fúcker went to work today and this afternoon had to end a man's life. It'd be hard to live with.

I know it's a film quote but:

"Its a hell of a thing, killing a man. You take away everything he’s got and everything he’s ever gonna have."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

.anon. wrote: »
    The bigots on here have made their minds up fairly quickly anyway.

Yes an upstanding citizen.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Perhaps some Irish people will now come to comprehend the puzzlement of Americans at the outrage globally when a hood's luck runs out. No one who has to live close to these people no matter their origin or pigmentation or excuse misses them. You can take that to the bank, and that there will be lots of this person's neighbours, black, white and pink who will sleep easier tonight. not a nice way to be remembered, but it happens to be true, all the bullsh1t aside.

Agree. The guards need to get tougher with the rest of the rampant scrotes around Dublin.