Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭fantaiscool

walshb wrote: »
    This is my personal experience as white Irish..

Dozens and dozens and dozens of racial moments/incidents I have heard/seen/experienced in Ireland of white on black/colour racism..

Most of these were casual off the cuff type “no harm meant” racism...

Never the opposite. Never experienced black people racially abusing anyone...

Hence my use of frequency and prevalence..

Of course, I have been in the company of white people a lot more than black people.

Yes same here. I have had fairly good friendships with black guys and an asian guy over the years. I lived with a mixed race guy for a couple of years in college. He was quite popular and I never saw anyone being racist towards him to his face but did hear the odd comment at the start. What surprised me about him was how he was extremely aware of how casually racist some people could be. His father was Irish and probably taught him about Irish culture and what to expect I think. The asian guy I could tell would have been shocked if he knew the amount of times I've heard people say the c word in reference to asians, which is a very offensive term towards them but is bandied around readily. The mixed race guy was a lot sharper and sized people up very accurately in that regard. That's why I think perhaps black people are more racially charged, perhaps they have more awareness on it than white people think.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭alias no.9

well, if any elected politicians have done what you claim, and i haven't saw such, then they should be put through the relevant disciplinary processes.

It was you who said we had
    the odd racist politician

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭fantaiscool

Omackeral wrote: »
    Can't say I've noticed it on this thread...

Well I did say he was either alt right pond scum or perhaps mentally challenged in terms of comprehending what walshb was saying, which I think my 4 year old nephew would have been able to comprehend in one go.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Scum was it? It's just you never mentioned...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭1874

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    A " vigil" being organised on Wednesday in town.

No doubt Coppinger etc will be present.

Really hope Gardai enforce Covid regulations. Be funny to see her getting hauled off in handcuffs

How can they organise this? what with Covid 19 restrictions in place?

Looks to be a cold week of weather ahead, it'd be awful if it was cold and pi$$ed rain too, that's the worst.

• 1874 wrote: »
    How can they organise this? what with Covid 19 restrictions in place?

Looks to be a cold week of weather ahead, it'd be awful if it was cold and pi$$ed rain too, that's the worst.

In fairness do you think these clowns give a shÍte about anything bar worshipping this good boy who did NOTHING wrong. The gardai will have to worry about enforcing the covid restrictions, which I’m sure will give them more ammunition to talk nonsense about the guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 Covit

In fairness do you think these clowns give a shÍte about anything bar worshipping this good boy who did NOTHING wrong. The gardai will have to worry about enforcing the covid restrictions, which I’m sure will give them more ammunition to talk nonsense about the guards.

Ammunition that’s sarcasm at its best-lol

• Covit wrote: »
    Ammunition that’s sarcasm at its best-lol

no, it’s not. I didn’t say they had legitimate ammunition.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 Covit

no, it’s not. I didn’t say they had legitimate ammunition.

Ya U’d want to be careful what u say around here I believe the mods on boards have there own prison cells for punishment .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭1874

No, I dont think they do,
    Bit of cold Irish weather, be terrible if it pi$$ed rain on them too, leave them out in it for a bit, then drag off stragglers for breaching restrictions.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,524 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Well I did say he was either alt right pond scum or perhaps mentally challenged in terms of comprehending what walshb was saying, which I think my 4 year old nephew would have been able to comprehend in one go.
    Threadbanned

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Guerillabear

The far left, along with the Blanchardstown Nigerian community, have done more to incite racism than any “far right” movement could have possibly aspired to.

The pendulum has swung, and the far left are now the totalitarian voice in our society. This is evident in the multiple challengers put forward to leftist councillors and TD’s being challenged with clear evidence of racial attacks committed by the Nigerians against the native Irish in Blanch during this controversy.

Where tf is the logic? You don’t have to defend an extreme opinion to the death, regardless of what side you are on. Just use a bit of cop on, nothing is black and white (low hanging fruit).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭Feisar

In its 99 year history An Garda Siochana have shot dead a grand total of 1 person of colour, it's like living in Mississippi Burning here.

Yea but if you run the percentages it’d look terrible!

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

A comment from Facebook:
    It is worth pointing out that, the destruction of private property is a very reasonable response to a member of your community being fatally shot.

Imagine you get a job in a shop when you're 15. Shelf stacking. You work your bollix off, by 20 you're a manager. Not on great money, but it looks good on the C.V. You have more responsibility, are expected in every weekend, you are sometimes there from open til close.

This work ethic convinces a bank to give you a loan. You put your blood sweat and tears into renting a unit, starting your own business, putting in hours in the first few years that makes your old management job seem like dole dossing in comparison. Just to get it off the ground and pay back your loan.

And this is what the left think is open season for looting and burning. You shoot one of ours, a gang of our welfare dependent wasters will loot your business, smack the wing mirrors off your car, brick your house, threaten to pull a self employed tradesman out of his van and burn it.

This is the Irish left in action. The workers movement, apparently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 285 ✭✭Hellokitty1212

After the looting in the US, a reporter asked a looter why they were stealing from a shop and then burning it.

“We’s owed man, we’s owed” - over and over.

I don’t think that is any kind of justification and it’s what our politicians are going to leave us with.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    . . .
    MERJ have issued a statement saying he wa skilled as a result of institutional racism. ..

When all you have is a hammer everything is a nail. MERJ is the mouthpiece of Emily Waszak and if you have time to listen to an interview with her I linked previously, you will hear her worldview about white privilege and systemic racist institutions in Ireland.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Daragh1980

gozunda wrote: »
    On the topic of diversity and the Gardai.

It would appear that there are those who don't want that to happen. And perhaps surprisingly no they are not white ...

This referencing People of Colour from our friends in MERJ

The Same bunch as detailed above are heavily involved in organising recent vigils/ protests. They advocate for the abolition of *Police *Property *Prison and the 'white capitalist system'

This is their latest statement following George Nkencho's death...

http://merjireland.org/index.php/2021/01/04/for-george-nkencho/

I said earlier that the Left were against private property but someone disagreed. One of their issues with the Gardai is that the latter “uphold private property rights”.

This would explain why my brother was unfriended by a SJW on Facebook when he posted about finally getting his mortgage approved.

This is the Irish left in action. The workers movement, apparently.

They haven't been the worker's movement for a long time. The modern left is thoroughly Americanised. No real criticism of class, or the US Empire. There's just the evil whites and everybody else. Regardless of the actual history of any white nation.

I can’t read that Merj page. They have av very tenuous grip on reality and truth there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Daragh1980

When all you have is a hammer everything is a nail. MERJ is the mouthpiece of Emily Waszak and if you have time to listen to an interview with her I linked previously, you will hear her worldview about white privilege and systemic racist institutions in Ireland.

Ugh Emily Waszak and Tara Flynn. What an obnoxious combination. Both have nothing to offer except hate.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,991 ✭✭✭Cordell

I can’t read that Merj page. They have av very tenuous grip on reality and truth there.

Also they fail to realize that their dearly departed is pictured doing a gang like sign.

Cordell wrote: »
    Also they fail to realize that their dearly departed is pictured doing a gang like sign.

I thought that but I imagine someone will come along and explain its sign language he was learning to communicate with the kiddies when reading stories.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

They haven't been the worker's movement for a long time. The modern left is thoroughly Americanised. No real criticism of class, or the US Empire. There's just the evil whites and everybody else. Regardless of the actual history of any white nation.

This I cannot understand. If someone arrives in Ireland from another country seeking citizenship and then defaults to wanting 'white capitalist systems' aka any property ownership, judiciary and policing to be destroyed as exemplified by this lot

http://merjireland.org/index.php/2021/01/04/for-george-nkencho/

- what's the benefit of seeking citizenship in the first place? Genuinely genuinely :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,991 ✭✭✭Cordell

I thought that but I imagine someone will come along and explain its sign language he was learning to communicate with the kiddies when reading stories.

I skimmed through the article, actually is not a problem if he's holding up a gang sign. They seem to suggest that it is racist to expect non whites and migrants to behave and to be non violent and respect the law, because when they don't they are just being different, and being different is just as good.
    For example, George was just going home, it just happened to wield a knife while doing so, it was just a different way of going home and he was killed for being different.
    I ****e you not, this is what they say.

Cordell wrote: »
    I skimmed through the article, actually is not a problem if he's holding up a gang sign. They seem to suggest that it is racist to expect non whites and migrants to behave and to be non violent and respect the law, because when they don't they are just being different, and being different is just as good.
    For example, George was just going home, it just happened to wield a knife while doing so, it was just a different way of going home and he was killed for being different.
    I ****e you not, this is what they say.

I took a stiff slug of gin and went back into that page. What is “racial capitalism”???

• Registered Users Posts: 17,061 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Here's the text of her latest tweet;

"Saying a prayer this evening for the family and friends of #GeorgeNkencho who are grieving and for Black people in Ireland who have to worry about racist violence everyday.
    #JusticeforGeorgeNkencho"

Do black people in Ireland have to worry about "racist violence" every day?

Goebbels Big Lie in action.

Twitter is a cess pit and it's management openly allow this type of divisive drivel have a platform, they should be ashamed of themselves, but we all know they're proud of themselves instead.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭amacca

MERJ’s vision

What do we want to see in the world?
    A world free from fascism, patriarchy, capitalism and hierarchy.
    A world where there is no default to privilege.
    A world that encourages self-determination.
    A world of communities based on mutual aid that enhance the potential of individuals, that are accountable to each other and where individuals can find meaning.
    A world where all communities are visible.
    A world where people are free to be spiritual without being involved in religious institutions based on hierarchy.
    A world based on creativity, art, beauty and fun.
    A world that grants true freedom, i.e. freedom from fear.
    A world where “feminised” skills and attitudes are not stigmatised but valued.
    A world that places importance on ecology and sustainability.
    A world based on love, sex, affection and pleasure.
    A world based on autonomy.
    A world where people are responsible and accountable to their communities and to other individuals.

Well that sounds just lovely and eminently feasible....im sure nothing could go wrong, no ones ever tried that or elements of it before.....its an entirely new vision that I can see no flaws with

I look forward to sunshine Lollipops unicorns and no hierarchy .....

Somehow delusional doesnt seem strong enough, these people need the psychiatrists, dont get me wrong I value ecology, sustainability, living free from fear? Love sex affection, autonomy etc and it's not as if the current way of doing things is great but Jesus it's chilling to read that......I can just imagine the kind of hierarchy lunatics like that would install or be the cause of if they got a sniff of the reins or levers of any kind of power....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭amacca

nullzero wrote: »
    Here's the text of her latest tweet;

"Saying a prayer this evening for the family and friends of #GeorgeNkencho who are grieving and for Black people in Ireland who have to worry about racist violence everyday.
    #JusticeforGeorgeNkencho"

Do black people in Ireland have to worry about "racist violence" every day?

Goebbels Big Lie in action.

Twitter is a cess pit and it's management openly allow this type of divisive drivel have a platform, they should be ashamed of themselves, but we all know they're proud of themselves instead.

Is there anyway to put pressure on Twitter to remove accounts like these....if enough people put pressure on politicians etc etc

It seems wrong that they can use platforms like this for propaganda without challenge or moderation

Can legal actions be taken by groups of concerned citizens on the basis of it harm8ng communities.....be8ng compleyely in opposition to the facts etc

There must be some way to challenge this ****e? Im not familiar with Twitter (not really big into social media tbh) but why do I have the sinking feel8ng the answer is f all.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭AngeloArgue

The far left, along with the Blanchardstown Nigerian community, have done more to incite racism than any “far right” movement could have possibly aspired to.

The pendulum has swung, and the far left are now the totalitarian voice in our society. This is evident in the multiple challengers put forward to leftist councillors and TD’s being challenged with clear evidence of racial attacks committed by the Nigerians against the native Irish in Blanch during this controversy.

Where tf is the logic? You don’t have to defend an extreme opinion to the death, regardless of what side you are on. Just use a bit of cop on, nothing is black and white (low hanging fruit).

There's a lot of inflammatory, hyperbolic and embellished language, point scoring and what-aboutery going on from both sides. There's a tendency to "stay on message", be defensive, not want to criticise, concede or debate their own sides narratives.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,061 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

amacca wrote: »
    Is there anyway to put pressure on Twitter to remove accounts like these....if enough people put pressure on politicians etc etc

It seems wrong that they can use platforms like this for propaganda without challenge or moderation

Can legal actions be taken by groups of concerned citizens on the basis of it harm8ng communities.....be8ng compleyely in opposition to the facts etc

There must be some way to challenge this ****e?

Twitter have nailed their colours to the mast on these issues over the years.

They remove content they don't like (in the case of any racist stuff I tend to agree with them) but they have created a safe haven for other extremists.

As Twitter is a private company they can do whatever they like. They shape the direction society heads in but have to pay none of the consequences when it goes wrong.

Glazers Out!