Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Strumms wrote: »

if you endanger somebody’s ability to be alive, with force / violence, expect the same to be used to prevent you realizing your sick goal..

Very true, you only have to look up the horrific murder of seven year old Emily Jones by a mentally disturbed immigrant.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,784 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

RTE and Virgin Media going all in on the St George Of Ongar route.

Barely a mention of the violent behaviour of the said Saint.

A balloon release scheduled tomorrow in Hartstown.
    Protests etc.

I wonder if that part of Dublin is experiencing a Covid issue higher then the rest given the constant group gatherings going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,784 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

newmember? wrote: »
    Yes, but surely they examine the physical evidence and not just see how believable the Garda's story is. I've seen it at crime scenes before - where the bullet holes are numbered.

The numbers are for the photos they take to identify their notes?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Homelander

I am so sick of this story. It infuriates me to hear the racism card played when talking about an aggressive knife wielding maniac who was out of control and a clear threat to the safety of other individuals.

The media should be utterly ashamed of their coverage on this, deliberately framing the story in certain ways for clicks and likes, knowing full well what they're at.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Homelander wrote: »
    I am so sick of this story. It infuriates me to hear the racism card played when talking about an aggressive knife wielding maniac who was out of control and a clear threat to the safety of other individuals.

The media should be utterly ashamed of their coverage on this, deliberately framing the story in certain ways for clicks and likes, knowing full well what they're at.

The media is becoming increasingly dangerous with the way they spin news and manipulate people's perception.

They are giving a pass to crime, this will only encourage more crime

• Registered Users Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    RTE and Virgin Media going all in on the St George Of Ongar route.

Barely a mention of the violent behaviour of the said Saint.

A balloon release scheduled tomorrow in Hartstown.
    Protests etc.

I wouldn’t read too much into any of these activities that are artificially amplified by the media.

Like I mentioned earlier in the thread, I live in the area. This is the most multicultural post code in Dublin. The overwhelming majority of people in Dublin 15 are going about their lives, entirely unperturbed by this event. This is evident across the Irish, Eastern European, and Asian communities in the area.

The few people, with whom I have conversed about this incident, are satisfied that the Garda took the correct course of action and are relieved that a violent, aggressive man has been removed from society. That’s the reality on the ground in the local area. Treat the hyperbolic media amplification of tiny protests and the shrieking of basket cases on social media, with the indifference it merits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    The media is becoming increasingly dangerous with the way they spin news and manipulate people's perception.

They are giving a pass to crime, this will only encourage more crime
    Virgin Media News was as bad as RTE during their interview outside the family home, with the camera zooming in on the elevated BLM note on a bunch of flowers. Was that really necessary? I believe that even the family said recently that race did not come into the incident.

So we have the mainstream media in Ireland perpetuating the myth that racism against blacks is rife in the country. As I said in the thread where the young Cork lad and his girlfriend were brutally attacked and mocked by a black gang, that this type of skewed media coverage actually makes all blacks see themselves as racial victims in Ireland and will result in further hate crimes against the white population.
    Unfortunately due to media manipulation, this will lead to a substantial divide and mistrust between the growing black population in Ireland and the indigenous whites.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

specialist-non-lethal-tactic-not-available-to-gardan-day-of-nkencho-shooting

and some said it couldn't be done...

• Registered Users Posts: 52,005 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It never ceases to amaze me how all the new reg posters have the same views.
    It’s as if they had the same agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

It would be interesting to hear how many times the Public Order Unit was called to the scenes of what were eventually Garda shootings.
    "Sources said ASU members dealing with a knife-wielding suspect will sometimes hold a perimeter and try to de-escalate a situation while waiting on the Public Order Unit to arrive and employ Outdoor VDP tactics.

However, it is not clear if such an option would have been appropriate in Clonee last week, even if the Public Order Unit had been available."

It obviously couldn't be done, because it wasn't.
    There are not vans full of Gardai on Public order duty, just sitting around at lunchtime during the week.
    And it will never happen. There are not enough members, there is not enough money.
    It would be lovely to have a constant Public Order Unit on standby, but it's just never going to happen

• Registered Users Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

These non-lethal methods still require that guards put themselves between a huge lethal knife and a deranged lunatic.

🙈🙉🙊

bubblypop wrote: »
    There are not vans full of Gardai on Public order duty, just sitting around at lunchtime during the week.
    And it will never happen. There are not enough members, there is not enough money.
    It would be lovely to have a constant Public Order Unit on standby, but it's just never going to happen
    Even if we had a full time public order unit, it would probably be assigned to Dee Wall or Gemma supporters.

That is absolutely NOT an approved method to deal with armed suspects. The system used, is the system in place.

Maybe it should be an option but as said above, public order units are overtime and there's no way they will pay it just to have them available 24/7 like this

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Hamachi wrote: »
    I wouldn’t read too much into any of these activities that are artificially amplified by the media.
    Treat the hyperbolic media amplification of tiny protests and the shrieking of basket cases on social media, with the indifference it merits.
    Absolutely do not do this. Contact RTE and any media outlet, public representaive that are guilty of racism and discrimination against whites. (I'm assuming racism against others is getting picked up) Make them have a spine or you get further attacks on whites un reported by the media.
    This corruption of fear to report is what allowed the CC here to abuse, the various "asian rape gangs" to flourish for years. Accepting corruption leads to further corruption

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭carfinder

Everyone is discouraged from sharing the video of the incident and now the Indo is using a childhood photo of the deceased - seems strange to use a childhood photo of the deceased as a kid unless there is an agenda to garner sympathy for a knife wielding maniac!
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/shortfall-in-mental-health-experts-to-assist-garda-during-crisis-stand-offs-39949076.html

• Registered Users Posts: 19,830 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

carfinder wrote: »
    Everyone is discouraged from sharing the video of the incident and now the Indo is using a childhood photo of the deceased - seems strange to use a childhood photo of the deceased as a kid unless there is an agenda to garner sympathy for a knife wielding maniac!
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/shortfall-in-mental-health-experts-to-assist-garda-during-crisis-stand-offs-39949076.html

When I saw that it reminded me of the Treyvon Martin footage when all the stories had photos of him as a little smiling kid.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Any pictures of Mark Hennessy eating a birthday cake?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭Acosta

Kivaro wrote: »

So we have the mainstream media in Ireland perpetuating the myth that racism against blacks is rife in the country. As I said in the thread where the young Cork lad and his girlfriend were brutally attacked and mocked by a black gang, that this type of skewed media coverage actually makes all blacks see themselves as racial victims in Ireland and will result in further hate crimes against the white population.
    Unfortunately due to media manipulation, this will lead to a substantial divide and mistrust between the growing black population in Ireland and the indigenous whites.

The irony of blaming the media for trying to manipulate while using lies about what happened in Cork to make your point.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,840 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Fairly sure people were saying that it wasnt possible for the gardai that were present to disarm the guy.
    Have a read through that article again and take note of what is worn and carried by the people that will be advancing on the suspect and compare that to what the AGS at the scene were wearing.

As the situation was about to escalate there was no time to wait for a public order unit anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Homelander

bubblypop wrote: »

QOCxfuK.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,060 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Because it couldn't.

It says so in the title.

Glazers Out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

As I understand it there was at least a roving Public order unit since march in Dublin , it was cancelled in September my government when the numbers were down for financial reasons in spite of the objections of the garda .

they were re activated before xmass as far as I know
    However chasing some one around isn't really compatible with the VDP training. Had they been present at the house kitted out and ready to go with shields helmets body and limb armour etc then it might possibly have saved his life in an ideal world ,
    Of course he would likely be out and about again by now

Also the ASU don't shoot him with pepper spray after he is immobilised. that would effect and blind the public order unit guys and any one else armed or not. a bad idea they just pin him with the shields, pile on and disarm him.

About 99 percent of this whole thing is due to shameless greedy leftist exploitative media reporting trying to generate the next story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It couldn’t be done by the Gardaí on the scene. Also a chance it couldn’t work due to his proximity to the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Absolutely do not do this. Contact RTE and any media outlet, public representaive that are guilty of racism and discrimination against whites. (I'm assuming racism against others is getting picked up) Make them have a spine or you get further attacks on whites un reported by the media.
    This corruption of fear to report is what allowed the CC here to abuse, the various "asian rape gangs" to flourish for years. Accepting corruption leads to further corruption

And drive yourself to despair in the process?

The dogs in the street know that RTÉ and the Irish print media are agenda-driven cesspits at this point. The best way to undermine them is to refuse to consume or purchase their content. Lobby for RTÉ to become a subscription-only service. The only way they will change is if their bottom line is affected.

I’m not religious, but the sketch that RTÉ broadcast on New Years was disgusting. However, it is perfectly aligned with their agenda. Unfortunately for them, the Catholic lobby is still a significant force in this country. Their mobilization forced RTÉ into a humiliating u-turn.

In this particular case, most people simply don’t care about George N. The sentiment is that the Gardai took the right course of action and this character had been correctly eliminated from society. You can rail all you like about the media, but it’s not going to serve any purpose. For the bulk of the population, they are simply pumping out their biased nonsense as per usual. The prevailing public reaction is a cynical eye roll, rather than incandescent rage.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

When I saw that it reminded me of the Treyvon Martin footage when all the stories had photos of him as a little smiling kid.

Big difference between that and the other one they were using where he looks massively pissed off :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Front cover of today’s Indo’s weekend supplement is about the founders of the black and Irish movement , inside you’ll find a 4 page article explaining how Ireland is such a racist country but they are more than willing to help people to learn (direct quotes) Had the usual pops at the 2004 referendum (racist law) and DP

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

What I want to know is why so many people are interested in ‘non lethal’ options or shooting hands etc.. society is better for having a fatal end to non compliance with the already drawn out de-escalation procedure.

Anyone who genuinely thinks that this country would have been better off with this lad alive and back on the streets in a week really needs to have a word with themselves

Anyone who not only violently assaults innocent people but then refuses to drop a knife when they have a gard pointing a gun at them really has no justification for remaining in our society.

The procedure gives any violent criminal more than enough chances to back down already, if they dont take those chances then the correct outcome is achieved in my book.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,005 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I stopped buying newspapers a few years ago because they had their own agendas about everything and were only trying to influence the reader.

I feel good to be able to inform myself without reading rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,050 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

In the absence of non lethal force criminals will just have to drop their weapons Instead