Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭ Jaziel Orange Oats

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Think most ppl understand what happened and aren't arsed with the BLM nonsense around it

https://twitter.com/MikeyRose94/status/1347915516095197184?s=19

around the Cork city garda station, 3 cars circled it beeping their cars on Thursday ...seen a bigger protest tactics from the Taxi groups who did a simlar things a few months ago

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭carfinder

Acosta wrote: »
    To show me up on this particular incident you will first need evidence. NOBODY has provided that. Not on this thread or any other race baiting thread the Carrigaline incident has been brought up on.

Your agenda is pretty sad. You are seeking evidence yet ignore the basic undisputed facts of black on white attacks and seek to reclassify them - sad, sad stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Think most ppl understand what happened and aren't arsed with the BLM nonsense around it

I can see why the black people in that pic are there (delusional and persecution complex no doubt)
    But the white man and woman? Probably some do gooders, fight for people's rights etc blah blah blah. But also the first to slit your throat for a fiver sort.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Probably some do gooders, fight for people's rights etc blah blah blah. But also the first to slit your throat for a fiver sort.

First to their own, maybe. From what I saw a lot of them wear mental illness in their bios like a badge of honour and maybe that’s what’s really going on there, some form of suicidal ideation

• Registered Users Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

How is Wayne though? Is he out of hospital? Will he be going back to Eurospar?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Any idea what's on the banner they are holding up ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭Acosta

carfinder wrote: »
    Your agenda is pretty sad. You are seeking evidence yet ignore the basic undisputed facts of black on white attacks and seek to reclassify them - sad, sad stuff

You're making no sense. The colour of his skin doesn't come into it. He is in jail because he was being an utter scumbag and nearly killed a young boy. Only race baiting fantasists on here and twitter are desperate to make it about race. There is no evidence, nor was there any mention of it by the guards and judge involved in the case.

The victims family also clearly didn't appreciate white supremacists from the national party using their son as a tool to try to garner support for their fantasies, so perhaps it's time people stopped bringing this incident up.

I see groups hanging around Cork with a mix of black and white lads all the time. I don't know anyone that immediately jumped to the conclusion that what happened in Carrigaline was a racist attack.

It wasn't the only horrible, disgusting thing to happen to a young lad last year in Cork. A guy was stabbed and killed outside a house party and his family have had to endure threats and intimidation from the attackers family since. It's the stuff of nightmares. Truly horrific. But, you, the attacker was white, so the patriots had no interest in that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,927 ✭✭✭enricoh

And they wonder why newspaper sales are falling! , No one is buying this crap mr. editor -

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/shortfall-in-mental-health-experts-to-assist-garda-during-crisis-stand-offs-39949076.html

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Zatoichi

statesaver wrote: »
    Any idea what's on the banner they are holding up ?

“You have to act as if it were possible to radically transform the world. And you have to do it all the time.” ― Angela Davis

"Angela Yvonne Davis is an American political activist, philosopher, academic, and author. She is a professor emerita at the University of California, Santa Cruz. Ideologically a Marxist, Davis was a longtime member of the Communist Party USA and is a founding member of the Committees of Correspondence for Democracy and Socialism."

No surprises there.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

enricoh wrote: »
    And they wonder why newspaper sales are falling! , No one is buying this crap mr. editor -

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/shortfall-in-mental-health-experts-to-assist-garda-during-crisis-stand-offs-39949076.html

What's wrong with that? Short and to the point

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Zatoichi wrote: »
    "Angela Yvonne Davis is an American political activist, philosopher, academic, and author. She is a professor emerita at the University of California, Santa Cruz. Ideologically a Marxist, Davis was a longtime member of the Communist Party USA and is a founding member of the Committees of Correspondence for Democracy and Socialism."

No surprises there.

Marxist nonsense so.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭AngeloArgue

What's wrong with that? Short and to the point

I think it's the use of the picture of Nkencho when he was a child as a method to elicit a more intense sympathetic response in the reader.

In relation to non-lethal police responses this video would be of interest.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mzPj_IaMzY

I know it's not an exact same, every incident is unique, and the video is edited.

I could see some use for having a team of Gardaí trained to respond to call for knife specific threats using similar tactics. I'm not saying that having such a team available in Dublin would have changed the outcome. But maybe it could be another tool to use in their graduated response in another event.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Jesus, whoever is writing those walls of text as satire would want bear in mind that brevity is the soul of wit

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

TheChizler wrote: »
    I genuinely hope you or someone you love never has a psychotic break and injure someone, with the inevitable uninformed public crying out for or relishing in your or their death. I'm not even saying this is what happened in this case, that still needs to be proven and it's irrelevant to your statement which treats all genuine mental cases and violent scumbags the same.

I could not pass this by without comment. I was the victim of an attack by two guys. One had a knife. Both claimed "mental illness" among a slew of other BS in the court but to be fair they plead guilty too. ( no choice as they were caugth on the scene)

During the four day hospital stay, the ten week recovery and the three year wait for the court case I had a lot of time to reflect on that night. They did not care about my well being, if they had thier way i would be dead. So excuse me if I don't really give a flying feck about the difference between violent scumbags and violent psychotic breaks. The Gardi in this case acted correctly. Without them this guy would have kept going and hurt or possibly killed many people.

I have nothing but praise both for the Gardi and the good people on this thread who have supported wayne ( the person hurt in the shop) who seems to have been forgotten by the media and those seeking to turn this into a racist issue.

From a victims viewpoint I can tell you that any attack is terifying and the effects stay with you forever. I doubth wayne will return to work anytime soon (if ever). I still have issues from that attack and one of them is the feeling that the whole system does not care about you unless your a scumbag. Then they will bend over backwards to help you. But without a conviction your just a source of funding to be milked to provide for said scumbags.

I hope wayne finds out the level of support he has and I hope he recovers fast and moves on from this.

In the meantime, mental issues or scumbag, it does not matter. What matters is what you do, how you behave, how you treat others. That is how people should be judged, by thier actions, not thier excuses.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

So Hazel and Lynn survived after suggesting the garda are racists and killed George because of this.

Unbelievable.

I see Hazel had another rant at us for criticising her before finishing off with. PS I won't be resigning.

Our Lord Mayor folks.

The sheer arrogance.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

enricoh wrote: »

They wouldnt dare use a photo from his teenage years

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Rezident

Front cover of today’s Indo’s weekend supplement is about the founders of the black and Irish movement , inside you’ll find a 4 page article explaining how Ireland is such a racist country but they are more than willing to help people to learn (direct quotes) Had the usual pops at the 2004 referendum (racist law) and DP

Its' the indo - what do you expect from a gutter-press rag of a tabloid?

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭oholly121

• Registered Users Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭donkey balls

oholly121 wrote: »

I just had a look there it says 15 votes and 4 retweets sorry haven't a clue about the twitter machine, I do know a few lads on it that are also on Twitter will get them to vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Morathi

I do hope all those people tweeting realise they have to follow the link to actually nominate.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Could we get the official details for Wayne? Maybe the girl running the gofundme page could request and confirm these details, and permission to use?

Im sure votes will be discounted as best as possible, like will they accept my vote from a Galway address for a dublin/meath shop?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Bet you a coke that she excludes him citing his nomination as a ‘far right troll scheme’

Like Adam Noonan down in Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

There’s no way she would let him win!!!

Don't forget to fill in the form closes on January 16th.

https://consultation.dublincity.ie/lord-mayor/lordmayorsawards/

Pere the gofundme

Nominee: Wayne Swords
    Wayne is a manager from our local Eurospar.

The store address and contact number is here: https://www.storelocate.ie/eurospar/hartstown.html

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭1874

wandererz wrote: »
    Done.

Perhaps best & correct to mention Hartstown, Dublin 15 because that is where it occurred and is within Dublin (and the Lord Mayor's jurisdiction).
    Kivaro wrote: »
    Completed my vote for Wayne.
    Some information that may be useful:
    Here is the link for the online vote - https://consultation.dublincity.ie/lord-mayor/lordmayorsawards/consultation/intro/
    Address: Hartstown Shopping Centre, Hartstown Rd, Hartstown, Dublin 15
    Phone: (01) 821 5366
    And I used this email address, which is the main one for EuroSpar: eurospar@bwg.ie

Obviously for privacy reasons I did not include or seek Wayne's last name. The other information is public.

If you check out the Tweeter link, people are already voting for him. This will be a test for what remains of Chu's integrity; allow the votes to be counted, or find an excuse not to include them in order to save face and embarrassment.

No harm to try but, unlikely, done anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

1874 wrote: »
    No harm to try but, unlikely, done anyway

Good man/woman.
    Isn't is odd that the real racists on this thread are calling posters "Patriots"?
    Racism is not just one way; it is quite possible that white people could be subjected to racism too. Just ask the people who were barricaded in the shops when the Nkencho protestors were screaming racial epitaphs at them, just because they were white.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Can't believe they are still using childhood photos of George N in the media.

People know when they're being manipulated.

If i ever end up in media, I want the photos of me in the nip in the paddling pool in the back yard circa 1988

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

oholly121 wrote: »

Not a chance that will be allowed to happen

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I know I shouldn't be linking to this as it gives this nutjob more exposure (not that it's his YouTube channel) but the full video of the dude who started going on about house etc is on YouTube here.

Interesting points watching the video I noticed:

- Out of the 8 minutes and 3 seconds video he only briefly talks about George for about 2 minute then goes on to other topics.
    - Asks if George would have died if he lived in Malahide, Skerries or Blackrock (crowd says no in between each town mentioned) .... It should be noted he never mentioned George going into a eurospar of aforementioned towns breaking someone's nose and holding a knife.
    - He then proceeds to talk about what he really wants to talk about. Racism in the United States and the UK. (Somehow I guess we are the same as detroit or some sh*t
    - Goes on about how the Irish travellers are being persecuted and they have the highest suicide rates ....

Actually I'm out. Can't do anymore after that last bit. This guy is so up his own ass, delusional and spreading his bile. He don't give a sh*t about George. This is just a chance for him to spread his own mad thoughts :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭grassylawn

Can't believe they are still using childhood photos of George N in the media.

People know when they're being manipulated.

If i ever end up in media, I want the photos of me in the nip in the paddling pool in the back yard circa 1988
    It's outrageous, isn't it? And in the articles I saw with this, they didn't mention his age. It's very misleading because if you don't already know the story you would think that a child was killed. Of course that's coupled with the fact that none of them are mentioning that he was trying to plunge a knife into someone when he was shot.

Any foreign people who see those articles without knowing the context will think Ireland is a racist ****hole too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,782 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Nkencho shot 6 times

One bullet passed through his arm.
    2 hit vital organs

The solicitor for the family wants the person who took the video to contact him. That seems a bit odd to me.

He is also having a pop at GSOC about the pace of the investigation but the PM only took place a few days ago. And we are in the middle of a rampant pandemic.