Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 15,012 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Blaaz_ wrote: »
    Mate,2 bullets went into the house??

This is known....either they were too.fast for the close quarters and went in/out (possible examine use of silencers to deaden the speed??) or much worse.a gaurd missed a reasonable sized target from short range

Those bullets didnt appear from thin air

Only one person jumping to conclusions here

Christ almighty...

Suppressors don't 'deaden the speed' of a bullet...like something you'd see in Call of Duty ffs

cod4_weapons_optional_silencer.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Omackeral wrote: »
    How crass and disrespectful. First of all, her name was Jastine. Secondly, it's ''Filipina'' but certainly not ''that'' Filipina.

https://twitter.com/frtedquotes/status/218105470651609089

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 285 ✭✭Hellokitty1212

Filipino or Filipina is the correct spelling - Phillipines is the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Haha,fair play....i was always told they did growing up

Depending on whose using a suppressor ,some military units will use subsonic rounds which are a lot quieter than a standard round used in law enforcement or civilian use

• Registered Users Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I would go out on a limb here, and suggest most extreme leftists are deeply unhappy people. They feel left behind by the wider world. They resent successful people who can afford a standard of living far beyond what they receive on illness benefit. They are so wrapped up in their web of self loathing, their hermit lifestyles, their pure unadulterated hatred for the winners in our society that they seek to bring them down to their own level. Their hatred of people making money, of socialising, of engaging with the opposite sex, is the exact reason pretty much all of them are lockdown fanatics. The idea of making a nice bit of money working and then socialising with a group of friends and/ or women in a pub or nightclub is completely alien to them. They absolutely adore the fact that half the country is now house bound, earning less and dependent on welfare.

The likes of Twitter have only contributed further to these people's decline. You can go on there and find people who have 90,000 plus tweets. One gobshiet on my FB friends list was at one stage posting 40 plus status updates/ links per day about whatever the PBP was involving itself with. He probably still is, I wouldn't know, I deleted him and his nonsense years ago.

40 posts per day equate to close on 300 per week, 15,000 per year, over a quarter of a million in under two decades. This sort of activity is not the raison detre of a happy, fulfilled person.

This post has made my day.

Bravo sir:)

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭AngeloArgue

Mate,2 bullets went into the house??

This is known....either they were too.fast for the close quarters and went in/out (possible examine use of silencers to deaden the speed??) or much worse.a gaurd missed a reasonable sized target from short range

Those bullets didnt appear from thin air

Only one person jumping to conclusions here

So you expect every shot police discharge to be on target? What movie did you see that in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Beltby

I'd more say it was the culmination of all 6, apparently the autopsy report states there was 2 shots hitting vital organs

There have been some questions as to the justification of the last shot brought up in recent days. It can be heard 2 seconds after the previous shot. The figure in the blue coat becomes obscured and it's hard to ascertain from the footage what was happening at the time of it.
    Statements from eyewitnesses should give a better picture of what was going on than the incomplete, shaky and blurry video taken at a distance

George's brother stated in an interview that the family had a recording of the event on their possession. That would be more helpful to the investigation that the widely shared video from a distance away. I would imagine they handed that video over to investigators.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

So you expect every shot police discharge to be on target? What movie did you see that in?

Probably Die Hard.

2 bullets at the end.

Bang bang, John Mclaine style.

What did Hans say to Mclaine about watching American movies again?

To be honest if your standing a few feet away you would expect 5 or 6 shots in quick succession would hit their target at that range ,
    Caveat the attacker was moving and likely the guard too as well as trying not to endanger his colleagues ,
    It's more difficult than it seems

Beltby wrote: »
    George's brother stated in an interview that the family had a recording of the event on their possession. That would be more helpful to the investigation that the widely shared video from a distance away. I would imagine they handed that video over to investigators.

I'm not so sure. If that's the video that was taken from an upstairs window then it seems to depict the aftermath.

Gatling wrote: »
    To be honest if your standing a few feet away you would expect 5 or 6 shots in quick succession would hit their target at that range ,
    Caveat the attacker was moving and likely the guard too as well as trying not to endanger his colleagues ,
    It's more difficult than it seems

Would you expect the police to hit every shot on target on a moving, turning target?

And to add to that

Do you believe that it was a major failure on the police to not hit on target every shot?

I expect them to.account for every bullet they fire

Ive seen nothing to say they missed any shots??

Did you not suggest that in a previous post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Beltby

I'm not so sure. If that's the video that was taken from an upstairs window then it seems to depict the aftermath.

That was clearly from next door where he was carted into the ambulance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

I think they had a memorial for him Today!

https://twitter.com/UnitedARacism/status/1348332120704495618

That balloon release crap is basically littering. There's campaigns all over the place to stop it and the organisers of this were pleaded with online not to do it and find some other way.

No surprise the ignorant idiots ignored it and carried on with the littering. Should be laws against that **** here. That's ignoring the idiots flouting the lockdown restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,050 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I said....there needs a full.account of shots fired.

And if the 2 shots which went into the house,were in/out shots or were missed shots

And what changes need doing to prevent the first scemario happening again,as its pure luck,someone innocent didnt die here

In the movies sometimes cop colleagues discharge shots to keep attention away from individual colleagues:)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Haha,fair play....i was always told they did growing up

You seem to have been told a lot of things growing up that were nonsense.

Are you fully grown up now? :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

Beltby wrote: »

The family's video was noticeable in it's absence on social media unlike the BLM events of George Floyd etc.. Would presume the family witnessed the Garda making every effort to communicate with and warn George Nkencho and as a result are not pursuing any racial element to the attack and are veering more to the mental health aspect where they may well have an argument, although at the speed things were happening, it's possible the Garda could only contain the situation the way they did, even if they had had a dog unit or whatever back in the station (not sure the Garda have a dog unit).

Really not sure what the 'No Justice No Peace' slogan is about when it's totally inappropriate and all it's achieving is getting every fair-minded person's back up.

At close range yes ,but again every situation is different a group of guards and armed violent thug all moving in a small space ,and we don't know where the officer was standing when he shot ,
    He could have been facing the attacker or behind him we won't know more until we get more information during the inquest

TheChizler wrote: »
    Haven't seen it but at a guess they're only reporting on things backed up by the Garda press release.

Primetime shouldn't be running anything. It's an active investigation. Producer sure be arrested for interfering with a witness

I honestly didnt mean it that way....it just seems that the gaurds are firing.bullets and pure luck havnt killed anyone innocent in last 2 insidences

Is there any oversight/lessons learnt,or are we going to.wait for a tragedy to.happen....

It was drilled into me.growing up about firing the rifle espially into.the ground due to dangers of ricohet and not kill animals (rabbits) close up due to in/out speed of bullets.....seems gaurds should use slower bullets/less risky options is all (i hope this will clarify and have people stop.screaming agenda at me)

****ing hell. This post.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,477 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

We are probably fortunate there is video footage of the fella slashing and attacking... or the wokies and the excusers would be in more affluent voice... probably advocating we give Aras in Uachtairan to his family and friends as ways of an apology.

Strumms wrote: »
    We are probably fortunate there is video footage of the fella slashing and attacking... or the wokies and the excusers would be in more affluent voice... probably advocating we give Aras in Uachtairan to his family and friends as ways of an apology.

You'd wonder what kind of pressure the family may have come under from certain quarters when George was shot, perhaps pressure from people whose only aim is to exploit the event for their own ends.

I honestly didnt mean it that way....it just seems that the gaurds are firing.bullets and pure luck havnt killed anyone innocent in last 2 insidences

Is there any oversight/lessons learnt,or are we going to.wait for a tragedy to.happen....

It was drilled into me.growing up about firing the rifle espially into.the ground due to dangers of ricohet and not kill animals (rabbits) close up due to in/out speed of bullets.....seems gaurds should use slower bullets/less risky options is all (i hope this will clarify and have people stop.screaming agenda at me)

Slower bullets and less risky options ? If the fella stays minding his own business and doesn’t procure a deadly weapon and go around attacking people he stays alive... he was the one who instigated the risk... he was shot because of the risk he presented... that’s on him...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Acosta wrote: »
    I've read the court report. It was about money. There was no mention of any racial motives in the attack. Nor did the family of the victim indicate this was a factor. If you have evidence that says otherwise then let's here it.

If you want to keep it factual, the court report informed us that the assailant demanded €2 from the victim and when the victim did not comply, he was viciously assaulted.
    I won't speculate as to the motives, but the assailant never wanted the €2, he wanted a grievance to settle, stabbing for €2 is just not proportional. Racially motivated or not, please be honest enough to admit it was not about €2.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Primetime shouldn't be running anything. It's an active investigation. Producer sure be arrested for interfering with a witness
    Well then they certainly shouldn't be coming up with their own running commentary and commending the Gardai like plenty of posters on here are demanding.

Can you prejudice a case by reporting a press release though?

If I go walk down the M50 northbound lane, I’m hit by a car and die, I’m responsible because of the dangerous choice I made, I put myself in harms way. That’s on me.

Go into a forrest in Africa, with raw meat around my neck ? Dripping blood, I get savaged by a lion, that’s on me...

If I go around slashing at people with a bladed weapon, I subsequently try enter a residential premises with it, shot by Gardai... that again is on me...

We all have choices when we get up in the morning... make the wrong ones, face the consequences.

It's a bit shitty to be trying to deny your man from being simply nominated for an award.

One can only presume there is a homophobic and ableist motive behind it ... seeing as how there was a widely shared message which described him as a gay fella with a gammy leg.

(which may or may not have been true)

Not necessarily at all at all, and to have such a narrow view on it is a bit concerning to say the least where you're either unable or unwilling to look for alternatives. You're guilty of exactly what you accuse Hazel Chu of ffs.
    Did you ever think that all the suggestions recommending 'Wayne in Eurospar' might be disqualified due to the fact that nobody seems to actually know the chap or what his surname is and so the argument will be made (and possibly legitimately too) that the award is intended for retail workers who have been recommended from nominators who have actual personal experience of their nominated retail worker.

Don’t know if the perpetrator was still alive perhaps, What’s being investigated now though ? There is no criminal investigation I don’t think... it’s a current affairs show... like the news... can’t stop them reporting...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Strumms wrote: »
    Don’t know if the perpetrator was still alive perhaps, What’s being investigated now though ? There is no criminal investigation I don’t think... it’s a current affairs show... like the news... can’t stop them reporting...
    The shooting part is being treated as a criminal investigation, which is standard and doesn't impart guilt on the ARU member at this stage.