Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 25,477 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

TheChizler wrote: »
    The shooting part is being treated as a criminal investigation, which is standard and doesn't impart guilt on the ARU member at this stage.

You can only investigate a crime, if you believe one has or may have been committed.

I’m sure that by virtue of shots being fired and a man being shot dead. There would be procedures in place to go over events, reports, witness statements ...a performance review...

But a criminal investigation... seriously doubtful..you can only investigate a crime if you believe one has been committed.

Imagine any ERU / ARU newbie being told in their training... “ if you faithfully discharge your weapon, believing that the suspect is a danger to yourself, your colleagues and or the public, you become the focus of a criminal investigation, liable for charging and prosecution for manslaughter or murder “

My answer... “ well, if I’m going to be the subject of a criminal investigation for just doing my job... you can take the gun back, I’m not doing it, end of story “. ;)

Strumms wrote: »
    You can only investigate a crime, if you believe one has or may have been committed.

Fact or opinion?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,477 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Fact or opinion?

Fact,

If there is footage or there is evidence that might support evidence of a criminal act... he would be arrested, the Guard that is.

My neighbor walks into xx Garda station saying... “ I want to make a complaint... Mr Strumms broke into my garage and stole the two bikes “ they are not going to arrest me, they will interview the complainant further, seek evidence, witnesses, forensics...

If they ask the complainant why he believes it’s me, what evidence etc... he says... “dunno, I saw him on a bike once, he likes bikes”... they’ll say, “ sorry, no dice , that’s not evidence, I’m not going to be arrested....

Neither will the Garda, there is no apparent evidence he did anything wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,830 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

newmember? wrote: »
    Not necessarily at all at all, and to have such a narrow view on it is a bit concerning to say the least where you're either unable or unwilling to look for alternatives. You're guilty of exactly what you accuse Hazel Chu of ffs.
    Did you ever think that all the suggestions recommending 'Wayne in Eurospar' might be disqualified due to the fact that nobody seems to actually know the chap or what his surname is and so the argument will be made (and possibly legitimately too) that the award is intended for retail workers who have been recommended from nominators who have actual personal experience of their nominated retail worker.

Nope. It's a nothing award and he fulfills the category.

It is quite twisted to be actively trying to disqualify him from being nominated.

Given the only widely disseminated facts about him are that he is gay and somewhat less-abled then that must be why they hate him

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭TheChizler

I’m sure that by virtue of shots being fired and a man being shot dead. There would be procedures in place to go over events, reports, witness statements ...a performance review...

But a criminal investigation... seriously doubtful..you can only investigate a crime if you believe one has been committed.

Imagine any ERU / ARU newbie being told in their training... “ if you faithfully discharge your weapon, believing that the suspect is a danger to yourself, your colleagues and or the public, you become the focus of a criminal investigation, liable for charging and prosecution for manslaughter or murder “

My answer... “ well, if I’m going to be the subject of a criminal investigation for just doing my job... you can take the gun back, I’m not doing it, end of story “. ;)

Criminal investigation launched into fatal shooting of George Nkencho

Goodnight.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭wandererz

newmember? wrote: »
    The family's video was noticeable in it's absence on social media unlike the BLM events of George Floyd etc.. Would presume the family witnessed the Garda making every effort to communicate with and warn George Nkencho and as a result are not pursuing any racial element to the attack and are veering more to the mental health aspect where they may well have an argument, although at the speed things were happening, it's possible the Garda could only contain the situation the way they did, even if they had had a dog unit or whatever back in the station (not sure the Garda have a dog unit).

Really not sure what the 'No Justice No Peace' slogan is about when it's totally inappropriate and all it's achieving is getting every fair-minded person's back up.
    Any sign of punctuation or paragraphing paleeese?

Fact,

If there is footage or there is evidence that might support evidence of a criminal act... he would be arrested, the Guard that is.

My neighbor walks into xx Garda station saying... “ I want to make a complaint... Mr Strumms broke into my garage and stole the two bikes “ they are not going to arrest me, they will interview the complainant further, seek evidence, witnesses, forensics...

If they ask the complainant why he believes it’s me, what evidence etc... he says... “dunno, I saw him on a bike once, he likes bikes”... they’ll say, “ sorry, no dice , that’s not evidence, I’m not going to be arrested....

Neither will the Garda, there is no apparent evidence he did anything wrong.

"The decision is part of a procedural process within Gsoc and follows an initial examination of the incident and a decision that a full investigation into “potential” criminal offences is required."

Ooof and after you were given the chance to reverse and all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Great job by the guards, they did nothing wrong, and for those who defend this scumbag, if you were ever confronted ( God Forbid ) by a some lunatic with a machete, what would you do ? stand there and be chopped up ? If this scumbag was white, this would not even be a story ffs! Always the race card, same old BS!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,783 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

TheChizler wrote: »

That was announced 4 days ago. I think it coincided with the PM results being received by GSOC. Its nothing new or out of line with normal procedure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Acosta wrote: »
    I've read the court report. It was about money. There was no mention of any racial motives in the attack. Nor did the family of the victim indicate this was a factor. If you have evidence that says otherwise then let's here it.

Yeah, he stabbed the fcuk out of him for not having €2 for the bus. If you believe that, I’ve some magic beans for sale.

That is exactly what every single firearms holder in AGS is told, over and over again.
    Which is why a shooting rarely happens and when they are, they are lawful and justified.

I feel really bad voting for Wayne now. I mean, if he wins we’re making him look at that monstrosity of a trophy for the rest of his life.

What did the poor bloke do to deserve that?

:P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭uli84

Haha, what racial motives, are they even for real?
    Well done Gardai, this country should be cleaned up of the likes whatever colour they are, high time as well

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭cal naughton

Family and friends pay tribute to ‘kind’ George Nkencho

https://www.independent.ie/videos/family-and-friends-pay-tribute-to-kind-george-nkencho-39953666.html

Comments section on Indo Facebook page pulled when the comments rightly reflected that St George wasn't very kind on the day he attacked the shop. Narrative was not going the way they had hoped.

Wrong. The Gardai investigate IF a crime has been committed. If they find there has been, they pass the information onto the DPP.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭Acosta

alias no.9 wrote: »
    If you want to keep it factual, the court report informed us that the assailant demanded €2 from the victim and when the victim did not comply, he was viciously assaulted.
    I won't speculate as to the motives, but the assailant never wanted the €2, he wanted a grievance to settle, stabbing for €2 is just not proportional. Racially motivated or not, please be honest enough to admit it was not about €2.

You didn't want to speculate, then went on and did so anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Meeoow

Is there any footage from eurospar or the post office? No word of it, but surely there are cameras in those places.
    That would be pretty definitive evidence of George's mindset.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Acosta wrote: »
    You didn't want to speculate, then went on and did so anyway.

I didn't speculate on the motive, I have no idea why the victim was targeted, I made an observation on the action.

Like I said, stabbing for €2 is not proportionate, it wasn't about the €2, please be honest enough to admit that.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

https://www.independent.ie/videos/family-and-friends-pay-tribute-to-kind-george-nkencho-39953666.html

Comments section on Indo Facebook page pulled when the comments rightly reflected that St George wasn't very kind on the day he attacked the shop. Narrative was not going the way they had hoped.

This gathering is OK but people can't have more than 10 at a funeral.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    That was announced 4 days ago. I think it coincided with the PM results being received by GSOC. Its nothing new or out of line with normal procedure.
    I'm aware, others weren't.

Blaaz_ wrote: »
    Whether your right or not is immaterial....but this is to my eyes, specualting (which is all any of us can do!)

It's hardly speculating, its been the same since I was a child, I'm almost 40 now. If you want a go at someone you ask for a smoke, or money, knowing they won't give it to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Blaaz_ wrote: »
    Whether your right or not is immaterial....but this is to my eyes, specualting (which is all any of us can do!)

It's not speculation to make an observation stabbing for €2 is not proportionate, it simply isn't.

The €2 establishes the sequence of events, demonstrates that the assailant initiated the encounter rather than reacted to anything that the victim may have done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

I would go out on a limb here, and suggest most extreme leftists are deeply unhappy people. They feel left behind by the wider world. They resent successful people who can afford a standard of living far beyond what they receive on illness benefit. They are so wrapped up in their web of self loathing, their hermit lifestyles, their pure unadulterated hatred for the winners in our society that they seek to bring them down to their own level. Their hatred of people making money, of socialising, of engaging with the opposite sex, is the exact reason pretty much all of them are lockdown fanatics. The idea of making a nice bit of money working and then socialising with a group of friends and/ or women in a pub or nightclub is completely alien to them. They absolutely adore the fact that half the country is now house bound, earning less and dependent on welfare.

The likes of Twitter have only contributed further to these people's decline. You can go on there and find people who have 90,000 plus tweets. One gobshiet on my FB friends list was at one stage posting 40 plus status updates/ links per day about whatever the PBP was involving itself with. He probably still is, I wouldn't know, I deleted him and his nonsense years ago.

40 posts per day equate to close on 300 per week, 15,000 per year, over a quarter of a million in under two decades. This sort of activity is not the raison detre of a happy, fulfilled person.
    Pretty much sums it up.
    If they had a real purpose in life, other than looking for the far right everywhere, then their contribution to society would be beneficial. It seems a case of too much time on their hands, while the rest of society just tries to get on with things.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Meeoow wrote: »
    Is there any footage from eurospar or the post office? No word of it, but surely there are cameras in those places.
    That would be pretty definitive evidence of George's mindset.

There has to be right?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

I just heard a radio add telling people to ' stay at home ' but this is allowed now when hospital admissions are increasing due to the pandemic.
    Madness.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

There has to be right?

Likely it was seized immediately by the Guards ,I'd imagine a media outlet like the gript would love to show any of the footage from the shop in question,
    You also get the feeling the family would get injunctions preventing it's release

Gatling wrote: »
    Likely it was seized immediately by the Guards ,I'd imagine a media outlet like the gript would love to show any of the footage from the shop in question,
    You also get the feeling the family would get injunctions preventing it's release

injunctions why?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

But this is the reality, and yet still they do it.

Fair play, eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

injunctions why?

To prevent their thug being seen as anything but a victim of a race attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Gatling wrote: »
    Guarantee that there will be thousands at it and nothing will be said about it

https://www.independent.ie/life/there-are-no-winners-here-a-man-has-died-on-our-screens-in-a-tragic-way-its-horrible-for-georges-family-its-horrible-for-the-gardai-and-its-horrible-for-the-people-who-were-attacked-39938798.html

Last June, thousands of Irish people lent their support to that movement by defying Covid-19 restrictions to march through the streets of Dublin in solidarity with US protests following Floyd’s death. Many were of the view that this social justice moment was too important to stay home for.

This really does just reinforce the bitterness these people have. Pubs and nightclubs should apparently stay closed until the end of time. As should relatively safe environments where people earn good money, such as building sites. All driven out of jealousy.

But no. A protest in honour of some meth addled ex con is worthy of making an exception.