Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Gatling wrote: »
    To prevent their thug being seen as anything but a victim of a race attack

Couldn't see them getting one in this case. Party is dead, so there is no GDPR or privacy laws to back them up.

The shop owners legal team might not want it made public for employers liability insurance purposes?

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Chrisam

Kivaro wrote: »
    Pretty much sums it up.
    If they had a real purpose in life, other than looking for the far right everywhere, then their contribution to society would be beneficial. It seems a case of too much time on their hands, while the rest of society just tries to get on with things.

I think people tending to the right, suffer from the same symptoms. Generally underachievers, getting their 'news' from You Tube and being led by numpties. Both extremes are bad, but at least the left want a better deal for everyone, not just a narrow definition of people like themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    That was announced 4 days ago. I think it coincided with the PM results being received by GSOC. Its nothing new or out of line with normal procedure.

Absolutely, there is no other viable method of seizing and gathering evidence than a criminal investigation. Importantly criminal investigations and potential court proceedings also grant very strong and important rights to the person(s) subjected to the process.

The law and society are very clear on killing someone, it’s unlawful unless some very limited circumstances are met and the only way in which it can be tested if those circumstances were met is by conducting a criminal investigation. It’s the only legally available process if someone dies at the hands of another.

Personally from what’s out there information wise I’m inclined to think the circumstances were met but I’m not the DPP or ultimately a jury who’ll make that call.

But no. A protest in honour of some meth addled ex con is worthy of making an exception.

Is that opinion or fact?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Chrisam wrote: »
    I think people tending to the right, suffer from the same symptoms. Generally underachievers, getting their 'news' from You Tube and being led by numpties.

I would agree. But the far right in this country seems to have far less adherents than the far left.

Both extremes are bad, but at least the left want a better deal for everyone, not just a narrow definition of people like themselves.

They really don't. They think that people who voluntarily don't work/ work minimal hours deserve an equal standard of living prvided by those who are putting in the hours.

They don't want a fair deal for everyone. Take a look at this story.

https://www.sundayworld.com/news/irish-news/homeless-cancer-sufferer-ciara-35-living-in-her-car-because-it-is-safer-than-hostel-39951022.html

This woman worked full time in healthcare. If a leftie had a heart they would ask why fresh off the plane Syrians are handed a house in three months. Why some Roma Gypsies in Dublin seem to manage to skip the housing list.

But they won't. Because they are all spineless phucks who only give a damn about accumulating their virtue signal points.

In fact they would probably consider this lady to be "punching down" as they call it when she alludes to what I described above
    "Apparently, paying tax and actually working for the HSE and living a moral life is so you pay for those who don't work and never have."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I think people tending to the right, suffer from the same symptoms. Generally underachievers, getting their 'news' from You Tube and being led by numpties. Both extremes are bad, but at least the left want a better deal for everyone, not just a narrow definition of people like themselves.

Have you been asleep that last few years? The left cares solely about minority issues, they couldn't give a damn about anyone who doesn't tick a minority box.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

What they want is a level playing field for everyone meaning everyone is poor.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Gothic Insanity

Both extreme rights and lefts are bad..

The extreme right because they spew dangerous ideology and the extreme lefts due to the targeted idiotic statements which are also dangerous and actually cause more issues for the minorities they are supposed to support. Plus you loose brain cells trying to understand their side..... I don't think they understand what Fascism is..... Just another buzzword to add to their list.

At least the extreme rights take responsibility somewhat where as the left have no clue of it. Everything handed on a plate is what they want.
    When life is too hard due to their own privilege and stupidly they resort to running away and silencing out comments that don't support them.

Both groups want to be acknowledged in their own ways, both are annoying and are just causing more havoc and need to cop on and just be more like the normal Joe so.

Both groups need to be given a wibbley wobbley wonder and told to chill out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,998 ✭✭✭conorhal

TomTomTim wrote: »
    Have you been asleep that last few years? The left cares solely about minority issues, they couldn't give a damn about anyone who doesn't tick a minority box.

I'd even go so far as to say that they don't even care about them, or they do, but only in so far as 'caring' offers these narcissistic people the clout and attention they crave.
    They will protest loudly for 'poor George' but you won't see them protesting the state of mental health services outside the Dail or doing anything that doesn't directly benefit them or harm the targets of their irrational ire.

Never mistake these clowns for your average salt of the earth left wing voter.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Gatling wrote: »
    To prevent their thug being seen as anything but a victim of a race attack

Yep, that footage definitely doesn't align with the St. George, 9 year old George narrative the media are pushing.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,005 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Another newbie who joined to push a lefty agenda.
    So predictable.
    Wear you mask when attending these protests.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Yep, that footage definitely doesn't align with the St. George, 9 year old George narrative the media are pushing.

Everybody who gets shot and killed for a violent crime had family friends people who loved them etc. Nobody is all bad even people who have committed the most heinous crimes.

The point that is constantly being missed is the killing of George wasn't done out of hate. It was a Garda doing his job without fear or favor.

I am reminded of the scene in The Fugitive where Inspector Gerrard finds himself staring down the barrell of his own gun in the hands of Richard Kimble. Kimble says he didn't kill his wife and Gerrard says he doesn't care. He is a professional and his job is to catch an escaped fugitive.

George's problems could have been addressed if he dropped the knife amd gave himself up.
    The Garda who shot him dead never met him before did noy know him did not know his troubles. He was a threat and that threat was stopped. A human life was taken and that's awful but there was no other option left.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Both extreme rights and lefts are bad..

They are but one sides ideology would see a total collapse of society as we know it, no prizes for guessing which.........if it aint broke don't fix it, maybe a lick of paint here and there

• Registered Users Posts: 25,477 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Everybody who gets shot and killed for a violent crime had family friends people who loved them etc. Nobody is all bad even people who have committed the most heinous crimes.

The point that is constantly being missed is the killing of George wasn't done out of hate. It was a Garda doing his job without fear or favor.

I am reminded of the scene in The Fugitive where Inspector Gerrard finds himself staring down the barrell of his own gun in the hands of Richard Kimble. Kimble says he didn't kill his wife and Gerrard says he doesn't care. He is a professional and his job is to catch an escaped fugitive.

George's problems could have been addressed if he dropped the knife amd gave himself up.
    The Garda who shot him dead never met him before did noy know him did not know his troubles. He was a threat and that threat was stopped. A human life was taken and that's awful but there was no other option left.

Truth, but that won’t sit well with the w*ke fučkers...

That fact the suspect had...

1) indiscriminately attacked somebody with a deadly weapon.

2) was refusing all directions from the Gardai.

3) acting in an aggressive, violent, erratic and unpredictable fashion towards Gardai, attempting slash and stab them...

4) attempting to access a residential premises where it was reasonable to presume this behavior would or could continue to manifest itself against whomever was present inside without the opportunity for Gardai to intervene...

He is now dead and that is on HIM.. not the Gardai, not society, no, HIM... he acted in a manner making himself a deadly threat to the public and the Gardai. The Gardai intervened to stop him, protect innocent life... by virtue of that, no innocent party died, only one injured...all things considered a good result.

He stays indoors, no knife, watching tipping point, he’s alive, he’s not because he choose to pose a deadly threat to people. The Gardai have a duty to protect themselves and the public... they did...

sonofenoch wrote: »
    They are but one sides ideology would see a total collapse of society as we know it, no prizes for guessing which.........if it aint broke don't fix it, maybe a lick of paint here and there

I agree the extreme lefts are a nightmare... Self Martyrs all to flog their attached only fans or appear hard done by. Messy energy but they are only loud online because in real life people know to avoid them just like extreme rights.

I'm neither left or right, I grew up in Dublin in a diverse background in the 80s, never had any issue with non Irish tbh bar one or two, which were just creeps being a creeps.

But with the extreme left banging on Im slowly finding my views leaning a touch right. Hence why they are a damaging bunch of people. There is enhancing a voice for the common good and there is ****ting on your own door step.

I still do think outright and obvious racism should not be tolerated, in this case there has been a bit of tit for tat going on and I can see how the rights were riled up by the lefts.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I still do think outright and obvious racism should not be tolerated.

But you're fine with other kinds of racism, just as long as they aren't too obvious to you?

Effects wrote: »
    But you're fine with other kinds of racism, just as long as they aren't too obvious to you?

Go troll else where....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

sonofenoch wrote: »

What does that statement mean? Sorry, genuine question.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭paddy19

Strumms wrote: »

He is now dead and that is on HIM.. not the Gardai, not society, no, HIM... he acted in a manner making himself a deadly threat to the public and the Gardai. The Gardai intervened to stop him, protect innocent life... by virtue of that, no innocent party died, only one injured...all things considered a good result.

He stays indoors, no knife, watching tipping point, he’s alive, he’s not because he choose to pose a deadly threat to people. The Gardai have a duty to protect themselves and the public... they did...

The problem is not with poor individual Guard who was put in this terrible position.

The problem is that specialistic unit which was trained to deal violently deranged persons was not available on the day.

"Specialist non-lethal tactic not available to Gardaí on day of Nkencho shooting"

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/specialist-non-lethal-tactic-not-available-to-garda%C3%AD-on-day-of-nkencho-shooting-1.4453496

"According to Garda sources, another option exists to deal with knife-wielding suspects which can be employed before lethal force is used."

However, only the Garda Public Order Unit is equipped and trained in the tactic. A full-time public order unit has been rostered on duty in Dublin for much of the Covid-19 pandemic and over the Christmas period. But no unit was on duty in the Dublin Metropolitan Region on the day of the shooting.

“Outdoor VDP [violently deranged persons] tactics” involves six officers in full riot gear and carrying shields forming into three groups of two and descending on a suspect in a pincer movement.

We will have this problem in the future and ending up with a death is no answer for the unfortunate person, the individual Guard or society.

paddy19 wrote: »
    The problem is not with poor individual Guard who was put in this terrible position.

The problem is that specialistic unit which was trained to deal violently deranged persons was not available on the day.

"Specialist non-lethal tactic not available to Gardaí on day of Nkencho shooting"

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/specialist-non-lethal-tactic-not-available-to-garda%C3%AD-on-day-of-nkencho-shooting-1.4453496

"According to Garda sources, another option exists to deal with knife-wielding suspects which can be employed before lethal force is used."

However, only the Garda Public Order Unit is equipped and trained in the tactic. A full-time public order unit has been rostered on duty in Dublin for much of the Covid-19 pandemic and over the Christmas period. But no unit was on duty in the Dublin Metropolitan Region on the day of the shooting.

“Outdoor VDP [violently deranged persons] tactics” involves six officers in full riot gear and carrying shields forming into three groups of two and descending on a suspect in a pincer movement.

We will have this problem in the future and ending up with a death is no answer for the unfortunate person, the individual Guard or society.

So are the people rostering Gardai to blame, or again, is the individual, the violent individual with a deadly weapon who had assaulted somebody with it and was attempting to maim or worse, many more people including Gardai to blame, for him loosing his life ?

If a public order unit had already been tasked to another call or in fact a deal of distance away from the incident what then ? They wait for this maniac to go about attempting to attack more people with a deadly weapon ? Or the Gardai on hand disable the threat, DO disable it which was a potentially lethal one, to the public and themselves.

If some fuçking maniac comes outside my premises now, screaming blue murder, trying to break in, he is armed with a knife... I call the emergency services...

“Ok we’ll send somebody around, but just so you know, the Public Order Unit is about an hour from being able to get to you, too dangerous for the regular lads to intervene, even if he tries to stab you, the woke cûnts have ensured that the only thing as police we can do is talk to him”.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Look, all this could have been avoided if the Gardai drove around and blocked him in on the far side, rather than both cars driving behind him.

My word, a car how am I get pass this insurmountable impasse !?

Jokes aside, I imagine if they do that, he gets spooked and starts running. Not good for de-escalation attempts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

paddy19 wrote: »

It's a bit of a smokescreen though.

Even if they were on duty at the time, at what time should they have been called?
    Would they have got from Store Street or wherever they're based to Clonee within the timeframe between say the man moving off from the shops and trying to enter the house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

I agree the extreme lefts are a nightmare... Self Martyrs all to flog their attached only fans or appear hard done by. Messy energy but they are only loud online because in real life people know to avoid them just like extreme rights.

I'm neither left or right, I grew up in Dublin in a diverse background in the 80s, never had any issue with non Irish tbh bar one or two, which were just creeps being a creeps.

But with the extreme left banging on Im slowly finding my views leaning a touch right. Hence why they are damaging bunch of people. There is enhancing a voice for the common good and there is ****ting on your own door step.

I still do think outright and obvious racism should not be tolerated, in this case there has been a bit of tit for tat going on and I can see how the rights were riled up by the lefts.

Indeed. I've been called far right so many times that I've lost count. My views are not right wing, I'm left leaning, and have voted as such all my life in politics and referenda. But when you come into a thread looking to find the truth of a situation, and don't immediately fall into line with the un-questioning outrage, you are written off as racist etc or whatever damaging label that will discredit you.

Niether side is interested in the truth anymore, just manipulating the narrative to do as much damage as possible to the other side.

It's a bit of a smokescreen though.

Even if they were on duty at the time, at what time should they have been called?
    Would they have got from Store Street or wherever they're based to Clonee within the timeframe between say the man moving off from the shops and trying to enter the house?

They wouldn’t have got there..

“Typically the unit is only called up for riot situations or pre-planned situations such as major sporting events, protests or large-scale public events such as concerts, St. Patrick's Day or Halloween. In some other cases the Public Order unit has been deployed on more frequent or recurring basis during times of increased risk of disturbances. Examples include the days preceding high-tension international football games, or during the 2016 build-up to the 1916 Centenary celebrations.”

They are for public order / disturbances, not for apprehending dangerous criminals.

Basically they are not meant to be tasked to these incidents, man with deadly weapon, having used deadly weapon was shot by deadly weapon...you don’t send in fellas with batons and shields against a lunatic with a knife.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Look, all this could have been avoided if the Gardai drove around and blocked him in on the far side, rather than both cars driving behind him.

Far side of what? Where? How did the Gardai know where he was going?
    You do know someone can just walk around a car, or hop over the bonnet?

Nigh on 7,500 posts and we now get this theory.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭ForestFire

KevRossi wrote: »
    Far side of what? Where? How did the Gardai know where he was going?
    You do know someone can just walk around a car, or hop over the bonnet?

Nigh on 7,500 posts and we now get this theory.

Actually I am going to remove this post due to some on the connotations that maybe implied in it...sorry
    It was only meant as a mood breaker

.... As my father would say... This isn't kit from Nightrider I'm driving.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

Is there no Walker Texas Ranger type Garda that could have lassoed the knife out of his hand?

It was a criminal, with a deadly weapon, who had used said deadly weapon against a civilian, and attempted to use said deadly weapon against the Gardai.

Public order Units are trained to use riot control tactics to control, disperse, and arrest civilians that are involved in a riot, demonstration, or protest.

NOT trained or tasked to neutralize or apprehend dangerous, violent and armed maniacs. This is NOT their job. That IS the job of the ERU / ARU. They did that job without further injury or death to any innocent party.