Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Who cares what some nobody celebrity says on twitter anyway.

I've heard of him, don't know anything about him, don't want to know anything about him.

Twitter is a cesspit of morons. Never used it, never will.

He might influence some clueless teenage girls but it will be quickly forgotten about by all of them when they find something else to virtue signal about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

539388.jpg
    Perfectly sums up the situation in Ireland.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Gatling wrote: »
    Appealing to the "White Settled Community" what's he smoking ?
    The same imported waccy baccy of American identity politics with its perpetual agentless victims and its perpetual oppressors and all the silly divisive group affiliations over individuals. Almost certainly "identifies" as a male feminist too. An Uncle Tom for White middle class women who will never be satisfied.

With such people - I see them as either wilfully and painfully naive, terminally stupid, or grifters - all they see is race and gender and sexuality*. They're positively obsessed with group affiliations. Just as obsessed as any actual fascist, racist, sexist, homophobe. If not more so as they have even more labels to endlessly divide people.

They're also quick to jump on the cause de jour like the lemmings they are and just as quick to drop it when the flag on their Arsebook profile starts to fade and they lose the attention they so desperately seek. Next time you're in conversation with one ask them the name of the dead Syrian boy when he washed up on a Turkish beach who had them wrenching at their breast about the inhumanity of it all, for all that would listen to their crawthumping. I can near guarantee they won't know it without google. A temporary dopamine hit for dopes.

They're an absolute cancer on society and just as divisive as fascists. Indeed they're worse because they get far more leeway in public discourse. But just like fascists they have a kryptonite: Facts.

*class tends to be left well alone as the vast majority are solidly middle class if newly minted a generation ago. That's an irony too far even for them.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,730 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

BloodBath wrote: »
    Who cares what some nobody celebrity says on twitter anyway.

I've heard of him, don't know anything about him, don't want to know anything about him.

Twitter is a cesspit of morons. Never used it, never will.

He might influence some clueless teenage girls but it will be quickly forgotten about by all of them when they find something else to virtue signal about.

Truth, Twitter is a cesspit...

I remember seeing hozier support somebody years ago, can’t remember who...I didn’t like his stuff but I remember him having 35 minutes or whatever of a support slot and he was lecturing somebody else’s audience in between songs on whatever fûckin wokie cause he had down his pants... a general big sigh and people off to the bar, me included..

Strumms wrote: »
    Truth, Twitter is a cesspit...

I remember seeing hozier support somebody years ago, can’t remember who...I didn’t like his stuff but I remember him having 35 minutes or whatever of a support slot and he was lecturing somebody else’s audience in between songs on whatever fûckin wokie cause he had down his pants... a general big sigh and people off to the bar, me included..

was that not bressie ? I remember he did that one year as a warmup act, harass the crowd and lower the mood with a load of crap about how we're all awful to migrants and the poor and students. was thoroughly happy with how many people told him to f*ck off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 285 ✭✭Hellokitty1212

Oh God the comments !!!!

What is wrong with some people ???

If this was about George O’Carroll who beat up a shop employee, carried a knife and refused to stop it would there be this reaction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Appealing to the "White Settled Community" what's he smoking ?

travellers are very woke and would never say or do anything bad to de blacks

A headline in indo...

This man lost his life but I struggle to see what he is being "honoured" for given the events that led to this. There are tragic deaths all the time but few after a violent ramage. And very few get honoured whatever that means.

again copying the George Floyd playbook - he didn't deserve to be killed but his whole life was a catalogue of nasty deeds and the posthumous deification of him is bizarre

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

nullzero wrote: »
    Hozier warns "something dreadful is coming"...

Yeah his next album.

Hozier would love if Ireland really was a hotbed of racism, he could write songs about the struggles of people he'll never have to live next to who he feels he can condescend to comfortably from a distance.

The term virtue signaller is a tired one at this stage but it perfectly describes him.

I would thank this more than once, if I could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

Would this be the same Hozier that cynically tried to profit off of black gospel music and black activist's legacies with the cringeworthy 'Nina Cried Power'? Talk about white saviourism..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

"An independent public enquiry involving the family. "

We really have some awful public representatives.

https://twitter.com/JRD0000/status/1349442358211993600?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

65 people dead from the virus today, people getting fined for been outside their 5km, 3 lads arrested in waterford out side a church, 100people marching through blanch tonight holding a candle light vigil for geroge and all's grand. Crazy how restrictions are deemed to be forgotten for some people, been called racist seems to frighten some people who are there to protect us all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Burkie1203 wrote: »

PBP what do you expect. I'd pay more attention to a random tweet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

65 people dead from the virus today, people getting fined for been outside their 5km, 3 lads arrested in waterford out side a church, 100people marching through blanch tonight holding a candle light vigil for geroge and all's grand. Crazy how restrictions are deemed to be forgotten for some people, been called racist seems to frighten some people who are there to protect us all

Not only grand but the papers will be reporting on it tomorrow as an example of what a wonderful community spirit there is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,363 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I hear Ruth Coppinger was invoking the "far right activists" again at the vigil and how their mass gatherings wounded the country "during covid" (the fact that covid is still around and worse than ever seems lost on her).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,341 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

His family would seem to say anything for the chance of a few extra €€€€. From 35 Gardai shooting him, to him having a butter knife, to him lying on the ground surrendering before being shot, to him being an angel (despite them having protection orders against him).

I wouldn’t put much weight behind what the family say.

His family have a legal team dealing with GSOC. Why - only possible reason is to extract a payout from the state?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

I hear Ruth Coppinger was invoking the "far right activists" again at the vigil and how their mass gatherings wounded the country "during covid" (the fact that covid is still around and worse than ever seems lost on her).

I haven't been on this page in awhile or social media either or the journal etc, my head just can't get around the carry on of it all, I feel very disheartened for the guards in which they are been portrayed and for the ordinary person who knows what the f#cking carry on some of our politicians and media are doing! It's a rabbit hole were gone down and it's a bloody deep one to come out of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭Esse85

His family have a legal team dealing with GSOC. Why - only possible reason is to extract a payout from the state?

And who'll suffer in the end and have to fund all this? The tax payers of course because that's the way the system is designed unfortunately :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,341 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Being shot in the back is irrelevant though, it just means was trying to enter the house, armed and agitated, where civilians were. Shooting someone in the back is only bad form in the Wild West, not in a real world armed situation.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, the lessons from the murder of Jasmine McMonagle in Killygordon show that the armed response unit would have been negligent in allowing him to enter without stopping him.

It's almost as if some people think we should not have any armed police to counter life-threatening situations and unarmed guards should be willing to sacrifice themselves no matter what. Are they only going to be satisfied if the Guards had shot him while he was actually stabbing someone to death? Even then, they'd need to check if it was just a small flesh wound.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, the lessons from the murder of Jasmine McMonagle in Killygordon show that the armed response unit would have been negligent in allowing him to enter without stopping him.

It's almost as if some people think we should not have any armed police to counter life-threatening situations and unarmed guards should be willing to sacrifice themselves no matter what. Are they only going to be satisfied if the Guards had shot him while he was actually stabbing someone to death? Even then, they'd need to check if it was just a small flesh wound.

As would the killing of Tony Golden https://www.thejournal.ie/garda-tony-golden-3928804-Mar2018/

Burkie1203 wrote: »

pumps out mental health lie

blames the 'far right' for lies.

well done PbP yet again proving honesty and politics rarely go together...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,822 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Hozier is a shrewd operator.

The people who share the type of opinions he's sharing through twitter are committed to supporting his career already. Not commenting on this case as some sort of evidence of serious racist issues in Ireland would have been a massive missed opportunity for him.

I sometimes wonder if he's actually committed to his causes or just seeing a gap in the market and making sure he plugs it for as much commercial success as possible.

+1. Had an experience of hozier in a professional setting in a past role.

He’s as sharp and cynically business minded as they come.

Honestly would say he has studied the likes of Bono and said “I can do a bit of that virtue signalling”, there’s money in them thar hills

He will be wheeled out onto the LLS and basically treated like a saint by tubridy and given time to spoof and talk scutter to his hearts content now

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Gothic Insanity

I wonder if a certain young Dublin busker has been called out for not posting about it

I seen him being tagged in some posts about it, asking to speak up so they wouldn't be embarrassed at being his fan....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭MOR316

I seen him being tagged in some posts about it, asking to speak up so they wouldn't be embarrassed at being his fan....

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭irishproduce

GSOC coming under pressure by dreamers in the dail pandering to people that they shouldn't be pandering to.
    If GSOC throw the protest crowd any more than a sop then remember that a Guard's life and career are threatened by any virtue signaling. As well the fact that they will cause a chilling effect on those same Guards that we really need to be able to act according to their training then the moment comes.

I hope the Guards organise and strike if anything untoward is attached to the Guard's actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭LillySV

+1. Had an experience of hozier in a professional setting in a past role.

He’s as sharp and cynically business minded as they come.

Honestly would say he has studied the likes of Bono and said “I can do a bit of that virtue signalling”, there’s money in them thar hills

He will be wheeled out onto the LLS and basically treated like a saint by tubridy and given time to spoof and talk scutter to his hearts content now

he has to be cause he is absolutely talentless! i cannot understand how anyone listens, let alone buys his ****!! he got famous cause he sang against the church in a song!! relies on whats cool and pc to get his hits and followers. Would love to see someone running at him with a knife and then get his take on it.. if he survived

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭AngeloArgue

newmember? wrote: »
    A couple of attack dogs would be a lot cheaper and as effective in disarming a disturbed individual.

I know it's an old post but I admit I've become a bit of a police dog fan. I've been viewing a number of videos and I've seen some incredible work that they've done.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2C3Ft2GVxI

Although it must be terrible on their handlers to send them into situations were there's a high likelihood of the being injured or killed. And then you have the debate around the ethical use of animals and there are many that object to their use because they bite.

Apparently some ARUs do have dog handlers that train with them. But I think their numbers are quite limited and patchy. Have a look at page 33 of this Garda inspectorate report which is commenting on the deployment of non-lethal tactics by the ARUs in the wake of the Barr (Abbylara) tribunal report

https://www.gsinsp.ie/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/Review-of-Practices-and-Procedures-for-Barricade-Incidents.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,730 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

And the people who we PAY to uphold the peace, enforce the law of the land are where ? Not exactly much else going on so where are they.

The politicians whom we PAY to represent us and to run the country are where ?

Is there anybody ie. Local politicians, counselors with the bollocks to be asking the local superintendent, local Garda management what the craic is ?

If they can get a tip off about pubs when open when they weren’t supposed to be, have enough numbers to raid them..I’m sure word on this was easy to come by.. regarding a mass demonstration..

And if any or whomever contracts covid from this will be banging their medical card on the counter demanding treatment, demanding revenue that they have scarcely contributed to, keeping those that have being doing so for a lifetime away from the help that they need and deserve...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,368 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Next time I see her around Blanch I'll tell her to watch her step... she might slip on a far-right....