Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,500 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Hmmm well Mr Justice Barr did highlight in 2006 that it was highly relevant the officers dealing with John Carty had no specific training in dealing with mental illness. He also pointed out that it is highly desirable to do so

Its covered extensively in Mr Justice Barrs reccomendations that mental illness is of course relevant in siege situations.

The recommendations of the report have been implemented, with specialist firearms officers in An Garda Síochána being trained in hostage negotiation alongside there being specialist crisis negotiators on hand within divisions to be deployed to hostage situations. Dealing with mentally ill persons forms part of this training.

It's a moot point regardless though considering this wasn't a hostage situation and the fact that firearms officers are still trained to specifically prevent a situation from escalating into a hostage scenario where harm may come to others.

Garda negotiators called on 89 times in 11-month period

Let's not try and pretend that Gardaí do not have capabilities to respond to hostage situations or to deal with mentally deranged persons. They do. Unfortunately the training doesn't always prevent lives from being lost.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Effects wrote: »
    Ah, that was you. What was your question again?
    I thought you just wouldn’t accept any other version of events apart from own.
    All you lads blend in to one another.

that's a wildly offensive generalisation

I suppose the irony of explaining racism to you would be a waste of time ?

this is what is out there folks , people who don't even know what they are arguing against let alone why or how :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Whats-App-Image-2021-01-13-at-22-23-26.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Have you a link to what they said?

Here's one article for a start. https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/spotlight/arid-40201541.html

nullzero wrote: »
    What's your hypothesis then?

Gardai shot George Nkencho for no good reason?

Were there motivating factors for the Gardai to do this? Is it because An Garda Síochána is an institutionally racist organisation?
    Or do Gardai just love shooting people with mental health issues regardless of their skin colour?

None of the above.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    that's a wildly offensive generalisation

I suppose the irony of explaining racism to you would be a waste of time?

I'm sorry if you feel offended.

I don't understand how it relates to racism though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

The victims of these allegedly racists murders are all criminals.
    How far-fetch is it to believe that peaceful honest citizens of any color don;t get killed by the cops?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,473 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Fella had a knife, attacked and was attacking people with the knife.

Do the guards risk their own lives by trying to get close to him..? Other non lethal force hadn’t worked... I’m not risking my life, because some individual is going around indiscriminately trying to stab / cut / kill... that’s not what Gardai sign up to.... Ive no problem, anybody who tries to attack Gardai, civilians with a deadly weapon, get neutralized by similar force.... to whatever extent it takes to 100000% stop them being a threat to Gardai or the public...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

“The family did confirm after the shooting that Mr Nkencho had a “serious mental illness”.

Various sources point to a serious undiagnosed psychiatric condition, suggesting Mr Nkencho would not have been in receipt of recommended medical or therapeutic interventions.”

So no doctor, no HSE, a “serious mental illness” diagnosed by his family.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,048 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

None of the above.

Feel free to assert what your hypothesis is.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If his family were confident a completely innocent man was shot dead there would be no mention of his mental health

There would be no need

Suffering from a mental illness does not absolve people from responsibility and adherence to the laws of this country.

I saw on that Times story that some local bakery handed out fresh loaves of bread to the protestors.
    Would anyone happen to know the name of the bakery, so I make sure I dont ever use them

Just to add, Im not usually a whiney little cancel culture bitch, but Im sick of the double ****ing standards of the Liberals now, so I'll be playing their games against them

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Anyone still think he was shot because he was black?

"One question raised by commentators is why such a large number of gardaí could not subdue Mr Nkencho without using lethal force"

Pictures scene:

"OK Pat. Your turn to take the knife, hopefully he'll go for the chest and the stab vest will keep you alive, sure didnt I take one in the face last time.

"FFS Pat, that was only a carpet knife, this is a fcukin claymore he's waving at us"

"Go on Pat, sure he mightnt actually stick it in you too deep"

"No way Pat. I'm dropping him with my tazer"

*loud zapping noises*

Jasis Khrist Pat, he's sthill coming, we'd better do our bit for community relations here, and hope neither of us die, we don't want to be racists to we, you grab his knife, I'll try distracting him"

*unholstering noise from left of scene.

"Sthand bak lads, we'll take no chances with this one"
    *bang bang bang bang bang.

*Bang.

"Seems to have sthopped him"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

To be fair a majority of people who end up in prison have some degree of mental illness. ADHD, depression, psychopathy, sociopathy, poor impulse control. The left narrative is to paint this lad as having no concept of reality and perhaps a child like mental age. Seeing as he was living outside the family home at times that appears to not at all be the case.

It seems per one article linked above he was living in the box room, despite the barrig order.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭AngeloArgue

Anyone still think he was shot because he was black?

Thousands

But they're unlikely to want to come here to debate it

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

It seems per one article linked above he was living in the box room, despite the barrig order.

Wasn't it said he also lived in the UK too ,

Thousands

But they're unlikely to want to come here to debate it

Its far easier to claim institutional racism, and a white chap wouldn't have been shot, and threaten a few innocent people buying a halibut or a few satsumas, rather than admit he was shot because he was a threat to public safety and the Gardai had no choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,639 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Thousands
    Do you really think so?

I would guess that almost everybody can accept he was shot because he posed a threat, and for no other reason.

A few people have taken advantage of the incident to bang the racism drum, but I'd say even they privately understand the actual reason for the shooting.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,999 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Nothing in that article at all.
    Waste of time reading it.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭AngeloArgue

Its far easier to claim institutional racism, and a white chap wouldn't have been shot, and threaten a few innocent people buying a halibut or a few satsumas, rather than admit he was shot because he was a threat to public safety and the Gardaí had no choice.

Yes, they will point to the Gardaí as being an organisation that is embedded in the culture of "whiteness" who responded in a way that would not have happened in African culture.
    They may even say that while there was not any overt racism shown, white people themselves carry an unconscious racial bias which causes them to deal with blacks differently.
    That if the guards had been more sensitive in reading the cues from his aberrant behaviour they could of known that he was showing signs of mental illness and responded to him differently.
    And they would argue that the Gardaí did have a choice. They heard the pleas from his sister and they could of allowed him to go into that house

Yes, they will point to the Gardaí as being an organisation that is embedded in the culture of "whiteness" who responded in a way that would not have happened in African culture.
    They may even say that while there was not any overt racism shown, white people themselves carry an unconscious racial bias which causes them to deal with blacks differently.
    That if the guards had been more sensitive in reading the cues from his aberrant behaviour they could of known that he was showing signs of mental illness and responded to him differently.
    And they would argue that the Gardaí did have a choice. They heard the pleas from his sister and they could of allowed him to go into that house

But that would be the sister, part of a family unit it seems had some sort of barring order

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 285 ✭✭Hellokitty1212

Why should the national law enforcement agency of Ireland act in any way conducive to African culture???

People arriving here need to conduct themselves in line with our laws. Their culture and laws have sway in their homelands, Culture and laws that they have hold no sway or influence here... nor should it ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Responded to it differently how?
    A bit of impromptu street CBT?

Ridiculous...
    Waving a knife at guards... conventional measures didn't work... threat persisted.. definitive action authorised. End of.

Why should mental health mean the threat shouldn't be nullifed.
    Wasn't the lad who shot the detective in Roscommon a mental health case? Guards have a right to defend themselves against an imminent threat to their life... the mental health aspect doesn't come in to it really.

Ugh, here I go with my post to the ether.

The guy is dead. The investigation is presumably ongoing.

The family of the dead guy can read all this.

The family of the Guards involved can read all this.

Does it need to go on?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Imagine he'd gone into the house and stabbed his sister.

Would you be saying the Gardai did the right thing then?

Jasis, I'm only after realising you're serious!
    I thought that was what you imagine those clowns would say.

Oh dear