Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

And 15 men can't hold him down?

Summit isnt right.

Yeah you're right, the local Garda conspired to murder a black lads for ****s and giggles - it was actually the initiation for a new recruit fresh out of Templemore

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Summit isnt right.

Which one gets to have the life changing injury? Would you tskr a blade to the face or artery?

Oh and if you could get back to me on this one, you must've missed it last time...
    Tzardine wrote: »
    Of course it is. Horrible scumbags attacking a woman (or of course anybody) like that.
    They didn't.

Why did you say this? At best, you don't know because you haven't seen it. Why categorically say they didn't? What's your mindset or logic with this post.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

Probably the best idea tbh.

Also why didn't they have helmets and public order shields?

Body vests etc?

You're a bit simple really when it comes to the reality of life, aren't you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Louis Friend

Summit isnt right.

It’s not up to the 15 men to hold him down.

15 men can easily overpower one man who’s armed with a machete.

But in the process, at least one of the 15 men is likely to be hurt, perhaps even killed.

It’s not a Garda’s job to risk his or her life taking on a criminal.

The Garda asks the criminal to give up the weapon. In this case, the criminal refused. Tasering etc was unsuccessful, so the criminal was shot and sadly died from his injuries.

It’s Hollywood fantasy to shoot guys in the leg etc. The Gardai shot him in the torso, which is the biggest and most logical target.

Sadly he died, but it was his own fault.

My sympathies lie with the Gardai.

As for those protestors, what are they protesting about?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

nj27 wrote: »
    Dis bish drunk? I have no idea what any of that means.

Which party is she a member of?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

For me its the whole idea of 15 men against one man.

I mean 15 men can't disarm ONE man?

And they couldn't taser him ....it failed ...and so did the pepper spray?

Is he superman?

I mean there are instances of a couple of guards being able to disarm a guy with a sword in Ireland etc.

Which one should step up first and get his his head lobbed off by a guy swinging a machete. Please do enlighten us with regard to your specialised training, on how exactly they should have disarmed a man violently swinging a deadly weapon at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Body vests etc?

Can you still see daylight from the bottom of the hole you’re digging?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

TomTomTim wrote: »
    It honestly reads like something you'd expect from a teenager with little understanding about anything

No harm to her, but she is not the brightest spark. Only a senator because she was adopted by Zappone and there's enough guilt ridden middle class liberals to vote for her.

As someone from a non bourgeois background who like many others went to Trinity it really annoyed me how she used to go on about how she was the first person from Tallaght or wherever to be let in!

Of course the rest of us were encouraged to such things by family and so on.

All this stuff now is made for the likes of her.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I'm sure the guy in the van is relieved you don't think he was attacked.

No one laid a hand on him. In fact, the mob talked the guy away. The guy in the van has also seemingly said something to attract attention. Now, that doesn’t justify being intimidated by yer man but would you really start shouting stuff at a mob like that?

I’m not excusing the behaviour but the narrative is wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Tazers require direct skin connection, a jacket over a hoodie would absorb a lot of the impact.

Pepper spray stings like an actual bitch, but it's not a magic knockout gas.

Every scenario is different, but as a basic risk assessment, if a guy is still standing and holding a blade after all that, It'd take a foolish man to try and disarm him.

But one guard DID walk up alone to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

DeanAustin wrote: »
    My issue is the way videos are being labelled to construct a narrative. It’s the third one I’ve seen today where the behaviour was disgusting but the authors felt a need to put a narrative around the video which was incorrect.

This is a microcosm of the whole situation but in an ironic sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

bloopy wrote: »
    I am having a hard time trying to decipher that tweet.

Do you not know what Racisim is ? She is an a clown.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,313 ✭✭✭✭endacl

You're a bit simple really when it comes to the reality of life, aren't you.

Vibes’ reality is not like our Earth reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,812 ✭✭✭hynesie08

But one guard DID walk up alone to him.

When?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

walshb wrote: »
    Ok, so gangs roaming around interfering with people and businesses and causing harm and threatening, we just accept it? Allow it happen, and hopefully it passes over?

Who said anything about knitting Gardai?

You seem obsessed with numbers, and Garda resources.....

And you seem irritated that ordinary folks are asking why our Gardai cannot tackle this...

I am asking if we as a people should not have backup, emergency measures to tackle this? If your resources numbers theory is so right....

Your answer to it is the same we don't have the resources....that is not an answer when gangs are causing trouble., free to roam and cause trouble with impunity.

Thank you for calling this out.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Body vests etc?

Just hold him down, it's as simple as that when you don't live in the real world.

Like Homer Simpson's plan

Man waving machete >>> ?????????? >>>>>> He's on the ground now hold him

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

Thugs wield knives in shops. Knives have no place in our society. Anyone brandishing a blade is a fool and doesn't deserve condolences imo.

Can you still see daylight from the bottom of the hole you’re digging?
    Its a legit question.

Why did an unarmed guard with zero protection ..go up to a man who he thought was armed and dangerous ..? Partic when there are armed guards there ?

People have said it on the thread not me....it would be foolish to attempt to do this.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

KyussB wrote: »
    Again: The newspaper of record, the Irish Times, states the police shot first BEFORE he lunged.

So get the facts straight.

You're clinging to the "paper of record" holy mantra like it means something outside of Dalkey. The Toimes issues retractions and apologies all the time.

The Toimes are reporting on the same video we've all seen and trying to make a distinction about the guy not swinging his arm before the first gunshot, like it makes a blind bit of difference to a use of force decision (here's a tip: it doesn't).

They don't actually have a clue. I can see why you'd put so much stock in their reporting :)

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭TAZ32

KyussB wrote: »
    Except you have no evidence for this - and the evidence and our newspaper of record puts the police as shooting first - meaning you have this exactly backwards, and are repeating a falsehood.

What would you be saying this morning if he had killed a garda? George went out with intention to commit this crime, he was caught in the act and this is the result. Dont try and make this out to about racism when the irish are known as the blacks of europe.

Witcher wrote: »
    Just hold him down, it's as simple as that when you don't live in the real world.

Like Homer Simpson's plan

Man waving machete >>> ?????????? >>>>>> He's on the ground now hold him
    I agree.

100%

So why would an unarmed guard ..walk up to a man...waving a machete?

Because that is what we saw in the vid.

Except i couldn't see a machete. Maybe someone here has better eye sight than me.

But if there was a machete ..that unarmed guard ..was foolish to walk up ALONE to try and disarm him.

Wasn't he?

Its not that i don't think people could have another opinion on this.

I can TOTALLY see how people could jump to the conclusions they are in this thread.

I am just not happy with people not allowing us to ask questions.

I agree.

100%

Except i couldn't see a machete. Maybe someone here has better eye sight than me.

But if there was a machete ..that unarmed guard ..was foolish to walk up ALONE to try and disarm him.

Wasn't he?

You've been asked when this happened, kindly answer.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

One positive from this shooting-
    People that deny the existence of problematic black gang in irish society are shown to be ignorant fools

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Then why did one unarmed guard alone walk up to him in the vid?

They repeatedly were putting their life at risk to save his.

That doesn't mean they were for your WW1 approach of send the proles over the top and we'll see if a few die.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

To anyone saying Firearms are a disportionate response to knives as a weapon I've one word:

Bayonets.

Soldiers literally attach knives to their rifles if they are expecting battle because they are more reliable and deadly at close range.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I think the biggest winners out of all this will be the far right, unfortunately.

Unfortunately I can see this being the case also.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,428 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I agree.

100%

Wasn't he?

What video?

The one that was shot a couple hundred yards away?

Witcher wrote: »
    You've been asked when this happened, kindly answer.
    Just before shots are fired in the video.

You mean the member of the Armed Support Unit wearing a black vest with yellow writing on the back like this;

1877-check-point-90539508-1024x716.jpg

walshb wrote: »
    What video?

The one that was shot a couple hundred yards away?
    The same one people are claiming to see him holding a knife in.

Which is larger ..a knife ?? or a guard?