Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

That said, surely a bullet to the thigh or calf would be more appropriate than shooting to kill?!
    This has been explained time and time again in the thread why trained police aim for the torso.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    It doesn't work like that. This isn't Hollywood.

1) far more risk of missing the assailant.

2) far more risk of hitting an innocent bystander

3) harder to hit a much smaller target in a rapidly moving escalation.

4) less likely to stop the assailant

5) being shot in the leg if it hits the femoral artery is as likely to result in death as a belly shot

So police are trained to aim for the largest part of the body, the torso.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Tzardine wrote: »
    Dear mods,

Please could you ban me from this thread.

I have not done anything to deserve it, but I keep getting dragged back into this train wreck, despite my best efforts to stay away.

Honestly some people would look at a blue sky and argue that it was actually snowing.

Hahahahaha
    I feel the same way.
    The fact people are defending the criminal is just unbelievable. Thankfully not many but more than enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,483 ✭✭✭weisses

humberklog wrote: »
    One positive from this shooting-
    People that deny the existence of problematic black gang in irish society are shown to be ignorant fools

The only gang not being problematic would be Kool and the gang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Its a legit question.

Why did an unarmed guard with zero protection ..go up to a man who he thought was armed and dangerous ..? Partic when there are armed guards there ?

People have said it on the thread not me....it would be foolish to attempt to do this.
    Can I ask which alternative reality do you exist in and do you intend coming back to earth anytime soon?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,812 ✭✭✭hynesie08

If you swing a knife at shoppers and gardai then of course you run the risk of being taken down. That said, surely a bullet to the thigh or calf would be more appropriate than shooting to kill?!

I covered this earlier, not only is a leg more difficult to hit (and if you miss your colleague is dead) but if that bullet goes through the femural artery, it would be a slow agonising death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

I think Blanch Garda will have difficult choices tonight.

Based on Twitter etc videos, I wouldn't imagine we'll see riots, per se. However, if your house or car is targeted, you wouldn't really care about the definition of the commotion. So, if the Gardai remain in the station, there's probably a fair chance that there'll be sporadic incidents. Should they be permitted, on the basis that they'll eventually fizzle out? On the other hand, if the Gardai take to the streets, will that be the excuse the naughty element are waiting for?

In my own view it should be : stay in the station, but when something kicks off, go in HARD. A half hearted effort will only let them think they have the upper hand. Better to stay in the station than give a weak response.

Take a stand. Capitulation gives the impression of weakness.
    Treat it like any other night. Anyone committing crimes arrested etc.
    Public order units will be at the ready to deploy.

If Gardai hide away they will regret it down the line. Own the streets. We have laws in Ireland and the Gardai are employed to enforce them.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,645 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I am not defending this guy.

I am just asking questions.

And yes I would ask the same questions.

This guy was no angel. Did he deserve to die...definitely not. I don't think anyone in this thread believes this either.

The question was ...did he need to die.

My opinion is no.

However i can see how people might reach the conclusion he did need to from all the false news and the videos etc. And everything else.

But that is not my conclusion.

I would want to ask the same questions if he were white.

But would we be here if he was white? I dont know.

And its all hypothetical ..he wasn't white.

As I said a full year ago:

osarusan wrote: »
    You have plagued this forum for far too long with your horsesh!t posts.

Unbelievable that you are still around tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Tzardine wrote: »

Honestly some people would look at a blue sky and argue that it was actually snowing.
    And they have the right to do so.

Even if i am proved wrong. I have the right to ask questions.

And if no one asked these questions ..that wouldn't be much of a justice system

I HOPE the guards got it right.

I hope they did.

I hope there was no choice but to kill him.

humberklog wrote: »
    One positive from this shooting-
    People that deny the existence of problematic black gang in irish society are shown to be ignorant fools

It won’t be reported though so the vast majority will only know what the media and politicians are peddling - peaceful demonstrations about a poor black man shot by evil Garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,091 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Does anyone have a reliable/official source for the machete claim? By which I mean not a shaky video filmed from 100m away.

I would have thought that the Gardai would have mentioned that specifically in their statement if it was true, but AFAIK they mentioned only a "knife". Maybe that's a jargon issue though.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,360 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

walshb wrote: »
    Are you advocating that the people charged with upholding law and order stay in their station when gangs are committing crimes? That ordinary folks simply cross their fingers that they don't become victims of these people?

Hobson's choice. Stay in, place gets wrecked. Go out, place gets wrecked.

Pity it's unlikely to piss rain, the one thing that makes protesting/crime under the cover of protesting unattractive in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

If you swing a knife at shoppers and gardai then of course you run the risk of being taken down. That said, surely a bullet to the thigh or calf would be more appropriate than shooting to kill?!

Shooting someone is a last resort , weapons specialists are trained to aim for the centre mass. ie the torso. Shooting a leg or an arm is Hollywood fiction where even the bad guys get to go home when the camera stops.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,101 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

walshb wrote: »
    You have explained nothing

You keep mentioning numbers...that is all

Gangs roaming around intimidating people in broad daylight, and your answer is we don't have the gardai numbers....

Pathetic...

because unfortunately it is true, there aren't the numbers.
    it's not his fault, it's the government's fault for being the pathetic ones and not investing in numbers.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

It won’t be reported though so the vast majority will only know what the media and politicians are peddling - poor black man shot by evil Garda.
    We do know there are black criminals. It is reported.

We do also know this man was a criminal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Hahahahaha
    I feel the same way.
    The fact people are defending the criminal is just unbelievable. Thankfully not many but more than enough.

It's actually tame in comparison to the grooming gang and beheading threads, where many were more worried about racism than the disgusting acts mentioned.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,503 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

And they have the right to do so.

Even if i am proved wrong. I have the right to ask questions.

And if no one asked these questions ..that wouldn't be much of a justice system

I HOPE the guards got it right.

I hope they did.

I hope there was no choice but to kill him.

Luckily we have a fully independent Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission that conducts a full, independent and impartial investigation when Gardaí utilize lethal force.

Lumen wrote: »
    Does anyone have a reliable/official source for the machete claim? By which I mean not a shaky video filmed from 100m away.

I would have thought that the Gardai would have mentioned that specifically in their statement if it was true, but AFAIK they mentioned only a "knife". Maybe that's a jargon issue though.

We won't know until the Garda report. Then there'll be more rioting.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭lolokeogh

All ifs and buts and folk making decisions on what they have seen,and thats fair enough,but facts are he entered a shop and left some dude with nasty ole injurys from the slaps,then hit the post office,that gives the impression that we have a dude that is on a rampage,does not seem like it was a dude robbing a shop,getting it wrong and legging it,he was followed by guards home as i persume he had knife in hand,and in one video you can see hes looking back muttering,and then the garden video,i do think the first shot was a warning,and the rest well we know what happened,and because of his actions it does stink of the lad not been well..did he deserve to be shot??well he got all the warnings,tasered,pepper spray,warning shot..after that if hes lunging and swiping a blade with a guard armed there realy is no other option..thats just my 2 cents,right or wrong.oh also some reports the guards tackled him in shops,so maybe it was a wise decision to let him walk if he was freaking it??who knows?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Rezident

Why is this such a big issue for some people? Waving a lethal weapon at armed police? Of course he's dead. Good. Next.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Multiple reasons, but I'll outline a few:

A risk of hitting a smaller target means you're more likely to miss and might hit an innocent bystander via a ricochet

Shooting someone in the leg doesn't necessarily incapacitate them, unless you get the right spot

You don't want the bullet to pass through the person you're taking down, as per my first reason, so you aim for the chest as it has the most meat and is more likely to hold the bullet

This isn't Hollywood where people can shoot with amazing accuracy - you are trained to act as if you only have one shot, so you make the most of it

• Registered Users Posts: 40,470 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Lumen wrote: »

whether it was a knife or machete makes little difference. both are deadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Those people that attacked the Spar shop are blatant racists and it's all on video.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Why don't you try that, get a nerf gun and give someone a fake machete. Keep the gun on them for 20 min and then let them swing for you and see if you can hit them in the leg.

Rezident wrote: »
    Why is this such a big issue for some people? Waving a lethal weapon at armed police? Of course he's dead. Good. Next.

There’s one single reason it’s an issue. I know what it is and you know what it is, but we’re not allowed say what it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I think the black protestors out tonight are watching too much TV and buy in too much to the African American culture they're fed on TV.
    See the post earlier in the thread that there have been 17 Garda shots fired in 4 years.
    We do not have a problem here and I personally have no time for anyone trying to make one by virtue of anything they are imagining due to watching too much useless African Erica culture.
    Guards need to come down hard on any messing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Visited an elderly relation in Tottenham London last year .
    Had been many times over the past thirty years , the area was largely an English working class area and it was full of characters . My uncle used call to a few pubs along Tottenham High road every evening after work and grab a chippy on the way home .
    Now you’d be afraid to walk to the shop in the middle of the day with stabbings a daily occurrence be it post code wars or young somalians robbing elderly English or Irish on their way to the shop . It’s going the same way here in a few parts of Dublin .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

TomTomTim wrote: »
    It's actually tame in comparison to the grooming gang and beheading threads, where many were more worried about racism than the disgusting acts mentioned.

Glad I wasn’t apart of that ****show

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭gw80

The same one people are claiming to see him holding a knife in.

Which is larger ..a knife ?? or a guard?

Just stop, please just stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

There’s one single reason it’s an issue. I know what it is and you know what it is, but we’re not allowed say what it is.

Cos the lad's black?