Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

It's quite surreal seeing videos of what went on in Blanch today and no mention of it in the media.

I mean if this was in Donnybrook would it be on the news.

I haven't seen any more videos online so I presume they are gone home. Hopefully.

"We are staying here until we get jus........ooh its getting windy,i'm of home to play GTA"

• Registered Users Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

So now that this is the situation and these people live here, what do you think should be done now to stop a generation of black irish kids growing up disaffected and angry which seems to have happened to some in the UK?

It's quite surreal seeing videos of what went on in Blanch today and no mention of it in the media.

I mean if this was in Donnybrook would it be on the news.

I haven't seen any more videos online so I presume they are gone home. Hopefully.

They managed to drive out 6 Garda vehicles in the last video I seen of the Circle K, so they’re in for the long haul. This is far from over.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭kravmaga

The RTE 6pm news was a poor effort of a report. Very selective in its reporting.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/1231/1187071-gsoc-shooting-investigation/

No mention that the Eurospar staff members in Hartstown were seriously assaulted, broken nose, broken teeth , facial injuries which Im sure will require many surgeries and possible require plastic surgery.

Also went to An Post and threatened staff there always waving weapon , threatened both uniform and armed Garda with knife/ machete.

Refused at all times to drop the weapon when Gardai tried to intervene to bring events to a peaceful conclusion.

Now we have member's of the black community in Blanchardstown looking for justice for George, this is not a racial issue, its a man with a knife tried to kill members of the public/ our Police force.

A black female protestor is quoted as saying " Oh George would not hurt a fly, he was always very gentle and very quiet, he was always smiling and laughing"

Well one thing is certain George went out with one thing in mind yesterday, he armed himself with a knife and went on a savage violent rampage to injure/ possibly kill a member of the public/ member of our Garda force.

THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH HIS RACIAL PROFILE.

So now that this is the situation and these people live here, what do you think should be done now to stop a generation of black irish kids growing up disaffected and angry which seems to have happened to some in the UK?

They should be given the same opportunity and support as everyone else

Would you not agree?

If it was your job to confront a person wielding a knife, what would you do? Suggest he calm down and call Joe Duffy?

They would do a triple twirl in mid air and karate chop the knife out of his hand so fast he wouldn't have seen it coming. Like something out of a Steven Segal movie.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,016 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

RTE is left wing, woke central these days. Plus they love misery porn so they love the George the victim angle.

No doubt Tubridy will have the brother on the LLS soon telling us how George visited orphanages, old people’s homes and animal sanctuaries on his days off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

I was just thinking this, they can't guarantee the safety of the workers due to these extremists.

like theres any part of dublin where you can guarantee worker safety.

ok maybe d4, foxrock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Perhaps stop playing the victim and become members of the society their parents spent an arduous journey trying to get too? Just a thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

fredt wrote: »
    You'd think there would be some weapon capable of knocking a person down without killing them. Something similar to a plastic bullet if less powerful.

A real bullet didn't stop this thug trying to kill, it took multiple more shots to stop him.

Look at another prominent Dublin criminal, The Viper, shot 16 times.

They should be given the same opportunity and support as everyone else

Would you not agree?

Yeah but it doesn't seem to be enough, going by other countries. I mean we can say tough sh*t, but then we'll prob have further problems down the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

They should be arrested for that, attacking an essential service and intimidation of customers and staff.

When I was a young fella and my "gang" (of friends) did that so to speak, within minutes there would be 5 or 6 squad cars pulling up outside. I know from experience, there was 3 guys some of the lads were after and they trapped them in a Spar, Guards were there in mins, and arrested 11 of the lads.

Not proud of that, we all have our past.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

In thirty years time anyone who has the money to get out of west Dublin will be gone

Most of west Dublin is fine. Some bad pockets like everywhere.

Clonsilla Coolmine Caslteknock Hartstown Huntstown

All quiet areas, it’s the minority fuc4ing it up as usual.

Lots of quiet parts of clondalkin as well as some bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Gothic Insanity

Away with peddling that rubbish. He had already tried to kill one person and was attempting the same with them.

Mental health - the catch all excuse for absolutely anything in the minds of some.

I kind of agree more so out of the necessity to preserve life. Unfortunately it's sad but you have little choice if someone is having that sort of eposide to try beyond what the guards did initially to try stop it.

Sad it came to that, but should be a used to help raise awareness and funds for mental health services amd not used for political gain or to incite further violence.

Perhaps stop playing the victim and become members of the society their parents spent an arduous journey trying to get too? Just a thought.

Yeah but they probably wont, they'll feel like they don't belong etc etc and this seems to be why it's hard to integrate.
    I mean we can just say oh shut up you have the same opportunities as everyone else, but that doesn't seem to work does it?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,899 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Darc19 wrote: »
    A lot of garda cheerleaders here, but people need to understand that when it comes to mental health issues, the gardai are utterly inept and it is only in the last few months that they have employed someone to actually devise an education strategy to give a basic level of understanding to gardai.

Whilst I won't say this was murder, it certainly is a disgusting road the gardai have gone down and I sincerely hope gsoc do a proper investigation, but I doubt it.

Well done for posting what you know will be greeted with howls of derision. I don't think it's a disgusting road & I suspect that the Garda will be exonerated purely because they followed the "manual".

However the manual is clearly outdated as may be the definition of "threat to life". By firing five shots the Garda clearly intended to kill - there was no attempt to disable. If two firings of a Taser & Pepper spray failed then there must be a revision into the equipment & how it is used.

Discodog wrote: »
    So where does a trained negotiator fit in ?

Why 5 shots ?

Yes it's all part of the Garda training. The question clearly is whether that training was followed & whether it is appropriate when possible dealing with someone with mental health issues.

Again, is a knife less fatal when it's a mental health patient wielding it? I have been stabbed and I can tell you, my blood didn't flow any less.

Negotiating took place, perhaps you missed it but he was actually followed home by unarmed Gardai who tried to talk him down.

They then used both spray and taser.

Perhaps had he not been outside a house with possible victims inside AND did not lunge at the police he could have stayed longer and eventually talked him down but that didn't happen as a result of his actions.

Bottom line for yourself and all the others, the garda that he tried to harm had the right to self defence and going home to his family safe.

I really don't understand how naive people are in this thread.

Steve012 wrote: »
    When I was a young fella and my "gang" (of friends) did that so to speak, within minutes there would be 5 or 6 squad cars pulling up outside. I know from experience, there was 3 guys some of the lads were after and they trapped them in a Spar, Guards were there in mins, and arrested 11 of the lads.

Not proud of that, we all have our past.

Same when I was 16. Any large gatherings and the crowd was dispersed quickly by gardai.

Are the guards afraid to do anything incase of being labelled because the colour of their skin I wonder?

Hmm...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

If only there was a European country with a successful history of absorption of multi-cultures that we could take the template from.

But I'm struggling to think of one and I fear we've sleepwalked into the same problem as the rest.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

From the incident in the Spar shop to lunging at armed members of AGS, I'd have no trouble believing this man genuinly suffered from mental health issues. If this is correct then i am sorry this man had to go through a mental illness.

THIS DOESN'T MEAN though that An Garda Siochana weren't justified or wrong to defend themselves/colleagues. There are no winners in this tragic incident. AGS should do whatever is necessary to protect members of the public or themselves. This man was failed a very long time ago.

sickening people inciting hate and riots over this. People who just want to loot or appear woke. Lets all remember here that a shopkeeper was brutally attacked, a Garda was close to getting seriously hurt or killed, a man lost his life and a garda had to make a split decision to fire at someone. Again, who came out better in this?

Hazel Chu and other politicians who implied that this death was racially motivated, their positions are untenable now.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

kravmaga wrote: »

THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH HIS RACIAL PROFILE.

Of course it doesn't, anybody who says it does is an absolute loon, more Gardai have been killed in the line of duty, than they've shot and killed criminals.

All these loons saying this is our "George Floyd moment", it's not. F*cking idiots bringing race into something that has nothing to do with race.

It is tragic no matter what way you look at it, but George played with fire and got burnt.

humberklog wrote: »
    If only there was a successful European country with a history of successful absorption of multi-cultures that we could take the template from.

But I'm struggling to think of one and I fear we've sleepwalked into the same problem as the rest.

That's why I'm asking how this situation should be approached.
    There's no point saying send them all back to Africa etc, that can't happen, so is there anything we can do?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Stop hiring people like Ebun Joseph. Who tells them, that they are disaffected and should be angry.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,571 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

A73-FFE0-E-B8-A2-4-C13-A874-9-B1-BADFB0-AE6.jpg

I see you've played knifey machete before...

(also could have gone with 'I can't believe it's not a butterknife')

• Registered Users Posts: 15,899 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

wonga77 wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, in the heat of the moment yesterday, how exactly were the guards supposed to do a mental health check on a guy waving a weapon at them?

Back away unless he is actively a danger ie approaching people. I believe he was in his own garden so at least allow the family to see if they can calm him down.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

85603 wrote: »
    like theres any part of dublin where you can guarantee worker safety.

ok maybe d4, foxrock.

Not absolute, but not to the extent where you have to pull the shutters down and trap customers inside because there's a baying mob outside.

There's no point saying send them all back to Africa etc, that can't happen, so is there anything we can do?

I think the problem started by homing lots of this minority together. Creating small ghettos across Dublin.
    It’s probably too late and there really isn’t anything we can do at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Doctor Roast

Stop with the insane migration policy, tell the EU to do one aswell our homes aren't some social experiment

Not really gonna help with the situation we're already in though, and realistically the migration policy wont change any time soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Maybe stay in school and get a job. Like the rest of us.