Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Bambi wrote: »
    I know an old Filipino gent who was a cop in Manila back the 60s-70s, he said they used to fire the warning shot after they dropped the bad guy. :D

It was a warning to the next wannabe gangster.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

The usual suspect ebun joseph on twitter re tweeting posts saying its awful he was called a thug

Ruth coppinger calling a knife weilding thug ‘unarmed’

Paul murphy asking if his race had any impact...

The classic responses from the usual apologists

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

6541 wrote: »
    I believe 7 shots discharged with only 5 hitting the target. That is what is shocking me. 71 percent hit rate. No good enough.

Have a look at comparable ratios of rounds discharged to rounds on target in a stress situation, that's high.

https://infogram.com/nypd-hit-rates-1h7z2l1y5wvy4ow

You'll find a link to a 2008 study on the matter here;

https://www.politifact.com/factchecks/2018/may/25/shannon-watts/do-more-7-10-police-bullets-miss-their-mark-gun-co/

• Registered Users Posts: 13,857 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Any politician who turns up at that protest in Blanchardstown would be my first target for the "hate legislation" they have a hard on for.

I assume it will be broken up for breach of the covid regulations?

Laws are for poor people.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭take everything

walshb wrote: »
    They can go and fook right off!!

Any threads set up for the people terrorised by the shop robbery?

It's embarrassing seeing the likes of Jedward doing this.
    And people who should know better are not far behind.

What about the shop assistant who might need counselling after this.
    What about this man taking responsibility and not doing this to his friends and family by not threatening people in a shop with a knife and lunging at a garda with that knife.

What about the guard who shot him, who has to live with taking someone's life and who was forced to only because another life could have been taken.

People here telling guards how to do their job is cringeworthy and if people who should know better fuel this stupidity, things are only going to get worse.

This was a tragedy.
    The guy to blame for it is dead.
    There will be an inquiry into how the guards acted.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,497 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The usual suspect ebun joseph on twitter re tweeting posts saying its awful he was called a thug

Truly dangerous people..

Anarchists!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

So very sad to see our young people desperate to live out their own racial victimhood fantasy, to have their part of the regressive identity politics zeitgeist. The race baiters and grifters have won.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Fann Linn wrote: »
    I think he's being ironic, sarcastic, comedic.
    Take your pick.

and hilarious

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

I highly doubt they discharged two warning shots AFTER shooting someone dead.

Well thats how you get away with the first 5 shots..."I tried to warn him by firing 2 warning shots first".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

It's rather disturbing how racist idiots like Ebun Joseph have such a platform to promote hate and create racial divisions at every opportunity.

She's little better than Gemma O'Doherty yet is paid by UCD to peddle her ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,857 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Rotten snobby cu675.

Using this for their own gain and pretending to be anything but rich, insulated tossers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Who expects some good old fashioned looting and burning after this, plus a rally and to be damned with Covid restrictions. There is thing is like a wet dream for Gemma, Dee and the gemmabots.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,972 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Well thankfully we are in lockdown, well in relation to woke gatherings anyway. The meedja will shut down over NY. And quite frankly I doubt the vast majority give a sht. Publicity will decline soon enough. Feck them all.

IMO, the Gardai tried everything non lethal against this person and had no choice in the end. His family is alive, they might not be tonight but for the action taken.

• theguzman wrote: »
    Who expects some good old fashioned looting and burning after this, plus a rally and to be damned with Covid restrictions. There is thing is like a wet dream for Gemma, Dee and the gemmabots.

theguzman I don’t want you looting!

Awe, but I was gonna loot you a present!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Feel bad for the cop who fired, it's one thing to do all the training but to actually pull the trigger.

I really hope the cop isn't gonna get hounded

• Registered Users Posts: 22,313 ✭✭✭✭endacl

theguzman wrote: »

They’ll implode under the cognitive dissonance. Who’s the bad guy here? D’immigrant? De gardeez?!?

Does the shooting of a black man accused of criminality not align with what Gemma and her ilk pretend they stand for?

IE. Vitriolic racist "patriots" against multiculturalism.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,401 ✭✭✭davetherave

Why would you do that, when you're educateing people (myself included) on why guards shoot mass, with certain tactics and reasons.

Are you a guards or firearm specialist?

I'm not who you are asking nor am I a member of An Garda Siochana, but I am competent in firearms and guarding procedures just in a different uniform. Based on my viewing of the video clip the situation had gotten to a stage where he needed to expend ball ammunition to hit.

Less than lethal options had proved ineffective and there was immediate and credible threat to himself and/or other members of AGS against an attack where such an attack presented a credible life threating situation, or to himself or another member of AGS from being disarmed. If the knife-wielder got close enough to an armed Gardai and slashed at his hand, wrist, forearm or just straight up stabbed him centre mass there is a risk that the firearm could be taken from him and you now have an individual with a firearm as opposed to an individual with a knife.

It just comes back to if it has gotten to a stage where you do need to take a point of aim and neutralise a threat you want to make sure that you absolutely can protect yourself and your colleagues. If you stand 10 feet away from a mirror and walk/jog/lunge towards it and move your arm in overhead swings or stabbing motions the one consistent target is from the waist to the shoulders.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Was going to type out that it's shocking but it's actually anything but.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,363 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Its called multiculturalism and its good for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 987 ✭✭✭Pinoy adventure

Nigerian back ground ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

harry dyke wrote: »
    Same scum that defended the Lidl looters a few years back.

The reds and shinners stoking this up are a disgrace.

Their only interest in this is to corner a slice of the political market. Trots have nothing else but Shinners will have to tread more carefully if they can keep their woke idiots in line. they have seats to lose.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Thankfully the people of West Dublin sent Ruth 'Nationalize Dell' Coppinger packing last time around.

Oh, you'll be hearing plenty from her replacement don't worry.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Same scum that defended the Lidl looters a few years back.

As John Connors rightly pointed out, Lidl are robbing us every day. What with their affordable prices and jobs for disadvantaged areas...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

These are the ones sowing division in society.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Danzy wrote: »
    Laws are for poor people.

no

laws are for dumb people who think its ok to steal cheat lie and wave knifes around

• Registered Users Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭McCrack

I watched the video recording many times

It appears armed suspect is going into the house and is shot once from behind by an ASU member, he turns and swings the knife at the ASU member and is shot a further four times

The fifth shot being the last shot appears to be fired as suspect is falling to the ground

Now I'm not suggesting the force used was disproportionate to the threat but I would be raising questions based on the video. If the ASU member feared for the safety of person or persons in the house as suspect goes to enter then yes but we don't know the full facts yet. The last shot again appears questionable.

It's not as open/shut at this point as people may think.

• mynamejeff wrote: »
    no

laws are for dumb people who think its ok to steal cheat lie and wave knifes around

Kids, kids, you’re BOTH wrong.

Bullets are for people who think it’s okay to steal, cheat, lie & wave machetes around.

/s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

• Registered Users Posts: 40,470 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

That just reads like a press office statement rather than a response. I'm not saying the gardai are wrong here, just that it's questionable and needs to be answered as it's the difference between 'man shot by gardai' and 'man killed by gardai'

to me it reads like a comment based on what we do know. Tell me, if they wanted to arrest him, and I presume that was there attention, how exactly do they do that 20 feet away from him? an arrest requires that they get close.