Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Drumorig

I can confirm 100% hartstown for anyone in doubt :rolleyes: the new cycle lane is visible but won't be in google maps as they were only installed a few months ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭ToddDameron

Lynn Ruane posting glamorous selfies after a hard day of stirring racial tensions. You go girl. Takes a special kind of narcissism to be able to switch gears like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭Feisar

Any calls for reparations yet? In between Cromwell and the Famine we were serious slavers!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,812 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Be very surprised if the shop is still there tomorrow.

If the post office is in there, the shop is safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Wibbs wrote: »
    It is too late sadly. The late 90's was our last chance to nip this in the bud at source. However you can't stop ghettoisation happening. People quite naturally want to live among "their own" and to stop that you'd have to actively stop people of one group living with each other. Sorry Mr Ali, you and your family can't live here, the Arab quota has been reached, we're selling the house to Mrs O'Neill. That's totalitarianism and would be illegal.

I reckon the % of homes owned vs council houses in these areas are very small given the CSO unemployment figures. The council could easily not group them together.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

walshb wrote: »
    Incitement to hatred this....stirring division and encouraging anarchy.....

Anyone in positions of influence trying to undermine the Gardai are encouraging anarchy.....

Or engaging in the same identity politics they accuse others.

paulmurphy.png

https://twitter.com/paulmurphy_TD/status/1344353024668536833

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,636 ✭✭✭obi604

hynesie08 wrote: »

How do you mean?

Post offices are fire proof?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,503 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Heckler wrote: »
    Remarks made yesterday and today by a lot of public figures were disgraceful. You wonder were they on the eggnog all week.

You’d wonder if this is a country you’d want to be bringing up kids in now with the absolute jokeshop of a political landscape that we have.

It’s fast becoming a dangerous jokeshop of a country.

Inviting anybody and everyone in with the thinnest of sob stories. State coffers being raped to pay for them...

Irish people who have paid tax all their lives being denied funding to get into the NRH, Doolaghs Park Rehab Wing yet 150 million in taxpayers money per annum spent to facilitate asylum seekers ? And THIS and the carry on in balbriggan is the thanks we get ? Right. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Post offices are fire proof?

It's where the scrots get their dole money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

I laughed.

You're right though.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

Lumen wrote: »
    I lived in this area for 12 years and had hardly any issues with scumbags, and those that I did have issue with happened to be white, not that I was counting.

The black community was very quiet and my experience of individuals was universally positive.

What I have come around to reluctantly is the idea that non-white people in Ireland face substantial discrimination and racial abuse. You'd need your head in the sand to not realise it, but I guess I did. I came across the usual selection of racist taxi drivers and random ignorant scumbags, but thought they were exceptional cases who only quietly revealed their prejudices when they felt safe, but reading the experiences of non-white Irish people who have "come out" this year in the wake of the BLM movement (which I happen to have conflicting opinions on) I can't now doubt the reality.

That said, whilst I have reliable second hand knowledge of racist gardai I hope they're in a tiny minority and are not given deadly weapons. I have absolutely no idea whether the actions of the gardai in this case were racially biased, and I have no idea how anyone can say that without either witnessing it firsthand or conducting a thorough investigation. The Gardai do a very difficult job and ought to be generally given the benefit of the doubt but also investigated thoroughly when a death occurs, either in an armed response, routine arrest or or custody. I optimistically hope this will happen in this case.

It is the way of the world now, happens in UK, White, Asian, Black,Turk. An example, knives are carried routinely now.

Yes they were carried as far back as the 50's in "modern culture era" but only by a tiny few.

20 years ago my youth, again only a small amount of people carried knifes.

Now young people carry bigger knives and a whole lot more of the young population do in Ireland, white, black, asian, etc

The Gardai indeed have a very difficult job now. They used to know folk by name or type so to speak , for the past 15 years they have needed to re adjust, any bring in language experts to assist them.

Only thing ill say about this incident, "the marching" whatever, is it's as plain as the nose on your boat. If there were a white massing of young people terrorizing people, (saw the vids) and being very anti social, It wouldn't just be on RTE news it would be on sky Ireland.

• Venom wrote: »
    It's where the scrots get their dole money.

Don’t forget nanny’s pension. She’d be livid if they burned down the post office.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,503 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Are we fast becoming 2nd class citizens in our own country ?

Will parts of Dublin become like Brixton in the early 90’s

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

I'll answer your questions, Knob.
    The gardai tried every possible method of de-escalating the situation and were forced by the knife-waver/stabber to use pepper spray and taser before using lethal force.The situation had already gone on for two hours and one man, for whom you appear to have no sympathy, was already stabbed by this individual.
    The garda on the spot, because the knife-waver/stabber tried to stab him and his colleagues.
    The skin colour was and is irrelevant. He was a knife-waver/stabber first and a black man second.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Looks like immigration has been asleep at the wheel lately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

Suckit wrote: »
    The first two shots were warning shots to put the knife down. The 3rd shot was intended to maim him and he still didn't put down the knife, he was still very active. The 4th shot was also to maim. The 5th (that seems to have been the final shot) was possibly intended to maim also, but was under much more difficult circumstances as he was lunging at a Garda with his knife. So not only would it have been to maim, but to stop him.

There is no such thing as a “shot to maim”. This isn’t GTA or Lethal Weapon.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It doesn't matter. How do you know the Gardaí on the ground knew it was his home? Regardless do you think it would have been OK for Gardaí to allow him enter not knowing that there could be other people within the house who would be placed in grave danger if he entered with a knife?

What people essentially are saying is that it would have been better for Gardaí to let a male, acting in a highly aggressive manner, to enter a home with a knife which could lead to a siege situation where they have absolutely no control over what happens inside that house.

It would be a different story today is someone had been murdered in that house. People need to have a little perspective and screw their heads on.

This just reminded me of Jasmine McMonagle in Donegal. She was killed in her home by her psychotic partner. She tang the guards who attended but couldn't intervene because they were unarmed.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/timing-of-jasmine-mcmonagle-s-murder-still-unknown-1.3748080?mode=amp

The ASU were called but they were 45 minutes away. So the unarmed Gardai had to listen to her screams, powerless to intervene, as she was knifed to death in front of her kids.

So it sickens me to see these crowds out protesting because this time a deranged armed man was actually stopped before he could do the same.

Had the guy in that case also lined at the cops with the knife then he'd have met the same response. But he didn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

iebamm2580 wrote: »

Why are the targeting the shop?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

eviltwin wrote: »
    Why are the targeting the shop?

Because they had the audacity to call the guards/they're to blame for poor George dying. Not the George himself of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,453 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

ckeego wrote: »
    So he didn’t mention him?

“My sympathies go to the family of the young man who lost his life in Clonee yesterday”

His “thoughts” went to the Gardai and the shop workers..

Nothing made up there pal...And if you think that’s a rant about this elephant in the room, I haven’t even started.

Our law enforcers going about their business, a shop manager,his staff and customers going about their day and this kicks off. Believe me, in other jurisdictions this would have ended a lot sooner than it did...

And believe me, the GS involved didn’t wake up expecting the day to unfold the way it did..

Em he didn't give any mention specifically to him.

Are you actually having a laugh?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Lynn Ruane posting glamorous selfies after a hard day of stirring racial tensions. You go girl. Takes a special kind of narcissism to be able to switch gears like that.

Lynn Ruane and glamorous? An oxymoron surely?

On a serious note, she epitomizes the low quality public representative currently in vogue in this country. I have no idea how this inarticulate, classless woman has been elevated to a position of influence.

What’s next for the future? Our glorious leader Hazel Chu, ably assisted by her deputy Ebun Joseph?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

givyjoe wrote: »
    Because they had the audacity to call the guards/they're to blame for poor George dying. Not the George himself of course.

Yeah but the shop is nowhere near the Garda station. Just seems a strange place to focus when it’s the guards they say are responsible.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Leo, being the intellectual lightweight that he is, has led the Fg party along with several senior Ministers into this mess, he stated last June that Racism was the real virus egging on the BLM protests, I believe he was well intended albeit completely oblivious to the greater impact those words would have...he will go down in history as a disastrous leader of the Party.

It will be him and the likes of Harris who will give oxygen to an alternative conservative party, one which does not exist yet, purely because of their devotion to positive attention on twitter and their inability to lead people or a political organisation.

Remember, he led the Party to a disaster in the election earlier this year, getting elected himself in his own constituency on the 6th count, an embarrassment by any measure.

This problem will not go away.

Lumen wrote: »
    Can I ask how you know this? There's a lot of unsubstantiated "facts" on this thread.

As I stated before, I was attacked with a machete a few years ago by a family member and the ERU were called. All of them had body cams. When I was chatting to the main guy, telling him “what room he was in, how big the blade was, would he have any other weapons in the room etc.” My eyes kept being drawn to a red light on his chest. He told me that it was just a body cam, and they all wore them for evidence in case anything bad happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,453 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Leo, being the intellectual lightweight that he is, has led the Fg party along with several senior Ministers into this mess, he stated last June that Racism was the real virus egging on the BLM protests, I believe he was well intended albeit completely oblivious to the greater impact those words would have...he will go down in history as a disastrous leader of the Party.

It will be him and the likes of Harris who will give oxygen to an alternative conservative party, one which does not exist yet, purely because of their devotion to positive attention on twitter and their inability to lead people or a political organisation.

Remember, he led the Party to a disaster in the election earlier this year, getting elected himself in his own constituency on the 6th count, an embarrassment by any measure.

Ah yeah I forgot, this is all Leo's fault ay???

Like everything in this country.

When people have no personal responsibility its Leo's fault.

I don't get the obsession with Leo Varadkar in this country.

It's a mystery.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Drumorig wrote: »
    I can confirm 100% hartstown for anyone in doubt :rolleyes: the new cycle lane is visible but won't be in google maps as they were only installed a few months ago.

I don’t think anyone was debating it wasn’t hartstown or am I missing something?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

eviltwin wrote: »
    Yeah but the shop is nowhere near the Garda station. Just seems a strange place to focus when it’s the guards they say are responsible.

Garda stations don't tend to have a lot of stock of ciggies and booze!

But I'm sure that has nothing to do to where these scumbags are acting out :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Redrum123

Sure, look at the way the more right leaning members of his party have been treated. Ousted by the wokeness of Kate O'Connell and her ilk. Even last week a 19 year old member was asked to resign because he stated a dislike for KOC when she lost her seat. Nothing more. Those boys aren't going anywhere and I can guarantee they aren't going to lose their interest in politics just like that. They will go elsewhere.