Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Lynn Ruanne now live on RTE 1 after her comments earlier.

Disgraceful.

She told us plebs to kiss her arse for not agreeing the Gards are racist.

Welcome to Ireland 2021 lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

This thread is just a microcosm of what's going on on the world today and it's disheartening to see it.

Right v Left
    Left v Right
    Nationalism v socialism
    Communism v Fascism.
    Fine Gael v Sinn Fein
    Provos v Blue Shirts.

The drive to pigeon hole every one into one extreme category is at the heart of all this. You can see it with the language being used my most of the new posters. On and on about the other side. And that stems also from our Politicians. The level of hate seems to be increasing from all sides.

We have to get back to categorising People who positively work for themselves and their community, against those who have actively chosen to not contribute to society whatsoever. Irrespective of Race, Skin Colour, Nationality, Religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

babaracus wrote: »
    There are no problematic Polish/Romanian etc. gangs in D15 but there are noticeable and problematic gangs of African/African Irish youngsters who have appeared in the media (not as often as they should have) over the past 10 years. Today they forced my sprightly 76 year old neighbour to fear for her life inside a Spar as they banged on the shutters and shouted that she was a white bastard and they hoped she would die (along with others inside of course). You will have seen the video.

Separate issue. Don't involve me.

I'm addressing something which is demonstrably not true. Not any issue associated with it.

If someone said that the gardai used a flamethrower on the guy would you not call out the utter stupidity of the post. Maybe ask them to prove it. Laugh at them when they can't.

Thats analogous to what I'm doing. Addressing a huge exaggeration. And watching the struggle and squirm against facts. Nothing more.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Well for so few they certainly punch above their weight when it comes to being anti social parasites.

Dont care. Separate issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

https://twitter.com/HMcEntee/status/1344584936267919360

His death is a tragedy apparently, at least according to her. He's responsible for his own death, no tragedy there.

Its just a typical politician response. It's neither left or right. It's pleasing both sides without actually saying much.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

Heckler wrote: »
    I said it earlier. Public figures disgraceful comments. The rank and file Gardai and especially the armed (dunno was it ASU or ERU) must be gutted to read such comments. And they are reading. What the hell is that doing for an already low morale ?

Pathetic display. Hope they get called to task for this.

Indeed...Chu needs to resign for jumping to conclusions and publicly fanning the flames.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

85603 wrote: »
    Separate issue. Don't involve me.

I'm addressing something which is demonstrably not true. Not any issue associated with it.

If someone said that the gardai used a flamethrower on the guy would you not call out the utter stupidity of the post. Maybe ask them to prove it. Laugh at them when they can't.

Thats analogous to what I'm doing. Addressing a huge exaggeration. And watching the struggle and squirm against facts. Nothing more.

If there are, as even the state admits, tens of thousands of illegals then the figures you refer to are meaningless.

Even their own stats; CSO v PPS numbers for example do not make sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,091 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Bonniedog wrote: »
    If there are, as even the state admits, tens of thousands of illegals then the figures you refer to are meaningless.

Even their own stats; CSO v PPS numbers for example do not make sense.

What have "illegals" to do with George Nkencho?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭Hamachi

newmember? wrote: »
    Indeed...Chu needs to resign for jumping to conclusions and publicly fanning the flames.

Any chance of this happening?

https://twitter.com/HMcEntee/status/1344584936267919360

His death is a tragedy apparently, at least according to her. He's responsible for his own death, no tragedy there.

Ah sure we can read the same thing and come up with widely differing opinions on anything I suppose. If you don't think the death of this human being is a tragedy for his family and friends then is there any point in continuing the discussion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Its just a typical politician response. It's neither left or right. It's pleasing both sides without actually saying much.

I wouldn't be happy with it if I'm in the AGS. Calling his death a tragedy is insinuating he is a victim.

The AGS should come down with a dose of blue flu for a day and give her the finger.

No sympathy from her for the people in the Spar shop when he was there, no sympathy for the Gardai having to do a difficult job and make a most difficult choice.

She knew what she was doing when she tweeted that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

If the Gardaí shot dead a "native" acting in that manner, i very much doubt that a MOJ would be describing it as a tragedy.

Our entire political class is petrified by all this woke nonsense that they feel obliged to parrot race baiters like Joseph and deracinated bourgeois wasters who became communists because of some Daddy issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,502 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

She is irresponsible. The very type of divisive are careless individual we don’t need right now or at any time in Irish political life.

Though what she is doing now is simply trying to stoke up support in immigrant communities for support. It’s political.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Heckler

Can accept that. Drew Harris would want to come out and **** her and the rest of them from a pier and stand by his force if he had any balls on him. He would have the backing of 90% of the country.

Yes. I did a poll.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Strumms wrote: »
    She is irresponsible. The very type of divisive are careless individual we don’t need right now or at any time in Irish political life.

Though what she is doing now is simply trying to stoke up support in immigrant communities for support. It’s political.

And in the process, alienating ‘old’ Irish who are still ~85% of the population, a fact that may be lost on the bauld Hazel.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,714 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

A tragic ending to what seems to have been a desperately unavoidable situation.

Condolences to the family and the hardship that's going to affect everyone involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Ah sure we can read the same thing and come up with widely differing opinions on anything I suppose. If you don't think the death of this human being is a tragedy for his family and friends then is there any point in continuing the discussion?

I really don't think it is a tragedy and no I don't think that because of his colour. If you conduct a serious criminal or terrorist act then being killed by police or military is part of the risk.

His family and friends should be angry with him, not with the average person on the street.

The ERU have previously shot dead members of the INLA and the PIRA, all white men, and I support that too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,568 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

John_Rambo wrote: »

Condolences to the family and the hardship that's going to affect everyone involved.

It's not over yet...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭monty_python

So what's the latest lads?
    Did the guards put a stop to it or is it still on going

• Registered Users Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Condolences to his family on losing a family member in such fashion but if the pictures of his victim doing the rounds on Whatsapp this evening are accurate it's hard blame the Guards for over reacting. What could/should they do ? Allow an innocent party to lose a limb or life :confused:

Play with fire ...........

I really don't think it is a tragedy and no I don't think that because of his colour. If you conduct a serious criminal or terrorist act then being killed by police or military is part of the risk.

His family and friends should be angry with him, not with the average person on the street.

The ERU have previously shot dead members of the INLA and the PIRA, all white men, and I support that too.

Indeed, but McEntee's tweet was intended to be diplomatic and not to take sides until all the facts are known, unlike a large portion of the posters on this thread who are only too happy to spout any old ****e without knowing possibly ANY of the facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Heckler

John_Rambo wrote: »

It was massively unavoidable John. Unless you believe your own hype.

Don't Push it. Don't push it, or I'll give you war you won't believe. Let it go. Let it go!

Well he got his war.

if the pictures of his victim doing the rounds on Whatsapp this evening are accurate it's hard blame the Guards
    There is at least one fake photo circulating.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭bilbot79

McIntees tweet is fine. His death can be seen as a tragedy without blaming the guard. The tragedy can be the life and circumstances that led him there. Its a tragedy that the taser didn't do its job.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Condolences to his family on losing a family member in such fashion but if the pictures of his victim doing the rounds on Whatsapp this evening are accurate it's hard blame the Guards for over reacting. What could/should they do ? Allow an innocent party to lose a limb or life :confused:

Play with fire ...........

But they didn't overreact though?..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

bilbot79 wrote: »
    McIntees tweet is fine. His death can be seen as a tragedy without blaming the guard. The tragedy can be the life and circumstances that led him there. Its a tragedy that the taser didn't do its job.

The only tragedy is that a innocent person working in a shop as a front line worker during a pandemic, got attacked by a thug.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,331 ✭✭✭pgj2015

im not on twitter or facebook etc but have many black people spoken out against this BLM rubbish in this case? That is what might be needed to stop other minorities rioting over this imagined racism.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Thank god the guards weren’t injured during this ordeal.
    God bless the trigger man for his correct decision making and accuracy to take down the machete wielding perpetrator. Hopefully the trigger man and his family will not suffer any after mental effects.
    I also wish the perpetrators family all the best and hope they are ok.
    Hopefully the younger brother doesn’t follow in his older brothers footsteps.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,714 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Heckler wrote: »
    It was massively unavoidable John. Unless you believe your own hype.

Don't Push it. Don't push it, or I'll give you war you won't believe. Let it go. Let it go!

Well he got his war.

As much as I like to joke about my name on this forum, I can't find much humour on this thread. When I say unavoidable, I'm not apportioning blame on the Gardai. I believe, after viewing the footage that this is some sort of suicide by cop. The avoidance was directed at the deceased and no-one else and my condolences are directed at the deceased families and everyone involved.

machete wielding perpetrator
    I have seen no reliable source for the claim that a machete was used.