Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

bubblypop wrote: »
    Gardai do not need people posting random videos to social media. It's not helpful.
    If someone actually has footage of an incident then they should hand over that footage to the investigating body.

In this case I personally don’t think they’d be getting the support they are getting from the public without that video. In general I’d say phone cameras are here too stay so no stopping it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

In this case I personally don’t think they’d be getting the support they are getting from the public without that video. In general I’d say phone cameras are here too stay so no stopping it.

The family or neighbours might have actually been recording too. Such a huge presence outside the house with garda cars, shouting etc . I guarantee that there is a closer video of the incident that will surface eventually. Someone else has footage.

Public support depends on what side of the bed the public get out of! It didn't take long yesterday for the public to start blaming guards when there were gangs of teenagers out for trouble in Blanch.

What matters is that the incident is investigated by actual investigators & that member receives any help he needs.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,969 ✭✭✭amacca

Covert racist angle like 99% of the thread

Well that % is complete bull****. A lot of posters merely want the objective truth. I wouldnt be so bold as to put a % on it however as I've not trawled through the thread and categorised each post.

I assume you have and just got the maths wrong, remember to divide the number of racist posts by the total number of posts and then multiply that fraction by 100.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

So people pointing out that this man wouldn't have been shot had he not been attacking people with a machete is racist?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Yeah we are all racists because we dont agree the coverage of the incident is a balanced and fair one.

Just an innocent young lad minding his own business in front of his house. Then the racist AGS turn up and just kill him for nothing.

Its very clear that this young lads death is being exploited by a lot of people with a dangerous agenda. It has prompted anti social behaviour, racism and assault by young black men and women.

These legitimate actions by AGS are being undermimed by poisonous fcuktards who are making it into a race issue.

If it was a race issue, he would have been killed as soon as AGS turned up, not being afforded many chances to put the weapon down and comply with AGS instructions.

The racebaiters would want to get a grip before there is no going back.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

What’s with the Nigerian stuff?

This guy was Irish wasn’t he?

I have been following the story closely and I havent seen his nationality confirmed yet in the press. People mistake nationality and ethnicity a lot but given that he is 27, he may have been naturalised Irish nationality but he nearly definately wasnt born here and it is a reasonable assumption to think he was ethnically non Irish or Nigerian-Irish rather than Irish.

Past comments here are discussing the anger in the Afro-Irish community. It isnt racist to consider the different ethnicities and nationalities that make it up and how that links or dvides the community as a whole. No more racist than talking about how Irish ancestry in some parts of Canada is closely linked to SE Ireland and some to NE Ireland. So stop pearl clutching because no one here is claiming that you can't be black and Irish. You can, just like the way you can be white and kenyan or white and Nigerian.

Yeah we are all racists because we dont agree the coverage of the incident is a balanced and fair one.

Just an innocent young lad minding his own business in front of his house. Then the racist AGS turn up and just kill him for nothing.

Its very clear that this young lads death is being exploited by a lot of people with a dangerous agenda. It has prompted anti social behaviour, racism and assault by young black men and women.

These legitimate actions by AGS are being undermimed by poisonous fcuktards who are making it into a race issue.

If it was a race issue, he would have been killed as soon as AGS turned up, not being afforded many chances to put the weapon down and comply with AGS instructions.

100% agree.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

George Nkencho was NOT killed because of the colour of his skin. He was NOT killed because he had a mental illness.

He was killed because he attacked another human being with a weapon and did not cooperate with Gardai when they interacted with him and instead attempted to attack them with the same weapon. The Gardai tried repeatedly to stop him using non lethal means and he did not cooperate.

Anyone saying that the Gardai were heavy handed or acting out of malice because of the colour of his skin or attempting to draw comparisons between this and incidents in other jurisdictions are inflaming this sad situation and turning it into something it is not.

Glazers Out!

Dread to think how you see society.

IKEA.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,592 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Ah lads why are you even entertaining the obvious re-reg troll? Just report and move on, his idiotic posts will be removed shortly and the adults can continue the conversation without the interruptions from the kiddies.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭whodafunk

nullzero wrote: »
    George Nkencho was NOT killed because of the colour of his skin. He was NOT killed because he had a mental illness.

He was killed because he attacked another human being with a weapon and did not cooperate with Gardai when they interacted with him and instead attempted to attack them with the same weapon. The Gardai tried repeatedly to stop him using non lethal means and he did not cooperate.

Anyone saying that the Gardai were heavy handed or acting out of malice because of the colour of his skin or attempting to draw comparisons between this and incidents in other jurisdictions are inflaming this sad situation and turning it into something it is not.

Agree 100% with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Maybe been answered already but wasnt it a serious risk to public to have let this guy back into a housing estate wielding a knife. Should he not have been surrounded and disarmed when he was in the open green area, less chance of a member of public getting caught in crossfire etc?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

As it stands there is no going back. The racebaiters are given access on the national airwaves and are encouraged to push their agendas. You may as well give a voice to the KKK, because it'll amount to the same thing in the end; division along race lines. And we're just added to the long list of countries where multiculturalism fails.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

A few people with an agenda are not anything like 99%.

This comment of yours is a bigger problem as you are attempting to stifle reasoned debate by calling 99% of people here racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

bubblypop wrote: »
    Public support depends on what side of the bed the public get out of! It didn't take long yesterday for the public to start blaming guards when there were gangs of teenagers out for trouble in Blanch.

What matters is that the incident is investigated by actual investigators & that member receives any help he needs.

The gardai are public servants, without the support of most of the public we we will have serious problems. I’ll leave it there as it’s off topic.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Maybe been answered already but wasnt it a serious risk to public to have let this guy back into a housing estate wielding a knife. Should he not have been surrounded and disarmed when he was in the open green area, less chance of a member of public getting caught in crossfire etc?
    The uniformed Gardai were likely waiting for the armed branch to show up when they saw the threat involved. They would have had to be called in so there would have been a delay. They were likely told to stay well back, not engage for fear of danger to themselves and others but keep an eye on things until the ARU showed up.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,648 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

StefanFal do not post in this thread again

Everyone else, do not feed

• Registered Users Posts: 40,467 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The garda initially on the scene were unarmed. How do you expect them to disarm someone with knife safely?

Personally I'd have thought surrounding there a bad idea as crowd you can't control could be attracted (could be too much to resist for the smartphone generation) one of them could get injured etc etc at least in estate they can't come at you from a full 360

+ and this is just speculation, there may have been no armed guards at that point, they may have wanted to give it time to try and deescalate/get him to drop knife, they may have hoped he would go home as he might act a bit less crazy on home ground or family might help to talk him down........

Im not sure when armed AGS turned up, might not have been until he got to the house. And really, an unarmed AGS member shouldnt be confronting an armed person.

In hindsight, they should have just run him over with a car while on the grass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

The inside of your head must be a very strange place if you think 99% of the commentary on this thread is racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

nullzero wrote: »

He was killed because he attacked another human being with a weapon and did not cooperate with Gardai when they interacted with him and instead attempted to attack them with the same weapon. The Gardai tried repeatedly to stop him using non lethal means and he did not cooperate....

You know this how...?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

The reasonable centre just doesn't bother most of the time because we bear in the mind the saying that you shouldn't argue with an idiot: they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience. And you can't take the proportions of eejits on any social media platform as representative of society in general. There's two extremes in this. The trots and their fellow travellers willing to throw Gardaí under the bus, and the chest thumping, law and order brigade, some of them with their thinly disguised racism and "everything is going to hell in a handcart" attitude.

Most people have no time for either extreme and generally cba getting involved with them online.

newmember? wrote: »
    You know this how...?

Maybe they turned on the News?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

Maybe they turned on the News?

It said all that in the news did it?

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭verizon

xzanti wrote: »
    I was highly irritated by the lack of any insight on RTE into what went on yesterday in Blanchardstown. Having viewed many of the videos posted online, people barricaded into the Eurospar, the same shop where the original crime took place which led to the guys death.

A baby knocked from her mothers arms by a gang of people.

Bus drivers intimidated in their vehicles.

Just mindless anarchy.

RTE showed nothing only about a minute of footage depicting a peaceful vigil outside the Garda Station.

In many of the videos; the Gardai seem to be afraid to approach/antagonize them.

This morning; with fresh eyes on the matter I'm thinking they handled it correctly.

Had the riot police gone in there with hoses etc it more than likely would have made things a lot worse. Possibly sending clusters of people into housing estates, houses may have been targeted, burning of cars etc, like in America.

Just my personal opinion.

This morning I haven't seen any fresh footage of angry mobs, so I'm assuming it ended and they dispersed.

Hopefully today will be more peaceful for Dublin 15.

This was my thinking anyway. As much as it would be great to shut down such activities in a firm manner, there would be a bigger revolt today as a consequence.

I do hope Gardai are investigating the available footage and not letting it slide by.

You know this how...?

Because there is zero empirical evidence to substantiate claims that members of AGS have deliberately targeted and killed black people in the past.

However, there is plenty of evidence to indicate that AGS will use live ammunition in circumstances where there is a legitimate percieved immediate threat to life.

Thats probably why.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Wibbs wrote: »
    As it stands there is no going back. The racebaiters are given access on the national airwaves and are encouraged to push their agendas. You may as well give a voice to the KKK, because it'll amount to the same thing in the end; division along race lines. And we're just added to the long list of countries where multiculturalism fails.

Exactly this.

Does anyone here really believe that if the GSOC carries out a thorough investigation and find that the Gardaí behaved impeccably that these politicians and Ebun Joseph will apologise?

As for RTÉ and other "journalists" they need to cop themselves on and stop stoking the flames.

It said all that in the news did it?

It’s one source of information they may have used there are also many others, including online footage.