Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users Posts: 7,965 ✭✭✭connachta

C.Fitz used to cover 15 at times
    TOH/Healy aren't young
    He may have a better future to focus on n°23 (covering 10/15) so that we have a pure centre for 22 and Aki/Farrell/Daly(or Arnold) on the same teamsheet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Thornley has in the times today that Carty has signed but only for a year. Interest from Clermont among others apparently...

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭ShineyShiney

Bazzo wrote: »
    Thornley has in the times today that Carty has signed but only for a year. Interest from Clermont among others apparently...

Great if Carty is on board and the 1 year possibly answering the questions in relation to why we would be interested in Hawkshaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

1year! That’s a pick me for Ireland or I’m off.
    I wouldn’t blame him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

It wouldn't surprise me if a few players would prefer a short-term deal if it's a cut salary on offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

He must really be backing himself to get back into the international setup, and in fairness Ross Byrne and Burns look even less comfortable at test level than Carty. That Clermont backline is far away from their heyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

God I miss the sports ground,

He must really be backing himself to get back into the international setup, and in fairness Ross Byrne and Burns look even less comfortable at test level than Carty. That Clermont backline is far away from their heyday.

At some point thou if international is closed I wouldn’t begrudge any of them having a few years in France

Lads I hope Duggan has a blinder. Big fan of his. Big angry prop head on him too.

gally74 wrote: »
    At some point thou if international is closed I wouldn’t begrudge any of them having a few years in France

Defo. Carty owes IRFU nothing especially considering how bad the current international coaching ticket is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭randomname2005

Great reading of the lineout by the blues. Causing major problems

• Registered Users Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭testtech05

Very poor starting the line-out 3 in a row all lost at the front...

Wooton turned inside out there aswell but pass looked forward to me.

Miles forward ffs

Balls. Try blues,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Some games we just aren't switched on, and the fact that no-one thought to get back into the defensive line after the scrum has me worried this is one of those days. Yes the pass was forward but doesn't change the fact that we were asleep at the wheel. Wootton's tackle attempt was woeful.

Shocking attempt.

Were lucky to get that penalty.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

My Irish is poor but did I hear that Frank Murphy is the TMO

ElisaAtWar wrote: »
    My Irish is poor but did I hear that Frank Murphy is the TMO

Yes I think so

Shame there's no crowd there to ironically cheer that forward pass call.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭typhoony

thought that was going to be 3 forwards passes that the ref had missed

typhoony wrote: »
    thought that was going to be 3 forwards passes that the ref had missed

That’s why we have a t m o

Healy has made a couple of important hits in defense already. Wooton should have nailed the fullback there after he caught that but just slipped off him again!

We're very narrow in defence, Cardiff will punish us sooner or later.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

That croc roll on Bundee was dodgy AF

Ffs Carty needs to cop on here.

That's why Carty isnt the answer to Sexton either. For all his good play he makes too many of those errors(out on the full, missing touch with penalties, botched restarts, missing easy kicks etc).

Ireland need someone who has Cartys general play but without a few of those errors every game.

Let he pressure off again so easily with another silly pen

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

That's why Carty isnt the answer to Sexton either. For all his good play he makes too many of those errors(out on the full, missing touch with penalties, botched restarts, missing easy kicks etc).

That’s been Sexton for two seasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Playing the ball on the ground? That was an embarrassing miss by ref

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,355 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

How did they let Morgan out of the corner there?