Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ultimate Sporting Venue Tournament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Thomond Park advances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

I googled Štadión na Sihot and don't get it... is it just the little castle overlooking it?

I googled it & I love it. Its the nicest one that came up so far just because of that castle overlooking it:P.

I've always joked (I'm serious though) & said if I were ever to get married, I'd elope to somewhere like Slovakia, where no one else would want to come & it'd just be me & himself there.

I think a trip to that stadium after would be very fitting. Think of the wedding photos :pac:

Lads and ladies, the random draw threw up a cracker in the next bout

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,338 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

How I'm imagining Omackeral

c635f6d503f5547578e0748886296821ea804ec159294e725fbc524f3454920c.jpg

Santiago Bernabéu

Home of Real Madrid, 1982 FIFA World Cup Final, UEFA Champions League Final (4 x times)

santiago-bernabeu-stadium-aerial.jpg

VS

Camp Nou

Home of Barcelona FC, 1992 Summer Olympics, UEFA Champions League Final (2 x times)

51549da1b2824bd6983afa11a9c52175.jpg?auto=format&fit=crop&ixlib=python-3.2.1&q=25&w=375&h=250&dpr=2.625

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Camp Nou.

I do like a stadium with no roof.

Camp Nou

Have actually watched a soccer ball game here & the Barcelona fans intimidated the ref so much he changed 2 decisions in the game to Barcas advantage!
    it was very impressive, very high!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

Camp Nou
    Wins it for me in the battle of the Spanish Giant's, I have been there 3 times and saw legends like Iniesta and Ronaldinho, sadly no Messi though

Omackeral wrote: »
    Lads and ladies, the random draw threw up a cracker in the next bout

To be fair, you did not disappoint.

I've been to matches at both, and while I would be much more of a Barca fan than a Real one, the atmosphere in the Bernabéu is like nothing I've experienced at any other stadium, especially when they came from 3-1 down to win 4-3. Definitely gets my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,402 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Big match!

Camp Nou - haven’t been inside either but have been outside it and has always had a little more appeal for me...plus the 99 CL final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭tc20

Ahh jaysus..
    I've been to league matches in both, though never to an El Clasico, which would be the true test of atmosphere - against most other domestic teams the crowd is a bit flat, as they are expected to win.
    Based on my experience in both, I'm going with Camp Nou

I want to vote for Santiago because I don't like red, but the Camp Nou one does look a bit better to me so I'll go for that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

I've been to the nou camp and it is very nice but Im going with Bernabéu, always perfered the look of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Zaph wrote: »
    To be fair, you did not disappoint.

I've been to matches at both, and while I would be much more of a Barca fan than a Real one, the atmosphere in the Bernabéu is like nothing I've experienced at any other stadium, especially when they came from 3-1 down to win 4-3. Definitely gets my vote.
    I've also been lucky enough to go to both and the Bernabeu is the nicer stadium, takes my vote

This is very tight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Camp Nou

It's a crazy size

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Santiago Bernabau - prefer it tbh

Also I hate Barca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,704 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Nou Camp home of Barcelona FC more iconic imho

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭hurlingman97

Camp nou for me.
    Would've been my 3rd soccer nom of it was allowed.

Camp Nou advances in the match of the Round

Only two more bouts to go folks.

Inisturk

Home of Inisturk GAA

30439-136.jpg

VS

Aviva Stadium

Home of Ireland National Rugby Team, Ireland National Football Team, FAI Cup (annual), 2011 UEFA Europa League Final

aviva-stadium-aerial.jpg

I almost want to vote for Inisturk but I'd be voting for the scenery as opposed to the venue, which in fairness looks pretty sh1t.

So Aviva Stadium as a result

Inisturk

Even though it obviously isn't, it looks like a greater feat of engineering to get a level pitch there. And the scenery is cracking

I don't love the Aviva. The North stand really ruins it for me, but without it it's fairly generic. Also, for a new stadium, the concourse areas and bars etc are terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,704 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Aviva as good memories of there

Necro wrote: »
    I almost want to vote for Inisturk but I'd be voting for the scenery as opposed to the venue, which in fairness looks pretty sh1t.

What Necro said for me too..

Aviva Stadium

The Aviva looks stunning tbf but is very new to be considered ultimate. In this round it gets my vote by default.

Aviva Stadium

Really sticks out in the skyline of Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Inish turk putting a pitch in there took insight, guts and hard work. The heart of the ciuntryside.I think it's amazing. The Aviva is just a place that a fancy architect drew and loads of money was spent because they had it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Lansdowne Road for me.
    Maybe we should have a most picturesque location competition next!

but I'm a traditionalist and hands down the D4 stadium for its history, and to be fair it is a cracking looking stadium

Necro wrote: »

What he said

Another vote for Lansdowne/Aviva

Aviva Stadium progresses

I'm a traditionalist and hands down the D4 stadium for its history
    It's only a decade old ;)

Did the colaseum get nominated?

St Andrew's

Home of the British Open

St_Andrews_Old_Fife_Scotland_17th_1_fsneuo.jpg

VS

The Float @ Marina Bay

Home of 2010 Summer Youth Olympics

marina-bay-stadium_2.jpg

Did the colaseum get nominated?
    You thinking LA or Vegas? ;)

The Float @ Marina Bay

First time ever seeing that ,my god its so weird but awesome looking

St. Andrew’s obviously has the history and I love The Open but I have to vote for The Float - that’s class. Ball boys earn their pay there.

You thinking LA or Vegas? ;)

Ahhhhh the one in Rome.. Did I spell it wrong I probably spelt it wrong :)

The Float for its uniqueness

St Andrews

It's the home of golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Citizenpain

The Float
    Never really liked the golf

St Andrews

It's the home of golf

Yeah this. Far more iconic when you get past the uniqueness of the float

The Float was my quirky entry, im going with St Andrews though, probably more deserving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,216 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

St Andrew's all day. People dream of playing there nobody knew about the float till 5 minutes ago

St Andrew's

Even I know it's a massively important golf course! And it is very scenic

As much as the float thing is kinda cool, I'm not really a fan of man-made things like that being built on the water. Kinda like the Palm island in Dubai. So it's StAndrews for me

Ahhhhh the one in Rome.. Did I spell it wrong I probably spelt it wrong :)
    Ah no, I was just being silly