Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ultimate Sporting Venue Tournament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I think there are around 10 ties left to decide in Round 1

Memphis Pyramid

Home of Lennox Lewis vs Mike Tyson

Big-Cypress-Lodge-Bass-Pro-Pyramid-Lights-at-Night-landscape.jpg

VS

Victoria Stadium

Home of Gibraltar National Football Team

victoria-stadium-gibraltar.jpg

Memphis Pyramid.

Some alternate views.

Pyramid

960x0.jpg?fit=scale

Victoria:

image.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Victoria Stadium

Id say its a nightmare to play esp if your a goalkeeper. Planes landing and taking off would be a massive distraction

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,338 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Much and all as I like that the pitch is nearly on the runway, the Memphis Pyramid is pretty cool looking and gets my vote. Just looked it up and it now seems to be a hunting and fishing store with a hotel attached. Weird way for it to end up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Just read about the Memphis Pyramid, it's a real white elephant - built for nba but not good enough, basically abandoned, now a shopping mall. Its quite sad. But it's no doubt unique so takes my vote over an astroturf pitch in a wind tunnel with the slight amusement of planes taxiing behind one of the goals

Memphis Pyramid please

Memphis Pyramid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Memphis Pyramid, one of my noms. If only for the St. Valentine's Day Massacre: In Your House event where the hardcore championship match between Bob Holly and al Snow spilled out into the nearby Mississippi river.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

Memphis Pyramid
    It's unfortunate that it isn't used anymore

Memphis Pyramid rises up and advances to Round 2

Circuit de Monaco

Home of F1 Monaco Grand Prix

f1-monaco-gp-2018-the-start-of-the-race-8482499.jpg

VS

Arrowhead Stadium

Home of Kansas City Chiefs

960x0.jpg?fit=scale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭JohnGreenFan

Arrowhead Stadium

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Monaco, to nullify the vote of Genesis Fancy Tenseness when they come along to say they couldn't vote for a road :)

Monaco

It's just a classic, isn't it? I've driven it in a hire car (an Opel Corsa!) and it was genuinely thrilling to do so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Monaco please. There are probably better stadiums in the contest, taking nothing away from this one and growing up watching the Monaco GP on tv I'm just more familiar with it.

Did you mess up the post, Macker?

I can only see Arrowhead...

Monaco for me.

Always my favorite grand prix when I used to follow F1

Did you mess up the post, Macker?

I can only see Arrowhead...

It's showing up fine for me?

Oh it's a joke :P

Circuit de Monaco

The only F1 track im even vaguely interested in. Drove around it too

In vain, but I'm a man of principle (when it suits).

Arrowhead.

Circuit de Monaco zooms into the next round

Pontiac Silverdome

Home of Detroit Lions (former), Detroit Pistons (former), 1994 FIFA World Cup Group Stage, WrestleMania III: Hulk Hogan vs Andre the Giant

635817435041584151-AP-SILVERDOME-FUTURE-W.jpg?width=660&height=373&fit=crop&format=pjpg&auto=webp

VS

Lakeside Leisure Centre

Home of World Darts Championship (former)

0_GettyImages-460993972.jpg

Let's play darts!

A great venue. The Dome is a bit bland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,402 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Can't say I'm feeling either of these to be honest but I'll go with Lakeside Leisure Centre for the chandeliers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,216 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

I nominated the Lakeside - real home of darts for me classic matches there involving Bristow, Lowe, Jocky etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭tc20

The Lakeside for me.
    Not a massive darts fan but enjoy the crowd/fans (pre Covid) who'd go there for the craic. Looks like it'd be a good session with the lads.
    As for the NFL stadium, sorry does nothing for me

I just always remember that dome from USA 94 thinking how cool it was having football inside.

DXr4TFYWAAM9MVo.jpg

And this too...

c33a979d50851d29509093e51e4a471e.gif

Pontiac Silverdome is the sort of venue I think of when looking for an Ultimate Sporting Venue (I didn't nominate it).

- Good looking
    - Excellent atmosphere
    - Iconic moments
    - Variety of sports

Lakeside Leisure Centre

Better craic at the darts, that place looks full of atmosphere

If a glorified parish hall knocks out the Silverdome I won't be casting another vote.

The Silverdome

Looks cool, I'm a big fan of a roof :p
    The other is a glorified pub by a shopping centre, and pubs in shopping centres are always dives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭JohnGreenFan

The Silverdome

If a glorified parish hall knocks out the Silverdome I won't be casting another vote.

That's just gonna make more people go for the community centre...

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,338 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

The Silverdome. It's a proper stadium as opposed to a big function room.

Lakeside Leisure Centre goes through. Silverdome nearly came back! Bye bye H2D Person Below, thanks for playing.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭hurlingman97

Pontiac Silverdome

I don't trust this place anymore since a swimming pool knocked out the Westfalenstadion

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ಠ_ಠ

Best of luck with the rest of the tournament, Macker.

The Pontiac Silverdome fell into disrepair.

silverdome-1.jpg

And was demolished. She didn't go without a fight though...

N4NTSU.gif

Best of luck with the rest of the tournament, Macker.

See you in the next match bud :p

Good match with two proper stadia coming up...

I hope one's a fish tank just off the N11 to annoy Hello 2D Person :)

The Rose Bowl

Home of Superbowl (5 x times), 1932 Summer Olympics, 1984 Summer Olympics, 1994 FIFA World Cup Final

100th-rose-bowl-game-stanford-michigan-state.jpg

VS

Millennium Stadium

Home of Wales National Rugby Team, 1999 Rugby World Cup Final, FA Cup Final (6 x times), 2017 UEFA Champions League Final

1_Wales-v-Australia-Under-Armour-Series.jpg

Millennium

Look at those two pictures, look how far away the seats in the Rose Bowl are. The millennium is so steep it's frightening, but the back row of the top tier feels right on top of the pitch, it's great

I love a roof too :p
    With it closed, the atmosphere in there is awesome

I was there when Liverpool set the world record for the loudest ever crowd ;)

The Rose Bowl

I'm not a fan of roofs in stadiums. The Rosebowl is wide open, gets my vote

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Rose Bowl, my nom. Think it's up there with one of the best American football stadiums.

2018.06.17_Over_the_Rose_Bowl%2C_Pasadena%2C_CA_USA_0039_%2842855669451%29_%28cropped%29.jpg

Look at those two pictures, look how far away the seats in the Rose Bowl are. The millennium is so steep it's frightening, but the back row of the top tier feels right on top of the pitch, it's great
    That's a good point - I was right at the very back row when I was there, and yet the view was great. I'll give it my vote for that, though I do like the mountain view of the Rose Bowl.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

The Rose Bowl
    I have been to the Millennium Stadium and its a pretty good stadium but the Rose Bowl has a much better history and I really like the layout of it

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭hurlingman97

Rose bowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,180 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

Rose Bowl from me.
    The setting of the excellent Depeche Mode music documentary 101.