Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2020 Forum Games Awards Ceremony

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,241 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Necro wrote: »
    They did get votes certainly - full table for the tournament votes (of those that got 10 or more points)

Best Forum Game Tournament: Points
    Ultimate Irish Landmark 69
    Best Christmas Song 59
    Ultimate World Landmark 58
    Best Song of the 80s 44
    Greatest Song Sung by a Female Artist 42
    Greatest Cartoon 40
    Greatest Song from the Movies 37
    Eurovision Song Contest 34
    Best Song of the 90s 31
    Greatest TV Show Theme Tune 31
    Best Song of the 70s 28
    Greatest FIFA World Cup Goal 25
    Ultimate Football Club Crest 25
    Greatest Song from the 2010s 23
    Game of Thrones Greatest Character 21
    The Worst Song of All Time 19
    Best Song of the 60s 18
    Greatest Cover Song 17
    Greatest Music Act of All Time 14
    Greatest Movie Star of the 90s 14
    Greatest Sitcom Character (US & Canada edition) 12
    Boybands VS Girl Power 10
    Ultimate State/Provincial Flags of USA and Canada 10
    That's a hell of a lot of tournaments! :eek:
    Where do you people find the time :D

Reberetta wrote: »
    Any chance you could reveal who voted for whom so we know who the egomaniacs are who voted for themselves?
    I voted for Necro's Triple Threat and not my Advent Calendar. I regret everything :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Congratulations to the victors.

Danke Necro and thanks to those who voted for me.

Any chance you could reveal who voted for whom so we know who the egomaniacs are who voted for themselves?

Coughalsostarringlevarburtoncough. ;)

That would betray the confidence of the confessional I'm afraid. People are free to say who they voted for though if they want :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭tusk

GG to all.

#notbitteratall

And fair play to our resident Fairy-Godfather for actually running this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Congratulations to the victors.

Danke Necro and thanks to those who voted for me.

Coughalsostarringlevarburtoncough. ;)

I think I probably even voted myself best MS Paint Host and I have never even played one of them... :D

That's not true btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭tusk

That's not true btw

...but really it is...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭aaronjennings

I didn't think I'd be nominated for anything, never mind get two named placings

Many thanks to all who did, that was a very welcome surprise :)

Well done to all the winners, and thanks for the thread, Necro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,288 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

They did get votes certainly - full table for the tournament votes (of those that got 10 or more points)

Best Forum Game Tournament: Points
    Ultimate Irish Landmark 69
    Best Christmas Song 59
    Ultimate World Landmark 58
    Best Song of the 80s 44
    Greatest Song Sung by a Female Artist 42
    Greatest Cartoon 40
    Greatest Song from the Movies 37
    Eurovision Song Contest 34
    Best Song of the 90s 31
    Greatest TV Show Theme Tune 31
    Best Song of the 70s 28
    Greatest FIFA World Cup Goal 25
    Ultimate Football Club Crest 25
    Greatest Song from the 2010s 23
    Game of Thrones Greatest Character 21
    The Worst Song of All Time 19
    Best Song of the 60s 18
    Greatest Cover Song 17
    Greatest Music Act of All Time 14
    Greatest Movie Star of the 90s 14
    Greatest Sitcom Character (US & Canada edition) 12
    Boybands VS Girl Power 10
    Ultimate State/Provincial Flags of USA and Canada 10

th?id=OIP.uWR8eaOZF_7AhNUV080DEwHaFj&pid=Api&P=0&w=241&h=181

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I'm actually delighted so many different people were name checked at the very least.

There were also other really good ones that probably deserved a mention.

rainbowtrout and SM in the tourney category were brilliant earlier in the year. Then we had yozico's A Question of Sport and Video Game Alphabet Sheep from Shane U.

tusk and SnowyMay also ran brilliant MSPaint games and lettuce not forget....

Rikand.

He brought us many of these games for the first time back in 2019 and was instrumental in helping the forum to grow.

Sheep, MSPaint and Walrus were all started by himself here on Boards and I think he definitely deserves a huge amount of credit for bringing the three games (and many other derivatives) into our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

tusk wrote: »
    ...but really it is...

What I actually said in my PM to Necro about the MS Paint categories was...
    MS/Paint questions can get f**ked... :D

No offense meant to anyone who hosts/play them by the way, was only a joke, they seem like great fun and theres a serious amount of talent involved based on the pictures I have seen from it, I just don't have the artistic abilities needed to play and haven't followed any of them to know enough who or what to vote for in the awards.

I'm actually delighted so many different people were name checked at the very least.

There were also other really good ones that probably deserved a mention.

rainbowtrout and SM in the tourney category were brilliant earlier in the year. Then we had yozico's A Question of Sport and Video Game Alphabet Sheep from Shane U.

tusk and SnowyMay also ran brilliant MSPaint games and lettuce not forget....

Rikand.

He brought us many of these games for the first time back in 2019 and was instrumental in helping the forum to grow.

Sheep, MSPaint and Walrus were all started by himself here on Boards and I think he definitely deserves a huge amount of credit for bringing the three games (and many other derivatives) into our lives.

Hall of Fame Candidate Rikand

Rikand.

tenor.gif
    Thanks Grandmaster Rikky :D

What I actually said in my PM to Necro about the MS Paint categories was...

No offense meant to anyone who hosts/play them by the way, was only a joke, they seem like great fun and theres a serious amount of talent involved based on the pictures I have seen from it, I just don't have the artistic abilities needed to play and haven't followed any of them to know enough who or what to vote for in the awards.
    Jump into the current one as a describer. No artistic skill required, just need to be good with words... but you'll be fine :p

Well done Necro, bravo

I really should have voted for myself

Well done to all the winners and nominees, fcek that only the winners won the rest of us are losers

th?id=OIP.hHomvpBm_K5-HoSoHQSvGQHaHT&pid=Api&P=0&w=157&h=156

Jump into the current one as a describer. No artistic skill required, just need to be good with words... but you'll be fine :p

I should probably leave it until I've finished watching the 120 or so TV Shows I currently have to get through for the auld Walrus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭davetherave

Congrats to all of the winners, nominees and thanks Necro. You are all winners to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

I should probably leave it until I've finished watching the 120 or so TV Shows I currently have to get through for the auld Walrus...

It would take you 30 seconds to describe it..

Though a few days of scratching your head saying what the feck first obviously

Trigger wrote: »
    It would take you 30 seconds to describe it..

Though a few days of scratching your head saying what the feck first obviously

Remind me how long it took you to listen to 100 or so songs again?

I think I have 320+ episodes of TV to watch in the next month or two... There's no time Trig! There's no time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Remind me how long it took you to listen to 100 or so songs again?

I think I have 320+ episodes of TV to watch in the next month or two... There's no time Trig! There's no time!

Couple of days tops, now what when on between those days is a different matter!

Fair enough... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

Ah so many games I wasn't around for.

Still confused with all the different games & what they mean. Sheeps/peeh's. I haven't looked through them all yet to figure out what they are about.

I'm really liking the MS Paint games that I only recently discovered. Wouldn't be able to do them myself, but they look like so much fun. Fair play to everyone that took part in those ones :)

Still confused with all the different games & what they mean. Sheeps/peeh's. I haven't looked through them all yet to figure out what they are about

SHEEP is easy - most popular answer is best. Like Family Fortunes. You score a point for everyone who give the same answer as you.

PEEHS scores the same but lowest wins, so you want obscure answers. Like Pointless. More second guessing, as sometimes obvious answers score low as everyone avoids them

Both good fun, come join in :D
    New games are flagged here

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

Congrats to all the winners and cheers to Necro for being a great host. Hope 2021 brings even more wonderful games from everyone here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

SHEEP is easy - most popular answer is best. Like Family Fortunes. You score a point for everyone who give the same answer as you.

PEEHS scores the same but lowest wins, so you want obscure answers. Like Pointless. More second guessing, as sometimes obvious answers score low as everyone avoids them

Both good fun, come join in :D
    New games are flagged here

Ah thanks for the explanation. I had seen them being mentioned but hadn't got round to checking out the games to see what exactly they meant.

I know what a spoon is though, only because I got one in a Halloween game :D

& thanks for the link to the new games aswel. I thought I was already following that thread but seems I'm not when I clicked into it now.
    Must be my fat fingers again hitting the unfollow button at some stage :rolleyes:. No wonder I'm missing games.

Really would like to see the return of an alphabet sheep, they were great fun
    Agreed, they're the truest version I think. Hard to think of categories though
    Thought of (a fairly obvious) one :)
    I'll wait until Greenie's Last Person Standing finishes then stick it up, probably a bit busy with work for the next couple of weeks anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,377 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I was robbed the 2019 forum games awards didnt go ahead :pac:

Congrats to the winners! :D

And fairplay to the organisers :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭Clarabel

Rikand wrote: »
    I was robbed the 2019 forum games awards didnt go ahead :pac:

Congrats to the winners! :D

And fairplay to the organisers :cool:

You were. It was amazing. Crowns and all sorts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Reberetta

For those who are curious, the below were my votes.

Best New Game Type

1. Movie Walrus
    2. Team Sheep
    3. Forum Games Table Quiz

Best Sheep/Peehs/other derivative Host:

1. Electric Nitwit
    2. Necro
    3. Homer J. Fong
    4. lassykk
    5. Spook_ie

Best Sheep/Peehs/other derivative Game:

1. Sports Stars Picture Peehs