Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

If the cap fits etc etc...

Apologies I know you are trying to have a go but I’m missing the attempt. Can you be clearer?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Tpcl20 wrote: »

It's gone very quiet in here tonight, is something happening? :D

Has there been any cases from the teams themselves?

It would have made the media is there was

• Registered Users Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

Drumpot wrote: »
    He seldom talks about Ireland and if he does it’s usually very brief. This was very surprising, he’s called most things right over the last 11 months!

Health Services overwhelmed by mid to late January.
    Hope in this instance he is wrong 😳

• Registered Users Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭oceanman

tom1ie wrote: »
    Pretty grim alright.
    Plenty on here will tell you there’s nothing to worry about and we shouldn’t be locking down though.
    This is not even a proper lock down for heavens sake...

Basically Dr John (RN, BSc, MSc, PGC.Pharm) is saying that some people in Ireland who get severely ill from Covid over the next while who would have otherwise survived in times with less pressure on the health service will now die.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

oceanman wrote: »

what do you call a so called 'proper' lock down?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭mcburns07

KrustyUCC wrote: »

D'army

The only "Lockdown" that came close to that description was the first,even then there were people taking the p!ss

Subsequent ones have been a farce and everyone knows it

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭growleaves

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Maybe one where schools are actually shut

• Registered Users Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Dr John, the nurse? Can you remind me what is his doctorate in?

He’s another one qualified in enjoying his few minutes of fame.

Likely releasing a book soon as well

Fair play to him

• Registered Users Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭landofthetree

glasso wrote: »
    Basically Dr John (RN, BSc, MSc, PGC.Pharm) is saying that some people in Ireland who get severely ill from Covid over the next while who would have otherwise survived in times with less pressure on the health service will now die.

Hopefully he doesnt know that we have extra capacity in the form of private hospitals.
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-state-could-take-up-to-30-of-private-hospital-capacity-under-new-plan-1.4451353%3fmode=amp

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

mcburns07 wrote: »
    D'army

My parents were locked down in Spain for the first one. Everything shut except supermarkets and pharmacies. Even going for a food shop, only one person was allowed. None of this entire families browsing the middle aisle in Lidl. And there were shop marshalls enforcing distancing, as opposed to here where you have to queue in a traffic light system to get in and then it's a fúckin free for all anyway.

You could only go out to exercise your dog. Some poor dog was confiscated when it was noticed on his tenth walk of the day that he was being unofficially rented out to people who wanted to be out and about with legitimate excuse :D

A friend of theirs decided to tidy up the garden. When he stepped out onto the pavement to trim the hedge he was told "go back inside sir". He said "but I'm just trimming the..."

"Back inside sir". So he did. But they have big guns..our lads have telescopic batons iirc.

That's a proper lockdown :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭oceanman

all schools, all construction.....

One where EVERYONE abides by the restrictions maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Antares35 wrote: »
    My parents were locked down in Spain for the first one. Everything shut except supermarkets and pharmacies. Even going for a food shop, only one person was allowed. None of this entire families browsing the middle aisle in Lidl. And there were shop marshalls enforcing distancing, as opposed to here where you have to queue in a traffic light system to get in and then it's a fúckin free for all anyway.

You could only go out to exercise your dog. Some poor dog was confiscated when it was noticed on his tenth walk of the day that he was being unofficially rented out to people who wanted to be out and about with legitimate excuse :D

A friend of theirs decided to tidy up the garden. When he stepped out onto the pavement to trim the hedge he was told "go back inside sir". He said "but I'm just trimming the..."

"Back inside sir". So he did. But they have big guns..our lads have telescopic batons iirc.

In fairness...I think you might be arrested even here for trimming your bush outside of the house:p:p

• Registered Users Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Drumpot wrote: »
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=115813400&postcount=9292

Above is a link to a Q&A he did recently with another extremely reliable source called medcram (which is for mecical students in USA).

Here’s his qualifications:

John Campbell, RN, BSc, MSc, PGC.Pharm, PhD is a health educator and analyst that has spent over three decades teaching students in the United Kingdom, Asia, Africa, and online with an extensive video library. Dr. Campbell also has also published textbooks on Physiology and Pathophysiology.

Here’s the qualifications of the person he did that Q&A with who said they really respect what he is doing In trying to educate people about the virus:

Roger Seheult, MD is the co-founder and lead professor at https://www.medcram.com
    He is an Associate Professor at the University of California, Riverside School of Medicine and Assistant Prof. at Loma Linda University School of Medicine
    Dr. Seheult is Quadruple Board Certified: Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Disease, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine

The reason people might get snippy with you is because many of us have found him a excellent source to follow since January. He’s more reliable then any news media in this country, he leaves links to his sources and he corrects mistakes he makes which is more then can be said for most media sources.

Also, some people have tried to put him down for some reason getting very hung up on him using the name “doctor”. I’d argue he knows a lot more about the disease then most doctors and using that title if anything is doing his knowledge a disservice. You need only look at his catalogue of videos to see all the different specialists and doctors he’s spoken with around the world. If you watch you might learn a few things. ;)

Ah I’d ignore that poster your responding to he only try’s to annoy people on here. Doesn’t really contribute much bar snide comments.

jojofizzio wrote: »
    In fairness...I think you might be arrested even here for trimming your bush outside of the house:p:p

Too feckin cold here for that carry on :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

What "large project" construction will be allowed go ahead other than housing/hospital/infrastructure? FB / Intel done?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭mcburns07

And Spain is renowned for being a flawlessly run country :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

glasso wrote: »

Not being difficult but isn't that just stating the obvious? We learned that back in Spring with Italy.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

khalessi wrote: »
    Everywhere but in schools it says considered a close contact if 15 minutes in company of someone who tests positive. LC students are adult sized some are size of rugby players, but yeah safe.:rolleyes:

We have now no track and trace interesting experiment
    Healthcare workers are not considered close contacts of other staff or patients who subsequently test positive no matter how long they have spent in close proximity as long as both are wearing a mask.

Not being difficult but isn't that just stating the obvious? We learned that back in Spring with Italy.

Yes but we didn't "Learn" did we?

mcburns07 wrote: »
    And Spain is renowned for being a flawlessly run country :D

At least their leaders have balls when it comes to making decisions not like our lot faffing around with schools and thinking 2 or 5km will make or break our future. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

majcos wrote: »
    Healthcare workers are not considered close contacts of other staff or patients who subsequently test positive no matter how long they have spent in close proximity as long as both are wearing a mask.

That applies to the general population to. If any two people are working together and both wearing masks they will only be considered casual contacts.

he probably didn't.

he was saying it as a general point that the health service wouldn't be able to cope - although he did have the figure for Irish ICU capacity but it was the "normal" number I think.

remember the Germans took care of severely ill Italian patients flown in during the initial European outbreak when they couldn't handle the numbers - that was real sh1t and real European solidarity.

I wonder how many survived after.

g-a792.jpg?quality=90&strip=all&zoom=1&resize=644%2C338&ssl=1

• Registered Users Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Steve F wrote: »
    Yes but we didn't "Learn" did we?

But it's a very basic fact.
    If hospitals cannot cope with numbers then treatment services will deteriorate and people will die. I am sure it happened in the past during our many winters of trolley crises.

What is Dr John telling us that is news?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Solar2021

tom1ie wrote: »
    Pretty grim alright.
    Plenty on here will tell you there’s nothing to worry about and we shouldn’t be locking down though.

What did he say?

John is pretty good, seems a nice man

As soon as restrictions where announced here there were some looking for ways around them.
    We share our world with people that won't,under any circumstances,follow guidelines.
    Its almost like they think it's their duty to disobey the rules?

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

They need to have checkpoints on border of Sligo, Leitrim, Cavan, Meath and Louth to stop people trying to get into Republic of Ireland from NI.

They could but poor guards would have a hard time finding the border in Sligo and Meath. Meanwhile there would be a free for all at the biggest border in Donegal and no problems crossing into Monaghan. :D