Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your line is weak but your point is strong: Liveline from 10th January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,211 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Long Covid is very much a thing, unfortunately.

I don't think people are arguing it isn't a thing.

I have heard it mentioned many many times, maybe since autumn of last year.

Listening to liveline today, all these folk were saying no-one is talking about it, which isn't true. It gets coverage ok.

And as sad as some cases are, I think most of those on the show today were exaggerating their ills. But that's the nature of callers to liveline, they can say what they want unchallenged. With no alternative voice to argue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Joe's Valentine's weekend...

giphy.gif?cid=5e214886357ce813c589e109a3cb7904c084acdb8ae619cc&rid=giphy.gif

You have been working that Gif-Master 2000 pretty hard the last few weeks. :pac:

As ButtersSuki said, it's a very relaxing pursuit.

NIMAN wrote: »
    I don't think people are arguing it isn't a thing.

I have heard it mentioned many many times, maybe since autumn of last year.

Listening to liveline today, all these folk were saying no-one is talking about it, which isn't true. It gets coverage ok.

As as sad as some cases are, I think most of those on the show today were exaggerating their ills. But that's the nature of callers to liveline, they can say what they want unchallenged. With no alternative voice to argue.

It was unreal when he suggested to one of them (not the fragile one) to call herself an ambulance so they couldn't refuse her treatment. That was very unprofessional to be directing people with chronic symptoms to an overwhelmed emergency department who would send her home straight away. It would be an abuse of emergency services and the system.

Roses are red
    Violets are bloo
    Liveline's a wind-up
    And Duffy's a ghoul

Roses are red
    Dis, dat, deze an doze
    Joe's got de horn
    For doze in repose

I'm watching the RTÉ documentary on Covid
    ... and have started an unending fit of coughing :(:(

Going to switch it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I'm watching the RTÉ documentary on Covid... and have started an unending fit of coughing :(:(

Going to switch it off.

I had to switch off when Gareth was sitting on the side of his bed and the patient was dying in the next cubicle.

It was the Chaplain praying loudly and Gareth overhearing it that really got to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I'm watching the RTÉ documentary on Covid... and have started an unending fit of coughing :(:(

Going to switch it off.

Roman poets often bring on a fit of coughing!

giphy.gif?cid=5e214886cf7cfd72c1462c949a7edfe62282abf635151e06&rid=giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

This is your finest work to date. Well done! Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

gmisk wrote: »
    The husband had kidney stones etc before as well...and he is 42...is that not kind of ridiculous?

Long covid facebook group for hypochondriacs not a good idea.

She sounds....how do....I....put this....now.....overweight...
    She says she gets a chest infection every September...that also isn't normal.

Probably from her 50 benson and hedges she smokes every day and her crap diet ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Art!

Roses are red,
    Me job it's a doddle,
    I'm off to l'Ecrivain,
    For a bowl of auld coddle.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭buried

Roses are red
    Violets are blue

WOW

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,033 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

RTE certainly milking #flowersgate for their Liveline promo, could be worse I guess, Ronan crying, Patricia moaning, Una & Frank karaoke etc

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Roses are Red,
    Voilets do be blue,
    Mary from Clontarf your point please,
    Dough I won't be listening to you.

So to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Dempo1 wrote: »
    RTE certainly milking #flowersgate for their Liveline promo, could be worse I guess, Ronan crying, Patricia moaning, Una & Frank karaoke etc

Today's Mr Duffy's nets will be circled entirely on the new seem of misery "long Covid". The single figure deaths on Monday really blew the misery and shock and awe off course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,033 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Today's Mr Duffy's nets will be circled entirely on the new seem of misery "long Covid". The single figure deaths on Monday really blew the misery and shock and awe off course.

I hope Ronan and Patricia listening to Claire Byrne, feature on PTSD, very insightful, later for Frank & Una there's a travel Slot

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Joe's face is red
    Intense is de hue
    De front is a fallin'
    And callers see through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,170 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Roses are red

thee violets are blue...so to speak

was there a death in the family?

give us a clue!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Roses are red

Violets are blue

I told you already

Dat's enough auld guff from yew

Roses do be red,
    Violets do be blue
    There'll never be a better Taoiseach,
    Than Bartholomew*.

*dat does be Bertie's actual furst name so to speak.

Nearly time for him to appear on The Ronan Collins Show and tell us what misery will be coming up today ..... although we all know what it'll be.

Ronan playing "Ballroom Blitz". Sounds strange to hear it at lunchtime so to speak.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Nearly time for him to appear on The Ronan Collins Show and tell us what misery will be coming up today ..... although we all know what it'll be.

Ah balls, I forgot it's "LC Long Covid so to speak" twoday and for de next few days weeks months so to speak.

God help us if Herr Duffy ever gets "de ting", we'll never hear de end of it.

Long Covid will go on a long long time on de Lahvlahn,
    Will rear its long neck for as many years as Joe has left in de stewdio.

M

Long Covid will go on a long long time on de Lahvlahn,
    Will rear its long neck for as many years as Joe has left in de stewdio.

Proysiz given to callers with longest Covid.

He'll be discussing de topic of "LC Long Covid" like HE discovered it and like it's on a par with the discovery of a cure for cancer. Wait and see.

Wheres Robbie Martin Aongus McInally ? professional footballer spoofer

At least he played a clip of Laura, who was probably the only person on the show yesterday who was really suffering, the rest were exaggerating to get attention.

Proysiz given to callers with longest Covid.

My Covid is longer dan your Covid :D

Ronan trolling Joe calling him breathless

Long covid day 2.

Clip from yest of a genuine case.
    Trying to compare ireland and England vaccine rollout again. We all theres one story going to dominate the next few days.

giphy.gif?cid=5e214886991da299737c94608148dfaf0e2dbf4dd0e8a650&rid=giphy.gif

M

PieOhMy wrote: »
    Trying to compare ireland and England vaccine rollout again

Skoy News has now got a permanent counter on top left of screen showing total in UK who received dose 1 and total who received dose 2. Some positivity RTE should be looking at doing although our current figures are nothing to write home about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Roses are red

So are Fibregades.

M

Spry Finance with a lifetime loan ad before One O'Clock news on RTE1, lol.

giphy.gif?cid=5e2148864cfee1fadf7db386770e576aea6509e134c69704&rid=giphy.gif

Skoy News has now got a permanent counter on top left of screen showing total in UK who received dose 1 and total who received dose 2. Some positivity RTE should be looking at doing although our current figures are nothing to write home about.

Agreed but tbh even if its low in comparison I would still like to see it there and going up every day. Maybe like what % of the level that is currently receiving it has been done and total numbers vaccinate. It would be nice to see some positive movements but this would be counter to RTEs agenda of convincing us that ireland is the sickest nation on earth and essentially a leper colony populated by the walking dead at the edge of europe.

Re Long Covid "Diagnosis"

Posted this before, I'm sure. Before Christmas I was told by a medical consultant that he considered I had Long Covid.... IN FACT what I simply had was a nasty unaddressed dental infection which was restricting top of my airway, with a reactive arthritis syndrome; with every medic having been afraid to look too near my mouth/throat area.

Everything will be put down to LC, sometimes to the detriment of addressing maybe something else that's there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,451 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I made the mistake of not turning over from Today FM when we were having our dinner yesterday.

We nearly choked when we heard Sam McConkey tell us that it would be 3-5 years before we returned to normality.

Maybe that's the reason that I'm finding today particularly unbearable. Probably better not to listen to Liveline so I'm thinking.

BPKS wrote: »
    I made the mistake of not turning over from Today FM when we were having our dinner yesterday.

We nearly choked when we heard Sam McConkey tell us that it would be 3-5 years before we returned to normality.

Maybe that's the reason that I'm finding today particularly unbearable. Probably better not to listen to Liveline so I'm thinking.

Sam McConkey is some kind of psychological sadist. I remember him saying it would be 10 years before we could socialise normally again. Now I'm quite pessimistic-realistic by nature but he is criminally pessimistic and shouldn't be allowed share it for fear of the collapse of public morale.

I think this is the most difficult part of the pandemic, tbh. Am very frustrated myself, and especially at this minute as I'm trying to shake off a respiratory infection that refuses to respond to antibiotics. Under any other circumstance I'd be put and about with it, yes maybe with a few lie-ins and taking it easier, but I'm stuck in situ trying to sneak down to letterbox and rubbish bins late in the evening to avoid meeting anyone. It's being responsible for my virus getting to somebody vulnerable that worries me terribly.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Dobbo trolling Joe now with Long COVID segment on News at One.

That’s the Long COVID that no one is talking about, according to Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

I'm agog Joe so I am.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Sil?

his bucket list takes priority

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Joe trying to do de mattymatiks now

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Rte looking to send in some of their top misery miners, to sink a new shaft so the new long covid misery seam can be mined successfully... Rte where the misery matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,359 ✭✭✭shearforce

Joe ; "a question I don't normally ask...what age group are you in"

asks that every day, a bit obsessed with age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Young lads