Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Your line is weak but your point is strong: Liveline from 10th January

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

De nuns could never resist money.

It’s the only thing they love. 2 years ago a nun decided to leave a convent near where I live and go back home.
    On the day she left the poor woman was escorted off the premise All she had were the clothes she was wearing and not a penny in her pocket.Not even the price of a bus ticket. The workers had a whip round and saw that she had enough money to buy some clothes and make her way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,005 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

That was then, this is now.. A couple of months ago Joe was oohing and aahing with a guy on the line because that guy couldn't bring a child back from Russia without the proper paperwork

I was thinking the same thing. Aren't we just taking the place of the yanks in 'adopting' these babies. In 30-40 years time they will be apologising in the Ukrainian parliaments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,108 ✭✭✭✭zell12

I have a contract until 2023, and I fully intend to honour it.
    Two more insufferable years of Joe. C'mon Dee, do something!

2smiggy wrote: »
    I was thinking the same thing. Aren't we just taking the place of the yanks in 'adopting' these babies. In 30-40 years time they will be apologising in the Ukrainian parliaments.

It's all about taking advantage of other societies' unwanted children, unwanted because the socio-economic norms and social mores of the day don't want to deal with unplanned families.

Significantly the RC Church did not wanted lay people taking too close a look at the Christian Bible, lest they take notice of the original messages in it that were contradictory to what was spouted out by the Vatican and which fitted the social structures of Europe and the colonies like a glove. The Reformation Church put a spanner in the works, so it had to be a sin that would send you to hell if you made any connection with it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,752 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Significantly the RC Church did not wanted lay people taking too close a look at the Christian Bible, lest they take notice of the original messages in it that were contradictory to what was spouted out by the Vatican and which fitted the social structures of Europe and the colonies like a glove. The Reformation Church put a spanner in the works, so it had to be a sun that would send you to hell if you made any connection with it,

WTF.

WTF.

Exactly as I say. Catholic Church did not want anybody questioning their theology and wanted to have control over society and spread that control worldwide. Paying too much heed of the original message of Christianity would not have served that purpose. Reformation churches tended to highlight Vatican hypocrisies.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

withless wrote: »
    96 pages! WOW!!

‘Talk to Joe’ has become a catchphrase in Ireland as over 360,000 people tune into the Liveline programme on RTé Radio One at 1.45pm five days a week, some to contribute and others to listen to people talk about their problems and grievances.

In the past that time slot was used for sponsored programmes on Radio éireann and I was going to say that Liveline needs no sponsor, but RTé need money and Liveline has been sponsored in recent years. The most recent sponsor is Kia.

However, that sponsorship does not prevent the presenter Joe Duffy from being fair to everybody who calls Liveline. He will be back in action early this month and on January 27th. Joe will celebrate his 65th birthday as he begins his 23rd year as presenter of the popular radio programme.

Sixty-five used to be the traditional retirement age, but more and more people are working longer and, as he is a self-employed contractor, Joe will not be forced to hang up his microphone – he can work on as long as RTé want him to stay.

‘‘I gave up a pensionable job in the Probation Service in 1988 to join RTé as a trainee producer on a short-term contract. I have a contract until 2023, and I fully intend to honour it. I was never offered a staff job in RTé,’’ said Joe.
    From his accent it’s obvious that Joe is a Dubliner, but like many Dubs he has connections outside The Pale. His paternal grandfather John Joseph Duffy was a house painter from Ballymahon, in County Longford, and he can trace relations in Athlone and Knockcroghery, County Roscommon, on his mother’s side.

Joe’s father, Jimmy, was born in a tenement building in Church Street, not far from O’Connell Street. His mother Mabel (Murphy) is not sure exactly where her family were living when she was born, but it may have been York Street, near St. Stephen’s Green. Mabel’s first child James was born in the Rotunda Hospital, but the other five children were all born at home, which in Joe’s case was Mountjoy Place, near Summerhill Bus Garage.

You'll have to pay for the rest so you will.
    Mark my words that lad has his eye on the aras... Im sure if he could be of some service to the nation he may be persuaded reluctantly in time to allow his name to go forward

It doesn't bear thinking about that he would be representing the nation on the world stage. Would need an interpreter to begin with.

giphy.gif?cid=4d1e4f2973b16fdae5dea59927a900cfcaa865744e759496&rid=giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

withless wrote: »
    I have a contract until 2023, and I fully intend to honour it.

I was worried there for a whoyle that he might have been getting the feelers from BBC or Virgin Radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

It doesn't bear thinking about that he would be representing the nation on the world stage. Would need an interpreter to begin with.

It will happen,when the present incumbent toddles off to quaff champagne in that great socialist utopia in the sky where the landscape is littered with money trees which are never bare of fruit and the lucky ones are waited on hand and foot by teams of lightly clad maidens of all sexes who never grow old and never tire and tend to their every need... It is then the great man will rescue the day to reluctantly but with great modesty put his name forward and there will be great joy and merriment throughout the land" The great socialist is dead, long live the great socialist "will be their cry... I prophesise this great day to arrive before this decade draws to its close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Did I miss anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

zell12 wrote: »
    "deputy prime minister" :confused::confused:
    zell12 wrote: »
    "our prime minster"

For the international audience, from anywhere in the world.

sligojoek wrote: »
    For the international audience, from anywhere in the world.

Simon Coveney had “Deputy Prime Minister” rather than “Tánaiste” on his Twitter handle for a while before some people (rightly IMO) called him out on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Did I miss anything?

Lol.:D

I got a card in the Tubs thread for saying Terry Prone was a c-word. :rolleyes:Methinks the new mod perhaps missed the context in dat wan so to speak, seeing as Prone is a paid apologist for de nuns and dat. It would be like getting a card for saying “Joe Duffy plugs his bukes on his radio show”.

Discuss with mod in PM

Edit: it was the language used to describe by looks of it. Need to keep it more on the civil side, whatever opinion of an individual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

pc7 wrote: »
    Its awful, I can't listen to this, its terrible what happened, but I reckon we'll have a commission in 20-30 years over the carry on in Direct Provision.

I think that that comparison is tired and offensive, just as much as the ridiculous claims that the Irish institutions compare to the Gulag or Holocaust.

Discuss with mod in PM

Edit: it was the language used to describe by looks of it. Need to keep it more on the civil side, whatever opinion of an individual

TYFYS.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

There'll be some scrap for the Aras in 2025.

Duffy probably has a beady eye on it, but I reckon he'll have serious competition from within the hallowed halls of Montrose. I'd be prepared to wager that Miriam fancies it for herself. My money would be on her for three reasons:

1) She has fallen behind Claire Byrne in the Lovely Girls' competition in RTE. She is never going to reach the heady heights of Ireland's Favourite Blond Broadcaster again.

2) She'll get the FF nomination.

3) She is a woman person with cervix.

The only upside to President Miriam O'Callaghan is that Duffy will be raging!

Duffy probably has a beady eye on it, but I reckon he'll have serious competition from within the hallowed halls of Montrose. I'd be prepared to wager that Miriam fancies it for herself. My money would be on her for three reasons:

1) She has fallen behind Claire Byrne in the Lovely Girls' competition in RTE. She is never going to reach the heady heights of Ireland's Favourite Blond Broadcaster again.

He would likely seek the FF nomination, certainly won't get one from another party the way he dissed them on Lahvlahn. Would have to seek council nominations.

He'd love to stay in the Park, whilst one or some of the triplets would gladly get command of the seafront fort in Dollymount. He might later move into a penthouse with a view in Clontarf to spend his later years. A fitting retirement plan.

I think I would run myself if it prevented either of those two clowns getting in.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Not sure if Duffy can do the sums on this being a President lark.

On the one hand his ego wants it; how a 'lift boy' from Mountjoy rose to be President, on the other there's a lot more work involved than he is currently used to and he'd have to keep his opinions to himself, which won't be easy. He'd also have to face down other candidates in debates which would knock the public shine off him. Along with that, he has to be a President for all people, he can't get nasty with someone because he disagrees with them, the bully boy personality would have to be packed away for 7 years. Can he do that?

Financially, he's on close to €500,000 per annum, or more, with his newspaper/rag column, RTE fees, appearance money and book money. That is run through a tax efficent system, leaving him with a fair few quid at the end of the day. He can conceivably do this job until well into his 70's, so another 10-15 years.

Being President is €250,000 per annum, all expenses paid and €140-150,000 per annum pension thereafter, along with various spin offs, speakers fees as a top up etc. The problem being that is taxed at the rate of the ordinary worker. So he'd have to take a major financial hit short term to ensure he gets his full pension. Will he want that? I don't think so.

As well as that he's too much of a tight arse to fund his own campaign, so he'd be looking for someone to fund it for him, but which party would back him? I can't think of any, as he despises the most populist party of all, Sinn Fein.

I'm not sure if he realises a lot of people listen to the show as it's a form of car crash voyeurism, and not because it's intellectually stimulating. He is liked and indeed revered by many, but about 80% of the voting population neither listen to him, nor do they care what he has to say. Of the 20% who do listen, many dislike or despise him. Will that be enough to get him over the line?

The Presidential election is very personality driven, people rarely vote along party lines. This may help him, but if he goes up against the wrong candidate he'll be publicaly humiliated and that's the last thing he wants; public rejection.

So ego v money with the possibility of public humiliation. That's what Joe has to weigh up. I reckon he'll stay where he is.

KevRossi wrote: »
    Not sure if Duffy can do the sums on this being a President lark.

On the one hand his ego wants it; how a 'lift boy' from Mountjoy rose to be President, on the other there's a lot more work involved than he is currently used to and he'd have to keep his opinions to himself, which won't be easy. He'd also have to face down other candidates in debates which would knock the public shine off him. Along with that, he has to be a President for all people, he can't get nasty with someone because he disagrees with them, the bully boy personality would have to be packed away for 7 years. Can he do that?

Financially, he's on close to €500,000 per annum, or more, with his newspaper/rag column, RTE fees, appearance money and book money. That is run through a tax efficent system, leaving him with a fair few quid at the end of the day. He can conceivably do this job until well into his 70's, so another 10-15 years.

Being President is €250,000 per annum, all expenses paid and €140-150,000 per annum pension thereafter, along with various spin offs, speakers fees as a top up etc. The problem being that is taxed at the rate of the ordinary worker. So he'd have to take a major financial hit short term to ensure he gets his full pension. Will he want that? I don't think so.

As well as that he's too much of a tight arse to fund his own campaign, so he'd be looking for someone to fund it for him, but which party would back him? I can't think of any, as he despises the most populist party of all, Sinn Fein.

I'm not sure if he realises a lot of people listen to the show as it's a form of car crash voyeurism, and not because it's intellectually stimulating. He is liked and indeed revered by many, but about 80% of the voting population neither listen to him, nor do they care what he has to say. Of the 20% who do listen, many dislike or despise him. Will that be enough to get him over the line?

The Presidential election is very personality driven, people rarely vote along party lines. This may help him, but if he goes up against the wrong candidate he'll be publicaly humiliated and that's the last thing he wants; public rejection.

So ego v money with the possibility of public humiliation. That's what Joe has to weigh up. I reckon he'll stay where he is.

I don't think he's smart enough to realise that he's not universally liked. The man's ego is gargantuan. He likely thinks he could outdebate anyone. Imagine him losing the rag on Primetime Debate and exposing the sneering, snide, bully for the masses? Personally I'd love to see him run and expose himself for the fool he is.

As you've alluded to above though, I think it's the pay cut that would stop him more than anything. Which if you think about it is outrageous. A 6.25 hour a week telephonist makes more in 40 weeks than the Head Of State.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Is todays show, so to speak, going to be about the Mother and Baby again?

If it is, i'll give it a very wide birth...

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭golondrinas1

goose2005 wrote: »
    I think that that comparison is tired and offensive, just as much as the ridiculous claims that the Irish institutions compare to the Gulag or Holocaust.

I also think the comparison is ridiculous. 98 % of people in DP. are people with vexatious asylum claims. They were mostly given leave to remain after appeals ad nauseum. None of the kids they had here were sold to America. This will all out in our Post Woke period. I don't care what colour anyone is as long as they are not taking the piss and we are not asked to thread softly around them.

Dr. Ebun Joseph on Lahn 1 would like a word..........

giphy.gif?cid=4d1e4f2973b16fdae5dea59927a900cfcaa865744e759496&rid=giphy.gif

Should have written Imrasberry.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Tooday (And most likely toomarrow):

More mother and baby home stuff

The End

Survivors from beginning to end yesterday.

Many questioning the findings.

Clip of Mary from yesterday

Choooorch and state.

Doubt I'll be joining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

PLM - Prods Lives Matter

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Today what might be on?

Joseph Duffy says ronan.

More of the mother and baby homes, joe describing the types of voices used but no mention of his own sad voice.

Clip from yesterday.

Looks like I'll be avoiding again today.

Survivors from beginning to end yesterday.

Many questioning the findings.

Clip of Mary from yesterday

Choooorch and state.

Doubt I'll be joining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

nice bit of barry Gibb ronan

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Thought he might have tipped his feet in to Trump's impeachment.

Here's wat may or may not (most likely not) be on twodaze show:
    • I've been inundated for calls to be come de President and dat. I'll do it if ye raise de fees so to speak.
    • Mudder and Babby Homes again.
    • Terry prone on Lahn 2
    • Many "pints" of contention sp to speak
    • De church, de gardai, de GP - all bad sez Joe. Wat did you do at de toyme Joe to help deeze mudders?
    • Did you know dat wen wan a de Presidents of Ireland died he got a state funeral but peeple didn't go because he was a Protestant so to speak?

Revisionist History again so to speak.

dvcireland wrote: »
    nice bit of barry Gibb ronan

He's got nuttin' ta be guilty of.......

dvcireland wrote: »
    PLM - Prods Lives Matter

Sammy Wilson on Lahn 2.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Is todays show, so to speak, going to be about the Mother and Baby again?

If it is, i'll give it a very wide birth...

I see what you did there.;)

Was listening yesterday and the missus stood up and went into another room where I found her watching Maura and Daithi ( rerun catch up) asking Terry Prone's advice on how to handle the Covid thing. I kid you not. Does she know someone in RTE. I went back to the radio and switched it off. It only struck me then how bad lifeline really is.

Dr. Ebun Joseph on Lahn 1 would like a word..........

Actually she might fancy a run at de Arus now dat I tink of it.....can you imagine?

I don't think he's smart enough to realise that he's not universally liked. The man's ego is gargantuan. He likely thinks he could outdebate anyone. Imagine him losing the rag on Primetime Debate and exposing the sneering, snide, bully for the masses? Personally I'd love to see him run and expose himself for the fool he is.

As you've alluded to above though, I think it's the pay cut that would stop him more than anything. Which if you think about it is outrageous. A 6.25 hour a week telephonist makes more in 40 weeks than the Head Of State.

I'd say the missus and twins will have some influence there. She's smarter than he is from what I've gathered, might advise him how to handle the campaign. With the cost of housing the twins might be very willing to house share in their lovely location as they raise own families or live whatever lifestyle they wish to, also with overnights in de Áras. They would love to be minding Dollymount Manor for 7 years.

The definition of a relative statement!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Misery supersedes impeachment. It's like a game of Top Trumps if you pardon the pun so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,271 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Just on the news at one.

The IT systems for the vaccine programme does not work.

People have to input details by pencil and paper.

Can this be a topic on Liveline?

When we have known since March that a vaccine programme would be needed, why the fcuk was it not done last summer.

This is the responsibility of HSE management who have basically been running the country since last March people.

Why am I not surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,323 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

BPKS wrote: »
    Just on the news at one.

When we have known since March that a vaccine programme would be needed, why the fcuk was it not done last summer.

This is the responsibility of HSE management who have basically been running the country since last March people.

Why am I not surprised.
    The thing is there are absolutely tonnes of options for doing simple things like form entry etc.
    But I will say from personal experience getting something IT related signed off in the CS/PS is an absolute nightmare, especially if you are going for something cloud based.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,005 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

BPKS wrote: »
    Just on the news at one.

Why am I not surprised.

I will be some mess if they have to take records by hand. Only thing they have going for them is dealing primarily with 1 vaccine (at the moment)