Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your line is weak but your point is strong: Liveline from 10th January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Lying scumbag Joe Duffy trying to lay blame on the public for this.

Absolute pond scum.

Are you new here? :pac:

pc7 wrote: »
    God, I'd love to be heading off skiing right now :(

Dat's wan thing I have never attempted as I'm physically very clumsy, one leg shorter than the other and with double vision. A massive accident waiting to happen :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

oh ooooh the union gonna come looking for this one

She’ll be on her way to Coventry very shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,170 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Pieta, we kept the ad short because we need the money to pay our executives

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

2smiggy wrote: »
    Joe is getting sick of the teachers, and rightly so

I am sick of parents.
    Constantly moaning.

The whole country is locked down and everyone is expected to stay at home, but schools should be just opened like normal??

It was crazy in november when the country was in level 5, but buses and luas were full with children going to school.
    I was going to work, and felt bad for the teachers surrounded by 30 pupils everyday.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Dat's wan thing I have never attempted as I'm physically very clumsy, one leg shorter than the other and with double vision. A massive accident waiting to happen :D

Its a great holiday, fresh air, good craic, beautiful scenery. Myself and Mr PC7 used to go at least twice a year, haven't gone last few years due to the smallies but hoping to bring them next year if world back to normal. :D

Not listening but have to go on a conf call now anyway, have a goo one boardsies.

Says a lot that a sidebar conversation on 'Under Siege' got more posts than the show's topics. :rolleyes::pac:

has Henry Healy discovered if he is related to Joe Biden?

• Registered Users Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

God is good - he never gives you a short leg without giving you another one longer than it

If the teachers don't want to go back they should all be put on the PUP. In reality, they probably should all have been on it as soon as the schools closed, if they had been treated the same as the private sectors workers.

Agree with this.
    But if the country is locked down on level 5.
    Then everything should be closed.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    It’s probably a barrel of worms by now.

Like shooting worms in a barrel.

pc7 wrote: »
    Its a great holiday, fresh air, good craic, beautiful scenery. Myself and Mr PC7 used to go at least twice a year, haven't gone last few years due to the smallies but hoping to bring them next year if world back to normal. :D

I am booked for Austria at Christmas though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Abel Ruiz wrote: »
    Agree with this.
    But if the country is locked down on level 5.
    Then everything should be closed.

Including supermarkets and convenience stores?

Like shooting worms in a barrel.

Lock, Stock and two Worming Barrels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

The unions are an absolute plague on this country, particularly on the public sector. No department will ever be run properly until the union stronghold is broken.

Including supermarkets and convenience stores?

Nope, they are essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,451 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

dvcireland wrote: »
    has Henry Healy discovered if he is related to Joe Biden?

No but yer one in Mayo is getting serious mileage out of it.

I noticed in the last Tommy Tiernan and Hector podcast that she is talking more than they 2 boys on it.

The childcare place will probably go to the wall if its not open. They'll all be out of a job then.

Nope, they are essential.

Indeed. As should be Special Needs Schools and 6th Year, in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

The unions are an absolute plague on this country, particularly on the public sector. No department will ever be run properly until the union stronghold is broken.

Who's been seancing Maggie Thatcher, then?
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Have any special arrangements been made for special-needs broadcasters?

If only the Dept of Education and the unions knew 10 months ago that this might be an issue and figure something out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Pieta, we kept the ad short because we need the money to pay our executives
    ...true....but they are by no means the worst...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Whoy any company would buy non AC buses or trains is beyond me, it's third world without, benefits of freeing up piss laden air are year round, not just in summer.

180 childer ? ffs is it a battery farm

This one Sinead is not prepared to say that she will go back, even if vaccinated and the numbers drop dramatically?

She would be sacked for frustration of contract, if in the private sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

We do care only if we get our own way

Atrocious attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Sounds like they are full of problems and not even a hint of a solution.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭bmorrissey

"wh..wh..wh..wha...what d...what do...what do you want the government to do", is it just me or is he constantly messing up sentences more than ever lately?

Indeed. As should be Special Needs Schools and 6th Year, in my view.

But that doesnt mean they are essential because of your view.
    People have to eat.
    6th years dont have to go into school.

Only for the unions my working hours would have continued in this fashion:

Monday & Wednesday 9.30-13.00 + 17.30-21.00
    Tuesday, Thursday & Friday/Saturday: 9.30-13.00+14.00-18.00.

And I might be working out in Coolock trying to kill those useless afternoon hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

180 childer ? ffs is it a battery farm

Nice little earner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Sounds like she's reading a script.

I am booked for Austria at Christmas though :)
    apparantly visiting Austria for the kaiserschmarrn is worth the trip

2015_0731_Kaiserschmarrn_Apfelso%C3%9Fe_Edelweissh%C3%BCtte_S%C3%B6lden.jpg

But that doesnt mean they are essential because of your view.
    People have to eat.
    6th years dont have to go into school.

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/c9158-essential-services/

Education
    Schools

Certain education provision such as teaching, SNA support and other services required to support the delivery of the education related services being provided under Level 5. See more here.

The resumption of the Early Childhood Care and Education (ECCE) programme is delayed until 1 February.

Higher and adult education

Higher, further and adult education should remain primarily online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,168 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

is it back to a class room with a few students or a WW1 Trench/Covid ward the teachers think they are going ??

Can they not buy their own PPE it costs fcuk all and they can afford it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Is there anything to be said for another mass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Could the local fibregade station give them breathing apparatus with enough supply of oxygen for the day.

Have had this before! In fact my last memory of it was the morning after drinking the poisoned Austrian wine during the 80s scandal, ordered this to line my stomach and then throwing the whole lot up shortly after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Only for the unions my working hours would have continued in this fashion:

Monday & Wednesday 9.30-13.00 + 17.30-21.00
    Tuesday, Thursday & Friday/Saturday: 9.30-13.00+14.00-18.00.

And I might be working out in Coolock trying to kill those useless afternoon hours.
    If I wasn't in union in old department I still might be there!
    HR were insistent new job I was offered was not a promotion...despite the salary being higher...so refused for about a month to let me leave...
    When I got unions involved I was suddenly allowed to leave!

Unions can be extremely helpful imo.
    HR are there to look out for the organisation only...

I put on. a half kilo of weight from just looking at that photo.:eek:

i wunder if Chuck Dunford knows Chad Hogan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Biden after the break.

Just in case we had a ad from Tubs telling us how great teachers are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,168 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

If he was offered their conditions he'd certainly turn them down.

sit at home doing feck all on full pay , I'd imagine Joe would love it

That ad "You teach 3rd 4th 5th and 6th class in one classroom."

How the hell is a quality education provided in these small schools?

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/c9158-essential-services/

Education
    Schools

Certain education provision such as teaching, SNA support and other services required to support the delivery of the education related services being provided under Level 5. See more here.

The resumption of the Early Childhood Care and Education (ECCE) programme is delayed until 1 February.

Higher and adult education

Higher, further and adult education should remain primarily online.

I clicked on the link, and clicked once more.
    "Schools

Schools are currently closed for all students with remote learning in place."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Could the local fibregade station give them breathing apparatus with enough supply of oxygen for the day.

Just put the pipe end on the roof of de school

sligojoek wrote: »
    Biden after the break.

Will Duffy wear his leprechaun hat?