Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will it all end?

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭bosco12345

I firmly believe many have lost their minds in favouring lockdowns in this country. We are the laughing stock of Europe with by and large the longest, strictest lockdown in Europe. No other country would put up with this BS, only the Irish. Fair play to the people protesting today but unfortunately the scumbag with the firework stole the headlines and now the narrative will be along the lines of far right extremists etc etc.
    There is absolutely no reason why we shouldn't open up to a fair degree once the vulnerable are vaccinated (whenever that will be is another matter, probably June). I genuinely believe NEPHET and other celebrity scientists are loving life at the moment and don't want this to end. One could say they're sociopaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Scotty #

bosco12345 wrote: »
    We are the laughing stock of Europe with by and large the longest, strictest lockdown in Europe. No other country would put up with this.
    We had the highest infection rate IN THE WORLD!!!!!!

There is absolutely no reason why we shouldn't open up to a fair degree once the vulnerable are vaccinated (whenever that will be is another matter,

Why do you think it's not going to?

I firmly believe many have lost their minds in favouring lockdowns in this country. We are the laughing stock of Europe with by and large the longest, strictest lockdown in Europe. No other country would put up with this BS, only the Irish. Fair play to the people protesting today but unfortunately the scumbag with the firework stole the headlines and now the narrative will be along the lines of far right extremists etc etc.
    There is absolutely no reason why we shouldn't open up to a fair degree once the vulnerable are vaccinated (whenever that will be is another matter, probably June). I genuinely believe NEPHET and other celebrity scientists are loving life at the moment and don't want this to end. One could say they're sociopaths.

Another point I want to add about lockdowns. It's easy for Mary or John who's in their 50's and are comfortably in the middle class to be pro lockdown to 'save lives'. What about young people who are out of work as a result of lockdown and cannot afford rent and put food on their tables? Do their lives not matter? If politicians were on 300 a week, would they be in favour of lockdown till May? Lockdowns disproportionately affect the lower class, it's just a fact.
    I keep seeing the narrative pushed that we need this lockdown to protect hospital capacity etc. Absolute horse$hit, every winter we see record levels of people on trolleys in corridors of hospitals who cant get a bed. We are run by absolute clowns and it's no debate really. Having a 3 party coalition is an absolute disaster with leo and Martin consistently undermining each other.
    So when will this all end? I feel people are waking up now and wont tolerate this BS much longer. Especially looking the UK, its looking likely they will be back to relatively normal by May.

Scotty # wrote: »

And now it's one of the lowest in Europe? Why are we still in lockdown? Not hard to understand is it?

Why do you presume people in their 50s want to stay at home??
    Ffs, are the under 30s in this country this clueless.

By the time in in my 50s, I'll be retired, travelling the world, out to dinner every week, all over this country, doing anything I want whenever I want to

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Skipduke

And now it's one of the lowest in Europe? Why are we still in lockdown? Not hard to understand is it?

This. It’s not our fault we had the highest rate .... hardly reasonable to blame the people for this after 3 long winded STRICT lockdowns. if the govt got their ducks in a line we wouldn’t be the ones getting punished YET AGAIN and we wouldn’t have the highest.

Sick of being told “it’s upto you, stay in stay safe”, ummmmmm ok? It’s been a year now. Don’t blame us, most of the population are stuck at home . Close those borders

• Registered Users Posts: 7,652 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Had being the key word there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭HansKroenke

Hyperbolic posting with no context needs to be called out as such.

BS post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,833 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

You'll have people on here try to tell you there's no evidence of seasonality despite the fact we had plenty open last summer with hardly any spread of the virus.

from the very low level which we achieved, the virus increased consistently every week after things were opened up. Among the innumerate, an increase of 8 to 12 cases is regarded as less than from 500 to 700 cases. In Florida Covid peaked in August, Florida has never had flu of any consequence in August, as flu is really is seasonal.

Covid is slightly seasonal, but not half as much as some people claim.

A year is too soon to come to conclusions on seasonality apparently, but it only takes 5 minutes to confirm a new variant as the bringer of the end times.

Almost by definition you need at least a year to measure seasonality. It hasn't taken a year to know that the new variants are more transmissible, although it does take more than 5 minutes.

Had being the key word there.

Numbers are still too high unfortunately.

We had more people in ICU this week than we had in March /April/May.

But we're getting there. I think things will start top open up soon. We've gone from talking about 1000's to talking about 100's and even 50's and 10's.

But then you get what we saw today in Dublin. Masses of people putting each other at risk and possibly causing an outbreak that could add hundreds to the numbers. It only takes one or two to pick it up, and then go to work in a factory tomorrow and spread it to 10's more. That's how outbreaks work. That's why it's taking so long to get out of lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Hyperbolic posting with no context needs to be called out as such.

BS post.

Nope. Id strongly disagree. It's simply a fact. Though tbf some people don't like that pointed out.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,652 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Numbers are still too high unfortunately.

We had more people in ICU this week than we had in March /April/May.

But we're getting there. I think things will start top open up soon. We've gone from talking about 1000's to talking about 100's and even 50's and 10's.

But then you get what we saw today in Dublin. Masses of people putting each other at risk and possibly causing an outbreak that could add hundreds to the numbers. It only takes one or two to pick it up, and then go to work in a factory tomorrow and spread it to 10's more. That's how outbreaks work. That's why it's taking so long to get out of lockdown.

I agree that numbers are still too high. I'm not arguing for everything to open up. I mostly just want the 5km gone for now.

• Registered Users Posts: 923 ✭✭✭ujjjjjjjjj

Another point I want to add about lockdowns. It's easy for Mary or John who's in their 50's and are comfortably in the middle class to be pro lockdown to 'save lives'. What about young people who are out of work as a result of lockdown and cannot afford rent and put food on their tables? Do their lives not matter? If politicians were on 300 a week, would they be in favour of lockdown till May? Lockdowns disproportionately affect the lower class, it's just a fact.
    I keep seeing the narrative pushed that we need this lockdown to protect hospital capacity etc. Absolute horse$hit, every winter we see record levels of people on trolleys in corridors of hospitals who cant get a bed. We are run by absolute clowns and it's no debate really. Having a 3 party coalition is an absolute disaster with leo and Martin consistently undermining each other.
    So when will this all end? I feel people are waking up now and wont tolerate this BS much longer. Especially looking the UK, its looking likely they will be back to relatively normal by May.

Every single person involved in making pro lockdown decisions is financially secure and has no idea at all what many people are going through. They have no idea at all, not an iota.

Everytime I hear them say 'we understand your problems' it is nauseating, insulting and deeply damaging.

I have no shadow of doubt that the impact of lockdown and restrictions far outweighs any positive benefits and everyday that goes by it gets worse and worse.

History I promise you will judge this period as the most self indulgent panic in modern times. It won't happen now and there will be endless attempts to justify what has happened but with the benefit of some distance that will be the verdict. I have no doubt.

Another point I want to add about lockdowns. It's easy for Mary or John who's in their 50's and are comfortably in the middle class to be pro lockdown to 'save lives'. What about young people who are out of work as a result of lockdown and cannot afford rent and put food on their tables? Do their lives not matter? If politicians were on 300 a week, would they be in favour of lockdown till May? Lockdowns disproportionately affect the lower class, it's just a fact. I keep seeing the narrative pushed that we need this lockdown to protect hospital capacity etc. Absolute horse$hit, every winter we see record levels of people on trolleys in corridors of hospitals who cant get a bed. We are run by absolute clowns and it's no debate really. Having a 3 party coalition is an absolute disaster with leo and Martin consistently undermining each other. So when will this all end? I feel people are waking up now and wont tolerate this BS much longer. Especially looking the UK, its looking likely they will be back to relatively normal by May.

What a load of cobblers. Have you undertaken an in depth study on age and opinion on restrictions? I suspect not.

Lots of people of all ages are out of work.

As for your "horse$hit". You're correct that is horse$hit. We don't have ICUs overrun every winter. You don't see up to 50% of hospital staff out due to illness.

As for the UK - they are ahead of Europe in their rate of vaccination. Fair play to them.

We already know that even in the UK - restrictions will be rolled back when specific conditions regarding lower rates of infection etc are met. Our guidelines are no different.

The only ones screaming and moaning- are those who were screaming and moaning at the start - that it was 'just flu', that were screaming and moaning that they wanted to go party at Christmas and who are still screaming and moaning that it's not fair whaaaaaa...

• Registered Users Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Lockheed

If you think the protest deserved a 'fair play' you are exactly the problem with Modern Ireland. Nobody has any cop on anymore. What a slap in the face for healthcare and front line workers who risk their lives and the lives of their loved ones every day. Bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭johnire

Well said.
    Lockheed wrote: »
    If you think the protest deserved a 'fair play' you are exactly the problem with Modern Ireland. Nobody has any cop on anymore. What a slap in the face for healthcare and front line workers who risk their lives and the lives of their loved ones every day. Bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Risteard81

Nonsense. The protest was essential and there should be more, and more frequently and with greater numbers. The 26-County police are on the wrong side of history.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

ujjjjjjjjj wrote: »
    Every single person involved in making pro lockdown decisions is financially secure and has no idea at all what many people are going through. They have no idea at all, not an iota.

Everytime I hear them say 'we understand your problems' it is nauseating, insulting and deeply damaging.

I have no shadow of doubt that the impact of lockdown and restrictions far outweighs any positive benefits and everyday that goes by it gets worse and worse.

History I promise you will judge this period as the most self indulgent panic in modern times. It won't happen now and there will be endless attempts to justify what has happened but with the benefit of some distance that will be the verdict. I have no doubt.

The people who defend lockdowns are the same as those that defended the likes of mother and baby homes and institutional paedophiles.

I never understood how people covered up and even defended these things until this.

Risteard81 wrote: »
    Nonsense. The protest was essential and there should be more, and more frequently and with greater numbers. The 26-County police are on the wrong side of history.

There is nothing peaceful or essential about a protest both physically and indirectly endangering essential workers. The firework obvious but when we have an incredibly infectious and deadly virus ripe in the community the knock on effect is obvious. I feel awful for the Gardai and what they had to deal with today.

You are a disgrace Risteard, your opinions are awful, incorrect and dangerous. Grow up.

There is nothing peaceful or essential about a protest both physically and indirectly endangering essential workers. The firework obvious but when we have an incredibly infectious and deadly virus ripe in the community the knock on effect is obvious. I feel awful for the Gardai and what they had to deal with today.

You are a disgrace Risteard, your opinions are awful, incorrect and dangerous. Grow up.

I don't believe in the concept of "thoughtcrime" so I'm really not interested in your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I mostly just want the 5km gone for now.

Me too even if I could just go for a long drive around my county. This 5km has gone on too long at this stage.

I don't believe in the concept of "thoughtcrime" so I'm really not interested in your opinion.

Imagine comparing restrictions to protect the essential and vulnerable in our communities to a 1984-esque society.

The fact that you're in a position to watch boards for replies to your posts really shows how good you have it. Imagine being in ICU with a tube stuck down your throat. Or in the A&E with a 3rd degree burn on your head.

Imagine comparing restrictions to protect the essential and vulnerable in our communities to a 1984-esque society.

The fact that you're in a position to watch boards for replies to your posts really shows how good you have it. Imagine being in ICU with a tube stuck down your throat. Or in the A&E with a 3rd degree burn on your head.

Imagine being imprisoned by the totalitarian state along with millions of others...

GazzaL wrote: »
    The people who defend lockdowns are the same as those that defended the likes of mother and baby homes and institutional paedophiles.

I never understood how people covered up and even defended these things until this.

Lol... just when I thought the covidiot side couldn't scrape the barrel any further you throw it out of the park altogether.

Imagine being imprisoned by the totalitarian state along with millions of others...

Imprisoned, impoverished, and your childrens' futures rotting through lack of education and socialisation for personal development.

In what way are we a totalitarian state? I vote in elections and I am a member of a party. I can walk my dog in the park and I attend university. You and I have freedom to express opinions freely. I limit my contact to protect those who perform essential services and to protect the vulnerable. There is nothing totalitarian about this.
    Imprisoned, impoverished, and your childrens' futures rotting through lack of education and socialisation for personal development.

I'm young. This situation is a life experience in itself. People will get that socialization and development again.
    For the minute I'm trying to stay alive and keep those I care about alive.
    This is literally a case of life and death, and you should start treating it like it is. This is a deadly thing.

In what way are we a totalitarian state? I vote in elections and I am a member of a party. I can walk my dog in the park and I attend university. You and I have freedom to express opinions freely. I limit my contact to protect those who perform essential services and to protect the vulnerable. There is nothing totalitarian about this.

I'm young. This situation is a life experience in itself. People will get that socialization and development again.
    For the minute I'm trying to stay alive and keep those I care about alive.
    This is literally a case of life and death, and you should start treating it like it is. This is a deadly thing.

Life experience, my bollocks. If you're young and consider this to be "life experience", God help you.

Accidents and non-COVID illnesses account for far, far more deaths than COVID, but I accept there are risks in life and don't worry about every little thing that could cause harm. I could get knocked down crossing the road, it's a matter of life and death, yet I don't **** myself every day when I step to the edge of the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,119 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

we really, really aren't.

no i can't imagine it given i don't live in such a state.
    it must be absolutely horrific for those who live in such an actual state.
    Life experience, my bollocks. If you're young and consider this to be "life experience", God help you.

Accidents and non-COVID illnesses account for far, far more deaths than COVID, but I accept there are risks in life and don't worry about every little thing that could cause harm. I could get knocked down crossing the road, it's a matter of life and death, yet I don't **** myself every day when I step to the edge of the footpath.

your argument falls down on the fact that most countries control the spread of covid, meaning less people die then perhapse might from other issues.
    however if uncontrolled covid would wipe the floor with those numbers.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.