Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will it all end?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

bubblypop wrote: »
    Kids are doing the work at home set by teachers at home, some of whom are working at all hours because they have their own kids at home.
    Lots of kids are doing full schooldays online with live classes.
    You sound very bitter, is there any other workers forced to stay home that you have issues with?

Yeah I am bitter.
    We were told 100000 would die back in March.
    Almost a year on we are prisoners in our own homes and we are living under tyranny that would make the Black and Tans eyes water.
    Our country its economy its future its people are being sacrifice and destroyed for the sake of a virus with a death rate of 0.03%.
    We are facing economic and societal collapse and civil war if we don't open up and open immediately.
    I wouldn't be surprised if some people take up arms in the months ahead.

We are being dictated to by petty tyrants with gold plated salaries and pensions while this lockdown has become a dream come true for Annie Wilkes types - pathetic little men and women - who hate freedom hate craic hate sport hate socialising hate young people and want to keep everyone perpetually imprisoned.

Thankfully, because of restrictions, 100,000 didn't die.
    Successful restrictions I guess

Edit, also why so bitter towards teachers, hardly their fault, unless you believe they made the virus :)

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Responder XY

Yeah I am bitter.
    We were told 100000 would die back in March.
    Almost a year on we are prisoners in our own homes and we are living under tyranny that would make the Black and Tans eyes water.
    Our country its economy its future its people are being sacrifice and destroyed for the sake of a virus with a death rate of 0.03%.
    We are facing economic and societal collapse and civil war if we don't open up and open immediately.
    I wouldn't be surprised if some people take up arms in the months ahead.

the death rate is higher than 0.03% - you're likely out by a factor of 10! We've already had more deaths in Ireland from Covid than 0.03% of the total population...

Also, the fact 100,000 didn't die might just be as a result of restrictions!

Personally I think we need to give people some slack and relax certain restrictions, but cut the nonsense out, it's not helpful.

Thankfully, because of restrictions, 100,000 didn't die.
    Successful restrictions I guess

Utter nonsense.
    Anyone with eyes in their head saw shopping centres restaurants gastro pubs public parks beaches and beauty spots PACKED last summer. Gaggles of young lads and lassies never stopped hanging out together.
    I was on my way home the other day after meeting friends and a group of teenagers on the same bus with no masks and carrying drink were heading to a house party. This is happening the length and breadth of the country.
    Meanwhile I see people in masks space helmets and gloves feverishly rubbing themselves with alcohol shouting at people who walk near them in public parks and supermarkets for getting too close.
    The country's leadership has gone completely insane.

EU rebuked by WHO (not your usual bunch of angry people, quite logical in fact)

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-55860540

Whilst I have a lot of time for the argument that the costs of lockdowns are ultimately too great, you are completely missguided on how severe Covid is. There has to be a careful balancing act. 

We don't have the time to play games any more.

Our economy countless businesses jobs livelihoods educations and our future as a functioning nation is on the line.

We need to open up NOW

Covid 19 is here to stay. We just have to accept a higher mortality rate among the old and the sick than usual as the new normal.

Those are the facts of life.

You can either be mature enough to accept reality or continue like King Canute to try and hold back the sea.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Responder XY

Or you could implement measures which reduce the spread of the virus without shutting down everything. I agree that the virus is here to stay and we need to learn to live with it.

Learning to live with it doesn't mean ignoring it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,755 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

You better believe I do.
    They are sitting at home on full pay while children are at home losing their education pretending they will die if they teach a class. Parents are seeing their business and their jobs go down the drain.
    This is utter insanity.

Yes, just like everyone else that's working from home :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

We are being dictated to by petty tyrants with gold plated salaries and pensions while this lockdown has become a dream come true for Annie Wilkes types - pathetic little men and women - who hate freedom hate craic hate sport hate socialising hate young people and want to keep everyone perpetually imprisoned.

I get that you’re bitter. But you must realise that you’re not thinking rationally when you think these people “hate freedom hate craic hate sport hate socialising hate young people and want to keep everyone perpetually imprisoned”. You’re not taking yourself, or the topic, seriously when you post stuff like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭nickkinneg

I think people are finding this lockdown probably the hardest. I do find it a little harder trying to do the kids homework - they get quite a bit and it’s hard to juggle that with work. Definitely not cut out to be a teacher. My second oldest (6) is definitely way behind on reading comprehension and writing because of no school but I feel would have been much further along if schools were opened.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭JTMan

FT on when will this all end here (paywall).

- By the end of February, vaccination should reduce deaths by two-thirds;
    - By the end of March, they should be reduced by about 85 per cent, relative to a no-vaccine scenario.
    - Quite reasonable to expect dramatic progress in February.
    - By early March, hospital admissions should be down 60 per cent.
    - Vaccinating half of us will go a long way towards protecting the other half

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

JTMan wrote: »

- By the end of March, they should be reduced by about 85 per cent, relative to a no-vaccine scenario.

All of that sounds marvelous

Except, you know, it's about the UK

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    All of that sounds marvelous

Except, you know, it's about the UK

What's about the UK?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

How though?
    Richard Mandaley has drawn comparisons with the Great War. Every day thousands of men went over the top only to be cut down by machine guns and this went on and on and on for 4 years.
    Lockdowns have failed but yet are still being used destroying the economy businesses jobs the educations of young people and making any kind of normal life impossible.
    As I see it is earing into the very fabric of civilisation and humanity.
    How can a young man or woman with a job or in education who had a bf or gf a circle of friends who was into hobbies interests travel who is renting or living with their parents see any any future? Depression and suicidal ideation is skyrocketing while others will be attracted to extremism and violence or slide into alcoholism or drug addiction.
    There is huge anger waiting to explode like a volcano out there.
    At some point that is going to explode.
    It's not a question of if but when.

I don't think you are right. Young people are beaten in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

What's about the UK?

Financial Times is a UK site. I'm presuming all those stats you quoted from the article are for the UK

We are miles behind the UK in terms of roll-out

Therefore these figures mean feck all to Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

JTMan wrote: »

So from April onward there should be no more lockdowns. Yet these clowns still insist on having them

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Financial Times is a UK site. I'm presuming all those stats you quoted from the article are for the UK

We are miles behind the UK in terms of roll-out

Therefore these figures mean feck all to Ireland

Ah ok, wasn't me, but yes I see what ya mean

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    So from April onward there should be no more lockdowns. Yet these clowns still insist on having them

Are you from the future?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

What makes you think there will still be lockdowns after April? I definitely think there will be restrictions but who has suggested further lockdowns?

I wouldn't rule anything out the chance of there being more lockdowns would still be a distinct possibility - considering the virus mutates and changes quickly - basically doing what it's designed to do to keep living

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

nickkinneg wrote: »
    I wouldn't rule anything out the chance of there being more lockdowns would still be a distinct possibility - considering the virus mutates and changes quickly - basically doing what it's designed to do to keep living

Viruses are not categorised as being alive.

perpetuating then

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

aido79 wrote: »
    What makes you think there will still be lockdowns after April? I definitely think there will be restrictions but who has suggested further lockdowns?

Leo and Michael refusing to say there won't be any more lockdowns is a damn good indicator that there will be. With Politicians its not about what they're telling you. Its all about what they're not telling you.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Leo and Michael refusing to say there won't be any more lockdowns is a damn good indicator that there will be. With Politicians its not about what they're telling you. Its all about what they're not telling you.

It’s could just be the obvious reason- they don’t know yet because it’s impossible to know. I give politicians credit when they’re honest and say when they don’t know. And at this stage, they don’t know.

There are the lots of this game that will change and will influence how things go (vaccine availability and rollout, and whether the virus mutations are all covered by the virus). All they can do is wait and see.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

Unless they can see into the future then nobody can say there won't be any more lockdowns.
    I believe that once the hospital numbers drop then there won't be a need for lockdowns. There will still be people with covid but a lot less need for them to go to hospital because if the vaccine is effective then the cases will be in younger people. There's a huge difference between 1000's of people sick in hospital beds than 1000's of people sick at home in their own beds.

What exactly do you think they're not telling us?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Lockdowns after April, I think we'll be lucky to be out of this one before April.
    Predicted cases for end of Feb are 400-200 they won't open anything other than maybe construction and schools with that case load, so six more weeks from March 5th will bring us into April, we got stuck on 300 odd last lockdown and I reckon this will be the same what will they do then.
    They won't open anything with 300 daily cases after what happened at Christmas.

I reckon lockdown extended in March again, till 5th April.
    That's Easter Monday, so paddy day and Easter missed. We will drop down on 6th April to a lower level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

I reckon lockdown extended in March again, till 5th April.
    That's Easter Monday, so paddy day and Easter missed. We will drop down on 6th April to a lower level.

Agreed but a level 3 is still a pretty miserable existence being honest from recollection. But you’re right all the giving out in the world won’t change that we’re fuxked for a long while yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Agreed but a level 3 is still a pretty miserable existence being honest from recollection. But you’re right all the giving out in the world won’t change that we’re fuxked for a long while yet.

Will it even be 3 I reckon it'll be 4 just for press to say we're coming out of lockdown but in reality not much different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

mightyreds wrote: »
    Will it even be 3 I reckon it'll be 4 just for press to say we're coming out of lockdown but in reality not much different

Agreed nothing would surprise me at this stage especially with our great leaders telling us already to forget about next Christmas and no questioning of this for our media.