Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will it all end?

• Registered Users Posts: 923 ✭✭✭ujjjjjjjjj

aziz wrote: »
    Ah yeah,another “soft landing “

You juat beat me to it....Great minds and all that :)

• Registered Users Posts: 38,360 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

When the Imaginary Variants go away ie the ones that are not yet known. The Uk variant is the main boy in town now

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Hmob wrote: »
    On the plan again, I can't see the point

As far as I can see the government is just buying time until they know what to do

A definite plan seems a good way off like nearer the end of the year

And then they'll just kick the can down the road into 2022 and beyond.

Lundstram wrote: »
    ECB cut interest rates on savings a few weeks ago, it was largely unreported due to the media wankfest over Covid19. That is a massive development by the ECB, they are seeing things they don't like. People are hoarding money right now and terrified to spend it as they know what's coming down the line in terms of austerity.

There's a perception people will spend like crazy once restrictions ease, I dont see that happening due to the rip-off nature of tourism in Ireland, people will continue to hoard cash until they can go abroad. Could be well over a year until we are allowed leave this kip.

There's big trouble down the line. It's been swept under the carpet for now to ensure compliance with these nonsense restrictions. Our last budget was a kicking the can down the road exercise.

Terrible to say, probably, but I really hope we start to run out of money soon because I can't take much more of this.

The ECB has no idea what to do from here....they have nothing left in the armoury, tried money printing, tried lowering interest rates, negative interest rates and nothing bar more money printing is there......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Lundstram wrote: »

Terrible to say, probably, but I really hope we start to run out of money soon because I can't take much more of this.

Its seems like the only way out. They just got word that the money is running out and they still want to continue this insanity. Maybe when the money runs dry and the EU can't give another bailout they'll cop on, but that seems unlikely at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Hmob

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    Its seems like the only way out. They just got word that the money is running out and they still want to continue this insanity. Maybe when the money runs dry and the EU can't give another bailout they'll cop on, but that seems unlikely at this stage.

We're a small fish in a big pond

Our actions vary depending on others actions

Our restrictions will vary depending on others restrictions

We'll have less and less control over our decision making here going forward imo

Mr. Karate wrote: »

Ultimately they don't care, their salaries and pensions are secure and the global pandemic, sure our hands were tied, we were too busy saving lives mantras will get trotted out for years and years just like post 2008 with all the hang wringing about global banking collapses......

If anyone expects anything different this time round good luck......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 149 ✭✭BiggJim

I can see this going on for another few years if the other brands end up being a load of ****e like Astrazenaca.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭Dickie10

its hard to stomach to cranks and crackpot medics getting airtime at the minute like tomas ryan and mcConkey. theres a huge amount of their personality fingerprinsts all over their outlook, their both geeky, unsociable nerdy types who would run a mile from something like a day out at the galway races or a night in coppers. they recoil at the thoughts of it. so they would be delighted for people to socialise over a coffee with 2 other people for 90 mins of an evening, then off home. no interaction with randomers, no tipping into a bar at 7pm and falling out at 1 am after meeting and greeting all the locals whether you really know them or not, going for a piss and stopping off at a table for a chinwag. they simply havent got these basic social skills.

so let them have thier few weeks in the sun. theres simply nothing they can now hit us with now we have vaccine rollout only imaginery varients we dont even know of yet.

now lads and lassies that to me sounds like the episode of the simpsons where mr burns thinks he can see all the germs around him that may kill him, that is crazy stuff. but give him the day in the sun for now. come summer hospitality needs to unite and call for all hospitality open as one all on the one day.

anyway at least the brits have some sense , i see the isle of man with pubs open and people sitting at the bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭bigsuge1

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9245901/amp/UK-coronavirus-vaccines-children-end-year.html

Stuff like this getting spouted really makes me question what’s going on right now. I try not to read into the conspiracy stuff but why on earth would they even suggest our healthy young kids would need a vaccine for crying out loud? Over my dead body.

Edit: from Scotland!

BiggJim wrote: »
    I can see this going on for another few years if the other brands end up being a load of ****e like Astrazenaca.

AZ vaccine is fine relax.....the problem isn't the vaccines. The problem is people accepting that even post vaccines Covid will still be here but with low hospitalisations and deaths genuinely it isn't a problem.

EMA, MHRA and the WHO all have approved AZ for all age groups.

Yes I know someone is going to go on about.........what about the SA mutant strain.....even if this recent fear mongering report is vaguely true it is still going to be effective in reducing hospitalisation and death.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 137 ✭✭latency89

bigsuge1 wrote: »

Stuff like this getting spouted really makes me question what’s going on right now. I try not to read into the conspiracy stuff but why on earth would they even suggest our healthy young kids would need a vaccine for crying out loud? Over my dead body.

Edit: from Scotland!

What kind of parents would let own kids join that safety trial?

Step too far now

You just know they'll insist on kids being vaccinated if they want to go to school, will be mandatory

ujjjjjjjjj wrote: »
    AZ vaccine is fine relax.....the problem isn't the vaccines. The problem is people accepting that even post vaccines Covid will still be here but with low hospitalisations and deaths genuinely it isn't a problem.

EMA, MHRA and the WHO all have approved AZ for all age groups.

Yes I know someone is going to go on about.........what about the SA mutant strain.....even if this recent fear mongering report is vaguely true it is still going to be effective in reducing hospitalisation and death.

That's exactly what I'm talking about. It is true sure it was all over the papers this week, you may as well have injected sugar water if you come in contact with the SA strain.

Holy water might be more suitable for some, they've lived perfectly fine lives with that belief

Sugar water is good stuff mind you.......but there will be a mutant strain along shortly which sugar water doesn't work on. McConkey will find it.

My worry is that, whatever about Sam McConkey, Varadkar as Tanaiste would have no reason to exaggerate the bleakness of the situation as the government sees it, considering the need to keep people's compliance and morale up, so his assessment likely has a sound basis.

But as a poster asked, if vaccines aren't going to enable us to return to normal gatherings without bull s'hit unnatural social distancing, what will allow us to do that? Because if vaccines don't, it's hard to see how we can all be expected to continue these restrictions indefinitely/forever.

It would be like something from a dystopian novel. Eventually people would come to the conclusion that it is futile and then you'd have the state coming down hard on people, neighbours turning on neighbours, aggression, non-compliance etc before people start spreading the virus like wildfire, with more mutant variants forming and yearly vaccine development, in an economy gradually becoming impoverished through nobody working.

At this point, the pre-2020 world reminds me of the fabled ever-lasting edwardian english summer before the great war, as those days are starting to appear so disjointedly removed from the circumstances of today. (Obviously that war was worse in terms of suffering but you get what I mean)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

So ready for it all to end now.

I haven't allowed myself to wallow during this whole fiasco but I feel more hopeless about it now than I did almost a year ago. I was 27 when lockdown was first imposed and by the sounds of things, I could be in my 30s before things go back to what used to be "normal". I'll be 29 this year.

I can feel myself getting bitter that the final years of my 20s have been f*cked out the window. No seeing my friends, no trips away with my other half, heightened anxiety and an increasing realisation that there is no way for me to get this time back.

I work in direct contact with children, many with complex disabilities, on a daily basis. The fatigue is real. No indication of when I will be vaccinated because I work in a private healthcare setting, even though I have been seeing a full caseload since last July with no let up.

I had hoped we would see some real positive change by the middle of this year but that hope is slipping away.

What's Sam McConkey done now?

At some point young people are going to openly rebel. We could have serious violence and disorder.
    They are literally living through a real life Footloose.
    Everything fun and enterraining is banned.
    NPHET are almost like comic book villains and freaks.

The young are most in favour of lockdowns.

latency89 wrote: »
    What kind of parents would let own kids join that safety trial?

Step too far now

You just know they'll insist on kids being vaccinated if they want to go to school, will be mandatory

I think you’re right mate the stuff they are coming away with week after week is just becoming so predictable and the majority are happy to lap up everything the mainstream news is telling them. Like I says I’m not a conspiracy theorist but the doom and gloom articles/media leaks along with the goal posts forever changing, ‘new variants’ it just seems like it’s gonna get kept going forever and when you think about it anyone under 50 isn’t really at a great risk. Shield the vulnerable and get us slowly moving forward I say. We will have a better understanding on what’s going on in a few weeks with the announcements and what they come up with when numbers going down day after day. Speaking from UK - but I’d imagine it’s not a million miles different in Ireland just now.

My daughter is only 3 months old so there’s a fair bit of time until I need to worry about being told jab or no school. Hopefully by then this shambles is well and truly over.

My worry is that, whatever about Sam McConkey, Varadkar as Tanaiste would have no reason to exaggerate the bleakness of the situation as the government sees it, so his assessment likely has a sound basis.

But as a poster asked, if vaccines aren't going to enable us to return to normal gatherings without bull s'hit unnatural social distancing, what will allow us to do that? Because if vaccines don't, it's hard to see how we can all be expected to continue these restrictions indefinitely/forever.

I thought about that before and came to the conclusion that you need a different approach, a test that tests for immunity and you vaccinate people that dont have it.

A T-Cell test would test for that immunity, looking at cd4/cd8.

Many people have natural immunity and dont get sick, but we dont know who they are, person by person, we know anecdotely kids don't get sick for some reason

What we are doing right now with vaccines is retarded with planning to vaccinate everyone

We think no one can swim and many will drown if we throw them all into the swimming pool

Why don't we check who can swim?

Here in the UK a lot are happy getting paid furlough to sit at home and do nothing. Some have been doing it for the best part of a year.

A few will get quite the surprise and change their tone when furlough ends and that job they once had is now gone as their company doesn’t have the work it once did pre Covid. From 80% to £80 a week dole money.

Here in the UK they are happy getting paid furlough to sit at home and do nothing. Some have been doing it for the best part of a year.

A few will get quite the surprise and change their tone when furlough ends and that job they once had is now gone as their company doesn’t have the work it once did pre Covid. From 80% to £80 a week dole money.

Drug Dealers doing well out of this PUP money floating about

Really ? I have three kids with a massive social group running through the mid and the late teens as part of that. My wife works with secondary school kids and third level students professionally.

They all think this thing is a total over reaction......and totally opposed to lockdown restrictions but suffer on as they have no choice.

What is interesting is they are generally quite knowledgeable and well aware this is no risk to them and only a real risk to the elderly.

I think you’re right mate the stuff they are coming away with week after week is just becoming so predictable and the majority are happy to lap up everything the mainstream news is telling them. Like I says I’m not a conspiracy theorist but the doom and gloom articles/media leaks along with the goal posts forever changing, ‘new variants’ it just seems like it’s gonna get kept going forever and when you think about it anyone under 50 isn’t really at a great risk. Shield the vulnerable and get us slowly moving forward I say. We will have a better understanding on what’s going on in a few weeks with the announcements and what they come up with when numbers going down day after day. Speaking from UK - but I’d imagine it’s not a million miles different in Ireland just now.

My daughter is only 3 months old so there’s a fair bit of time until I need to worry about being told jab or no school. Hopefully by then this shambles is well and truly over.

For sure they will introduce it.

Not a chance I'll be vaccinating mine, they both had it and were grand

• Registered Users Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭Dickie10

My worry is that, whatever about Sam McConkey, Varadkar as Tanaiste would have no reason to exaggerate the bleakness of the situation as the government sees it, considering the need to keep people's compliance and morale up, so his assessment likely has a sound basis.

It would be like something from a dystopian novel. Eventually people would come to the conclusion that it is futile and then you'd have the state coming down hard on people, neighbours turning on neighbours, aggression, non-compliance etc before people start spreading the virus like wildfire, with more mutant variants forming and yearly vaccine development, in an economy gradually becoming impoverished through nobody working.

At this point, the pre-2020 world reminds me of the fabled ever-lasting edwardian english summer before the great war, as those days are starting to appear so disjointedly removed from the circumstances of today. (Obviously that war was worse in terms of suffering but you get what I mean)

Yes really interesting post, i think we really will have a watershed historical moment, just like pre ww1 and post ww1. the world looked so different in 1913 from 1920. i can put my finger on it its only 7 years which is nothing looking back on history but i guaruntee you would know a picture from both times as being 1913 and 1920.

it wont be to the same degree mind you im fully confident normal life will resume by november 2021. TBH its in everyones hands to make that happen, once over 70s are vaxxed then everyone needs to start calling out silly restrictions over the summer. pressure on government will make that happen. Also need ordinary people to call out any scremongering on RTE etc, really make them squirm. the like of Tubridy, Duffy et.al dont like being digged over that. there very shallow and will imediatly change their tone. i guaruntee you will see that on LATE LATE over the next few weeks when tubridy was called out on it publiccly for too much doom and gloom.

Dickie10 wrote: »
    Yes really interesting post, i think we really will have a watershed historical moment, just like pre ww1 and post ww1. the world looked so different in 1913 from 1920. i can put my finger on it its only 7 years which is nothing looking back on history but i guaruntee you would know a picture from both times as being 1913 and 1920.

it wont be to the same degree mind you im fully confident normal life will resume by november 2021. TBH its in everyones hands to make that happen, once over 70s are vaxxed then everyone needs to start calling out silly restrictions over the summer. pressure on government will make that happen. Also need ordinary people to call out any scremongering on RTE etc, really make them squirm. the like of Tubridy, Duffy et.al dont like being digged over that. there very shallow and will imediatly change their tone. i guaruntee you will see that on LATE LATE over the next few weeks when tubridy was called out on it publiccly for too much doom and gloom.

Honestly think 2025 before there's any semblance of normality.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

I think that's what a lot of airlines are looking towards in terms of 2019 levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Dickie10 wrote: »

You can sense it tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

True. For you. Everyone else will be back to normal long before that.