Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will it all end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Bigfatmichael

I have done the right thing through this whole thing. THe only person that has been in my house since lock downs started is my mother in law on CHristmas day.
    She in 76 and was/is coocooning so we knew no risk.

Last saturday I heard laughing coming from the house behind mine.
    I looked over and there was about 10 owlones in the kitchen across the way, drinking and having a rare oul time. Now these were all 60s plus, I know the woman that lives there, so must have been all of her mates.
    Now one part of me is like for **** sake I am giving up my life to protect these old people and there they are having the craic. The other part is like its a few women having a few drinks. Its madness the way this virus is making us think.

I am tired of staying at home now. I am going to stop staying at home now. I am going to live my life and take my chances. I will stay away from older people and still wear a mask in shops etc but I am not doing this anymore. There is 1000 people a day getting this virus- How? Why should we stay at home and do the work for these *****?
    I am at breaking point.

You should try troll a little bit harder than that. Your looking for a reaction of your mother been in your house.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Patches oHoulihan

You should try troll a little bit harder than that. Your looking for a reaction of your mother been in your house.

It's You're, and it's "to your mother" not "of your mother".
    Finally, it was my mother in law, not my mother.
    You should really pay attention to details if you want to start an argument.
    Now I just wont waste my time on you as I can see you can't even speak English.

How's that for trolling? :rolleyes:

Just for Clarity - I wasn't looking for a reaction to her being in my house. That's really the most insignificant part of the post.

Lads calm down, it will be about 6/7 weeks then open up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

bubblypop wrote: »

No we wont calm down!!! We need urgency about lifting these ridiculous restrictions.

Schools should re open tomorrow. no mid term. They already got an extended holiday start of January.

We need urgency to save the economy of our country otherwise we wont have much to re open to

No we wont calm down!!! We need urgency about lifting these ridiculous restrictions.

Schools should re open tomorrow. no mid term. They already got an extended holiday start of January.

We need urgency to save the economy of our country otherwise we wont have much to re open to

It's a few more weeks!

I have done the right thing through this whole thing. THe only person that has been in my house since lock downs started is my mother in law on CHristmas day.
    She in 76 and was/is coocooning so we knew no risk.

Last saturday I heard laughing coming from the house behind mine.
    I looked over and there was about 10 owlones in the kitchen across the way, drinking and having a rare oul time. Now these were all 60s plus,
    I know the woman that lives there, so must have been all of her mates.
    Now one part of me is like for **** sake I am giving up my life to protect these old people and there they are having the craic. The other part is like its a few women having a few drinks. Its madness the way this virus is making us think.

I am tired of staying at home now. I am going to stop staying at home now. I am going to live my life and take my chances. I will stay away from older people and still wear a mask in shops etc but I am not doing this anymore. There is 1000 people a day getting this virus- How? Why should we stay at home and do the work for these *****?
    I am at breaking point.

Bloody hell. Jealous. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭landofthetree

6541 wrote: »
    Prof Luke O'Neill states that the Johnson and Johnson vaccine will be approved within days. This will be a game changer. This is a one shot Vaccine and does not need special storage.
    Again to reiterate the country will be awash with vaccines within two months.
    Just hold the line, we are on the final hurdle.

We wont get many. The EU made a mess of the order. Best efforts clause. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭batman_oh

They are saying mid May for level 4. Which is still stuck in your county and you can sit outside on the street eating - amazing! Hinting at late June or July for being allowed out of your county. That's a lot more than 6 or 7 weeks. Plus they've basically said there'll be more restrictions in next winter (October?). So loads of time to enjoy yourself it seems!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,479 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

It's a few more weeks!

I'd want to be a right ****ing idiot to believe that I will be allowed to restart my life again in just a few more weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭tommybrees

It's a few more weeks!

Iv been hearing that since March 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 33,604 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

All depends on what your definition of "opened up" is.

I think everyone wants to see proper opening up, all shops open, being able to go away for a weekend, out for a pint, a haircut, meet friends etc.

I suspect in 7 or 8 weeks things won't look much different to how they look now. Maybe schools might be back, construction sites open.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

Good morning. Beautiful weather outside.

Children should really be going to schools now, today.

Retail should re open today also.

Re open restaurants at middle of March.

Anyone who is awaiting vaccine can stay in a bit longer while people who are healthy and young should be out there living life.

Anyone who is covid concerned about new variants etc. can also stay in for as long as desired, well into 2022 if wanted. After all - holidays, socialising, concerts, fine dining is not for everyone.

That's really irresponsible. The HSE staff are ****ting themselves, the backlog is enormous BECAUSE of Covid19. Things are starting to normalize, another two weeks and the position should be a lot better IF people don't do as you advocate.

The government not putting forward exit criteria or a plan is awful but purposefully going out now and doing what you say is the last thing we need.

My guess, be end February, things will look a lot better.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,950 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

robbiezero wrote: »
    Even this Government can't be that stupid. They are losing buy-in by the day with the stretching out of restrictions.

The people who are calling for the country to be opened are the same people who post on facebook how New Zealand got it right, and how we should be more like them. New Zealand got it right from the start because they went ultra harsh right from the off, and even now they have locked down a full city due to 3 cases.

We can't have it both ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭Exodus 1811

Good morning. Beautiful weather outside.

Children should really be going to schools now, today.

Retail should re open today also.

Re open restaurants at middle of March.

Anyone who is awaiting vaccine can stay in a bit longer while people who are healthy and young should be out there living life.

Anyone who is covid concerned about new variants etc. can also stay in for as long as desired, well into 2022 if wanted. After all - holidays, socialising, concerts, fine dining is not for everyone.

Can we set-up a consent system where everyone with this attitude waivers the right to an ICU bed?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Can we set-up a consent system where everyone with this attitude waivers the right to an ICU bed?

If we were to do that we should have started with smokers.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,235 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

ujjjjjjjjj wrote: »
    The info is there re the people in our population who are at risk. The vaccines efficacy is well documented. Yes we don't know when we will have the vaccines to vaccinate over a point but you can have a policy which states 'we will open up after we have vaccinated say over 65's'. It doesn't have to have a date to be a policy.

This is an endemic virus which will continue to mutate forever, if we follow your logic of having to have definitive data of not lifting restrictions until we can be certain it works against every mutation we will never open up as mutations will be never ending.

We are looking for guarantees where you can't have guarantees.

So just to confirm, You don't have the data I'm saying we need to make an informed policy? Or you do? I think you're asking the government to make uninformed policy.
    I didn't mention the terms "definitive data" or "guarantee", at any point, but somehow you've misunderstood or just misinterpreted what I've said to suit your version. What was it you said about people accurately reading and retaining information?

The timing matters. If they vaccinate the over 65s (you haven't said what criteria you've use to pick this number) by April with the whole warm season ahead, that's very different to vaccinating the over 60s in August when the warm season is coming towards the end. So the supply of vaccine matters, it's key. Likewise, the mutations matter. If things go great then they could open up sooner than if the virus mutates around the vaccine. You're brushing over the information we don't have as though it doesn't matter. That's a recipe for terrible policy.

And I'm still waiting to see what you think they should do after they've made their uninformed policy, and more useful data comes in? Should they react to the new data or just stick to the original plan? Look, I'm badgering you to answer this question because it's clear from the fact that you didn't answer it the first three times i asked, that you don't want to answer it. It's a pretty central question to your conclusion tat they should make a policy with the information they have now. So what do you think?

batman_oh wrote: »
    They are saying mid May for level 4. Which is still stuck in your county and you can sit outside on the street eating - amazing! Hinting at late June or July for being allowed out of your county. That's a lot more than 6 or 7 weeks. Plus they've basically said there'll be more restrictions in next winter (October?). So loads of time to enjoy yourself it seems!

Who is saying this? Where?

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭BigMo1

As much as I want it to be true, I can't see much normality in April, even the €9 outside pints craic.

The vaccine rollout is slow and even after vaccination there's a data lag, as we've seen with Israel.

Can see a long frustrating road ahead, which will be made worse when NI inevitably open before us.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Who is saying this? Where?

The papers this morning said dining outside is unlikely to happen until after the May bank holiday weekend (from Martin himself) - so that's level 4 when it does come in. This will be for 4 weeks at a minimum. Another HSE head (Gabriel Scally) said we might get inter county travel from late June/early July.
    Leo said more restrictions will be likely needed next winter as it is seasonal and there may be new strains.
    So various people saying it in various places. All part of the wonderfully positive message coming out of the government and media

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

One things for damn sure is that this will have ended in every other country long long before it ends in this one.

Other countries are actually interested in getting back to normal, actually interested in being positive and in looking forward.

That aint happening here, thats for sure.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Meanwhile we will watching the rest of Europe and the UK getting back to normal and us stuck with a farce of a living with covid plan with the progression targets been almost impossible

Is the rest of Europe getting back to normal? I really don't think it is.

We're ahead of most European countries in terms of the % of the population vaccinated so I'd say we'll probably get back to normal at about the same rate as most of Europe.

batman_oh wrote: »
    The papers this morning said dining outside is unlikely to happen until after the May bank holiday weekend (from Martin himself) - so that's level 4 when it does come in. This will be for 4 weeks at a minimum. Another HSE head on the radio said we might get inter county travel from late June/early July.
    Leo said more restrictions will be likely needed next winter as it is seasonal and there may be new strains.
    So various people saying it in various places. All part of the wonderfully positive message coming out of the government and media

Do ya know what though communication of roadmap, levels etc was far better under Leo I think anyway. At least we kind of knew where we were going. Maybe that’s just me but it feels so messy right now

We're ahead of most European countries in terms of the % of the population vaccinated so I'd say we'll probably get back to normal at about the same rate as most of Europe.

France has schools opened since January.

UK has 15,000,000 + with first vaccine jab received already.

Large parts of Italy already re opened restaurants etc.

I mean to answer in short - yes rest of Europe is getting back to normal

if that speeds up re opening of the economy then yes please. Where do i sign? should i carry such with me at all times?

mcsean2163 wrote: »
    That's really irresponsible. The HSE staff are ****ting themselves, the backlog is enormous BECAUSE of Covid19. Things are starting to normalize, another two weeks and the position should be a lot better IF people don't do as you advocate.

The government not putting forward exit criteria or a plan is awful but purposefully going out now and doing what you say is the last thing we need.

My guess, be end February, things will look a lot better.

You want to keep schools closed for another 2 weeks? Really?

PS how awful? Very awful? or just about awful for all to remain close and lets see where we are later?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,004 ✭✭✭✭titan18

There are countries already reopening items or with plans to reopen stuff over the next few weeks, whereas we're in a timeframe of months.

France has schools opened since January.

UK has 15,000,000 + with first vaccine jab received already.

Large parts of Italy already re opened restaurants etc.

I mean to answer in short - yes rest of Europe is getting back to normal

France has schools reopen? That sounds good. Can I take it you'd also approve of the other measures france also has in place, such as curfew and the need for documentation of reasons for being outside the house after 6PM?

"From 16 January, a national curfew will be in place from 6pm to 6am. Please check the French government’s COVID 19 pages (in French) for more information. These measures may change at short notice. Exemptions from the curfew are very limited and only apply for those with medical needs, caring responsibilities or working in roles which cannot be done from home. New attestations (or self-certificates) to leave the house during curfew are available on the French Interior Ministry website and through the digital app ‘Tous anti-Covid’."

Ver ar your papers, indeed.

Nazi comparisons for Ireland and suggesting France is "opening-up" when they have schools open and national curfew and need documentation to be outside!

Reality means nothing in this discussion, for some people.

To confirm, France is not "opening-up"

France has schools reopen? That sounds good. Can I take it you'd also approve of the other measures france also has in place, such as curfew and the need for documentation of reasons for being outside the house after 6PM?

"From 16 January, a national curfew will be in place from 6pm to 6am. Please check the French government’s COVID 19 pages (in French) for more information. These measures may change at short notice. Exemptions from the curfew are very limited and only apply for those with medical needs, caring responsibilities or working in roles which cannot be done from home. New attestations (or self-certificates) to leave the house during curfew are available on the French Interior Ministry website and through the digital app ‘Tous anti-Covid’."

Ver ar your papers, indeed.

Nazi comparisons for Ireland and suggesting France is "opening-up" when they have schools open and national curfew and need documentation to be outside!

Reality means nothing in this discussion, for some people.

To confirm, France is not "opening-up"

I did mention UK and Italy but you chose not to discuss that.

You are right, reality means nothing in this discussion.

PS schools re opening is very big. Dont know if you are a parent or not but for parents that would be highest priority / benefit.

gansi wrote: »
    Do ya know what though communication of roadmap, levels etc was far better under Leo I think anyway. At least we kind of knew where we were going. Maybe that’s just me but it feels so messy right now

So many people in government flying kites that they’ve all got tangled up. Add in NPHET and radio virologists throwing in their two cents and we have a right mess