Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will it all end?

Parachutes wrote: »
    What the hell are curfews going to do anyway? It just means more people will be in the supermarket before 7, 8 or till whatever time the covid decides it wants to infect people. The madness continues.

Bizarre stuff, indeed. People desperately seeking the illusion of control over something that will never be eradicated.

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pat D. Almighty

Bizarre stuff, indeed. People desperately seeking the illusion of control over something that will never be eradicated.

They stop selfish idiots hosting/attending house parties etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Well no...the point of curfews is to target where infection is really happening - late night socialising, house parties etc.

They stop selfish idiots hosting/attending house parties etc.

People who attend house parties during Level 5 are hardly going to be deterred by a "curfew". They couldn't care less about *any* restrictions.

Will never fly anyway, lads, generally speaking.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,235 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Parachutes wrote: »
    What the hell are curfews going to do anyway? It just means more people will be in the supermarket before 7, 8 or till whatever time the covid decides it wants to infect people. The madness continues.

I think some posters started by saying France is opening up, then they went into explaining why the French curfew is better than the restrictions we have here. Now we have people who are opposed to the restrictions in Ireland, fanaticising about having a French-style curfew in Ireland.

The whole this is interesting to see how far off the point people need to go. The simple truth is that we don't know when it will end.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

People who attend house parties during Level 5 are hardly going to be deterred by a "curfew". They couldn't care less about *any* restrictions.

Point is i think - we should have had a curfew backed by heavy penalties that were actually enforced.

If you were heading to a house party but good chance you'd get caught and have to pay a €2k fine you'd think again...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,785 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Point is i think - we should have had a curfew backed by heavy penalties that were actually enforced.

If you were heading to a house party but good chance you'd get caught and have to pay a €2k fine you'd think again...

Or you'd just stay over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭d161

The one thing I've learned about anti vax people it that most of them are pretty quick to tell you why they're not anti vax. Reminds me of the trope of the taxi driver telling you "I'm not being racist when i say this, but....".

So, I offered to send you my yellow book.
    Yellow book? I don't follow.

The International Certificate of Vaccination or Prophylaxis (ICVP), also known as the Carte Jaune or Yellow Card, is an official vaccination record created by the World Health Organization (WHO). It was a book not a card btw.

All the fuss over vaccine passports. It's hardly a new idea. Perhaps yellow books are out of date now? I thought you would be au fait with them.
    I didn't say I think the virus will be eradicated. I didn't even suggest anything about virus eradication. Where did you even get that from?
    Sorry I thought you did, maybe it was somebody else. Some believe this is possible.

Incidentally, are you not concerned about mutations and the need for new vaccines for these mutations?
    Of course i put all the people who wont get the vaccine in the same camp, the "won't get the vaccine" camp. All the anti vax people have their reasons and they don't really matter to me. The effect will be to increase transmissions (even though the children themselves will likely by asymptomatic, the vaccine will likely ensure they are contagious for a shorter time and will likely spread the virus to fewer people as a result. And the fewer transmissions, the sooner we can move back towards normal. I'm not sure if you don't get that point or you get it and you don't care.
    That's my problem. You can only consider one approach/solution. Lockdown or vaccine. NPHET are the same.

They, NPHET, have pursued a goal of very low COVID numbers with no consideration what so ever of the social cost.
    Why not consider, pareto's principle, i.e. 80% of the result for 20% of the effort. So, try to keep numbers down eg below 1000 a day using less restrictions.

I understand what exponential growth is and I understand there is a time lag in restrictions having an affect. But they said 50 hospitalizations per 1000 infected and we had 100K cases in January but less that 2,000 in hospital.
    The end result is the same and the more people who do as you suggest you'll do, the longer it will take to get back towards normal.

Let's just hope that you're in a very small minority and they only prolong the thing for a small while.

You'd think the people who want to open up sooner, would be critical of the people who's actions will actively prolong the reopening. But they all seem to not really care about it.

I understand the reasons for the government wanting the whole population vaccinated but I'm not inclined to pull on the green jersey on this one. The government and NPHET with their disregard for the people lost me a long time ago. Certainly I'll not be giving my kids this vaccine for at least another year or two.

aido79 wrote: »
    And what happened at Christmas when restrictions were eased only slightly?

I'm not ignoring anyone but I don't like how people cherry pick certain places that have less restrictions and automatically assume that the measures used in that particular place would work for Ireland too. Would you agree that climate seems to play a part in increased spread of covid19?

They locked everyone up for months, and then suddenly you could visit your family and friends, buy clothes and get your hair done? What did you expect? It was like Black Friday, Spring Break and Paddys Day all at once to a largely uninfected population. Penney's like a ruck in Lansdowne Road.

Had they had lighter touch restrictions, particularly in low prevalance areas, which I'm STILL fuming over, there wouldn't have been such a scramble to buy and do stuff.
    • There is NO REASON for the 5k limit.
    • There is NO REASON for schools being closed.
    • There is NO REASON for non essential retail to be closed. It's the same or less risk than supermarkets.
    • There is NO REASON for restaurants with social distancing to be closed, especially outdoors.
    • There is NO REASON to be arresting people for going for a swim or a walk outside.
    • There is NO REASON for outdoor sports to be closed with no crowds allowed (to clarify, crowds should NOT be allowed).

Pubs and large events will have to wait. Otherwise open up in a responsible and controlled manner. And liberal use of rapid antigen testing will get and keep the R number well below 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭peterc1991

Yes Ireland does seem to have the draconian restrictions for longest out of all EU, and harshest.

"Ireland comes seventh out of 186 nations measured for lockdown severity.

The only other counties with similar limits on citizens are Eritrea, Venezuela, Peru, Chile, Honduras and Argentina."

The data is compiled by Oxford University’s Blavatnik School of Government in the UK.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/health-news/ireland-one-strictest-coronavirus-lockdowns-22900565

I know you thought its pretty bad elsewhere, but it really isnt, not in Europe anyways. Unless you were comparing our lockdown to Venezuala, Peru and Chile?

There is another study showing Ireland spending 121 days in lockdown in 2020, do you want me to dig that one out? Yes the longest in Europe in 2020.

PS are you deliberately ignoring the poster from Seville? You dont trust posters here?

We locked down for a reason. You go on as if their isn't any positive reason for this like we are being tortured for no reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

He said "My best guess ... is that we’ll have a relatively normal summer in that the shops will be open, personal services will be open and domestic tourism will be a real possibility. And potentially outdoor gatherings of 10 to 15 people, maybe even 50 but nothing beyond that until we have a critical mass vaccinated of 70 to 80 per cent; we’re aiming for September for that.

“There is still a worry about next winter because it does seem there’s a seasonal element to this virus. People are indoors more and you’re 20 times more likely to get it indoors than out. So there will be a concern about a fourth wave of some sort next winter and there will be huge caution about allowing mass gatherings until we get through another winter."

Do you not see how that is illogical though? If we do achieve critical mass vaccination by September, then why do we have to worry about a fourth wave in the Winter and therefore kick mass gatherings further down the road? That's the part that makes no sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

The people who suggest this type of nonsense are the types that shoot at hurricanes in the US.

sub-buzz-31567-1505065778-1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

GazzaL wrote: »
    The people who suggest this type of nonsense are the types that shoot at hurricanes in the US.

Please please please tell me this is a meme and not something actual humans actually do?

That just reminds me of that hilarious news report scene just after the aliens arrive in Independence Day - "City authorities are reiterating their plea to residents, not to fire their guns at the visiting spacecraft. You may risk triggering an interstellar war!" :D

EDIT: JFC :eek:

https://time.com/4935117/hurricane-irma-guns-florida/

Of course it's Florida Man...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

6541 wrote: »
    Professor Luke O'Neill is currently on Newstalk -He has stated numerous times during the interview that the country will be awash with vaccines by May and just hold the line. He is saying we are at the end of this now.

....excitedly slaps the thank you button over and over.......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

You want to keep schools closed for another 2 weeks? Really?

PS how awful? Very awful? or just about awful for all to remain close and lets see where we are later?

It's mid term now, an extra week and hopefully back after that.

As awful as having a box of smokes but no lighter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Here in The Netherlands we have a lockdown similar to Ireland except no 5km limit but we do have a 9pm curfew, I have to say it's the only thing keeping me sane at the minute. I can drive to the beach and go for a walk or go to any trail or forest that I like as long as I am back home by 9pm. Our case numbers are roughly in line with Ireland at the minute taking into account population size. I had a video chat with my family this weekend in Ireland and it nearly broke my heart, genuine sadness and despair. My parents are the most frustrated, but just said if the 5km limit was eased a bit it would do a world of good, they used to go for walks in parks 15 - 20 km away and have a picnic or go off for a drive around the countryside. I really hope at least that restriction is eased, it would make a massive difference.

Majority will co-operate. The selfish won't. Nothing you can do about the minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Great positivity coming from the UK regarding the initial stages of their vaccine rollout. They are absolutely flying. Envious of them. Their exit lockdown plan is clear and concise. Will give their people a huge lift to see it out. There's no doubt we are going to be witnessing the boys in the six counties having a great time while we snail along with our pathetic vaccination effort.

Israel also reporting very positive news of 94% efficacy in their rollout.

Meanwhile, in Ireland, we have Ronan Glynn spreading more misery and doom during the daily miseryfest. Jesus Christ, would a tiny bit of positivity kill them?

Matt Cooper had some woman on his show earlier, no idea who she was tbh, she spoke about the government not doing enough to keep public sector workers at home, too much traffic on the road etc, all the usual negative bullsh1t.

Adhering to these restrictions is tough but listening to this constant doom and gloom day in, day out is worse.

Lundstram wrote: »
    Great positivity coming from the UK regarding the initial stages of their vaccine rollout. They are absolutely flying. Envious of them. Their exit lockdown plan is clear and concise. Will give their people a huge lift to see it out. There's no doubt we are going to be witnessing the boys in the six counties having a great time while we snail along with our pathetic vaccination effort.

Israel also reporting very positive news of 94% efficacy in their rollout.

Meanwhile, in Ireland, we have Ronan Glynn spreading more misery and doom during the daily miseryfest. Jesus Christ, would a tiny bit of positivity kill them?

Matt Cooper had some woman on his show earlier, no idea who she was tbh, she spoke about the government not doing enough to keep public sector workers at home, too much traffic on the road etc, all the usual negative bullsh1t.

Adhering to these restrictions is tough but listening to this constant doom and gloom day in, day out is worse.

What is it? I'll take bullet points with dates.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

yer man! wrote: »
    Here in The Netherlands we have a lockdown similar to Ireland except no 5km limit but we do have a 9pm curfew, I have to say it's the only thing keeping me sane at the minute. I can drive to the beach and go for a walk or go to any trail or forest that I like as long as I am back home by 9pm. Our case numbers are roughly in line with Ireland at the minute taking into account population size. I had a video chat with my family this weekend in Ireland and it nearly broke my heart, genuine sadness and despair. My parents are the most frustrated, but just said if the 5km limit was eased a bit it would do a world of good, they used to go for walks in parks 15 - 20 km away and have a picnic or go off for a drive around the countryside. I really hope at least that restriction is eased, it would make a massive difference.

Yep my mother likes to go for a walk on a beach once a week. Usually on a Sunday and hasn't been able to do that for weeks now due to the beach being miles away. I myself like to go for a drive a long distance at least once a week also or instead go to my largest city nearby which is Galway and I haven't been able to do so either for weeks. They just keep extending the lockdown. Tbh I could live with not going to the city but a drive would be nice.

And to be realistic I have more of a chance of picking up corona going to the shop than I have by going on a long drive or my mother walking on a beach.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭tractorporn

That was Prof Aoife McLysaght professor of genetics. She was on Claire Byrne last October saying the lockdown wasn't harsh enough and that lockdowns were easy cos she could do click and collect from her local book shop. The irony that she was saying that from RTE studios was lost on her.

I don't understand how a genetics professor can be rolled out as a virus expert. She has said in the past that level 5 should only be lifted when we get to single figure case numbers.

That was Prof Aoife McLysaght professor of genetics. She was on Claire Byrne last October saying the lockdown wasn't harsh enough and that lockdowns were easy cos she could do click and collect from her local book shop. The irony that she was saying that from RTE studios was lost on her.

I don't understand how a genetics professor can be rolled out as a virus expert. She has said in the past that level 5 should only be lifted when we get to single figure case numbers.

Cooper never challenged her on one thing she said, just let her ramble on with the most ridiculous crap I've heard since he had McConkey on last week.

Sickening that these people have free rein to spout this ill-informed nonsense without being questioned on it.

Cooper never challenged her on one thing she said, just let her ramble on with the most ridiculous crap I've heard since he had McConkey on last week.

Sickening that these people have free rein to spout this ill-informed nonsense without being questioned on it.

Should have you on to explain the uks "clear and concise exit plans"

Be quite the scoop since the pm hasn't announced them yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I dragged and dropped the section of the graph on case numbers from mid April last year onwards onto our current downward trend. The 2 slopes pretty much line up and if the curve continues like last year we should down to around 100 cases a day by mid March. By mid April, the numbers could be in the teens or 20s. Back then there was the 2km rule but at least now we have some vaccine.

Mid April last year was at around 700-800 cases per day like now. I am of course assuming testing levels are similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

In no way do I mean this in a smart assed manner, but you need to just tune out.

I tuned out of all mainstream media about 2 years ago now, I used to listen to Newstalk, RTE in the car, bought the SBP every weekend, dropped them all, I drop in every now and again and you'd be surprised at how quickly you spot the nonsense when you give yourself time away from the media cycle.

There was a time when we would consume newspapers in a very leisurely manner, newspapers drove the content for the radio talk shows, now its all hyper emotive online content that is driving everything...the industry doesn't realize it but they are now conditioning people as opposed to informing them...stay away form twitter at all costs, that tool is the most damaging of them all.

If I have done one smart thing this year it was to recognize the importance of completely tuning out of the daily news cycle...and as sure as night follows day, the next cycle of hysteria is just around the corner, my money is on climate change.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Nphet will end up like the Cairo Gang if they aren't careful LOL

When the UK open up ahead of us there is going to be war.

If we have a long hot summer with people cooped up the government can kiss their political careers goodbye

In no way do I mean this in a smart assed manner, but you need to just tune out.

I tuned out of all mainstream media about 2 years ago now, I used to listen to Newstalk, RTE in the car, bought the SBP every weekend, dropped them all, I drop in every now and again and you'd be surprised at how quickly you spot the nonsense when you give yourself time away from the media cycle.

There was a time when we would consume newspapers in a very leisurely manner, newspapers drove the content for the radio talk shows, now its all hyper emotive online content that is driving everything...the industry doesn't realize it but they are now conditioning people as opposed to informing them...stay away form twitter at all costs, that tool is the most damaging of them all.

If I have done one smart thing this year it was to recognize the importance of completely tuning out of the daily news cycle...and as sure as night follows day, the next cycle of hysteria is just around the corner, my money is on climate change.

I tried, didn't last a day, I'm a news junkie, current affairs, sport, finance etc. It's an addiction. :pac:

Twitter is my go to for news, and I agree, it's a cesspool of virtue signallers and the perpetually offended. In fairness, there's a small cohort of good journos on there who question these restrictions. You won't ever see or hear them on mainstrain media, though.

I will say I've stopped watching RTE completely.

Matt Cooper is gone now too. Used to like him but his behaviour since this began is just so bias.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

6541 wrote: »
    Professor Luke O'Neill is currently on Newstalk -He has stated numerous times during the interview that the country will be awash with vaccines by May and just hold the line. He is saying we are at the end of this now.

The Kanye of the Immunology world said that?

Wonder what he'll do on the TV this week?

Perhaps stripping naked and washing himself with giant mock up Pfizer vaccines whilst shouting "hold firm!. HOLD .... FIRMMmmm" repeatedly

Claire and RTE will approve

https://twitter.com/ClaireByrneLive/status/1358926477228732418

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    The Kanye of the Immunology world said that?

Wonder what he'll do on the TV this week?

Perhaps stripping naked and washing himself with giant mock up Pfizer vaccines whilst shouting "hold firm!. HOLD .... FIRMMmmm" repeatedly

Claire and RTE will approve

https://twitter.com/ClaireByrneLive/status/1358926477228732418

Well unlike you, he's an expert, so thankfully not many people will listen to your childish rants.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,235 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

d161 wrote: »
    So, I offered to send you my yellow book.

The International Certificate of Vaccination or Prophylaxis (ICVP), also known as the Carte Jaune or Yellow Card, is an official vaccination record created by the World Health Organization (WHO). It was a book not a card btw.

All the fuss over vaccine passports. It's hardly a new idea. Perhaps yellow books are out of date now? I thought you would be au fait with them.

Sorry I thought you did, maybe it was somebody else. Some believe this is possible.

Incidentally, are you not concerned about mutations and the need for new vaccines for these mutations?

That's my problem. You can only consider one approach/solution. Lockdown or vaccine. NPHET are the same.

They, NPHET, have pursued a goal of very low COVID numbers with no consideration what so ever of the social cost.
    Why not consider, pareto's principle, i.e. 80% of the result for 20% of the effort. So, try to keep numbers down eg below 1000 a day using less restrictions.

I understand what exponential growth is and I understand there is a time lag in restrictions having an affect. But they said 50 hospitalizations per 1000 infected and we had 100K cases in January but less that 2,000 in hospital.

I understand the reasons for the government wanting the whole population vaccinated but I'm not inclined to pull on the green jersey on this one. The government and NPHET with their disregard for the people lost me a long time ago. Certainly I'll not be giving my kids this vaccine for at least another year or two.

I’m not sure if you’re responding to the things I posted. Yellow books and eradication the virus, am I worried about new virus mutations and only 2 solutions (lockdown or vaccines). I’ve absolutely no idea where you’re getting half of this from because they’re nothing to do with the things I’ve mentioned.

What I have said is that the more people who don’t get vaccinated, the more transmissions there will be. And given that transmissions is a pretty obvious criteria for loosening restrictions, higher transmissions will likely result in longer before restrictions are loosened.
    You get that, right?