Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will it all end?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,235 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

gozunda wrote: »
    Haha you lads are gas. Yeah we're talking about the UK and summer 2021!

Just in case you missed it - detail from the U.K.’s transport secretary Grant Shapps and I quote

https://www.forbes.com/sites/alexledsom/2021/02/11/uk-travel-brits-told-maybe-no-international-trips-for-rest-of-2021/

After that I really can't help ye ;)

It's amazing to see how people read things the way they want them to be. Here you have the UK transport Secretary saying that they aren't guaranteeing travel because it's too early to say one way or the other for both domestic and foreign travel, and posters read that as saying there will be domestic and foreign travel. And yesterday I had someone tell me that Leo saying the IF things go well we MIGHT have full stadiums and MAYBE even festivals. And they interpreted that as some kind of guarantee that we will have full stadiums, festivals and the end of masks and social distancing.

Sometimes the only thing to do is acknowledge that we don't have enough information to know what's most likely to happen one way or the other. And the only sensible thing we an do is wait and see what happens and make decisions when we have more reliable information.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

josip wrote: »
    You've got to try to imagine a little bit into the future gozunda.
    It won't be like the present.

That will mean taking a bit of time to think things throughand getting away from the media sensationalism of the here and now and worst case scenarios. By the summer:
    • Most of the UK population will be vaccinated.
    • European destinations will be desperate for any tourist revenue they can get.
    • The UK will want to maximise their PR win of having their Brexited citizens vaccinated before the EU and will be doing their best to send them as envoys all around the EU.

OP is in lockdown afterall. So are we all. Not easy to imagine anything different than the usual cutting your own hair, cooking food or eating takeaway for months on end. and ofcourse walks within 5km!

Two pieces of good news reports vaccine supply.
    “ Tánaiste Leo Varadkar has said the Government is expecting to receive at least one million Covid-19 vaccine doses per month in April, May and June.

This would represent a tripling in the pace of vaccination during the second quarter of the year compared to the first three months”

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0218/1197824-coronavirus-ireland/

And I presume that is as a result of this news about the EU doubling its supply of moderna vaccine. This article doesn’t give any dates so I presume the article above is filling in that detail.

“ The European Commission has said it had struck a deal for an extra 150 million doses of Moderna's Covid-19 vaccine this year, nearly doubling the number of shots secured from the US biotech firm for 2021”

https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2021/0217/1197660-eu-vaccine-latest/

• Registered Users Posts: 496 ✭✭The HorsesMouth

Two pieces of good news reports vaccine supply.
    “ Tánaiste Leo Varadkar has said the Government is expecting to receive at least one million Covid-19 vaccine doses per month in April, May and June.

This would represent a tripling in the pace of vaccination during the second quarter of the year compared to the first three months”

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0218/1197824-coronavirus-ireland/

And I presume that is as a result of this news about the EU doubling its supply of moderna vaccine. This article doesn’t give any dates so I presume the article above is filling in that detail.

“ The European Commission has said it had struck a deal for an extra 150 million doses of Moderna's Covid-19 vaccine this year, nearly doubling the number of shots secured from the US biotech firm for 2021”

https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2021/0217/1197660-eu-vaccine-latest/

Were we not meant to receive that amount anyways before the new moderna deal?

I don’t know. It looks like they’ve secured it now anyway.

Any idea when is M Martin announcement on lockdown lifting or extension?

This feels like the longest lockdown yet.

Any idea when is M Martin announcement on lockdown lifting or extension?

This feels like the longest lockdown yet.

Think it’s Tuesday

No it’s Monday 22nd.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

Why does the Daily mail have a Lock Down counter saying

"LOCKDOWN: DAY 332"

The uk has not been in lockdown for the last year???? Has it not been more or less doing lockdowns like us every few months?:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Gestureapo

Why does the Daily mail have a Lock Down counter saying

"LOCKDOWN: DAY 332"

The uk has not been in lockdown for the last year???? Has it not been more or less doing lockdowns like us every few months?:confused::confused:

Do you have to ask that question?

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

Gestureapo wrote: »
    Do you have to ask that question?

I didnt realise they had been in a constant tier 5 level lockdown since March 2020 I thought they were on Lockdown 3 like us in Ireland

It's the daily mail

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

I think the clue is in the omission of the lockdown restriction level.

mcsean2163 wrote: »
    I think the clue is in the omission of the lockdown restriction level.

Yeah that’s the DM schtick. Whip up anger about something or other without much regard for the facts or the nuances of the situation. And you can see how predisposed some people are it anger. If you tell those people they’re right and don’t give much detail, they can easily ye whipped up to support or oppose whatever you want.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

Yeah that’s the DM schtick. Whip up anger about something or other without much regard for the facts or the nuances of the situation. And you can see how predisposed some people are it anger. If you tell those people they’re right and don’t give much detail, they can easily ye whipped up to support or oppose whatever you want.

It's just s controversial headline and l expect to musicians etc. it's not wide of the mark.

mcsean2163 wrote: »
    It's just s controversial headline and l expect to musicians etc. it's not wide of the mark.

In fairness alcohol only pubs in Dublin, nightclubs, concerts, fans in stadiums, 332 days lockdown sounds about right.

Unfortunately

• Registered Users Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

In fairness alcohol only pubs in Dublin, nightclubs, concerts, fans in stadiums, 332 days lockdown sounds about right.

Unfortunately

Dublin is not in the UK.

Dunno is the daily mail comments section representative

People seem to be going nuts over there against restrictions

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

gansi wrote: »
    No it’s Monday 22nd.

Anyone want to bet that'll it'll be pushed out to next Thursday or Friday instead?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Klonker wrote: »
    Anyone want to bet that'll it'll be pushed out to next Thursday or Friday instead?

It'll be pushed back to the 31st of February.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,587 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Unfortunately

No it doesn't. Lockdown indicates a restriction of movement within a country not the closure of some venues.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

Dublin is not in the UK.

And yet the same lockdown :pac:

I agree with you, as the youngest population in EU we should have constructed our lockdown differently, much differently.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭Allinall

It'll be pushed back to the 31st of February.

Yep.

I also saw on WhatsApp that they have saved up 9,367 cases to announce on the day as well.

No haircuts until 2022 at the earliest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Monday felt like a very positive day with the great vaccine data news from the UK and Israel, weather improved a lot and the news of J&J’s one shot dose looking for approval in the EU.

You have to hand to our government, media and the various ‘experts’, they really know how to dampen any semblance of promise and spread their fear and misery without question. Donnelly himself is now hand picking who is allowed into press conferences. Can’t have any rogue reporter asking questions people want answered.

Other nations talk about opening up, we have our lot looking for reasons not to.

What a depressing a sh1tshow.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I ll never forget Irish govt paying part time workers 350 euro PUP March 2020 > June 2020, when those very same part time workers earned more like 150 euros pre covid.

What a bunch of idiots. And these people make decisions that direct our future....

My partner works in the public service and its often not as simple as it seems.
    These moneys had to go out fast and means testing of any sort takes time and structures. It also is often more expensive than just handing out a bit too much.

Would y need means testing, wouldn't payslips do

The extra money has been a disaster for many in terms of idleness and drug/alcohol misuse

But surely social welfare has some sort of link to Revenue where its extremely easy to determine if individual has a part time job or a full time job.

If they had a full time job give them 350 euros per week.

if they had a part time job give them 200 - 250 euros per week.

No need to go into means testing or any of that... just common sense. Like people who worked 10 hours a week were getting 350 eurs PUP for 3 months. People who worked 40 hours a week were also getting 350 euros PUP. Lol

Lundstram wrote: »
    Monday felt like a very positive day with the great vaccine data news from the UK and Israel, weather improved a lot and the news of J&J’s one shot dose looking for approval in the EU.

You have to hand to our government, media and the various ‘experts’, they really know how to dampen any semblance of promise and spread their fear and misery without question. Donnelly himself is now hand picking who is allowed into press conferences. Can’t have any rogue reporter asking questions people want answered.

Other nations talk about opening up, we have our lot looking for reasons not to.

What a depressing a sh1tshow.

What has the bad news been? I think the only changes to the news I've see this week has been good news.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

But surely social welfare has some sort of link to Revenue where its extremely easy to determine if individual has a part time job or a full time job.

If they had a full time job give them 350 euros per week.

if they had a part time job give them 200 - 250 euros per week.

No need to go into means testing or any of that... just common sense. Like people who worked 10 hours a week were getting 350 eurs PUP for 3 months. People who worked 40 hours a week were also getting 350 euros PUP. Lol

And if they had a full time job which went just before covid let them eat cake on 203 euros. Even unemployment only matters now if it’s covid related. 350 a week would be an amazing way to live from where I am, a bloody fortune.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭opinionated3

What has the bad news been? I think the only changes to the news I've see this week has been good news.

Maybe the insinuation that 2021 is doing to be pretty much a write off for any holidays, socialising etc.....