Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guinness SIX Nations 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,353 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

That lift on May should be remembered like the Henson on Tait one.

Hogg, Gray, Van DerMerve and Redpath all brilliant today.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,143 ✭✭✭fitz

Brace had done a good job of enforcing offside, and it makes a huge difference to England. There game has been built around linespeed they got from consistently getting away with being offside. They're not the same team without that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,842 ✭✭✭✭bilston

That drop from May might be the game.

He did that quite early on as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Hogg, Gray, Van DerMerve and Redpath all brilliant today.

Redpath.... a1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Scratchly

Clegg wrote: »
    That lift on May should be remembered like the Henson on Tait one.

If I were a more talented man I'd make a chuckle brothers meme carrying him saying to me to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,248 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I'm a bundle of nerves...

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

Jesus is this actually going to happen? Are Scotland actually going to win in Twickenham?

May not with the races, looks like he's already half way to North Korea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

England have been terrible, Scots have been in complete control from minute 1,2pens scored tells the story of a poor game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Morathi

What a story of the game: Russell gets charged down, gathered safely by Hogg.

Farrell, Itoje and Vunipola have been poor. You'd wonder if the lack of top level club rugby is effecting them.

Russell is a moron.

Jaysus Scotland

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Bonkers decision, would be over now otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,488 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Ah here lads, stop trying to lose it

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭MaddChris

Scotland: How not to close out a game.

Absolute moron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,303 ✭✭✭ongarite

That was nearly a disastrous drop goal

Drop goal the right idea - pass was shocking though, gave Russell no chance at a clean kick.

But he nearly handed the game away by trying anyway... feckin hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Oh flower of Scotland...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yay!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,452 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

"What in God's name are they trying to do?" - Alan Quinlan.

Story of the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Hogg given MOTM, Redpath for me, especially on debut.

I hope this is the start of England being found out.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,143 ✭✭✭fitz

DELICIOUS

Scotland win despite Russell's best efforts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,488 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Phew.. well done Scotland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Arduach

Christ Russell, outstanding defence apart, he did everything to lose that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

It's official. Scotland win at Twickenham.

Fair play. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭dubrov

Drop goal the right idea - pass was shocking though, gave Russell no chance at a clean kick.

But he nearly handed the game away by trying anyway... feckin hell.

Completely wrong idea.
    They just had to run down another 30 seconds to close out the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭6o9fv7jpreb180

Should really have won by 15+ points

Clegg wrote: »
    Farrel/, Itoje and Vunipola have been poor. You'd wonder if the lack of top level club rugby is effecting them.

Itoje has been excellent when not giving away penalties. He's put in a huge amount of work but as I've said before - when the rest of the team isn't firing he looks a lot less effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,876 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Well deserved Scotland

I’d say Eddie’s press conference will be full value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,634 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Must say I’m not surprised that England were poor and Scotland put it up to them, I didn’t think Scotland would see it out, but I’m not surprised by the performances.

Tournament nicely opened up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,768 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Liked seeing the ref on more than one occasion remind England that they were borderline offside. Getting away with it for years due to their speed I guess

Mental.

Absolutely thrilled for Scotland!

That is some win for Scotland. Didn't expect England to be great today but thought they'd have enough to beat Scotland.

They'll get better as the tournament progresses but I hope Ireland were paying attention there - you need to rattle England hard and early and ride your luck from there, we can't afford more slow starts against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭swiwi_

That was classic Scotland. Dominate the match but win by a small margin. Would have also been classic to se England win off a Russell error. But how ordinary were England?!

Scotland were FAR better than England...it was close on the scoreboard...but I can't stress enough, that was so one sided...England weren't even close to them.

And yet Finn Russell nearly blew it at the end...

Clegg makes a good point about the Saracens players, that might have played a part in it.

Well done Scotland.

Bring out Eddie Jones :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,239 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Some performance by Scotland. When I heard Matt Williams pre game describing the English team as arguably the greatest they have ever had and as good as the World Cup winning team was thinking Scotland would never have a better chance in Twickenham.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭A-Train

Brilliant from Scots bar Finn Russell doing his best to throw it away.

• Administrators Posts: 54,184 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

That attempted drop at the end on his left peg. Good grief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Russell was unreal poor in attack but Hogg grabbed the game by the bollocks and refused to let go.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

swiwi_ wrote: »
    That was classic Scotland. Dominate the match but win by a small margin. Would have also been classic to se England win off a Russell error. But how ordinary were England?!

England will get better. A lot of players who haven't much gametime since the AIs

England's attacking game was abysmal. It was mostly kick oriented, but with a poor chase and very little chance of regathering. I have to wonder what Jones thinking is there.

When Farrell decided to run it it was usually a pull behind pass, but it was with such an odd motion. Like he was chucking a brick at the next receiver. So, so odd.

awec wrote: »

That's game 'mismanagement' at it's best!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭clsmooth

England had zero attacking threat. Kick and chase and try to win a penalty deep in opposition half. Doesn’t work when you’re not kicking accurately and giving away penalties yourself. I’d like to see how many times England actually kicked today.

awec wrote: »

Peak Russell