Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE Radio 1: The Ryan Tubridy Show

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Incidentally the small local eatery where he had a cry last weekend is owned by the same family who own Domino's Pizza and a few other places around. Hard to believe he never noticed it before as he's been in a few of their other restaurants.

• Everything with Tubridy just happens by chance, by pure coincidence. There’s no commercial agenda, and he never comes across as “obvious”.

• I’m a wimmens who likes de mens so I’d be waking up for different reasons so to speak.

• A crossover Panto of Jack & de Beanstalk meets Humpty Dumpty, maybe. I’ll work on the visual.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Red Fred

From the RTE website:

RTÉ announces star-studded Christmas schedule

. . . And Toy Show hero Adam King fronts his own new animated series on RTÉjr, featuring the voice of Ryan Tubridy as Santa Claus . .

Is there no end to The Toyman's talents?

• Subsidised to de tune of €900K and $elling out fast!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭KevRossi

That's another few bob in the coffers, or more likely he'll get a few more days off to 'recharge' once he leaves that performance 'on the floor'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

just to make it somewhat palatable, the tubridy family only have one option, send mcsavage on a mission to find his cousin and mentor in the amazon

I've actually reconsidered this idea since, TBH. It would be too harsh...

on the cannibals :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Someone send the man an advent calendar FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Grade A Dort accent on now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭avfc1874

First half hour. Begging for advent calendar.. not cheap ones. 😏

Remind everyone that he's the toyman😤

And sprinkles of goodness kindness and good eggs 🧐

And a Liverpool track suit . He made sure to say the age of the child so that he would be sent the right size.. 🙄 can't be spending your own money huberdy

Preview of Monday's show:

"Several Irish companies have sent me in gorgeous advent calendars with delicious local products. How kind! Wasn't expecting that at all!"

It is clear a segment of the listening audience lap all this up. And since the COVID this agreeble gullible segment has grown due to diminished choice of other activities.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Freebies list since 23 September 2020

Freebie Request List:

Trip to Iceland

Quiet Coffee Maker

Knife sharpener

Turntable Mat (received amongst other record player accessories)

Original Copy (and artwork) of Band Aid - Do They Know It's Christmas single (received in return for Arnotts Gift Card)

World’s Biggest Selection Box (as seen in a child’s hands)

Slippers

Book about Frederick Douglass (Hamilton musical related). Specifically stated he didn’t want freebie.

Advent Calander

Freebie Received List:

Free Unknown volume of books

Free Bespoke jewellery x 2

Free Essential oils for mask

Free Buns from Bewleys

Free Trip on the Irish Navy ship

Free 8 Glasses cases

Free Accessories for vinyl record player

Free Flowers

Free Yop, Fruit of the Forest and Yakult

Free Holland and Barrett supply

Free Calm App

Free Scents of Ireland commercial air diffuser and scents

Free Epicurean Delights (i.e. Grub)

Free Watercolour

Free Candles

Free Book about Elvis' comeback in 68

Free Waterford Famine Buke

Free Pints

Free Sweets from Shandons

Free Loose leaf tea

Free Bread knives

Free Candles possibly wickless candles

Free Teapot

Free Vinyl record (Beatles/McCartney)

Free Tea brack

Free Cards

Free More cards (rejected - Catholics need not apply)

Free Halloween masks

Free Cufflinks (monogrammed for Tubridy, of course)

Free Fudge

Free Southern Star newspaper

Free Opinion magazine

Free Print from book (gorgeous, apparently)

Free Crisps and Earplugs

Free Greetings cards

Free Beatles book

Free Bottle with fairy lights

Free Hot Chocolate Bomb

Free Personalised Christmas Stocking

Free Novelty Mug

Free Handmade Scarf (moss green in colour, and long)

Free multiple handmade Christmas Cards

Free John Banville Book (delivered personally to him while shopping)

Free Barack Obama autobiography (extremely large and heavy)

Free box of Lindt chocolates (only 8 in box, Tubs not happy)

Free Face mask from Chester Beatty

Free Books

Free Paul McCartney poster

Free Aerial photography coffee table book

Free Christmas jumper

Free Waterford Festive Star (a magazine)

Free Holly Bough (a Cork annual)

Free Santa Beard Face Mask

Free Chocolates from Bean & Goose (called out paucity of Lindt in their freebie, again)

Free Art from Trish Taylor Thompson (something visual)

Free Books (from “listener” doing her Marie Kondo clearout)

Free Shandon Sweets, again

Free invite to chess convention

Free Lighthouse Book

Free chess lessons

Free Book (Elf Isolation)

Free crate of Club Orange

Free Bag of Marbles, (but no "steelies", much to Tubs' chagrin)

Free Ireland's Own Annual

Free Band Aid vinyl single, with beautiful artwork (Tubridy checked artwork was included, before accepting it).

Free Paul McCartney - Back in the CCCP vinyl album.

Free Box of Turf

Free Puffin Christmas Decorations

Free Puffin Christmas Cards

Free Puffin T Shirt

Free Meal in Kilmore Quay

Free Motivational Quote Cards

Free Book (Dauntless Courage)

Free CD

Free Personal Guided Tour of St Patrick's Cathedral.

Free Hand crafted Gin

Free Crystal Glasses set

Free Cocktails

Free Craft Beer Selection

Free Visit to brewery

Free "County Mayo in a Jar" x 2 (Wool, Shells, etc)

Free Vintage 1955 Comic (original copy)

Free Personalised Water bottle

Free White Vinyl Christmas record

Free Handmade Cards

Free Magazine about schools during Covid

Free Donegal Calendar

Free Bird Calendar (includes Puffin)

Free Fry’s Chocolate Bars – 4 pack - (Passed over to Mater Tubridy)

Free Patricia Gibney Book

Free Terry Reilly book – Ballina People

Free signed Rick Stein in France book

Free American edition of Liz Nugent Book

Free Frederick Douglass book (as asked for earlier this week, but no mention of payment).

Free Sanatorium (Abi Palmer) book

Free Robert Harris Book V2

Free Coffee Beans

Free Grand Canal to Dodder Book

Free Murder Mutiny and the Muglins Book

Free Smart Cooking Books – both editions.

Free Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan book.

Free Sherlock Holmes walking stick

Free Jenny Wren S’mores kit

Free chocolate bunny

Free tour of St patricks cathedral

Free walking tour of Dublin

Free currach trip on the liffey.

Free gift bag from St Patrick's

Free tour of Rowntree's factory

Free stay in Kerry Hotel

Free bog Oak tea light holder

Free Hand made muppet toy

Irish country magazine and pen

Braile book

New York magazine (succession edition)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,384 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

This might already be included on your list but free lunch in a cafe, with his daughter, as mentioned upthread.. it made him cry, apparently...🙄

https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/people/arid-40755900.html

Good catch, will add it for the next time I post it (I don't want to spam the thread with a long list)

Fair play on documenting that @PieOhMy . It's scandalous, especially the stuff that was very explicitly requested on air.

For the record, the free lunch was had the day after the toy show in Casper&Giumbini's in Dun Laoghaire.

I think I might remove the Iceland trip as a request. We can all read between the lines and realise what he was doing there but as it literally wasn't actually requested i don't want it to detract from the evident gross unprofessional behaviour of the rest of the list.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,384 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

It's trojan work on your part, compiling that, well done.

It's actually disgraceful when you see it all documented in black and white.

not much on this morning

dyslexia followup and gorgeous brass music this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Here it comes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

... And there it is!

Jesus, can't they do good news stories?!! It seems every show has to have some doom, dread or sadness!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

He's sick.

After over 24 hours the joke clicked and I laughed , been a mad weekend 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

And no wonder Tubs listenership figures are falling.

This type of stuff isn't what the public want to listen to. Non stop death and misery, when everyone needs more positive entertainment and stories.

The caller was very likeable but as usual he gave no indication about why the interview was happening. She just appeared on the line with little to no introduction. The listener is left to guess what the point of the conversation is. Is it about immigration to Ireland? Is it a random segment where anything could have happened to the caller? Or is he just going through the motions before he can get to the bit about death?

I'm guessing he doesn't give context because he knows he is a misery merchant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

Good morning

How's it going? Chilly enough still out there.

RTE’s heavy hitters Ryan Tubridy, Joe Duffy, Claire Byrne, and Ray D’Arcy all suffered huge losses in radio listeners this year, whilst Miriam O’Callaghan continues to come out on top [...] RTE’s top earner Ryan Tubridy’s morning show recorded 359,000 listeners, a drop of 22,000 from last November’s figures of 381,000 listeners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Ah ffs tubs going to be interviewing Charlie bird on LLS.

Is there anyone who could make you feel worse about anything or ask any morbid questions then tubs 🤦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Does anyone watch the LLS anymore? Seriously. Apart from annual Toyman Tubridy show, I haven't seen it on in our house for a decade and more.

More cancer.

The Ryan Tubridy Show is pretty much a show about tragedies and sick people. That's what it is. They should just advertise it as that.

Phone call from a lady who is undergoing chemotherapy. No context. Just that she is sadly unwell at the moment.

"What are you getting treatment for"

"Is the chemotherapy working for you"

"Were you working up untill the cancer came into your life"

"Is it hard work being positive"

"Do you have children"

"Stormy weather in your life."

"Was the storm where you were"

"I'm still laughing at you in the hospital trying to ring a radio show"

"What's your day today, what will you do, how much can you do at the moment"

"What do you like to do"

"What do you like to watch on TV to relax"

"When you are in a certain frame of mind"

Then some texts from listeners apparently.

This guy is an absolute shyster. Scam artist and a creep. Absolutly no effort put into today at all. Production team just as guilty. They accept a wage for ripping people off like this.

I gave up on the LLS shortly after Tubridy took over. He is so tense and uneasy, not to mention unempathetic.

Cue cards cue cards. Other tv show host use then, e.g Graham Norton, but in a natural way, to prompt, not like as if they hold the secrets of the universe, the way Tubridy relies on them.

One example sticks in my mind. Dolores Keane telling him that she had got the all clear from cancer. Anyone, with the remotest shred of cop on or normal human nature would have said that is absolutely brilliant. Or something to reflect what a guest has just said, in this case, something that was really great news. Nope, cue card and onto next question. 🙄

I tried occasionally if I saw there was a guest that I liked, but it's no use. The only way an interview appears good is, if the guest is a good speaker anyway, they manage to talk over him, and he sometimes gets credit for that particular interview going well.

It baffles me that this guy commands the salary that he does. Would he walk away if it was reduced to reflect the work he does... 🤔<sarcasm alert>

He's going to do a clear out of his attic. Hopefully when he opens the door he'll be crushed by an avalanche of freebies from years gone by.

A text from a "listener" whose daughter is "dredding going back into 5th year". Its December.

There is as much effort put into the fake texts / emails as is put into programme - basically no effort at all.

I have such a great image of that in my head now 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭phonypony

It's the skeletons in the closet I'd be clearing out

I can't even be arsed doing a LLS thread today-I'm just done with this bollix.

one effect of the toyshow is it distracts the hosts attention to the shows preceding and following and leads to very lazy shows

Headlines will read

ToyMan smothered under rare vinyls and expired Irish chocolate avalanche.

Postmortem reveals multiple scented-candle related fractures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭hawley

Revolut is refusing to say whether it has reported its Late Late Toy Show outage to the Central Bank, which is considering its application for authorisation as an e-money provider.

Something very fishy about this episode. They're lobbying the government to get a licence to effectively operate as a bank here, and at the same time their co-owner decides to donate over $1million to Toy Show appeal. Unfortunately it looks like a very cynical move from him. Hopefully Tubridy will clarify things.

Think they've given up on one aspect of that in Ireland after getting approved in Lithuania

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Isn't it great how some agents are able to put a positive spin on a bad news day?

He's the 2nd best of a bad lot.