Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE Radio 1: The Ryan Tubridy Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Don’t forget lashings of lemonade and popcorn…….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

He'll be telling us next he has a freezer full of roadkill collected on his little walkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,429 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's good to see that Ryan has prompted the increased use of "delicious" as an adjective not confined to food and drink. Those who did not realise that should thank him for his service.

giving pleasure or contentment to the mind or senses

• delicious breeze gave us welcome relief from the tropical heat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,714 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Is Joanne McNally the world’s unfunniest comedian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭avfc1874

I dare you to say to your other half after you get a bit of luvin 🤪😜😝

That was delicious.

See what they say 👍

I had a quick look on YouTube. And wow ,!!!!!!

Not a good wow , a wow how the fcuk are you getting away with this 🤔I think she's on tonight with king of comedy. Jason Byrne 😏😒🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,048 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I don’t like her “comedy”, but to be fair to her she’s not even the unfunniest comedian in Ireland. She has some very stiff competition on that front. Spittle and McGuire have already been mentioned, and you can add Jason Byrne to that list; but all I’ll say is you’ve never heard Funny Friday on Liveline if you think she is the worst. I had a flexible cystoscopy (google it if you don’t know what it is) last year that was 100 times funnier and more enjoyable than 3 minutes of Funny Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

A beautiful late late tonight....

Could it be anything but? Well apart from delicious I suppose.

Tubs like to mock bald people as we know from TLLS.

Accents again, followed by loud and delicious guffawing at his own hilarious mimicry. Top class entertainment this.

Another freebie for the list - ADVANCE SCREENING of Elvis movie, which isn’t out until June.

Self-aware as always, he then says “if you haven’t seen it, go and watch it”. Not everyone has access to free advanced screenings Bryan.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Will post this every now and then rather than every time as I think it clogs up the thread.

Freebies list since 23 September 2020:

Free Unknown volume of books

Free Bespoke jewellery x 2

Free Essential oils for mask

Free Buns from Bewleys

Free Trip on the Irish Navy ship

Free 8 Glasses cases

Free Accessories for vinyl record player

Free Flowers

Free Yop, Fruit of the Forest and Yakult

Free Holland and Barrett supply

Free Calm App

Free Scents of Ireland commercial air diffuser and scents

Free Epicurean Delights (i.e. Grub)

Free Watercolour

Free Candles

Free Book about Elvis' comeback in 68

Free Waterford Famine Buke

Free Pints

Free Sweets from Shandons

Free Loose leaf tea

Free Bread knives

Free Candles possibly wickless candles

Free Teapot

Free Vinyl record (Beatles/McCartney)

Free Tea brack

Free Cards

Free More cards (rejected - Catholics need not apply)

Free Halloween masks

Free Cufflinks (monogrammed for Tubridy, of course)

Free Fudge

Free Southern Star newspaper

Free Opinion magazine

Free Print from book (gorgeous, apparently)

Free Crisps and Earplugs

Free Greetings cards

Free Beatles book

Free Bottle with fairy lights

Free Hot Chocolate Bomb

Free Personalised Christmas Stocking

Free Novelty Mug

Free Handmade Scarf (moss green in colour, and long)

Free multiple handmade Christmas Cards

Free John Banville Book (delivered personally to him while shopping)

Free Barack Obama autobiography (extremely large and heavy)

Free box of Lindt chocolates (only 8 in box, Tubs not happy)

Free Face mask from Chester Beatty

Free Books

Free Paul McCartney poster

Free Aerial photography coffee table book

Free Christmas jumper

Free Waterford Festive Star (a magazine)

Free Holly Bough (a Cork annual)

Free Santa Beard Face Mask

Free Chocolates from Bean & Goose (called out paucity of Lindt in their freebie, again)

Free Art from Trish Taylor Thompson (something visual)

Free Books (from “listener” doing her Marie Kondo clearout)

Free Shandon Sweets, again

Free invite to chess convention

Free Lighthouse Book

Free chess lessons

Free Book (Elf Isolation)

Free crate of Club Orange

Free Bag of Marbles, (but no "steelies", much to Tubs' chagrin)

Free Ireland's Own Annual

Free Band Aid vinyl single, with beautiful artwork (Tubridy checked artwork was included, before accepting it).

Free Paul McCartney - Back in the CCCP vinyl album.

Free Box of Turf

Free Puffin Christmas Decorations

Free Puffin Christmas Cards

Free Puffin T Shirt

Free Meal in Kilmore Quay

Free Motivational Quote Cards

Free Book (Dauntless Courage)

Free CD

Free Personal Guided Tour of St Patrick's Cathedral.

Free Hand crafted Gin

Free Crystal Glasses set

Free Cocktails

Free Craft Beer Selection

Free Visit to brewery

Free "County Mayo in a Jar" x 2 (Wool, Shells, etc)

Free Vintage 1955 Comic (original copy)

Free Personalised Water bottle

Free White Vinyl Christmas record

Free Handmade Cards

Free Magazine about schools during Covid

Free Donegal Calendar

Free Bird Calendar (includes Puffin)

Free Fry’s Chocolate Bars – 4 pack - (Passed over to Mater Tubridy)

Free Patricia Gibney Book

Free Terry Reilly book – Ballina People

Free signed Rick Stein in France book

Free American edition of Liz Nugent Book

Free Frederick Douglass book (as asked for earlier this week, but no mention of payment).

Free Sanatorium (Abi Palmer) book

Free Robert Harris Book V2

Free Coffee Beans

Free Grand Canal to Dodder Book

Free Murder Mutiny and the Muglins Book

Free Smart Cooking Books – both editions.

Free Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan book.

Free Sherlock Holmes walking stick

Free Jenny Wren S’mores kit

Free chocolate bunny

Free tour of St patricks cathedral

Free walking tour of Dublin

Free currach trip on the liffey.

Free gift bag from St Patrick's

Free tour of Rowntree's factory

Free stay in Kerry Hotel

Free bog Oak tea light holder

Free Hand made muppet toy

Irish country magazine and pen

Braile book

New York magazine (succession edition)

Free lunch post toy show

Free preview copies of books

Private Screening of Belfast "for work reasons"

Hand carved walking stick

Free daffodils

Braille keyring / Patrick and the president

Advance screening of Elvis movie

All this is missing is an appearance from Joe Beasley and Cheeky Monkey.

If RTÉ was a person it would be the Tinder Swindler.

That's a very impressive list. I don't understand the concept of clogging up the thread. It's just a post among thousands of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭amlinopta

I think he listed well known golfer Elena Maguire during his Late Late promo at the top of the show. Must be Leona's sister.

Sport is not Bryan’s forte so to speak; blagging is more his thing (as you can see from the list).

Tubs favourite person in the world ,?

Someone who blows smoke up his hole, and maybe has a death or illness story 👏👏 and will pander to his false sympathy and stupid false laughing.

Cool, was just thinking it may annoy people to scroll down past a long list when the only new additions would be at the bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I'm not going to google anything like that, since I (stupidly) googled the words "anal bleaching" which had appeared in a totally innocuous thread on this very website. I wasn't the better for it!

I actually think that the posting of this outrageously long list is a public service. What is annoying is the brass neck behind the obtaining of so many freebies. Disgraceful.

No I think the list is very important tbh. It shows not only how he abuses his position, but also his complete lack of self-awareness by then telling us all about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Fair play for keeping the list going. It's mad to see how much he milks it.

What's with his need to keep mentioning the gifts he receives? Even if you disregard the books because apparently it's part of his job as a (very poor) reviewer, what about the rest of the stuff? There's no point in mentioning most of it from a content perspective - he'll just say something like "I got a gift of some lovely flowers yesterday" and then moves on.

Is he incapable of receiving a gift and not letting the whole country know? It's like he wants to let the people know that gift-giving is the thing to do in his presence - as if he were an eccentric royal rambling from shop to shop collecting his dues from the fawning peasants.

I don't know of any other person who carries on like that. It's really strange.

Ahh lads in fairness we'd all be doing a bit of begging and such If we were only trousering half a million

In my opinion he mentions them as its most of the time a quid pro quo situation. He gets something for free and the business gets advertising for the cost a free product. The loosers here are rte, an entity struggling badly financially, the tax payer who funds it, and other businesses that Ryan doesn't encounter in his Dublin bubble.

Mentioning when he gets free things/services from members of the public I think is combination of politeness and also yes, establishing that it is common practice for him to to have his dinner / lunch paid for by the public.

Mentioning things he would like / places he would like to visit I think is basically soliciting and requesting freebies when it comes down to it. It gets played off as 'riffing' but I think we all know what he's really up to and frankly it's disgusting.

It's hard to know how much to blame Ryan is though. Like he is a product of his environment as much as anyone else and his environment is one of privilege and idleness. Im not sure if he fully understands how inappropriate his grifting is as it's probably something he has seen his entire life and so assumes it to be appropriate and normal. I mean this is a man who asked a woman with several children with special needs where she goes for lunch. I don't think he asked this out of meanness. I genuinely think that was a revealing moment that showed how detached from the reality of life he is. This combined with how unnatural and with so much faux empty he tried to show with misery segment guests makes me think that he is just absolutely tone deaf and not really capable of understanding some things.

Either that and he knows well how it looks and couldn't give a fiddlers elbow.

I think it said alot about tubs when he said even before covid (the thing) , that when ever he shook anyone's hand that he would sanitise his hands after.

Probably in front of them🤚

Think the ole mask slipped there 🤔

Post edited by avfc1874 on

Well to be fair, he would have to be careful. He doesn't look the healthiest of guys. 6ft 2 and weighs about 9 stone. Good flu could take him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭hawley

I stand corrected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i saw The French Dispatch of the Liberty, Kansas Evening Sun last night and thought to myself this is the exact kind of movie tubs would love to yak on about being beautiful and delicious yet at the same time is aimed right over his head

Wind should be a subject you’d be an expert on Bryan.

Even more banal riffin’ than usual this morning it seems.

Once again a surprisingly well-written, articulate, and detailed letter/email from a member of staff, I mean member of the public…..

So much of the content of this show is either fake, contrived, or inherently false. I would bet my one good testicle that email/letter is 100% fake.

• Virtue Virtue Virtue Virtue

Signal your Virtue with Ryan

"Oh this is a sad one" with an audible sense of glee in Ryan's voice.

Who is writing an email to Ryan Tubridys radio show on a Friday night?

Tubs responses to and suggestions for the teenage disco topic make him sound much much older than he normally does, and that’s saying something.

• Yes, a presently active alcoholic will generally never be that upfront and composed in the thought for their family members. It’s only during recovery they can allow themselves express such regrets. So I say it’s fake, it’s expression & composure is not that of somebody with a drink problem the extent of which would be obvious or known to other parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Jeju

Maybe the alcoholic had recovered by the end of the evening

Tubs flooded with emails about “Teenage Discos”. Sure Bryan. Sure.

Bryan the self-proclaimed political animal seems to know SFA about Russia….

Bryan links parents foregoing food to feed their children to the rising costs in Room To Improve.

Yes Bryan, a family struggling to feed themselves and a family faced with additional costs on a tens of thousands of euro extension/renovation is exactly the same thing. Such a man of the people.

Instagram is “a nice old place to be”, but all other social media is nasty.