Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is 2021 a write off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭bunnyboxer

Well that was the point I was trying to get across.

Anyway: I'm heading offline so won't be about to reply again, but wanted to post this to say fair play to you. I may disagree with your stance (generally speaking), but you're at least able to argue your point like an adult (a rarity) and made some sense along the way. Didn't immediately retort with insults or such. Good on you.

I wish you the best :)

Are you unemployed? Because your views are coming across as someone who is quite frankly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,048 ✭✭✭patnor1011

aido79 wrote: »
    I'm not going down that New World Order rabbit hole. This isn't a conspiracy theory thread.

I don't think there's anything wrong with taking a bit of extra vitamin D. Taking too much vitamin D is actually quite dangerous so maybe that's why it's not recommended.

Invermectin hasn't been proven effective as far as I know but I'm open to correction.

Maybe have a look at the measures taken by the Chinese during lockdowns and you will see just how soft Irish lockdowns are. You realise they sealed the doors of people's homes? Can you imagine if the government tried that here?

I am not talking about conspiracy here what I am saying is that every government is corrupted. That is a fact. We have our own government protecting landlords and failed private banks and we all pay for that.
    NWO or great reset or whatever is fancy now I do not care about these things as they are unworkable fantasies. Same as socialism or communism.

I personally take 10k IU of D daily for about 3 years now. Same my wife and kids. Simply because it is hard to get it naturally. We go through about 40 kilograms of oranges a week for juice. Before we used to get all of it - cold, flu etc and quite a few times a year but last few years were walk in the park. Covid was nothing, 3 days of sleep for me about a week for wife.

As for Chinese version it happened in few regions only and they had a lot of army personnel ferried to affected counties. We do not have the manpower to even try that. At no stage there was restrictions or lockdown put on the whole country as it is happening here.

patnor1011 wrote: »
    I am not talking about conspiracy here what I am saying is that every government is corrupted. That is a fact. We have our own government protecting landlords and failed private banks and we all pay for that.
    NWO or great reset or whatever is fancy now I do not care about these things as they are unworkable fantasies. Same as socialism or communism.

I personally take 10k IU of D daily for about 3 years now. Same my wife and kids. Simply because it is hard to get it naturally. We go through about 40 kilograms of oranges a week for juice. Before we used to get all of it - cold, flu etc and quite a few times a year but last few years were walk in the park. Covid was nothing, 3 days of sleep for me about a week for wife.

As for Chinese version it happened in few regions only and they had a lot of army personnel ferried to affected counties. We do not have the manpower to even try that. At no stage there was restrictions or lockdown put on the whole country as it is happening here.

Our governemnt protecing landlords. How Exactly? It can take two years to evict someonewho does not pay rent.
    I wouldn't believe anything about China.

Even if we sealed peoples homes like China you have to shut down the airports until there is not a single person in the world with the virus. Never going to happen.

I'm asking you who is finding it hard? Anytime I have heard of hardship it's because people aren't getting their own way.

Everyone I've spoke to (everyone!) has been positive about the situation. You can still do pretty much everything you could do before. I'm struggling to think what has actually changed for the people who are now suffering so much, that has made that happen?

You must lead a very dull and lonely life if you feel you can still do pretty much everything you could do before

Cant visit friends, retail closed, cant go hiking as outside 5km, cant have a few pints, cant go nightclubs, cant go concerts, cant go sports events, cant go gym, cant travel abroad, can visit my granny through a window, working from home(I miss the social aspect of physically been in the office and the craic), can't even go on holidays in Ireland, cant go beach for a walk.

I really think that KKV lad is a troll.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭quokula

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    Go **** yourself [the"epidemiologist". Not you Qiaonasen] People are well beyond tired of these lockdowns NOW. No way will people tolerate it for much longer. If there's no attempt at returning to normality this year there will only be more and more revolts. People will only suffer the loss of their livelihoods for so long.

People were saying that a month ago about how things had better return to normality by Christmas. They did, and look what happened. Yet a month later so many people don't seem to have learned a single thing.

Things will return to normal when returning to normal won't kill thousands of people. I'm hopeful vaccines will get us there in a reasonable timeframe, and before that the advent of warmer weather and brighter days allowing for more outdoor activities, good compliance with the current lockdown bringing community levels back down to a manageable amount, and ever increasing levels of vaccination will get us back to a reasonable place in Summer, where we can have a lot of freedom while keeping sensible rules on social distancing, mask wearing etc, as we did last Summer.

But it should all be 100% based on infection levels in the community and our ability to manage them. Not because some idiots have decided they've had enough and they don't care how many other people they kill just so they can have a selfish pint or whatever.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭franciscanpunk

i think we all learned that Irish people will accept anything, there will no major protests or civil disobedience, if MM tells us all to only leave the house in full PPE will will oblidge, the only time widespread challenging will happen is if it is hitting people in their pockets. As long the govt can afford to pay PUP, not raise taxes and paying piblic sector workers this will continue

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Go **** yourself [the"epidemiologist". Not you Qiaonasen] People are well beyond tired of these lockdowns NOW. No way will people tolerate it for much longer. If there's no attempt at returning to normality this year there will only be more and more revolts. People will only suffer the loss of their livelihoods for so long.

People said that last August, there would be no more lockdowns and there have been two since.

People said last August that more restrictions wouldn’t be tolerated and people would take to the streets. There might have been a few hundred turned out 1 or 2 days, didn’t really get any traction.

People said last August that no way would freedom of movement or travel be restricted but there was flights from GB banned in December/January.

People said a lot of things but it’s all just talk, 2021 is going be much the same as 2020 and they going be saying same sh!t come 2022.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭HBC08

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    People seem to think an 85 years old persons life has the same value as an 18 year old. Sorry but they don't and this time last year no one would have given them a second thought. Now its a tragedy if they die. They are in a nursing home for reason.
    College students missing out on a very special time in their life for a virus that they wouldn't even know they had. They can't get this time back.

A special time in their lives? Id say theyll get over it.
    Thankfully this notion is only represented by the lunatic fringe online and provides cheap entertainment.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I'm not going down that New World Order rabbit hole. This isn't a conspiracy theory thread.

I don't think there's anything wrong with taking a bit of extra vitamin D. Taking too much vitamin D is actually quite dangerous so maybe that's why it's not recommended.

Invermectin hasn't been proven effective as far as I know but I'm open to correction.

Maybe have a look at the measures taken by the Chinese during lockdowns and you will see just how soft Irish lockdowns are. You realise they sealed the doors of people's homes? Can you imagine if the government tried that here?

To believe that the Chinese lockdown was so effective one would have to believe that the infection and deaths figures reported by the Chinese authorities were true.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭uli84

i think we all learned that Irish people will accept anything, there will no major protests or civil disobedience, if MM tells us all to only leave the house in full PPE will will oblidge, the only time widespread challenging will happen is if it is hitting people in their pockets. As long the govt can afford to pay PUP, not raise taxes and paying piblic sector workers this will continue

Absolutely, couldn’t agree more and starting to think not only 2021 will be a write off, reading some ****** begging for more restrictions both terrifies and amazes me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭46 Long

Compliance (and it's half-hearted at best) with the restrictions is really being driven by the media churning out an endless stream of Covid doom and gloom. The penny will drop eventually, hopefully sooner rather than later. What is needed are demonstrations on the scale of the Irish water protests to give FF/FG a serious bloody nose and make them think very, very carefully before subjecting the country to another year of this charade.

If not, economic realities will eventually force our hand and lead to reopening of society. A €20 billion yearly deficit and nearly half a million out of work cannot be sustained.

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Timistry

Always been saying Q3 and still my stance. Its been a PR exercise by the gov so far

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Timistry

I have always said it will Q3 by the time things are open and I stand by it, Response too slow, strategy too slow. science not respected

• Registered Users Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

patnor1011 wrote: »

I agree that healthy eating plays a part...if a person already has a reasonably good immune system. The problem with covid19 is it affects people who have already weakened immune systems worst and no amount of oranges or vitamin D will help them fight covid.

China's response was completely different to Ireland's. It is a massive country where people don't travel all around the country like we do in Ireland. Travelling from county to county or driving from one end of Ireland to the other is nothing in Ireland. This just doesn't happen in China so locking down a whole area is more acceptable.
    It's similar in Western Australian where there hasn't been a community transmissions of covid since April because they closed their borders. Telling the average person from Western Australia that they can't leave Western Australia for a year would be a bit like telling them that they can't go to the moon for a year. Most of them won't care because they weren't going to leave the state anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭firemansam4

At this stage I would not be pinning any of my hopes on the vaccination rollout ending restrictions this year or even next.

Many reports starting to come out now that new mutations could evade vaccine detection.
    Nothing has been confirmed yet, but it certainly does not bode well if this turns out to be the case.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.breakingnews.ie/amp/covid-vaccine/matt-hancock-warns-of-evidence-south-african-variant-could-cut-vaccine-efficacy-1069007.html&ved=2ahUKEwjK6-KJlrTuAhWlTxUIHclRBdEQFjAGegQIBhAB&usg=AOvVaw2r2yBS8sOjX4vKwGVOPJt1

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/01/20/health/coronavirus-variants-immunity.html

We could be looking at another Christmas back in the same situation and maybe many further years of restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭Marty1983

I agree that healthy eating plays a part...if a person already has a reasonably good immune system. The problem with covid19 is it affects people who have already weakened immune systems worst and no amount of oranges or vitamin D will help them fight covid.

China's response was completely different to Ireland's. It is a massive country where people don't travel all around the country like we do in Ireland. Travelling from county to county or driving from one end of Ireland to the other is nothing in Ireland. This just doesn't happen in China so locking down a whole area is more acceptable.
    It's similar in Western Australian where there hasn't been a community transmissions of covid since April because they closed their borders. Telling the average person from Western Australia that they can't leave Western Australia for a year would be a bit like telling them that they can't go to the moon for a year. Most of them won't care because they weren't going to leave the state anyway.

Not exactly!! I lived in WA, going to Bali is a big thing there, its like us going to Lanzarote!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

Marty1983 wrote: »
    Not exactly!! I lived in WA, going to Bali is a big thing there, its like us going to Lanzarote!

I lived there too and still know a lot of people there. Most of them are happy enough to holiday in Western Australia this year and give Bali a miss for a year if it means they can live a normal life. Some have said that only for it's on the news and Facebook they wouldn't even think about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭DulchieLaois

What I find annoying is that the government is effectively placing the whole country under house arrest while not quarantining people who arrive into the country is ridiculous.

The latest blame on the high cases is not the hospitality trade but the UK strain now which occurred from letting people into the country.

A friend of mine got COVID because he’s a paramedic who went to bring an old guy to hospital with COVID because their family member was home from the UK for a week over Xmas and a result, that poor man died and many other people got infected.

Shut down the borders.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

I lived there too and still know a lot of people there. Most of them are happy enough to holiday in Western Australia this year and give Bali a miss for a year if it means they can live a normal life. Some have said that only for it's on the news and Facebook they wouldn't even think about it.

I read that sales of boats, caravans and camper trailers are way up this year obviously the idea of holidaying at home for a few years is pretty good investment.

I’m in NSW and usually holiday either in QLD or NSW anyway as my parents come stay Xmas and January, there’s so many great places on my own doorstep I can just drive to plus my in-laws live on the central coast and FIL has a 21ft cruiser and I have a Waverunner so most weekends is like holidays anyway.

I travel to Europe regularly for work so alway managed to get home at least once or twice a year, I’m not too fussed missing it anyway as it sounds so sh!t at the moment I think its going be like that rest of this year and half of 2022.

My mum just sent me pictures of snow at her house, she getting depressed now hasn’t seen anyone since Xmas and likely in the house to probably April.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭BredonWimsey

mandrake04 wrote: »
    I read that sales of boats, caravans and camper trailers are way up this year obviously the idea of holidaying at home for a few years is pretty good investment.

I’m in NSW and usually holiday either in QLD or NSW anyway as my parents come stay Xmas and January, there’s so many great places on my own doorstep I can just drive to plus my in-laws live on the central coast and FIL has a 21ft cruiser and I have a Waverunner so most weekends is like holidays anyway.

I travel to Europe regularly for work so alway managed to get home at least once or twice a year, I’m not too fussed missing it anyway as it sounds so sh!t at the moment I think its going be like that rest of this year and half of 2022.

My mum just sent me pictures of snow at her house, she getting depressed now hasn’t seen anyone since Xmas and likely in the house to probably April.

you are lucky to be in australia. Ireland at the best of times is a difficult country to be in when you have any sense of adventure or travel bug but we have always been lucky as you can travel other places so easily. now with lockdown - its just cold, damp, rainy, in the cities we live in concrete blocks of despair. The Irish countryside is beautiful I agree but because of such strict lockdowns a person cant even access it. i will always follow the regulations and while i think this current lockdown was neccessary other lockdowns have been needlessly strict like October. i think if we are being told another 6 months of this - i need to leave - go somewhere else where people can have some semblance of a life. Just my 2 cents

mandrake04 wrote: »

also you think this will go into 2022? oh no

What I find annoying is that the government is effectively placing the whole country under house arrest while not quarantining people who arrive into the country is ridiculous.

The latest blame on the high cases is not the hospitality trade but the UK strain now which occurred from letting people into the country.

A friend of mine got COVID because he’s a paramedic who went to bring an old guy to hospital with COVID because their family member was home from the UK for a week over Xmas and a result, that poor man died and many other people got infected.

Shut down the borders.

100% - makes no sense that your own residents are in lockdown and you are not enforcing a mandatory quarantine for incoming transit - have they ever explained properly why this is the case- makes 0 sense

• Registered Users Posts: 12,544 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

GT89 wrote: »
    Very true wouldn't surprise me if Tony H went off on holidays when he went off for a couple of months

Yes, because tending to an ill family member means that you've loads of time for vacation.

Tony H in fairness to him on this one had to take care of a family member. But

Mr Martin now wants to go to the US and meet Biden while he's telling us we have to be in lockdown for another 6 months, that is a case of let them eat cake if i ever saw it.

I'm sure mr biden wont want to be exposed to mr martin's germs

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I'm sure mr biden wont want to be exposed to mr martin's germs

Are you ok? You appear to be tslking to yourself

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Are you ok? You appear to be tslking to yourself

i was adding on to what i said. but are you ok? you seem to be picking that out for no reason. are u bored? mommy wont allow you to play playstation? not my fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

I said it when they cancelled St. Patrick's day that the wannabe dictator would be on a plane to DC in March to meet with Biden.

no solidarity with the people who they are supposed to be representing at all. and then we have someone like Biden who is basically shedding tears on the podium because he is hoping to heal a country that is severely damaged. what Irish politics is missing is a bit of heart and soul and a bit of cop on. instead we have machines who feed words to a paper to placate the masses and then tell us one thing while they do another, because in their minds they can justify it to themselves. their compass is so massively skewed that they will never empatise with their residents as they have no idea what its like to be us. when you are in a position of power -you don't understand what its like to have little of it.