Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is 2021 a write off?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,530 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I don't know all I know is I haven't been out of the house since the last day of freedom before this January lockdown. I stuck by the last two lockdowns also except the last week or two of the first lockdown(can't remember which) and I got so fed up being in the house I decided to bring my dog with me to a park in my local town over the 5kms from my house and was stopped by a right fúcking scumbag of a garda, pure thick head on the cúnt. The way he went on you'd think I was out and about each day of lockdown.

But how was he to know you weren't?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

NIMAN wrote: »
    But how was he to know you weren't?

You're right the guards should assume everyone is the enemy, arrest on site, baton over the head every minute until you produce your papers clarifying your exact whereabouts for the last year.

Only fair in the new normal.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,261 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

I don't know all I know is I haven't been out of the house since the last day of freedom before this January lockdown. I stuck by the last two lockdowns also except the last week or two of the first lockdown(can't remember which) and I got so fed up being in the house I decided to bring my dog with me to a park in my local town over the 5kms from my house and was stopped by a right fúcking scumbag of a garda, pure thick head on the cúnt. The way he went on you'd think I was out and about each day of lockdown.

So do you really think you should get to choose which laws and ordinances you are going abide by and which one's you don't???

You are the one that decided to break the rules, you are the one that is out of order, take responsibility for your actions and stop unload on others.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

It's not. Many schemes are available to those businesses to cover their running costs. I know an owner of a coach company directly who benefits from them.

I had a long reply written out, with real-life examples, but I've just deleted it as I can't be bothered arguing back and forth. I am not sure why - but posters here seem determined to be on the doom and gloom side of things.

Coach companies are excluded from the CRSS scheme.

Loook it up!

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

You're right the guards should assume everyone is the enemy, arrest on site, baton over the head every minute until you produce your papers clarifying your exact whereabouts for the last year.

Only fair in the new normal.

Except....that's not what was said.

patnor1011 wrote: »
    Nothing which comes out of China is true. The fact however is that life there appears to be normal while we are locking whole countries.
    Perhaps the Chinese come to terms that old and sick people are going to die one day anyway and the country cant stay still waiting for what exactly?
    We threw billions of money and decades of research on flu vaccines and can't "manage" it - we only try to guess which strain is going to hit us next year so some posts like we got a vaccine and we will be grand if few months sounds ridiculously funny.

There was footage on RTE yesterday of rescuing miners from some remote mine in Shandong province, China. EVERYONE was wearing masks. Outdoors. In a remote area. If COVID is so under control, why would everyone be wearing masks ? We recently were bombarded with images from Wuhan of huge crowds celebrating Chinese new year maskless.

Personally I think 2021 will be a write off in terms of anything to do with socialising.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

There was footage on RTE yesterday of rescuing miners from some remote mine in Shandong province, China. EVERYONE was wearing masks. Outdoors. In a remote area. If COVID is so under control, why would everyone be wearing masks ? We recently were bombarded with images from Wuhan of huge crowds celebrating Chinese new year maskless.

China is NOT doing well. New lockdowns.

And that's what they can't cover up, so it's a logical guess that it's much worse still.

Coal dust? Also Asians wear masks anyway, Chinese especially.
    Gradius wrote: »
    China is NOT doing well. New lockdowns.

And that's what they can't cover up, so it's a logical guess that it's much worse still.

The virus is low level endemic there. it will be the same here. Its a bit odd to think that other Asian nations can do this but China can't. Anyway it is mid winter over there too. Endemic viruses tend to break out occasionally but not in the manner of a pandemic.

Bad news for the glooomsters today. 1,300 cases, and 7% or so positivity. 2021 is saved. Right now the trend will get us to a few hundred by end Feb, and maybe <100 in March. With vaccination increasing we can start to open up.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Qiaonasen

Guys can we stop talking about China. The whole country is built upon lie upon lie.

Just last week they were building field hospitals but only reported 100 cases.
    https://apnews.com/article/beijing-health-coronavirus-pandemic-wuhan-china-c555525ecdaea032b6d1bc1ec2894513

They have community outbreaks in many cities. One of my colleagues is from Beijing and she went there for Christmas. She was in quarantine for four weeks. Two weeks in a hotel and two weeks at home in her parents apartment where the police installed an alarm on her door to not allow her to leave. Our office in Beijing is closed and everyone is working from home again. Take any Chinese data with a massive spoonful of salt.

China is not a normal country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Bad news for the glooomsters today. 1,300 cases, and 7% or so positivity. 2021 is saved. Right not the trend will get us to a few hundred by end Feb, and maybe <100 in March. With vaccination increasing we can start to open up.

I want to believe we'll start opening up in March [we should. The days will be longer and the weather will start warming up] but never put we can never put it past this cowardly lot to stay in lockdown "just to be safe".

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

More than likely we will be so cautious with our reopenings with it turning into a farce like last summer

This should 100% be the very last full lockdown

• Registered Users Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

PTH2009 wrote: »
    More than likely we will be so cautious with our reopenings with it turning into a farce like last summer

We might even get to a gig this year !

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    We might even get to a gig this year !

Hopefully, sadly won't be outdoor ones like My Chemical Romance or Green Day but Genesis in the 3Arena has been rescheduled to September of this year

Just have to wait and see

Last summer was ok? Christmas was the issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Bad news for the glooomsters today. 1,300 cases, and 7% or so positivity. 2021 is saved. Right now the trend will get us to a few hundred by end Feb, and maybe <100 in March. With vaccination increasing we can start to open up.

What about testing close contacts?

Construction sites
    Schools
    Meat factories

Last summer was ok? Christmas was the issue.

What happened the Hospitality industry last summer was faracial

29th June 2020- All food pubs were permitted to open but you had to buy a meal and had a time limit. Closing times also early

Non food pubs were told 'not yet lads we need a few more weeks to think about it'. Those weeks went on and on until they were finally allowed open from the 21st September. Guess what closed just 2 weeks later

• Registered Users Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Qiaonasen wrote: »
    Guys can we stop talking about China. The whole country is built upon lie upon lie.

Indeed. You only ever see what China wants the rest of the world to see, there's a lot more countries telling porky pies out there or at least massaging figures.

I'd prefer they keep things tight through most of March so we can have a decent spring/summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

What happened the Hospitality industry last summer was faracial

29th June 2020- All food pubs were permitted to open but you had to buy a meal and had a time limit. Closing times also early

Non food pubs were told 'not yet lads we need a few more weeks to think about it'. Those weeks went on and on until they were finally allowed open from the 21st September. Guess what closed just 2 weeks later

I thought it was quite sensible with a lot of outdoor dining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

I'd prefer they keep things tight through most of March so we can have a decent spring/summer.

Come April when the sunshine comes along the Irish will undo this Lockdown all over again

We can't help ourselves with socializing like it's 2019 during a pandemic and it's laughable

Lockdown --> Restrictions lifted --> Irish behave like 8,000 cases in a day never happened --> Lockdown --> Restrictions lifted --> Irish behave like 8,000 cases in a day never happened --> Lockdown ...

Rinse and repeat till we hit 70/80% of the country vaccinated

Think we're in for a misrbile afternoon tomorrow after the cabinet meeting

No way will it be anything positive and we could hear the dreaded news that strong restrictions will be here til July/August

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Come April when the sunshine comes along the Irish will undo this Lockdown all over again

We can't help ourselves with socializing like it's 2019 during a pandemic and it's laughable

Lockdown --> Restrictions lifted --> Irish behave like 8,000 cases in a day never happened --> Lockdown --> Restrictions lifted --> Irish behave like 8,000 cases in a day never happened --> Lockdown ...

Shouldn't see the same spread in the summer though. Obviously the nonsense and dishonest cries of "How are pubs any different" will come but the pubs should be the last thing to re-open.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

If the vulnerable are vaccinated then lockdowns are over.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Indestructable

If the AstraZeneca vaccine isn't approved for the over 65s then 2021 is definitely ****ed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

The Govt needs to take their share of the blame for that behavior. Locking people in their homes for months is going to drive people nuts. Plus not being able to open up for more than few minutes without some Govt talking head talking about another lockdown in a few weeks and you're forcing to go mad trying to get in as much as they can in the few weeks of freedom that our Lord and Saviors are gracing us with.

Qiaonasen wrote: »

Just last week they were building field hospitals but only reported 100 cases.
    https://apnews.com/article/beijing-health-coronavirus-pandemic-wuhan-china-c555525ecdaea032b6d1bc1ec2894513

They have community outbreaks in many cities. One of my colleagues is from Beijing and she went there for Christmas. She was in quarantine for four weeks. Two weeks in a hotel and two weeks at home in her parents apartment where the police installed an alarm on her door to not allow her to leave. Our office in Beijing is closed and everyone is working from home again. Take any Chinese data with a massive spoonful of salt.

its precisely because it has those kind of quarantines that it works for them. And they can build hospitals fast. China has 1 million foreign workers and 1 billion smart phones, information gets out. I've been listening to the "you can't trust China" stuff for a year now, and yet no real evidence from the detractors. There is a new outbreak, but they admit that, and it is contained.

Didn't happen last Summer. This summer the virus, being seasonal, will drop off. The problem is in the autumn, but we should have vaccinated by then.

Gloomsterism is harder to eradicate than the virus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭bunnyboxer

We did pretty well last summer to be fair. 50 cases a day.

Outdoor socializing should be encouraged with the long nights and warm weather. You cant do that in winter.

Wet pubs with beer gardens will definitly be open.