Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is 2021 a write off?

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭BredonWimsey

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Government really giving us plenty to look forward to for 2021

Even if the entire adult population is vaccinated by September they're still on about restrictions for the rest of the year

Good luck to them selling that to people

sounds like we dont have much of a choice

• Registered Users Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Public opinion will definitely be fully against the government if that comes to pass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Public opinion will definitely be fully against the government if that comes to pass

No it won’t unfortunately. Large cohort of the population are so brainwashed by all this that they won’t let go easily. Things are just dreadful at the moment weak political leadership, no opposition, media missing in action and anyone who questions this is labelled a lunatic. Depressing time to be alive being honest. Sense of hopelessness abounds with a lot of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Feisar

No it won’t unfortunately. Large cohort of the population are so brainwashed by all this that they won’t let go easily. Things are just dreadful at the moment weak political leadership, no opposition, media missing in action and anyone who questions this is labelled a lunatic. Depressing time to be alive being honest. Sense of hopelessness abounds with a lot of people.

Jaysus people are gone soft.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Why is New Zealand still used nearly a year into this mess ? New Zealand has advantages we in Ireland don’t have. They are in the arse end of nowhere geographically and can control who comes in or out of their country. We can’t do that to the same degree. And even if we could the DUP are against an all island strategy for stupid ****ing reasons which unless we have both sides of the border in full harmony we can’t do what New Zealand did.

The New Zealand strategy is only as good as their citizens immune response in the long run.

Covid isn’t going away. NZ can’t shut their borders forever.

The vast majority of Covid deaths are with very elderly/sick people who won’t take any kind of vaccine particularly well.

There are uncomfortable conversations that need to be had, people need to wake up and accept the difference between saving and prolonging life and the value of quality of life.

Feisar wrote: »
    Jaysus people are gone soft.

Why? We can’t travel more than 3 miles fron our front door, can’t see friends or family, have to wear a mask on your faces when we go into the odd shop that’s open, all our towns and cities are like ghost towns, we have no sport, no gyms, no cinemas, no restaurants, no bars, no coffee shops, no holidays, no work our kids can’t go to school.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 acork

patnor1011 wrote: »
    There are riots on the way in Netherlands for the third day and night and spreading to more and more cities there. This will spread to more countries and eventually come here too. It happened many times in history. People endure a lot but not endlessly.

Totally agree. The world is turning into a concentration camp, with a difference - POWs have to pay taxes to the guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭titan18

sounds like we dont have much of a choice

If I'm vaccinated and other places in the EU are safe and open, I'll be out of here. I'd imagine lots will too.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Feisar

Why? We can’t travel more than 3 miles fron our front door, can’t see friends or family, have to wear a mask on your faces when we go into the odd shop that’s open, all our towns and cities are like ghost towns, we have no sport, no gyms, no cinemas, no restaurants, no bars, no coffee shops, no holidays, no work our kids can’t go to school.

Compared to other emergencies in the past, world wars, depression, Spanish Flue it's not that bad. Coffee shops not open is hardly major. Once one has three hots and a cot things aren't that bad.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    Compared to other emergencies in the past, world wars, depression, Spanish Flue it's not that bad. Coffee shops not open is hardly major. Once one has three hots and a cot things aren't that bad.

Can’t go to funerals religious services visit sick in hospitals, operations being put off, businesses going to walls, aviation and tourism butchered, ah yeah it’s grand as ya say not a major.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 acork

We will be in level 3 by the summer....for the rest of the year...

I'd say 6 lockdowns this year, and we will be fine by 2026

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

Asked this in the other thread but I'd love to know how we get back to some sort of normality if a vaccinated population doesn't do it. Am I the only one that finds that absolutely baffling and ridiculous?

Is there any journalist willing to ask what the endgame is here exactly, if it isn't the population being vaccinated?

I genuinely cannot understand at that point what excuse there would be for restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I blame the unionists. Covid was made in a lab in London and brought over here to wipe us out.

That's a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Government really giving us plenty to look forward to for 2021

Even if the entire adult population is vaccinated by September they're still on about restrictions for the rest of the year

Good luck to them selling that to people

so when does it 'end' according to them ? because there could always be the dreaded hypothetical super variant they've hyped up umpteen times since the Danish mink farms that never came to pass

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Coybig_ wrote: »
    Asked this in the other thread but I'd love to know how we get back to some sort of normality if a vaccinated population doesn't do it. Am I the only one that finds that absolutely baffling and ridiculous?

Is there any journalist willing to ask what the endgame is here exactly, if it isn't the population being vaccinated?

I genuinely cannot understand at that point what excuse there would be for restrictions.

My personal opinion is this. With the hope of an effective vaccine then keep restrictions tight now for a few more months. Don't let up too early and undo the good work.
    December showed how quickly this can get out of control.
    However restrictions are not sustainable long term, if vaccine doesn't work or resistant strains develop then some other measures will be needed.
    I'm all for strict restrictions now when there is an endgame, but they can't go on for years.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Coybig_ wrote: »

Nope because bad news / sensationalist journalism sells papers and advertising revenue.

Either that or they just don't have the spine to rock the boat. Any journalist that goes against Nphet or Mehole will have to have to be able to take on these bodies.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

acork wrote: »
    I'd say 6 lockdowns this year, and we will be fine by 2026

Just 2 more weeks to flatten the curve. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

The next couple of variants are crucial

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

This whole thing has become a religion to some people.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

2021 will be a complete write of in Ireland. Eu incompetence with Astra approvals has meant it’s about to approve a vaccine that it actually can’t get as Astra have contractual obligations elsewhere in the meantime. ( there are no production issues in Belgium )

Ireland is now shelving mass vaccine centres due to start next week as in excess of 60% shortfall expected in deliveries

Pfizer cant be used for mass vaccines due to handling issues.

Johnson approval months away

All the while the U.K. will full Astra U.K. production is vaccinating at the fastest rate outside Israel and will likely permanently roll back restrictions from March while we look from lockdown in envy

We can’t now complete 70% before spring 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭ElektroToad

As downbeat as the these new measures are, the part I find most galling is the media reports stating that all Opposition parties are saying the restrictions aren't, well, restrictive enough! (e.g. Sinn Fein, Labour, the looney left..)

The damn political class have lost their marbles I think. Is one one saying "hang on, maybe these lockdowns aren't really effective anymore because we've long since exhausted the population and there's no more 'buy-in'?"

Yes listening to Martin last Saturday , he’s a defeated man devoid of ideas

Ireland’s toolbox is bare , only increasing harsh lockdowns are the only idea gov has

Astra vaccine issues mean community vaccine program is in tatters. We have no independent control over vaccine supply. U.K. streaming ahead 4x our rate and has full Astra U.K. production behind it.

( we could beg the U.K. to consider letting us get their vaccine I suppose )

We will watch the U.K. emerge from restrictions from March. WhT then the effect here on mental health as we face continuous lockdown through summer ( cause the B117 will simply prevent us from coming out of lockdown )

Without access to large scale ( for us) vaccines we are literally screwed.

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    Just 2 more weeks to flatten the curve. :rolleyes:

Sadly B117 will never let us out of lockdown and now we have no vaccine supply

Lockdown for 2021 for paddies

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

2025 is the year that was thrown around early days, back in April. No mention of 2025 now, but it is likely to be the reality of it. We either continue to open up and lock down until the herd immunity is met or we sail directly into the storm and hope for the best, whatever that is. Either way we are looking at a few years of hardship, there is no doubt about this whatsoever.

eddie73 wrote: »
    2025 is the year that was thrown around early days, back in April. No mention of 2025 now, but it is likely to be the reality of it. We either continue to open up and lock down until the herd immunity is met or we sail directly into the storm and hope for the best, whatever that is. Either way we are looking at a few years of hardship, there is no doubt about this whatsoever.

I agree the gov is lying to the population. These rolling review dates are lies. There’s no releasing lockdown short of mass vaccination and that’s now at least mid 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

As downbeat as the these new measures are, the part I find most galling is the media reports stating that all Opposition parties are saying the restrictions aren't, well, restrictive enough! (e.g. Sinn Fein, Labour, the looney left..)

The damn political class have lost their marbles I think. Is one one saying "hang on, maybe these lockdowns aren't really effective anymore because we've long since exhausted the population and there's no more 'buy-in'?"

of course they arent restrictive enough, its the win win option. One death is one death too many etc... Politics is a cynical game!

Dont worry, the financial ramification is going to stop this glacial banana republic from locking down forever!

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭Aph2016

A point that hasn't been made nearly enough is how useless the media have been. They completely lack the ability to ask the tough questions, half of them are great pals with the politicians, makes me sick, stand up and be counted.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    of course they arent restrictive enough, its the win win option. One death is one death too many etc... Politics is a cynical game!

Dont worry, the financial ramification is going to stop this glacial banana republic from locking down forever!

Sadly there’s endless free money about , and are you prepared fir a year of 5km lockdowns.

This will have people on the street once they realise you are being lied too and there’s no end in sight.

Aph2016 wrote: »
    A point that hasn't been made nearly enough is how useless the media have been. They completely lack the ability to ask the tough questions, half of them are great pals with the politicians, makes me sick, stand up and be counted.

you have to understand that ireland is a ridiculous conservative and left wing "wont someone think of the children" country. If any media here dared question things, they would be labeled right wing nazis!

BoatMad wrote: »
    Sadly there’s endless free money about , and are you prepared fir a year of 5km lockdowns.

This will have people on the street once they realise you are being lied too and there’s no end in sight.

its the peoples own fault, they only have themselves to blame! If they cant think for themselves and use this amazing thing called the internet! hard to believe rte and the irish government dont censor it!