Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is 2021 a write off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

PTH2009 wrote: »
    I can live with Level 5 for another few weeks if it will be the very very last we ever have to see/be in those restrictions

If we have to watch our European neighbours enjoying their lives with almost everything open and us sitting her twiddling our tumbs with feck all open, ill be very angry

Everywhere else in Europe has realised that you can largely open your society up, like they did, from May until November, when the shiet started to hit the fan in Europe.

Everywhere in Europe will start to do this from March or so, confident that by the time winter 2021 hits what happened this year won't be repeated because the vaccines will be done by then.

For our clowns that would just be too logical.

One thing I am certain of, I am heading to Belfast at the crack of dawn once their pubs invariably open before ours.

In answer to the OP, yes it is

Based on the EU vaccination screwup

• Registered Users Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭HBC08

patnor1011 wrote: »
    Government? Nothing much but people selling masks can gain quite a lot.
    You need to realize that a lot of things government does are influenced by someone else. Sometimes we know who may be behind some things sometimes we will never know.

If this thread or topic came to a discussion at summer 2019 - that all pubs, shops, and other venues will be closed and gardai will be giving out fines to people 2km from their home I can guarantee you that anyone talking about that would be crucified as tinfoil hat-wearing conspiracy nut.

Anyway, it looks like Italians have enough of it. An estimated 50,000 restaurants and pubs opened in protest against lockdowns.
    Police dispatched to deal with granny killers were sent away from pubs by patrons telling them to go away as technically people are their employer paying their wages through taxation.

I always find this line works when dealing with the police.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

PTH2009 wrote: »
    I can live with Level 5 for another few weeks if it will be the very very last we ever have to see/be in those restrictions

Many people would hunker down and bare with it until March if this truly was the last ever lockdown that we'll have to face. Unfortunately the Govt and NPHET have completely eroded away any public confidence. Either by their constant kicking the can down the road and/or complete and total incompetence throughout this whole ordeal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Today's press briefing was much more optimistic

I think by June we'll be in a better place and by October we'll be swimming in vaccines, even with the current EU/AZ shít show

We absolutely need to knock the idea of festivals etc happening this year on the head though

Some realism is needed as well as optimism

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    Many people would hunker and bare with it until March if this truly was the last ever lockdown that we'll have to face. Unfortunately the Govt and NPHET have completely eroded away any public confidence. Either by their constant kicking the can down the road and/or complete and total incompetence throughout this whole ordeal.

January- Donnelly. We will have all vulnerable people vaccinated by June.

Early January- Foley. Schools will definitely be re opening this week

Late December- Darragh O'Brien. Lockdown or no lockdown, building sites will be exempt and will be re opening in January

Early December- Mehole. If there is a lockdown in January, non essential retail will be staying open regardless

Earlier in December- Mehole. We shouldn't assume pubs necessarily will have to close again at the end of the Christmas period

August- Leo proclaims that we will never see another national lockdown. At worst we will see short, regional ones as the need arises.

August- Leo claims we will be opening nightclubs, let alone wet pubs, 48 hours before he knocks the pair of them on the head

Spring 2020- the leaving will go ahead, no matter what

March- Leo. Once we flatten the curve, we will live along side the virus

Did I miss anything there? Probably.

And they wonder why people have no faith in them.

Still lads, Hold Firm. Forever, if needs be.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Late December- Darragh O'Brien. Lockdown or no lockdown, building sites will be exempt and will be re opening in January

Early December- Mehole. If there is a lockdown in January, essential retail will be staying open regardless

Earlier in December- Mehole. We shouldn't assume pubs necessarily will have to close again at the end of the Christmas period

August- Leo proclaims that we will never see another national lockdown. At worst we will see short, regional ones as the need arises.

August- Leo claims we will be opening nightclubs, let alone wet pubs, 48 hours before he knocks the pair of them on the head

https://tenor.com/view/moving-goalpost-argument-football-field-gif-9264828

Early December- Mehole. If there is a lockdown in January, non essential retail will be staying open regardless

You missed Leo in Oct that the lockdown "to save Christmas" would be the last one. We all know how that turned out.

And just recently they claimed that they'll have the entire population vaccinated by September.

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Today's press briefing was much more optimistic

I think by June we'll be in a better place and by October we'll be swimming in vaccines, even with the current EU/AZ shít show

We absolutely need to knock the idea of festivals etc happening this year on the head though

Some realism is needed as well as optimism

Some events with small gatherings need to happen this year if possible. Atleast to give people some hope that we truly are out of this mess of lockdowns.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Not Donnellys fault we have a vaccine shortage. We would have 700k vaccinated if it wasnt for issues outside his control.

Leo's view was the world view last August.

Germany should not have closed shops and hairdressers in the coronavirus lockdown, its health minister has admitted, triggering demands for an inquiry into decisions taken early on in the pandemic.
    He said Germany could avoid a second lockdown because people had “learned in the last months how to protect ourselves”, using masks instead of closing shops and services.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/german-lockdown-was-too-harsh-says-health-minister-1.4344930

Things change with new strains.

Thats why no government is promising an end to restrictions via vaccines.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Many people would hunker and bare with it until March if this truly was the last ever lockdown that we'll have to face. Unfortunately the Govt and NPHET have completely eroded away any public confidence. Either by their constant kicking the can down the road and/or complete and total incompetence throughout this whole ordeal.

I expect covid could disappear overnight and they will come up with reasons to keep us locked up, until the country goes bust !

Holohan would find zero daily cases " very concerning "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭spring lane jack

New strains =new excuses !!

• Registered Users Posts: 38,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

yeah and were worried about ones that don't exist yet or may never exist

'We will be the good little boys and girls who prepared early for this 'Deadly new strain' and help Europe'

• Registered Users Posts: 12,110 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Idbatterim wrote: »

He be concerned that there are undiagnosed cases in the community

I think when the U.K. open up in May the game is up here. People will just go into the north for anything

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I wonder why they are so against the idea of sealing a very obvious gap.. the border.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭spring lane jack

bear1 wrote: »
    I wonder why they are so against the idea of sealing a very obvious gap.. the border.

The people living around the border wouldn't tolerate it and rightly so.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

Maybe because there are at least 220 roads through the border. How do you suggest closing all of them?

Because under no circumstances will Ireland ever take a decision in its own interest that would go against the EU masters. Look at our rental crisis- there could have bene a hole plugged in it when it became an issue 7 years ago if we suspended or at least regulated EU Freedom of Movement until such time as we have a decent amount of affordable rental properties on the market. But we won't, as EU Freedom of Movement is untouchable for EU lapdogs like Harris and Leo.
    The people living around the border wouldn't tolerate it and rightly so.

Legally we can't currently move beyond 5km.

Before Christmas you legally couldn't move between Dublin and Meath.

But the NI border is somehow an issue?

aido79 wrote: »
    Maybe because there are at least 220 roads through the border. How do you suggest closing all of them?

Such a tired argument, that the North has to play ball with us. Only the main roads need to be sealed.

Implement our own restrictions and, even if the North is open, it makes travel too much effort.

Say John from Cork wants to go to Tenerife for two weeks with the family. Our airports are closed, but Belfast is open for business.

Is John really going to drive all the way to Louth, lying his way through several checkpoints on the way (with a car full of kids and luggage), then when he gets to the M1 North of Dundalk he has to get on Google Maps and work out which rural backroad to take, at the same time jumping on the FB of Garda Checkpoints Louth to work out where they are less likely to be. Crossing the border, parking up, flying, and doing the same old shiet again on the way back to Cork. And on his journey up there, running the risk of arrest and losing his flight/ hotel costs he has paid for.

Who the phuck is going to do all of that? Anybody who claims a Southern travel ban can't work without the North playing ball is on drugs.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I expect covid could disappear overnight and they will come up with reasons to keep us locked up, until the country goes bust !

Agreed. They've proven time and again that they're determined to keep these lockdowns going no matter what.

What's your solution? Magic beans?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

Because under no circumstances will Ireland ever take a decision in its own interest that would go against the EU masters. Look at our rental crisis- there could have bene a hole plugged in it when it became an issue 7 years ago if we suspended or at least regulated EU Freedom of Movement until such time as we have a decent amount of affordable rental properties on the market. But we won't, as EU Freedom of Movement is untouchable for EU lapdogs like Harris and Leo.

Did something change or did we not just finish brexit chaos because there cannot be any block between North and south.

Hmmm.. That changed fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

Agreed. They've proven time and again that they're determined to keep these lockdowns going no matter what.

Totally disagree. When cases drop things will start to open up as has happened everywhere. Wont happen soon enough for some but of course it will happen.

We came out of level 5 before so how does that fit into your theory?

Totally disagree. When cases drop things will start to open up as has happened everywhere. Wont happen soon enough for some but of course it will happen.

We came out of level 5 before so how does that fit into your theory?

The week we had a drop of 7k cases they announced the extension of this lockdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭httpete

You're right, it's an incredibly different problem. We would probably have to hire a team of theoretical physicists and applied mathematicians with decades of experience each to figure it out it's that tough.

Its not like we could just put some heavy duty concrete road barriers on 95% of these roads and leave the remaining 5%, which would be monitored by Garda checkpoints, for essential travel. :rolleyes:

Leaving the border fully open pre-Xmas worked out great didn't it, with Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan having the worse infection rates in the country...anyway, the UK are miles ahead of us now with vaccinations so hopefully that means the border will be less of an issue going forward.

http://www.hanlonconcrete.ie/products/light-precast-concrete-products/precast-concrete-road-barriers

Precast-Road-Barriers2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

The week we had a drop of 7k cases they announced the extension of this lockdown.

Why do you think that they did that? We still had over 1000 cases a day. Wales has just extended their lockdown by three weeks and are under 200 cases for the first time in November.

You need to be realistic and look at what we've done before.if you thought we'd open up with over 1000 cases you are seriously out of touch with reality.

Such a tired argument, that the North has to play ball with us. Only the main roads need to be sealed.

Implement our own restrictions and, even if the North is open, it makes travel too much effort.

Say John from Cork wants to go to Tenerife for two weeks with the family. Our airports are closed, but Belfast is open for business.

Is John really going to drive all the way to Louth, lying his way through several checkpoints on the way (with a car full of kids and luggage), then when he gets to the M1 North of Dundalk he has to get on Google Maps and work out which rural backroad to take, at the same time jumping on the FB of Garda Checkpoints Louth to work out where they are less likely to be. Crossing the border, parking up, flying, and doing the same old shiet again on the way back to Cork. And on his journey up there, running the risk of arrest and losing his flight/ hotel costs he has paid for.

Who the phuck is going to do all of that? Anybody who claims a Southern travel ban can't work without the North playing ball is on drugs.

Do you remember when the border counties were put on level 4 when the rest of the country was still on level 3 back in October? That was because cases in the north were alot higher than the Republic and people were crossing the border.

There are towns on the border where you can literally see the nearest town in the North from a town in the Republic. Do you close them off from each and stop people going between them for work or school?

Every person crossing the border with an All island solution is a possibility of bringing the virus in. It's not just John returning from a holiday in Tenerife. If John is coming from Scotland in a lorry he has just as much chance of being a carrier of the virus.

Have you actually ever been anywhere near the border?

httpete wrote: »
    You're right, it's an incredibly different problem. We would probably have to hire a team of theoretical physicists and applied mathematicians with decades of experience each to figure it out it's that tough.

Its not like we could just put some heavy duty concrete road barriers on 95% of these roads and leave the remaining 5%, which would be monitored by Garda checkpoints, for essential travel. :rolleyes:

Leaving the border fully open pre-Xmas worked out great didn't it, with Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan having the worse infection rates in the country...anyway, the UK are miles ahead of us now with vaccinations so hopefully that means the border will be less of an issue going forward.

http://www.hanlonconcrete.ie/products/light-precast-concrete-products/precast-concrete-road-barriers

Precast-Road-Barriers2.jpg

Run that idea past Sinn Fein and see what they think. They might be enlist some volunteers to remove those concrete roadblocks.
    Do you seriously think people along the border would stand for roadblocks after all that's happened along the border in the past?

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭httpete

Run that idea past Sinn Fein and see what they think. They might be enlist some volunteers to remove those concrete roadblocks.
    Do you seriously think people along the border would stand for roadblocks after all that's happened along the border in the past?

Maybe SF have some cop on and are aware we are in the middle of an exceptional pandemic, and that temporary roadblocks are just that..temporary. Just like we had a temporary closure of the border during the foot and mouth crisis and there was no big deal over it. Mary-Lou herself has been calling for the government to take harsher measures on incoming travel and impose mandatory airport quarantine for some time now.

Its not 1985 anymore, and all the political parties in Ireland are very much pro-united Ireland. SF and their supporters would have to be absolutely thick if they viewed temporary road closures as some kind of threat to a future united Ireland. They had the cop on during the foot and mouth crisis to realise it was an exceptional situation, I don't see why things would be any different now.

What's the point in roadblocks? NI will be fully vaccinated by May.

It will be them block us going across the border if anything.