Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman assaulted at knifepoint in Dublin *MOD WARNING ADDED TO OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Immigration is a side issue in crime, we are producing enough of our own scumbags, born and bred in the country.

Where do we deport the gangs of white teenagers all around Clondalkin village to?

Clondalkin Village isn't bad by any stretch of the imagination.

Back to the article linked............ plenty folk getting attacked on various parts of the canals over recent years. This behavious isn't specific to coloured wannabe London gangsta folk in Balbriggan.

Dublin really approaching is a two tiered society ........... unless you are born and bred in an area you need to spend €600k+ to live in a semi decent area and even at that private school might be required as the local school as decent as it might be is likely to have loads of absolute fncking scum in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

bubblypop wrote: »
    And we should have incentives to work for everyone, including our own welfare dependant citizens

The dole should drop the longer you are on it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

Disgraceful to bring up that a poster who routinely declined to provide me with anything bar vauge and sometimes unrelated answers to many questions is saying one of my answers is unsatisfactory , well thats a weird thing for you to find ‘disgraceful’

Don't throw it back to someone else. You brought up the Balkans as if it was an answer to something - it's disgraceful to bring up ethnic cleansing like that, it's cheap and it's obscene. The fact that you made no attempt to defend your "point" in bringing it up other than to throw it back to someone else shows that you have no idea what you're on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

This is Eric's first post, before I ever posted.

There is no mention of race there. You see, it's all a bit ridiculous. If you mention race, you're a racist. If you don't mention race but class it is proclaimed what you really meant was race because you are a racist, or you are 'dog-whistling' because you are racist.

Here is an example:
    wiggle16 wrote: »
    But when Eric et al say that "immigration is a huge problem in this country" they're not talking about the above, they're talking about "letting in" the right "class" of immigrant.

Or put more plainly, the right colour of immigrant.

Or, what they mean is the right class i.e. highly educated regardless of skin colour.

But no, always easy to just throw out the racism card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Don't throw it back to someone else. You brought up the Balkans as if it was an answer to something - it's disgraceful to bring up ethnic cleansing like that, it's cheap and it's obscene. The fact that you made no attempt to defend your "point" in bringing it up other than to throw it back to someone else shows that you have no idea what you're on about.

I have referenced no ethnic cleaning or anything , the poster in question and others know that , stop trying to jump to weird conclusions here in an attempt to have me removed from the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

People who choose to come here illegally do so at their own risk, absolutely. But that's moving the goalposts. People don't hide in lorries and containers for the craic. People aren't getting on dinghies across the Mediterranean because they've always dreamed of handing out deodorant in a nightclub toilet. It's wrong to blame people for trying to get out of the ****holes they came from.

And I have worked with many, many dilligent, hard working non-nationals who did not have the opportunities and advantages most of us have had. You cannot screen people wholesale on their place of origin. I would have thought those sentiments were beneath you, tbh.

I don't think people do blame them. What they blame is the policies in place, lack of enactment of new policies they deem would be better, maybe a lack of enforcement of current policies, a soft approach, and a constant attempt at insinuating racism to shut down discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Well Eric, black people and people from around the world are going to keep coming here as long as we are an economy that is performing well. I can't see an anti-non EU immigration party breaking the status quo any time soon, and if they do the place will probably be heaving with Africans by then anyway!
    So you best get used to it, or start your own political party before it's too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,447 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Please :rolleyes:

Don't know why you're trying to distance yourself from the "sentiment" in your first post. You know what you meant and so did everyone else. Why can't you come out and say it?
    But when Eric et al say that "immigration is a huge problem in this country" they're not talking about the above, they're talking about "letting in" the right "class" of immigrant.

Or put more plainly, the right colour of immigrant.

To be fair to him, I went back and read Eric’s first post in the thread because I didn’t think he was referring to the race of the perpetrators at all. One thing I know about Eric is that he is obsessed with class, not race, and is remarkably consistent in taking advantage of every opportunity to relate everything to class, regardless of race or ethnicity. It’s unfair then for you to suggest that Eric meant race or ethnicity when anyone familiar with his opinions knows well he means class when he specifically refers to a particular class of people he associates with antisocial and criminal behaviour.

I can think of far worse people than Eric who perpetuate negative stereotypes and discrimination against people who are socioeconomically deprived, because nobody takes Eric seriously, whereas someone like Blindboy has made a career for himself among champagne socialists by perpetuating negative stereotypes of people living in socioeconomically deprived areas - setting them up for mockery, ridicule and derision is all part of his act, and he’s celebrated for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭thegetawaycar

It's a joke here now, the guards responded in a matter of minutes and nothing much they can do.
    You see the reaction when they shoot a man with a knife lunging at them, what are they expected to do with the restraints in place.

We've gone soft as a people, scumbag teens are allowed the run of the place and their parents back them if it ever does fall on their doorstep.

We had a few issues like this (although weapons wetre never involved) where I'm from 15 years ago, the locals got together and made a trip up the mountains with 2/3 of the culprits.

There was never an issue again with them. This is what will have to happen in many areas but it's getting to the stage where it may be too late.

If they are in social housing they should immediately be put in an eviction process, if they are family of asylum seekers they should be deported (all of the family) and no matter what, compensation should be taken from the family to pay the victims (straight from revenue, dole, PUP, wages). Scumbags in this country need to be hit in the pocket, it's all they/their families care about.

Except none of this will ever happen.
    What are realistic solutions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Except none of this will ever happen.
    What are realistic solutions?

Why cant some of them happen?

Now I think some of them are extreme, but why cant actions have consequences?

To be fair to him, I went back and read Eric’s first post in the thread because I didn’t think he was referring to the race of the perpetrators at all. One thing I know about Eric is that he is obsessed with class, not race, and is remarkably consistent in taking advantage of every opportunity to relate everything to class, regardless of race or ethnicity. It’s unfair then for you to suggest that Eric meant race or ethnicity when anyone familiar with his opinions knows well he means class when he specifically refers to a particular class of people he associates with antisocial and criminal behaviour.

I can think of far worse people than Eric who perpetuate negative stereotypes and discrimination against people who are socioeconomically deprived, because nobody takes Eric seriously, whereas someone like Blindboy has made a career for himself among champagne socialists by perpetuating negative stereotypes of people living in socioeconomically deprived areas - setting them up for mockery, ridicule and derision is all part of his act, and he’s celebrated for it.

With respect, the above is largely nonsense. You should know full well what he meant by class in this instance and so does he. I think you are interpreting the word "class" far too narrowly - and it can be seen in his other posts that he is not referring to socio-economic class, but to "class" in the sense of classification or taxonomy.

I can think of far worse people than Eric too, but that doesn't mean he can't be called out on his bigotry.

We all know what happens when society starts telling itself "X type of people are all X". Eric is quite fond of this.

Why cant some of them happen?

I suggest you take a look at the Irish political and legal systems if you don't know the answer to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I suggest you take a look at the Irish political and legal systems if you don't know the answer to that.

I agree, on that much. It couldn't happen tomorrow.

But until there are consequences for actions, it'll just continue.

There are no solutions without our current systems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Crocodile Booze

Listen fam them top boys were just fundraising for university medical and engineering text books.
    That shiit don't come cheap blud innit.
    Even the Feds that showed up knew dat.

With respect, the above is largely nonsense. You should know full well what he meant by class in this instance and so does he. I think you are interpreting the word "class" far too narrowly - and it can be seen in his other posts that he is not referring to socio-economic class, but to "class" in the sense of classification or taxonomy.

I can think of far worse people than Eric too, but that doesn't mean he can't be called out on his bigotry.

We all know what happens when society starts telling itself "X type of people are all X". Eric is quite fond of this.

I think youll find that i very much always mean socio economic class and I wont have some sort of voodoo conspiracy about racial classifications added to it. I have also never said ‘x types are all x’ but when a majority prove to be economic detractors, over represent in criminality etc.. I take issue with that.

Ive been very consistent in my issue
    We have our own welfare class - they cause problems, we allowed in people with no skills from non eu countries and that en masse joined the welfare class - leading to more problems, we also have our own travelling community whome are also en masse part of the welfare class.

The welfare class only take from our economy and are responsible for the majority of anti social behaviour and violent crime, a fact that even most lefty academics agree with is universal to every country.

My very consistent point for years has been
    Do not import people who are going to end up on welfare
    Discourage those on welfare from having children
    Rigorous crime enforcement specifically targeting areas with more welfare recipients.

Irelands project for the next 20, 40, 100 years should be to absolutely shrink the welfare class out of existence. Leaving the borders open only grows it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Valresnick

Similar incidents in Raheny since March last year, roaming gangs of teens causing mayhem. Gardaí say they cannot do anything. We can’t make them work, we cannot make them responsible, but we CAN give them full dole and benefits. This system of zero accountability for crime in Ireland is set for monumental failure when it starts to fully roost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,447 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

That’s what I’m saying - I do know that Eric was referring to class, as in how he regards not just the perpetrators in this instance, but in the context of most things like social housing, unmarried mothers, etc, I’d imagine he has a photo of Peter Casey his idol in the vanity mirror of his 4x4 :D

No issue with calling people out on their bigotry, but when their bigotry relates to class, that just denotes them as a snob, and it’s wrong to suggest their bigotry relates to race because you’ve chosen to interpret that as what they really mean because that kind of bigotry is even more socially unacceptable than just mere snobbery.

Valresnick wrote: »
    Similar incidents in Raheny since March last year, roaming gangs of teens causing mayhem. Gardaí say they cannot do anything. We can’t make them work, we cannot make them responsible, but we CAN give them full dole and benefits. This system of zero accountability for crime in Ireland is set for monumental failure when it starts to fully roost.

So teenagers get dole and benefits and are supposed to work?
    I live in Raheny and never saw any of this mayhem. It's like Dublin Live in here ffs.

Yes indeed ! It’s all fine because I didn’t see it. I’ve more if you want but below is a start for you.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/north-dublin-tree-of-life-sculpture-damaged-when-set-alight-in-attack-1.4285559?mode=amp

Yes indeed ! It’s all fine because I didn’t see it. I’ve more if you want be here is a start

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/north-dublin-tree-of-life-sculpture-damaged-when-set-alight-in-attack-1.4285559?mode=amp

I did see that actually. Black kids did this? This is something I should be worried about, kids being kids? My mates and I got up to all sorts as teenagers too, as I'm sure most of us did.

I never said black. I’m talking about teens in general. The title of the thread suggests teens. I don’t care about race or ethnicity. This issue is a total lack of accountability for all teens who engage in anti social behaviour.

I never said black. I’m talking about teens in general. The title of the thread suggests teens. I don’t care about race or ethnicity.

ok, well I can tell you this area is very quiet and rampaging gangs causing mayhem are nothing to worry about.
    Teenagers do stupid sh*t and get up to no good everywhere, I don't know what planet some of you live on.

Burning down sculptures and knifing people is not all sorts sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

Its not teens, its a specific class of teens , living in bad areas and obsessed with the UK top boy / grime gang culture , canada goose jackets, carrying knives, selling drugs

Innit fam

Totally agree. And what's worse again is young teens of dealers. Think they're totally invincible. " Do you know who my dad is?!!??? ".

Burning down sculptures and knifing people is not all sorts sorry.

People are being knifed in Raheny?
    I'm not even sure what we're talking about now, but teenagers were as bad in the 90s when I was one.

ok, well I can tell you this area is very quiet and rampaging gangs causing mayhem are nothing to worry about.
    Teenagers do stupid sh*t and get up to no good everywhere, I don't know what planet some of you live on.

It won’t be an issue until you’re robbed at knifepoint which actually happened to young kids only a few months ago in quiet Raheny.

The knife issue is becoming more prevalent across the city and my point is that if we don’t address it will get worse.

It won’t be an issue until you’re robbed at knifepoint which actually happened to young kids only a few months ago in quiet Raheny.

I was, in about 1996, on O'Connell st. Well they had syringes actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Cordell

I'm not even sure what we're talking about now, but teenagers were as bad in the 90s when I was one.

Knifing people for the craic? Was it that bad back then?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

People who choose to come here illegally do so at their own risk, absolutely. But that's moving the goalposts. People don't hide in lorries and containers for the craic. People aren't getting on dinghies across the Mediterranean because they've always dreamed of handing out deodorant in a nightclub toilet. It's wrong to blame people for trying to get out of the ****holes they came from.
    Ireland is a bit off the map as far as escaping. They come here because it's got one of the most funded social welfare systems on the planet. They came here when the birthright loophole was still open because it was a soft touch. When that was closed that dropped off and many, actually the majority of "asylum seekers" from roughly three or four countries that gained residency here in the past because of that loophole are now refused on the basis that their claims are spurious. Did something magically happen in the interim?

Interesting too how you're quick enough to label their homelands as sh1tholes. Many folks who still live there, or indeed those living here going back on the regular for visits might take issue with that. I hate to break it to you and maybe disturb a sob story Trocaire box image, but Nigeria for example is 20th in the world as far as GDP goes and one of the most resource rich places on earth. I knew a couple of people living and from there. Doing very nicely they were too.

In any event why does the west have to always be the ones touched up for the charity angle? Why have bugger all incredibly rich ME nations not taken on their fair share of Syrians? Jordan is nice and welcome change on that score. Turkey wants to fire them onwards to the EU. Why don't nations in the Far East, China, Korea, Japan not do so? Why aren't the same desperate not going there? They're not soft touches, that's the guts of the why.

frankly after a lifetime of firing many billions at the developing world - long enough to remember it being known as the third world - and for little result on the ground in many areas, I'm dog tired of this charity nonsense and I'm sure as hell tired of it being doubled down and facilitating more charity by inviting more into European nations and cultures.
    And I have worked with many, many dilligent, hard working non-nationals who did not have the opportunities and advantages most of us have had. You cannot screen people wholesale on their place of origin. I would have thought those sentiments were beneath you, tbh.
    Then you also must take issue with the relevant government depts that also apply the same filtering process by place of origin, as we've learned over time the levels of chancers and purely economic migrants from certain areas is high. Even Leo Varadkar referenced this a while back. He left out African nations, because well that doesn't go over well in some quarters, but the others he noted were White nations last time I looked; Georgia, Romania, Albania. Maybe their diversity isn't enough to raise hackles.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-jailed-over-savage-knife-attack-after-row-about-facebook-comments-1038995.html
    Yes this was in raheny and this does not count as usual **** teens get up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

So focus on the socio economic problems then, not the colour of their skin - that's just lazy scapegoating that never got any society anywhere.
    Do you really think announcing that they were black teens when these things happen is going to help matters? Of course it wont it will just divide people further and fuel hatred. Although you'd probably like that.

Why do you want it hidden that three black teens attacked and slashed at a white woman for no reason whatsoever??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I was, in about 1996, on O'Connell st. Well they had syringes actually.
    I don't doubt it, but again why were we hellbent and continue to be hellbent on importing the likelihood of more problems on top of our own native underclass and criminals?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

This has already happened.

All black people are victims of racism.

All white people are privileged and guilty of inherent racism.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

Wibbs wrote: »
    I don't doubt it, but again why were we hellbent and continue to be hellbent on importing the likelihood of more problems on top of our own native underclass and criminals?

Ask our politicians. Don't you have to take a certain number because of EU policy or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

You’re around a lot of the trouble hotspots without seeing anything. Arsene Wenger??

Ask our politicians. Don't you have to take a certain number because of EU policy or something?
    Of actual refugees yes. We're actually below the EU recommendations on that, so that's a start. The problem is the horse has long bolted because of the birthright loophole of the 90's and early 00's, where we had an influx on non EU people, the vast majority of same wouldn't get through the door today. So here we are.

What we don't need to be doing is repeating that daftness. EG the call by a few politicians to reverse the closure of that loophole, a closure that had the highest no thanks by the Irish electorate of any referendum in a generation. Or the justice minister seeking to hand out thousands of residency papers to as she terms them the "undocumented" migrants here. She seems to have mispronounced "illegal" in her rush to placate NGO's and vested interests. Deport them. Problem solved. I'd go further and deport anyone involved in criminal behaviour who has gotten residency in this nation in the last 20 odd years. I'd deport those who've been on the dole for the majority of their time here too. And before pearls are clutched by anyone the colour of their skin matters not a jot. Sudanese lad working as a carpenter, game ball, White Albanian on the dole, get out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭Khumatmibro

Does it confirm that they were blacks anywhere? Or are we basing this on the blood comments.

Not that I'd be one bit surprised or anything I'm just curious if it's been confirmed anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

My question would be why do some in influential circles seem to believe, or at best ignore, the trouble among our peers in the EU - knife crime, riots, street gang culture, civil unrest...?

It's like an attitude of "we'll do the exact same thing they did but we are different and it won't happen here".

We are making the same mistakes but will have different outcomes? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭Khumatmibro

My question would be why do some in influential circles seem to believe, or at best ignore, the trouble among our peers in the EU - knife crime, riots, street gang culture, civil unrest...?

It's like an attitude of "we'll do the exact same thing they did but we are different and it won't happen here".

We are making the same mistakes but will have different outcomes? :confused:

We're only importing the creme of the crop from African and middle Eastern nations. 😜

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭DraftDodger

Does it confirm that they were blacks anywhere? Or are we basing this on the blood comments.

Not that I'd be one bit surprised or anything I'm just curious if it's been confirmed anywhere.

The Journal have deleted the comments section on their site for this story. That's enough evidence for me that's it's either the innit bruv crew or our ethnic untouchable class.

Yeah, I usually use the journal comments section being turned off to let me know its a group thats untouchable.

Its like with the covid breaking funerals - IRA funeral story = comments open , traveller funeral story = comments closed, george nkencho funeral story = i bet you a coke those comments wont he open.

You’re around a lot of the trouble hotspots without seeing anything. Arsene Wenger??

Raheny isnt a trouble hot spot was my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

biko wrote: »
    If there is an attack and the victim and the assailant are of differently colours then it should always be investigated as a racist attack.

Isn't that in itself a racist approach to take though?
    You are starting from a position of white people are different to black people and might have cause to attack each other purely based on this.

I would have thought it should be investigated as an attack and let the facts decide where it goes?

The knife issue is becoming more prevalent across the city and my point is that if we don’t address it will get worse.

Such hysterics
    I was mugged in 1993/94 at knifepoint in dublin.
    There are laws against carrying knives, what else would you suggest?

Why do you want it hidden that three black teens attacked and slashed at a white woman for no reason whatsoever??

Who is hiding it?
    It is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

GreeBo wrote: »
    Isn't that in itself a racist approach to take though?
    You are starting from a position of white people are different to black people and might have cause to attack each other purely based on this.

I would have thought it should be investigated as an attack and let the facts decide where it goes?

yes it should be, but it seems if something bad happens a black person, immediately it must be due to race, i agree this black/white should stop on both sides but that is not going to happen with the way us media influence even here nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Exactly this.

If you rear a bunch of kids in a ****hole then the likelihood is a number of them will act like they were reared in a ****hole - what colour they were to start out with makes no difference to that.

Balbriggan was most certainly not a shlthole 20-25 years ago. It was actually a very desirable area to live for a lot of people. Had a mix of 'rural' town where everybody knew each other as well as having good rail links to the city centre for commuting and shopping.

There were less resources there in the 90's than there are now, but knife culture and knife crime was not a thing back then in Balbriggan. It is now.

You work out what's changed there in the past 20-25 years.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Interesting too how you're quick enough to label their homelands as sh1tholes. Many folks who still live there, or indeed those living here going back on the regular for visits might take issue with that. I hate to break it to you and maybe disturb a sob story Trocaire box image, but Nigeria for example is 20th in the world as far as GDP goes and one of the most resource rich places on earth. I knew a couple of people living and from there. Doing very nicely they were too.

Moving the goalposts again.

I don't think that people getting in boats and lorries and being trafficked from one continent to another are living cushy Gulf-style lives on oil revenues, and I don't think you're soft enough in the head to think that either.

I didn't mention Nigeria, but it isn't good enough to say that you and the immigrants themselves would take exception to their native lands being called ****holes and then pick one country to prove a point - an invalid example as it happens, as the high GDP is not reflective of the poverty and instability endemic in Nigeria, because the wealth is not evenly spread out - you know this so I shouldn't even have to point it out and that your couple who were doing quite nicely are the exception rather than the rule, even in Abuja and Lagos (or especially in Lagos).

I'm not a bleeding heart or a soft touch either, by any stretch, so you needn't worry about breaking thing anything to me about Trócaire boxes. Migration is more complicated than you and others are making it seem - in any group of people you will have people who will, as their default, sponge off the system. We have plenty of our own who do that. But that is a separate issue to immigration itself.

I will leave it there for my part as we are not going to agree, but please don't presume to educate me or "break" anything to me.